Android Head Unit, is gooding or gimmick?

ben3003
post Nov 6 2019, 03:25 PM

10,859 posts

i wanna ask, should i get android HU or HU with android auto? seems like android HU is much cheaper nowadays..
ben3003
post Nov 6 2019, 03:52 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(killer_mistake @ Nov 6 2019, 03:29 PM)
android auto has limited functionality. if you ok with that, you can go with branded HU like alpine / JVC / pioneer.

meanwhile Android HU = tablet android. you can do everything with this HU. surf internet, watch youtube, stream tv, facebooking, etc.
i see. i no plan do all this inside car lol. but if android HU i can share my phone hotspot, or now unit can plug in simcard? any decent one to intro? I worry alot android HU sound quality not so good like those branded HU.. my clarion HU macam got problem oledi.. but upgrade 2din HU kinda expensive for branded one.. sony need around 1.2k minimum

This post has been edited by ben3003: Nov 6 2019, 03:54 PM
ben3003
post Nov 6 2019, 05:32 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(killer_mistake @ Nov 6 2019, 04:10 PM)
If i'm not mistaken, joying is not available in malaysian market / car accessories in kl as from my observation  sweat.gif

Easy connection is a ready apps in my HU.
which android version are you using now? is it 8.1?
if not in the apps list, try download it via google play in your HU.
then install on mobile phone.

not all android phone are supported. some models need to use wired connection
It does have wifi connection to connect from your mobile hotspot.

yah.. all the features i've mentioned previously is more to gimmick / selling point.
I'm not fall into that gimmick  sweat.gif
but when I tried branded HU such as JVC and pioneer, i can see the lag-iness when scrolling / play around . which made me feel confuse because their price is higher than android HU, but their version is older (android 6 and below) and not smooth.

I've got the same feeling as you about sound quality before install this android HU. but my unit come with DSP and i can tweak EQ even more from original HU.
some android HU didn't have DSP , therefore you have limited range to adjust your EQ.  notworthy.gif
so which one u bought? those are more like proper kind of HU.. android based HU is like sendiri put everything inside..
ben3003
post Nov 6 2019, 11:53 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Nov 6 2019, 09:16 PM)
Ya, for basic usage its fine...but anything more, bare minimum is 2GB, better still get the 4Gb. I have recently upgraded to 2GB...since skype for business had stopped working due to version upgrade. 1GB ram was not sufficient...gonna try selling it off...hmmm is possible
Android version do also come with basic auto configuration, hence its helpful as well. And they can read off the canbus to read out your ECU readings and car status
can intro which one can do such features ka? i using preve..
ben3003
post Jun 1 2021, 06:57 PM

10,859 posts

recently bought an S brand HU at shopee, the top end 6gb one. Sendiri DIY install, my car is preve. but the previous installer help me install 1st HU they cut off the socket and sendiri rewire. So i cannot use the plug and play socket.

So sendiri splice everything and do the wiring follow the proton HU plug diagram and also the socket. 1st time start can run, but later test audio no sound from right side. then suddenly the soud jumbled then turned off. cannot turn on back edi. i tot is cable loose because wiring not good, but then test the socket got power.

Then bring back open up, saw the power management IC fried and a resistor beside it. Not sure is how it was fried, because i use external ampflier for my front and subwoofer. Now sendiri source IC and resistor to repair. Will post again after repair. The shop guy not very eager to honor the warranty, because he say i sendiri pasang and my wiring might salah. Altho he guide me the wiring, and i follow everything but still the thing burned.

Moral of the story: buy from reputable people with good support.
ben3003
post Jun 17 2021, 11:52 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Jun 17 2021, 11:07 AM)
Im not sure if such a option is available? Even with canbus connection, I think its not for controlling but rather operation input display, such as door signal, aircon, etc
Normally there is a signal dor dim light, the socket there will have but is up to the car original or the installer got help u splice that connection or not.
ben3003
post Jun 17 2021, 03:02 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(dudester @ Jun 17 2021, 01:03 PM)
Quick question. have some left overs old school ICE amps (RF x 2) and speakers.
Would like to give the car stereo a refresh.
Would these sub 1k android players be able to match the sound of traditional cd player brands like sony kenwood etc
Would be mostly using spotify/YTmusic and waze/google maps.
So i will need 2 amp output..
I sincerely doubt if there is a true DSP in these price range..more of just equaliser.
Even china pioneer now also come out same design with the topway ts10 lol. If u use mostly spotify, u wont differentiate much because limited by the sound quality of spotify also. Amp and speaker change edi can give big difference liao compare to car built in.
ben3003
post Feb 7 2022, 06:17 PM

10,859 posts

Ts10 mine skynavi brand, no update at all. Can sendiri use those update at xda forum one ka?
ben3003
post May 24 2022, 10:18 AM

10,859 posts

i think android head unit setting DSP really bad especially the LPF and HPF, and sub control.. dunno how to really properly setup all these, anyone know how to setup?
ben3003
post Jun 12 2022, 09:10 PM

10,859 posts

Guys, in using TS10, i just installed this vivid launcher. I already set to home launcher, But everytime i start the car, the player only show the original launcher the app menu. Any way to fix this?

0.0150sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:07 PM