> More parents are choosing international school

SUSwadepak
post Oct 30 2019, 09:09 AM, updated 7y ago

Part 2: More parents are choosing international education in Malaysia
SchoolAdvisor -October 30, 2019 8:30 AM
Shares

Although there are several tiers of international schools in Malaysia based on their fee structure, the fact remains that private and international schools are more expensive than public schools.

Malaysian parents are ready to compromise on their lifestyle and give up on some luxuries to give their children an international education.

Huang Paik Ling first enrolled her three children into a Chinese national school but later decided to move them to an international school instead.

She says, “My children struggled with the medium of teaching as we do not speak the language at home. I also felt the curriculum had a one size fit all approach.”

“The students are taught that there is only one way of problem solving, and that is the teacher’s way. Classes often have up to 45 kids, hence, teachers do not have the time to give personalised attention.”

“As a result, the ones given attention are the ones who excel and ironically, the ones who need more help are neglected.”

The school her children currently attend follow a more modernised method of teaching, where there is a heavy emphasis on values and character building.

“Quality academics is a given hence this is definitely a plus point. Teachers are genuinely caring and don’t mind staying back after school on their own time to coach the weaker students.”

Although she is concerned that her children might grow up feeling privileged and disengaged from the real world after attending an international school, she is more than happy she made the switch.

“I am happy that my children are learning to think as opposed to being spoon fed,” she reasons.

Language is the main reason Zaza Hasny made the switch from public to international school for her children.

She shares, “My boys are better in English than Bahasa Malaysia and this made coping with the local syllabus harder for them.”

“We found an international Islamic school that offers IGCSE curriculum with subjects taught in English, while also having routine Islamic studies. My boys are doing extremely well in this school.”

For Junita, on the other hand, the reason for choosing an international school over a public school was more about giving her children global exposure while striking a balance between academics and extra-curricular activities.

“The uncertainty and rapid changes in our local education system worries me. There should be more emphasis on English because, like it or not, it is a global language.”

“But holding on to my roots is also important so I found an international school that puts emphasis on English but also upholds Asian values, so they are rather strict in terms of discipline.”

“The school my children currently attend also places great value on a good balance of academics and sports which is vital to me. Sport plays a crucial role in instilling good sportsmanship, developing soft skills and learning to play/work as a team which I find very lacking in today’s young generation,” she elaborates.

Private and international schools for holistic education

Education, after all, is not just about academics but also building character, and educating a child takes three: school, parents and the child itself.

The increasing number of international schools is good not only for expatriate parents and children but Malaysian families too.

Local children attending these international schools are being exposed to a diverse curriculum, cultures and languages from a young age, helping them to grow to be true global citizens.

Similarly, private schools can be a great option too although they will probably not have as diverse a classroom as an international school.

Nevertheless, the point to note is that they provide a much-coveted global exposure with a local flavour, meaning your children get to be global citizens, but have their roots firmly in their own country
iGamer
post Oct 30 2019, 09:21 AM

Toxic ktards probably losers irl
1,374 posts

Rich people problem.
limfreelance
post Oct 30 2019, 09:24 AM

343 posts

study high high end up jadi grab.
wanna success..it all about connection and social skills...
that y they send them to internation school.

ketupatlazat
post Oct 30 2019, 09:24 AM

555 posts

Boley mampu spend 100k per annum per kid then why not lol
fath82
post Oct 30 2019, 09:28 AM

69 posts

Mostly can afford primary school, when move to secondary cannot afford have to sent back to sekolah menengah
iGamer
post Oct 30 2019, 09:28 AM

Toxic ktards probably losers irl
1,374 posts

Ironically govt still struggle to recognize UEC when more and more ppl already ditch public school in other ways.
pretty23
post Oct 30 2019, 09:33 AM

1,791 posts

First: They are rich
Second: Education in those SJK/SMK only can learn racist.
Zaire.Ver
post Oct 30 2019, 09:36 AM

246 posts

sacrifice so much for kids
later kids accidents dead left u alone
or kids become midly sucesful and prig abandon u at folks home
SUS8bitguy
post Oct 30 2019, 09:37 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(limfreelance @ Oct 30 2019, 09:24 AM)
Be like Jho Lo! When your BFF is the PM!
sidthesloth
post Oct 30 2019, 09:37 AM

174 posts

It's ironic, during 50s through 60s, our education is top notch UK style. Schools like penang free school, st John etc all international standard, fees also cheap. Nowadays to get same education need to pay top dollar.
kkkw80
post Oct 30 2019, 09:41 AM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

What you pay is what you get. I've a kid in SK and that school is even a sekolah cemerlang but the teachers are hardly in class and no mandarin teacher for 3 years now. Whereas my other kid in private school, qualified dedicated teachers and they're even learning coding at Standard 1.

