Android Head Unit, is gooding or gimmick?

TSkiller_mistake
post Oct 30 2019, 04:14 PM, updated 6y ago

178 posts

Hi lyn forumer,

through my web research + visit over 8 audio accessories shop, i found out current trend is using android HU 10"..
and their design (internal system and external display) more or less has the same character across the brand.

so, my question is:

Any of you currently using android HU player ? How was your experience after using it for 1-2 years?
Any recommendation / advice for others that going to install / looking for android player head unit?

thanks in advance for reading notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

example:

This post has been edited by killer_mistake: Oct 30 2019, 04:15 PM
TSkiller_mistake
post Oct 31 2019, 09:09 AM

178 posts

up icon_question.gif
TSkiller_mistake
post Nov 4 2019, 09:47 AM

178 posts

ok done install rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

so far everything is good and functioning as expected.

brand: skynavi
ram: 4gb
rom: 64gb
android: 8.1 (i can't find android 9 with 4gb ram)

TSkiller_mistake
post Nov 4 2019, 09:50 AM

178 posts

I'm still using my original Head Unit.
Android HU connect to my original HU via aux.
Sound quality from android is good and perform well. didn't expect for that biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
TSkiller_mistake
post Nov 6 2019, 03:19 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Nov 4 2019, 10:35 PM)
looks good...any modification of the dashboard, to mount it?

Good choice going with 4GBRam

How much and the size of it?
it is 10" android player

RM1150 for player only. I've added few items:
- Casing for my car model
- reverse camera
- front camera
- switcher (to switch camera front & back)

total is rm1600
TSkiller_mistake
post Nov 6 2019, 03:22 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(TitaniumZ @ Nov 5 2019, 08:18 AM)
I don't think the sound quality has anything to do with your Android HU since it's your stock HU that process and play the music... depend on your Android unit DAC, you might get even better sound quality if you stream the music via bluetooth. Best if your stock HU accept USB connection and your Android unit has USB output.
I'm interested to see how you mount and connect them, mind to show a picture or two?
Yah i know i'm using stock HU for sound.

Android HU got DSP which is giving me more option to tweak on bass and treble in detail. laugh.gif
TSkiller_mistake
post Nov 6 2019, 03:24 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(ati radeon @ Nov 6 2019, 02:44 PM)
From the above replies, HU with 1gb ram is the least desirable specs ya?

I know its android, and the last thing I want is having lags during driving
yes, at least choose 2gb ram.
TSkiller_mistake
post Nov 6 2019, 03:29 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 6 2019, 03:25 PM)
i wanna ask, should i get android HU or HU with android auto? seems like android HU is much cheaper nowadays..
android auto has limited functionality. if you ok with that, you can go with branded HU like alpine / JVC / pioneer.

meanwhile Android HU = tablet android. you can do everything with this HU. surf internet, watch youtube, stream tv, facebooking, etc.
TSkiller_mistake
post Nov 6 2019, 03:33 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Nov 6 2019, 03:28 PM)
Since this topic on android HU, can i ask a related question?

How do i cast/connect my phone to HU? My unit most of the time hard to get GPS signal because "cold start" parking in basement.
So thought can cast from phone easier.

What app can i use? Using android phone btw.
Which HU are you using now?
my GPS works fine. once open accessories mode, click navigation and the map is ready to use.
or maybe i'm staying in landed area nod.gif

I'm using Easy connection app (downloaded from Google play).

This post has been edited by killer_mistake: Nov 6 2019, 03:36 PM
TSkiller_mistake
post Nov 6 2019, 04:10 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Nov 6 2019, 03:36 PM)
Using china brand Joying.

