Android Head Unit, is gooding or gimmick?

Jigoku
post May 23 2022, 10:45 AM

288 posts

Hello Guys, I am planning to get a Android Head Unit for my Old Kancil 1994.

Kenwood

Will this be good enough? I just need it to connect to my Spotify and play songs from there.

Or should i get TS18? I cant seem to find the 3GB variant

Thank you for your help

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ May 17 2022, 08:30 AM)
If you want the cheapest option, minimum I would recommend is the TS18. It might not be as powerful as the TS10/7832, but it's good enough (I am also using one).
Do you have any link or to get the TS18 3GB variant?

This post has been edited by Jigoku: May 23 2022, 10:50 AM
Jigoku
post May 26 2022, 02:27 AM

288 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ May 24 2022, 06:36 AM)
Everybody is still waiting for new stocks it seems. The combination of people buying a lot of head units after getting the 10K EPF (pasang sebelum balik raya) and chip shortage means that a number of sellers don't have new stocks right now
Same reason as above. I also am surprised at how hard it is to find it right now. During the first week of Puasa, there were a lot of shopee sellers selling this around RM550++. Nowadays not many have stocks sad.gif

Btw your Kenwood link is suspicious. I doubt they are selling a "real" 4GB unit below RM300. Likely it's a modified firmware that tells you it's 4GB when it's only 1GB
Thank your for telling me the kenwood looks suspicious if not i was about to make a wrong purchase.

Anyway I have found 2 more link and would like some comments from you which one should I get. I am getting it for my Kancil 660

TS18 3GB

7862 3,32GB

Casing+Socket for Kancil
Kancil Casing+Socket

Thank you for your help.
Jigoku
post Jun 1 2022, 01:20 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ May 26 2022, 05:50 AM)
Both shop is legit, so my take on this is choose with your wallet (RM590 vs RM745)
Hello thank you boss, I have purchase the 7862 android unit.

First time user here and I am wondering if it's normal for the device to be on when engine start and off when engine close.

What I am trying to say if it will make it deteriorate faster this way, or its build for that.
Jigoku
post Jun 1 2022, 01:32 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jun 1 2022, 01:31 PM)
Yes, it's similar to how a normal radio work.
But you can also set that the device only turn off it's screen (similar to how you lock your screen of your phone, for a max of 3 days) when the engine is turned off. If you are a daily user of your car, then this should be fine and should not drain your battery much
Yes I am a daily user, using it to campus etc.

Thank you 🙂

0.0194sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:45 PM