There is 3 type tiers schools, choose what you can afford. I'm only paying around 1.2k monthly school fees.

This post has been edited by kkkw80: Oct 30 2019, 09:42 AM
SUS8bitguy
post Oct 30 2019, 09:41 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(fath82 @ Oct 30 2019, 09:28 AM)
Mostly can afford primary school, when move to secondary cannot afford have to sent back to sekolah menengah
Primary no need go International School lah. Lots of options nowadays from orang kaya International School (RM50k to RM100k+ a year), to middle class International School(anywhere from RM10k to RM50k) to cheap-cheap Homeschool (<rm10k a year).

My son goes to a middle class International School as well, while my nephew goes to a HomeSchool (already completed his O-LEVEL), now studying in Taylor.
SUSM4A1
post Oct 30 2019, 09:42 AM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

salah BN
gundamsp01
post Oct 30 2019, 09:42 AM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

protek protek, international school for disrupting unity

owai
Spectreoutreach
post Oct 30 2019, 09:44 AM

858 posts

everything need money ....... * headache*
gheyfriend
post Oct 30 2019, 09:44 AM

281 posts

can PM which skoll that price?

QUOTE(kkkw80 @ Oct 30 2019, 09:41 AM)
What you pay is what you get. I've a kid in SK and that school is even a sekolah cemerlang but the teachers are hardly in class and no mandarin teacher for 3 years now. Whereas my other kid in private school, qualified dedicated teachers and they're even learning coding at Standard 1.

There is 3 type tiers schools, choose what you can afford. I'm only paying around 1.2k monthly school fees.
brkli
post Oct 30 2019, 09:45 AM

592 posts

ok la, learn in english better than malay.

now go stall or kopitiam or mamak, speak malay also the people dun understand coz mostly bangala and nepalese.. end up also just point here and there + some english.

learn english at least easier later in the corporate world. as for malay, know how to read road signs good enough already.

This post has been edited by brkli: Oct 30 2019, 09:46 AM
cloudwan0
post Oct 30 2019, 09:45 AM

236 posts

See, Malaysian salary all /k standard, can afford international school, why gov worry about Malaysia bankrupt
pipedream
post Oct 30 2019, 09:47 AM

2,353 posts

enroll public school also pay extra with multiple subject tuition every month
reed90
post Oct 30 2019, 09:52 AM

Road to the End
1,552 posts

damn 1.2k monthly rly 20k standard
Lyu
post Oct 30 2019, 09:56 AM

772 posts

wow

bright future ur kids
prophetjul
post Oct 30 2019, 09:56 AM

12,275 posts

Huang Paik Ling first enrolled her three children into a Chinese national school but later decided to move them to an international school instead.

She says, “My children struggled with the medium of teaching as we do not speak the language at home. I also felt the curriculum had a one size fit all approach.”

“The students are taught that there is only one way of problem solving, and that is the teacher’s way. Classes often have up to 45 kids, hence, teachers do not have the time to give personalised attention.”

“As a result, the ones given attention are the ones who excel and ironically, the ones who need more help are neglected.”

The school her children currently attend follow a more modernised method of teaching, where there is a heavy emphasis on values and character building.

“Quality academics is a given hence this is definitely a plus point. Teachers are genuinely caring and don’t mind staying back after school on their own time to coach the weaker students.”

Provided you can pay for it, anything goes.

3 children at what? MYR 20k min? That's MYR60k after tax. biggrin.gif
Guess there are lots of cronies still, in Malaysia brows.gif

Must admit that the Chinese schools are like that. One way street. No thinking allowed! icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Oct 30 2019, 09:58 AM
viole
post Oct 30 2019, 10:03 AM

KFC Lover
840 posts

Im glad bumi got tongkat can enter mrsm.

Decent system, teacher, environment for relatively cheap price.

kkkw80
post Oct 30 2019, 10:32 AM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

QUOTE(gheyfriend @ Oct 30 2019, 09:44 AM)
can PM which skoll that price?
Tenby
SUSXnet
post Oct 30 2019, 10:36 AM

1,862 posts

They dont want free comic?
kkkw80
post Oct 30 2019, 10:36 AM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

QUOTE(reed90 @ Oct 30 2019, 09:52 AM)
damn 1.2k monthly rly 20k standard
Its considered affordable compared to BSKL 51k per year, Epsom 85k, ISKL 100k and this is for Year 1
gheyfriend
post Oct 30 2019, 10:40 AM

281 posts

Ooo..new intake almost 1.5k standard 1..anywya
thanks..

