Wahed Invest Malaysia, Good, Ok2, Bad?

Hoshiyuu
post Mar 23 2021, 02:17 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(chidori @ Mar 23 2021, 01:24 PM)
Hello there,

It seems that there has been not many discussion regarding Wahed.
After 1 year+ DCA in Wahed, I have withdraw all my funds last year.

Just wondering and would like to get your opinion if I should re-enter Wahed,

Have a nice day!
My anecdotes from soaking in most robo threads, the general sentiment seems to be negative: (Possibly biased, though!)

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Sear..._type=posts&hl=

Personally I am currently going through the account closing process with Wahed this week.

To me, I dislike that a lot of my money is going into sukuk, malaysian stock, and foreign investment is too US centric, and basically miss out all the EM stuff/China, not to mention HLAL seems to have peaked and Wahed has shown no intention to adjust their offerings... so I'm out. As someone that doesn't need to be Shariah-compliant, I don't see a reason to stay in.

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Mar 23 2021, 02:35 PM
Hoshiyuu
post Mar 23 2021, 03:17 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(chidori @ Mar 23 2021, 03:13 PM)
Thanks for the sharing!
Is it necessary to close the account? For me, I just left it with zero balance for a couple of months.

Perhaps I should try Stashaway...
Closing is completely optional, since Wahed has no fixed cost with no balance - I am just closing it so that its not possible for me to register here again, just in case I feel tempted to come back when I see someone post good returns, despite my due diligence has told me otherwise. hahaha.

I am personally committing to Stashaway - its my decision to commit there that I withdrew from MyTheo & Wahed. Their methods are more aligned with what I like and service/user experience is great.

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Mar 23 2021, 03:19 PM
Hoshiyuu
post Mar 23 2021, 04:10 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(chidori @ Mar 23 2021, 03:48 PM)
Great, I think I will register Stashaway and try with the highest risk portfolio available. Hopefully the registration process and deposit/withdrawal is not too complicated.
Registration, deposit/withdrawal is very straight forward, but depending on your financial situation, you may not have access to Risk level above 22%. (It goes up to 36%)
https://www.stashaway.my/faq/115007036867-h...o-risk-settings

In this case, you may want to contact them via WhatsApp, watch a few video, and get approval to higher risk, or take the SGX tutorial and exam. I did the latter but I recommend the former.

Also make sure you answer "correctly" for domestic ringgit borrowing. If you have more than 2 or more bank loans, Stashaway is legally not allowed to let you register, but I'm just saying no one checks what you declare properly...
https://www.stashaway.my/faq/900000198566-w...t-borrowing-drb

If you have a friend who uses SA, you should probably get a referral code from him/her so both of you get discount on fees for a few month. (up to RM30k for free for 6 months)

Further discussion should probably be done over at the SA thread.

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Mar 23 2021, 04:17 PM
Hoshiyuu
post Mar 26 2021, 08:18 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 26 2021, 07:24 AM)
Whoa my withdrawal reached my bank account in 2 working days. Very impressed.
Same here! Withdrawn requested on Mar 23th, got it on 25th evening. Say what you want about their investment choice, but their customer service and withdraw procedure is better than Akru/MyTheo.

My MyTheo withdraw request made on the same day is still in limbo...

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Mar 26 2021, 08:19 AM
Hoshiyuu
post Mar 26 2021, 08:29 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 26 2021, 08:23 AM)
maybe you havent experienced the 2 weeks withdrawal last year before they switched over to HLAL laugh.gif
That's terrible bangwall.gif well, happy to see them improve at least... even if I don't use them, I'd still like them to be around to provide competition.

If they manage to do something like "yeah we are lowering our fees to flat 0.3%" that'd be exciting.
Hoshiyuu
post Apr 3 2021, 01:35 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

Looks like around RM3500~ invested? Sukuk and Malaysian stock in the aggressive portfolio is such a turnoff...

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Apr 3 2021, 01:35 AM
Hoshiyuu
post Apr 3 2021, 10:14 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

In a way, modifying your portfolio is realizing loss/profit, for Wahed's case, its probably better to cut your loss and move on from the platform, imo.
Hoshiyuu
post Apr 8 2021, 12:53 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(jerrylo @ Apr 8 2021, 11:07 AM)
im just started invest using wahed.
as for now, just open 1 poftfolio - gold
Just a personal advice, if you are only buying gold to hold, it's probably better to register a simple cash account in stock brokers like M+/Rakuten and buy GOLDETF https://tradeplus.com.my/gold-tracker directly, less fees incurred.
Hoshiyuu
post May 5 2021, 11:33 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

Looks like Wahed and Akru has decided to hug each other and jump off a cliff.
Hoshiyuu
post Feb 11 2022, 01:14 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Takudan @ Feb 11 2022, 01:04 PM)
Actually a good point... But this feels so weird to even diversify on brokerage. I guess I should diversify my emergency fund placements, bank account money, insurance and all that too? Like seriously, where does this end?

I'm not being sarcastic, I too try to diversify my investments... But this is a worrying news to me that some other financial institution may have similar problem.
To some extent, you are already diversified if you have EPF. That's why I don't unnecessarily withdraw EPF, I aim to save enough that either my DIY portfolio or EPF can keep me alive if the other one kaputs.

Some diversification can't hurt for sure. As more brokerage become more competitive, and I have a bigger networth, I will at least get one more brokerage so it's like a 33 IBKR : 33 Unknown Broker : 33 EPF split...

For me, to know to what end I should mitigate the risk, I just ask myself, what's the better option? If there aren't any, then it's good enough. If the stock market is bad, then do I just keep the cash? Surely not.

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Feb 11 2022, 01:17 PM
Hoshiyuu
post Feb 17 2023, 05:16 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

I hate this company so much. Been trying to delete my account for over a year on and off now and they just keep making up bullshit reasons. Don't register, don't try - run far far away, they are terrible both in returns and services.

0.0209sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:07 AM