Is it install the app on phone and on the HU ?
I did try but doesnt seem to work.
If i'm not mistaken, joying is not available in malaysian market / car accessories in kl as from my observation sweat.gif

Easy connection is a ready apps in my HU.
which android version are you using now? is it 8.1?
if not in the apps list, try download it via google play in your HU.
then install on mobile phone.

not all android phone are supported. some models need to use wired connection

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 6 2019, 03:52 PM)
i see. i no plan do all this inside car lol. but if android HU i can share my phone hotspot, or now unit can plug in simcard? any decent one to intro? I worry alot android HU sound quality not so good like those branded HU.. my clarion HU macam got problem oledi.. but upgrade 2din HU kinda expensive for branded one.. sony need around 1.2k minimum
It does have wifi connection to connect from your mobile hotspot.

yah.. all the features i've mentioned previously is more to gimmick / selling point.
I'm not fall into that gimmick sweat.gif
but when I tried branded HU such as JVC and pioneer, i can see the lag-iness when scrolling / play around . which made me feel confuse because their price is higher than android HU, but their version is older (android 6 and below) and not smooth.

I've got the same feeling as you about sound quality before install this android HU. but my unit come with DSP and i can tweak EQ even more from original HU.
some android HU didn't have DSP , therefore you have limited range to adjust your EQ. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by killer_mistake: Nov 6 2019, 04:11 PM
TSkiller_mistake
post Nov 7 2019, 09:29 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(TitaniumZ @ Nov 6 2019, 04:20 PM)
Android Auto limited functionality is there for a reason -- safety.
Surfing internet, watching yuotube, streaming tv, facebooking, etc. are things you SHOULD NOT be doing when you are driving.
Ya i never use it while driving.
only open the media when i'm waiting someone / carwash / watching sunset rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Nov 6 2019, 04:47 PM)
I'm using ALPS FF5000

Ram 2GB ROM16
Android 9.0
10"
Mine slightly more expensive RM850
due to come with a DSP processor and a Build in High performance Amp... so far sound superb!
I think this is one of my shortlisted HU before install.
sadly they don't have 4gb Ram 64gb Rom.
thus need to go to android 8.1.. haish.. i prefer android 9 bcoz the interface is nice looking cry.gif

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 6 2019, 05:32 PM)
so which one u bought? those are more like proper kind of HU.. android based HU is like sendiri put everything inside..
i've bought skynavi gold series thumbup.gif
TSkiller_mistake
post Dec 15 2019, 10:20 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(topmix92 @ Dec 12 2019, 11:04 AM)
i more prefer apple carpaly/ android auto or bluetooth

is android player support this method?
if using waze or spotify how it work?
on screen keyboard at the player?
how about internet to use waze?

android cheaper than most pioneer product with apple carplay

iseeking advise , thanks
1) yes, it's called easyconnection. same features as android auto. you can connect it via cable / bluetooth
2) you can play spotify at the background while opening waze app. or you can make it as dual screen / split screen (only available with high end android).
3) Yup, there is on screen keyboard at the player
4) I'm using YES 4G dongle as my wifi connection to my android HU. you can use your phone as a hotspot.

QUOTE(kwokwah @ Dec 12 2019, 02:41 PM)
Is data safe on these Android HU? I mean can others go to your Chrome browser and read off your passwords or access to your apps when you send in your car for service? Pretty scary!
not scary lol..
- I've locked my apps brows.gif
- they did not have time to do that
TSkiller_mistake
post Dec 16 2019, 09:57 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(topmix92 @ Dec 16 2019, 09:27 AM)
i tyoe "easy connection" this can replace below 4 function.
onscreen keyboard and wifi dongle very trouble for me
i just prefer share screen from my iphone

phone open waze/spotify then audio player can share
if u did not prefer onscreen keyboard, then share screen will be more practical for you then nod.gif
share screen is a no no for me since it will drain my handphone battery and potential for screen burn in a long run
TSkiller_mistake
post Dec 17 2019, 02:49 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(our_team89 @ Dec 16 2019, 10:54 PM)
Is it possible for us to connect Android HU to amplifier to stock speaker without tapping/cutting any wire?

Last time i bought 1g version, the sound quality really bad compared to stock honda city player. I'm more of bass person but dunwan to void warranty lol
I think It is possible to connect but must be tapping the wire though.

my android HU is connected to original car HU (means that i have 2 HU in the car).
so, any sound from the android HU will go through via original HU then to the speaker.

0.0248sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 04:28 PM