QUOTE(kkkw80 @ Oct 30 2019, 10:32 AM)
Tenby
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 10:41 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

You sure that article is not sponsored by the international schools council ah?

From what I heard through the grapevine, international and private schools are losing their appeal due to rising fee costs and also not being much better over national schools.

Why spend over 50k-100k per year per child when you can save up that money and send the kid to Oxford or Yale when he/she gets to university age?
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 10:42 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 30 2019, 09:56 AM)
Provided you can pay for it, anything goes.

3 children at what?  MYR 20k min?  That's MYR60k after tax.  biggrin.gif
Guess there are lots of cronies still, in Malaysia    brows.gif

Must admit that the Chinese schools are like that. One way street. No thinking allowed!    icon_question.gif
The fees go up as your kid gets older. Wait till you see the secondary school fees and all the extras that you have to buy. Mac books anyone? Lol.
ganz
post Oct 30 2019, 10:45 AM

Livin' Ain't No Crime
1,139 posts

My kid have swimming class at IGB International school at sh buloh.. nowonder parent willing to pay that amount.. top notch facilities

This post has been edited by ganz: Oct 30 2019, 10:45 AM
prophetjul
post Oct 30 2019, 10:48 AM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Oct 30 2019, 10:42 AM)
The fees go up as your kid gets older. Wait till you see the secondary school fees and all the extras that you have to buy. Mac books anyone? Lol.
That's true.

MYR20k is probably for primary school only.
Understand someone 'local' run international schools are charging some MYR40 to 50k p annum.
norman05051984
post Oct 30 2019, 10:53 AM

443 posts

me myself paid for my daughter:

Monthly : 1.1k
Reg fee (every year) : 5k

Reason being: the only school near my house that can send morning pickup around 6pm. With meals, co-co and clubs all paid for
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 10:55 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(ganz @ Oct 30 2019, 10:45 AM)
My kid have swimming class at IGB International school at sh buloh.. nowonder parent willing to pay that amount.. top notch facilities
You can get that sort of facilities by just joining a well known golf or country club. Even cheaper in the long run. Lol.
BS8110
post Oct 30 2019, 10:57 AM

128 posts

T20 problem. Got money, no problem.

If got more money, instead of the kids going to school, bring the school to home (or mansion / palace). Teacher come over and teach at home.
drowning
post Oct 30 2019, 10:58 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(sidthesloth @ Oct 30 2019, 09:37 AM)
It's ironic, during 50s through 60s, our education is top notch UK style. Schools like penang free school, st John etc all international standard, fees also cheap. Nowadays to get same education need to pay top dollar.
Because we are allowing politics inside education. Instead of focusing what the world needs, we focus on what the politicians wants.
Namelessone1973
post Oct 30 2019, 11:04 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(norman05051984 @ Oct 30 2019, 10:53 AM)
me myself paid for my daughter:

Monthly : 1.1k
Reg fee (every year) : 5k

Reason being: the only school near my house that can send morning pickup around 6pm. With meals, co-co and clubs all paid for
May I know what school because I can afford this.
SUSwilsonjay
post Oct 30 2019, 11:05 AM

6 Stars Social Justice Warrior
1,605 posts

kiasuuuu
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 11:07 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(BS8110 @ Oct 30 2019, 10:57 AM)

If got more money, instead of the kids going to school, bring the school to home (or mansion / palace). Teacher come over and teach at home.
I heard through the grapevine that it’s only the bottom 20% of the T20 and the top 20% of the M40 (upper middle class) are sending their kids to private and international schools.

The elites are pulling their kids out of international and private schools. They are sending their kids to national schools to support our school curriculum system.
doppatroll
post Oct 30 2019, 11:07 AM

1,123 posts

not before the convert school become standard .... that where the quality drop
Here to buy
post Oct 30 2019, 11:09 AM

1,379 posts

QUOTE(brkli @ Oct 30 2019, 10:45 AM)
ok la, learn in english better than malay.

now go stall or kopitiam or mamak, speak malay also the people dun understand coz mostly bangala and nepalese.. end up also just point here and there + some english.

learn english at least easier later in the corporate world. as for malay, know how to read road signs good enough already.
mandrin.
Sone Shin
post Oct 30 2019, 11:09 AM

255 posts

Err. Inflation. last time ice cream 20 sen, nasi lemak 50 sen...
Why inflation? blame capitalism. Owai rolleyes.gif

Population also doubled since 50s 60s. Higher demand while supply maintained.

hmm.gif sorry, may I ask why you bias between two children?
Gon Freaks
post Oct 30 2019, 11:16 AM

387 posts

QUOTE(Zaire.Ver @ Oct 30 2019, 09:36 AM)
if luxury old folk homes. im good.
Hinoarashi9
post Oct 30 2019, 11:20 AM

169 posts

Study so high, kena kecam a bit in social media terus 14th floor
Mrsaitama
post Oct 30 2019, 11:20 AM

353 posts

if u can afford 1 why not? as long not sjk.lol
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 11:25 AM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

Most PH politicians and top business people are sending their kids to national schools now as they are leading by example.

The only connections your kids are gonna get by going to privately funded schools are either diplomat’s kids who will only be around for 1-2 years before they return back to their own country to be reassigned to another country/desk job or other upper middle class kids whose parents send them there in the hopes of getting connections. Lol.
ClericKilla
post Oct 30 2019, 11:26 AM

1,789 posts

I've studied in both government school and international.

Honestly both has its own good and bad. I think experience both is the best.

More friends to life.
SUSdemamkuning
post Oct 30 2019, 11:27 AM

91 posts

Not rly.. The people you'll meet at international schools are actually lacking on social skills compared to smk tbh.
atmosthere
post Oct 30 2019, 11:27 AM

international school pun if the kids are bengap, entitled and lazy as fak, just waste money only
EternalC
post Oct 30 2019, 11:29 AM

Take what you can, give nothing back
845 posts

With the things you see coming from the edu ministry, any sane man with money will switch.

You syiok syiok piap piap make anak, you bear a responsibility to raise them up to the best of your abilities. Don't say what kena kecam then suicide. That's just parents being out of touch with their kids.

After they reach certain age, you've done your part. What happen to them is the consequences of their own action.
rooney723
post Oct 30 2019, 11:30 AM

596 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Oct 30 2019, 11:25 AM)
Most PH politicians and top business people are sending their kids to national schools now as they are leading by example.

The only connections your kids are gonna get by going to privately funded schools are either diplomat’s kids who will only be around for 1-2 years before they return back to their own country to be reassigned to another country/desk job or other upper middle class kids whose parents send them there in the hopes of getting connections. Lol.
cos many parents saw how jho low went to prestigious school in UK n got his arab connections thr

these parents wan to folo the same thing n wan their children b the nex jho low n dun mind gambling hundreds of thousands or even millions for their children to hav a chance to get dat connection
littlegamer
post Oct 30 2019, 11:36 AM

664 posts

Don't have kid from start. Imagine the money save to pay for a char siew, I can do so much. Want go kuda go Japan? Every 3 months saving can go.
drug5
post Oct 30 2019, 11:40 AM

107 posts

If i got the monies i'm gonna send my kids to prestigious sch like Jho Low. Make fren with the elites next time goyang kaki one phone call can transfer 100 million liao
kkkw80
post Oct 30 2019, 11:42 AM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

QUOTE(Sone Shin @ Oct 30 2019, 11:09 AM)
Err. Inflation. last time ice cream 20 sen, nasi lemak 50 sen...
Why inflation? blame capitalism. Owai  rolleyes.gif

Population also doubled since 50s 60s. Higher demand while supply maintained.
hmm.gif  sorry, may I ask why you bias between two children?
Sent the 1st to SK and saw the bad state SK is, send 2nd to private school instead. Suggested 1st kid to pull out and join 2nd in private school but he didnt want due to his friends there. He will after he finishes his standard 6
limeuu
post Oct 30 2019, 11:42 AM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(Spectreoutreach @ Oct 30 2019, 09:44 AM)
everything need money ....... * headache*
That's what happens when the gov policy is not in sync with public expectation...

You pay tax for something you don't like, then pay more money for what you like loh....
missysleepy
post Oct 30 2019, 11:43 AM

718 posts

Kebangsaan and vernacular raced base.
Private school and international school muhibbah. boleh tanya najib n hishamuddin n nazri.
ClericKilla
post Oct 30 2019, 11:43 AM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(drug5 @ Oct 30 2019, 11:40 AM)
If i got the monies i'm gonna send my kids to prestigious sch like Jho Low. Make fren with the elites next time goyang kaki one phone call can transfer 100 million liao
I believe its not all about money to get in there.

You require connection as well bro. Please don't tell me got money got connection.

There will always be people richer than you.. and Wharton Biz School.. you need to include different nationalities around the world who equally desire to send their kids there.

thesoothsayer
post Oct 30 2019, 11:46 AM

954 posts

I have a friend who sent his son to one of the premier schools. Think 5k/month just for the fees and not including all the other activities. Had to withdraw him after 1 year and put him in a cheaper school.
ukauka2020
post Oct 30 2019, 11:49 AM

316 posts

international schools are overrated la
dares
post Oct 30 2019, 12:00 PM

834 posts

send kids to international school because they can't deal with the language.

way to breed entitled strawberries.

This post has been edited by dares: Oct 30 2019, 12:01 PM
ganz
post Oct 30 2019, 12:01 PM

Livin' Ain't No Crime
1,139 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Oct 30 2019, 10:55 AM)
You can get that sort of facilities by just joining a well known golf or country club. Even cheaper in the long run. Lol.
true.. but is is embedded in the curricular of the school..during my kid class.. i just wander around to see the class room.. totally different.. the way they let the kid think.. art class
norman05051984
post Oct 30 2019, 12:08 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(Namelessone1973 @ Oct 30 2019, 11:04 AM)
May I know what school because I can afford this.
PM tepi
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 12:18 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(rooney723 @ Oct 30 2019, 11:30 AM)
cos many parents saw how jho low went to prestigious school in UK n got his arab connections thr

these parents wan to folo the same thing n wan their children b the nex jho low n dun mind gambling hundreds of thousands or even millions for their children to hav a chance to get dat connection
That’s why they are followers (aka sheeps) and not trendsetters or leaders.

To tell you the truth, Jho Low went to a prestigious business school from a top Ivy League university in the states (Wharton). That’s where he build most of his connections from.

QUOTE(ganz @ Oct 30 2019, 12:01 PM)
true.. but is is embedded in the curricular of the school..during my kid class.. i just wander around to see the class room.. totally different.. the way they let the kid think.. art class
Primary and Secondary education is just a place where you learn the basics. You don’t need to blow a chunk of your education budget on something so basic. It’s the university level education that matters more.

emburrar
post Oct 30 2019, 12:26 PM

14 posts

cukur ekonomi malaysia baru bagus
parents send children to international school
ganz
post Oct 30 2019, 12:27 PM

Livin' Ain't No Crime
1,139 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Oct 30 2019, 12:18 PM)

To tell you the truth, Jho Low went to a prestigious business school from a top Ivy League university in the states (Wharton). That’s where he build most of his connections from.
Primary and Secondary education is just a place where you learn the basics. You don’t need to blow a chunk of your education budget on something so basic. It’s the university level education that matters more.

saw few post in FB abount next year standard 4 Math syllabus look like a doom.. those who are not math driven person difinetly will fail
SUSandylyc
post Oct 30 2019, 12:27 PM

27 posts

These kids will come out to be spoilt brats as there is no punishments in international private schools.
SUSAllnGap
post Oct 30 2019, 12:28 PM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

QUOTE(ClericKilla @ Oct 30 2019, 11:43 AM)
I believe its not all about money to get in there.

You require connection as well bro. Please don't tell me got money got connection.

There will always be people richer than you.. and Wharton Biz School.. you need to include different nationalities around the world who equally desire to send their kids there.
Besides school fees, need to make donations to ahem ppl.
These scandals are very well known.
ganz
post Oct 30 2019, 12:29 PM

Livin' Ain't No Crime
1,139 posts

QUOTE(andylyc @ Oct 30 2019, 12:27 PM)
These kids will come out to be spoilt brats as there is no punishments in international private schools.
maybe punishment is the result student nowadys become spoilt ?
xpole
post Oct 30 2019, 12:29 PM

Rain on me baby
1,410 posts

QUOTE(thesoothsayer @ Oct 30 2019, 11:46 AM)
I have a friend who sent his son to one of the premier schools. Think 5k/month just for the fees and not including all the other activities. Had to withdraw him after 1 year and put him in a cheaper school.
Why? Cannot afford?
ClericKilla
post Oct 30 2019, 12:30 PM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Oct 30 2019, 12:28 PM)
Besides school fees, need to make donations to ahem ppl.
These scandals are very well known.
Also that lah, but you also need connection to just reach this people.

Can't just outright wanna dump money even you're rich.

They say money cant buy class.
Strike
post Oct 30 2019, 12:31 PM

51 posts

rich liberals and musyrikin only
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 12:33 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(ganz @ Oct 30 2019, 12:27 PM)
saw few post in FB abount next year standard 4 Math syllabus look  like a doom.. those who are not math driven person difinetly will fail
What is “like a doom”?

Anyways, my kids go to national schools and they don’t have any problem coping with the school syllabus. The teachers are also very dedicated and punctual. So far, we only experienced a class teacher who went on maternity leave but a substitute teacher was on hand to continue the lessons.
ClericKilla
post Oct 30 2019, 12:33 PM

1,789 posts

He must be something as well from Uplands Penang > Harrow School UK

If Harrow School > UITM or UM then really topkek already huhu.
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 12:36 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(ClericKilla @ Oct 30 2019, 12:33 PM)
He must be something as well from Uplands Penang > Harrow School UK

If Harrow School > UITM or UM then really topkek already huhu.
My wife went to LSE in London from a national school. It happens all the time.

I have friends from Sri Cempaka who end up being less connected satisfied and not as rich happy as I am.

The point is that Jho Low’s parents were already well connected and quite rich before. You just can’t send your kids to international school and see your kids becoming multi billionaires in the near future.

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Oct 30 2019, 12:40 PM
rooney723
post Oct 30 2019, 12:40 PM

596 posts

yeah, those sheeps, i rmb i was listening to radio and got 1 part the DJ interview a parent why she sent her children to international school, she say its not about the education quality or environment etc, she just want her children to build connections wif other rich ppl in the school and help her children succeed in future, she say jho low inspired her laugh.gif , when i hear that i was like rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 12:48 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(rooney723 @ Oct 30 2019, 12:40 PM)
yeah, those sheeps, i rmb i was listening to radio and got 1 part the DJ interview a parent why she sent her children to international school, she say its not about the education quality or environment etc, she just want her children to build connections wif other rich ppl in the school and help her children succeed in future, she say jho low inspired her laugh.gif , when i hear that i was like  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
That’s the target demographics for private and internationals schools.

The funny thing is that the only connections that her kids are going to make are with other like minded parent’s kids. Those who send their kids to these schools in the hopes of making good connections. Lol.

Poor parents want their kids to become doctors or lawyers and on a full scholarship. When their kids cannot get Medical scholarship but instead got Food Science or Engineering, they cry and beat their chest on national newspapers.

Middle class parents want their kids to get connections with VIPs. So they send their kids to expensive schools. Then, their kids end up becoming DJs or part of the Actor’s Studio’s lighting crew due to the encouragement they get to “do what they love” and “be themselves”.

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Oct 30 2019, 12:49 PM
keyibukeyi
post Oct 30 2019, 12:52 PM

150 posts

Sekolah Tahfiz best school
Nauts
post Oct 30 2019, 12:52 PM

340 posts

Face is everything to this type of people....end up get beaten up and died early due to arrogance...fact of life

rooney723
post Oct 30 2019, 12:58 PM

596 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Oct 30 2019, 12:48 PM)

The funny thing is that the only connections that her kids are going to make are with other like minded parent’s kids. Those who send their kids to these schools in the hopes of making good connections. Lol.

Poor parents want their kids to become doctors or lawyers and on a full scholarship. When their kids cannot get Medical scholarship but instead got Food Science or Engineering, they cry and beat their chest on national newspapers.

Middle class parents want their kids to get connections with VIPs. So they send their kids to expensive schools. Then, their kids end up becoming DJs or part of the Actor’s Studio’s lighting crew due to the encouragement they get to “do what they love” and “be themselves”.
and also even if there are rich ppl in international/private schools, those rich ppl wont mix wif middle class kids, they are very realistic ppl, so if lets say u are a middle class parent, u send ur children to private school hoping that he get connection, but in the end he kena ignored by those rich kids n have no friends thr

i got 1 relative, he sent his son to private school from national school, before he went to private school, he is very down to earth guy, play games sports etc just like other kids, but after he went to private school, he totally changed, everything also wan branded, from top to toe all branded stuffs, and forced his parents to buy those expensive stuffs, he say if dont buy for him then his classmates will not mix wif him, damn sad really, every word coming out from his mouth is about money money money and branded stuffs. and worse thing is his parents is not rich, just middle class, and they have to fund his rich boy lifestyle, sometimes i also kesian them haihhh
Blofeld
post Oct 30 2019, 01:09 PM

4,703 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Oct 30 2019, 12:48 PM)

So true. LOL

In one particular international school I know, there's a group of rough-looking Mandarin speaking students (they are also known as the troublemakers in school) who click together and they ended up speaking Mandarin every single day despite the school policy requiring all students to speak English in school.

I don't know what's the point of they being in that school.
Majlis Bandaraya Puchong
post Oct 30 2019, 01:12 PM

Bodo la class with 40++ ppl are much healthier than class with less than 10 ppl. At least u can choose friends, communicate with other groups of ppl, and negotiation bargain.

The reason us has many shooting case because stranded inside 10++ ppl classroom. So limited social and emotionally easily affected if kena boycotted.
bigwolf
post Oct 30 2019, 01:14 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(norman05051984 @ Oct 30 2019, 12:08 PM)
PM tepi
Pm also, thanks notworthy.gif
jepakazoid_82
post Oct 30 2019, 01:27 PM

830 posts

Need to think of which university parents can send their kids to if they dont plan to sit for SPM
shuhuan
post Oct 30 2019, 01:29 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(rooney723 @ Oct 30 2019, 12:40 PM)
yeah, those sheeps, i rmb i was listening to radio and got 1 part the DJ interview a parent why she sent her children to international school, she say its not about the education quality or environment etc, she just want her children to build connections wif other rich ppl in the school and help her children succeed in future, she say jho low inspired her laugh.gif , when i hear that i was like  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
This is what a relative of mine is doing now. She got many kids, but send the most prettiest kid into intl, despite household income about 15k. She needs to thank her lucky stars that her kind mil in village never take any care-taking fees for all her remainder kids. Yes, she groom only one and all other kids dumped in village.
party
post Oct 30 2019, 01:40 PM

816 posts

QUOTE(BS8110 @ Oct 30 2019, 10:57 AM)

Then u lack social unless ur kid is male n teach is 30s which which sbe can also teach social brows.gif
rooney723
post Oct 30 2019, 01:43 PM

596 posts

QUOTE(shuhuan @ Oct 30 2019, 01:29 PM)
This is what a relative of mine is doing now. She got many kids, but send the most prettiest kid into intl, despite household income about 15k. She needs to thank her lucky stars that her kind mil in village never take any care-taking fees for all her remainder kids. Yes, she groom only one and all other kids dumped in village.
pretty got chance to get rich bf in intl school, in future duneed work cn be rich tai tai lol
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 01:44 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(rooney723 @ Oct 30 2019, 12:58 PM)
and also even if there are rich ppl in international/private schools, those rich ppl wont mix wif middle class kids, they are very realistic ppl, so if lets say u are a middle class parent, u send ur children to private school hoping that he get connection, but in the end he kena ignored by those rich kids n have no friends thr

i got 1 relative, he sent his son to private school from national school, before he went to private school, he is very down to earth guy, play games sports etc just like other kids, but after he went to private school, he totally changed, everything also wan branded, from top to toe all branded stuffs, and forced his parents to buy those expensive stuffs, he say if dont buy for him then his classmates will not mix wif him, damn sad really, every word coming out from his mouth is about money money money and branded stuffs. and worse thing is his parents is not rich, just middle class, and they have to fund his rich boy lifestyle, sometimes i also kesian them haihhh
QUOTE(Blofeld @ Oct 30 2019, 01:09 PM)
So true. LOL

In one particular international school I know, there's a group of rough-looking Mandarin speaking students (they are also known as the troublemakers in school) who click together and they ended up speaking Mandarin every single day despite the school policy requiring all students to speak English in school.

I don't know what's the point of they being in that school.
QUOTE(shuhuan @ Oct 30 2019, 01:29 PM)
How connected you become boils down to dumb luck. Plain and simple.

I never actively seek out well connected people nor did my parents cared about getting strong cables. They always wanted me to be happy in life and to try my best.

But somehow I ended up marrying into a well connected family by sheer dumb luck. She was low profile and didn’t even mentioned who her dad was until after our first year of dating seriously.

I have also yet to ask my FIL for any favors of any kind and am planning not to for as long as I live.

I fall into the middle class bracket if anyone is wondering. So I am not part of /k 20k a month demographics. I earn around a quarter of that amount only.

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Oct 30 2019, 02:01 PM
ClericKilla
post Oct 30 2019, 02:05 PM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Oct 30 2019, 12:36 PM)
My wife went to LSE in London from a national school. It happens all the time.

I have friends from Sri Cempaka who end up being less connected satisfied and not as rich happy as I am.

The point is that Jho Low’s parents were already well connected and quite rich before. You just can’t send your kids to international school and see your kids becoming multi billionaires in the near future.
LSE is top but not difficult to get in. Usually follow KC > LSE path

To enter Harrow or Eton or Westminster high school you gotta be either super smart or well connected that was my point.

friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 02:07 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(ClericKilla @ Oct 30 2019, 02:05 PM)
LSE is top but not difficult to get in. Usually follow KC > LSE path

To enter Harrow or Eton or Westminster high school you gotta be either super smart or well connected that was my point.
Why are you comparing schools with universities?

But yes, you have a point there. So, in conclusion, can we say that Jho Low was rich and well connected even BEFORE he went to Harrow?
ClericKilla
post Oct 30 2019, 02:14 PM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Oct 30 2019, 02:07 PM)

But yes, you have a point there. So, in conclusion, can we say that Jho Low was rich and well connected even BEFORE he went to Harrow?
I'm suggesting the timeline from Uplands > Harrow already determined that you're either super smart , rich and well connected.

I'm not disagreeing your point there but i'd think its silly when reading comments here 'if i have money.. ill definitely send my kids to top unis like jho low' kek..

As if it is effortless. smile.gif
oc_rooney
post Oct 30 2019, 02:17 PM

405 posts

Ni sampah punya artikel. Mana research and findings?

Lot of org kaya stil send their children to sekolah kebangsaan la. Private school nak jd spoil brat, anakku sazali boleh la hantar to private school

This post has been edited by oc_rooney: Oct 30 2019, 02:17 PM
shuhuan
post Oct 30 2019, 02:23 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(rooney723 @ Oct 30 2019, 01:43 PM)
pretty got chance to get rich bf in intl school, in future duneed work cn be rich tai tai lol
If all goes well, this is the plan.
But the family of her mil is quite angry over the situation. Her pitiful mil gets no money no helper, single handed have to care for so many kids, her house is practically a kindergarten with no personal life. Cooking and getting grocery is a trouble without money and help. People who barely knows this relative thought she only one kid since rest dumped in village.
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 02:30 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(ClericKilla @ Oct 30 2019, 02:14 PM)
I'm suggesting the timeline from Uplands > Harrow already determined that you're either super smart , rich and well connected.

I'm not disagreeing your point there but i'd think its silly when reading comments here 'if i have money.. ill definitely send my kids to top unis like jho low' kek..

As if it is effortless. smile.gif
To me, it all boils down to luck. You may have the worst upbringing and grew up dirt poor in the slums, but if Lady Luck shines upon you, you will rise up and become a world beater.
ClericKilla
post Oct 30 2019, 02:33 PM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Oct 30 2019, 02:30 PM)
To me, it all boils down to luck. You may have the worst upbringing and grew up dirt poor in the slums, but if Lady Luck shines upon you, you will rise up and become a world beater.
Now you're speaking about the low probability cases.

Also cannot disregard in the entire data set.
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 02:40 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(ClericKilla @ Oct 30 2019, 02:33 PM)
Now you're speaking about the low probability cases.

Also cannot disregard in the entire data set.
Nah dude.

I had the shittiest of luck growing up. If there was ever a chance of getting struck by lightning while standing in a bus stop , I would be it (and I was stuck by lightning, funnily enough with an old entry and exit scar to show).

I grew up in a poor family. Lived in a wooden shack with zinc roof until I was old enough to go to kindie. That was when my parents saved up enough money to rent a place in a really rough part of town.

My clothes and shoes were always much bigger as I was supposed to grow into them. Imagine being a standard one kid with oversized uniform and when I hit Standard 6, my buttons were stretched and popping out.

When I look back, I smile as I see how far I have come.

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Oct 30 2019, 02:40 PM
ClericKilla
post Oct 30 2019, 02:43 PM

1,789 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Oct 30 2019, 02:40 PM)
Nah dude.

I had the shittiest of luck growing up. If there was ever a chance of getting struck by lightning while standing in a bus stop , I would be it (and I was stuck by lightning, funnily enough with an old entry and exit scar to show).

I grew up in a poor family. Lived in a wooden shack with zinc roof until I was old enough to go to kindie. That was when my parents saved up enough money to rent a place in a really rough part of town.

My clothes and shoes were always much bigger as I was supposed to grow into them. Imagine being a standard one kid with oversized uniform and when I hit Standard 6, my buttons were stretched and popping out.

When I look back, I smile as I see how far I have come.
If that makes you feel grateful for the present reflecting back.

You obviously know the low probability above I meant is people who got luck + got into top unis in the world - Harvard, Oxford, Cambridge and others..

My parents too didn't have an easy life but i don't comment or blame them for that.
rooney723
post Oct 30 2019, 02:44 PM

596 posts

QUOTE(shuhuan @ Oct 30 2019, 02:23 PM)
If all goes well, this is the plan.
But the family of her mil is quite angry over the situation. Her pitiful mil gets no money no helper, single handed have to care for so many kids, her house is practically a kindergarten with no personal life. Cooking and getting grocery is a trouble without money and help. People who barely knows this relative thought she only one kid since rest dumped in village.
haha quite an asshole mum also
SUSfuzzy
post Oct 30 2019, 02:46 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(oc_rooney @ Oct 30 2019, 02:17 PM)
Ni sampah punya artikel. Mana research and findings?

Lot of org kaya stil send their children to sekolah kebangsaan la. Private school nak jd spoil brat, anakku sazali boleh la hantar to private school
My plan is to send my kids ton kebangsaan so they know what it means to be Malaysian, then private school when menengah so they know what it means to be more global.

Reach university age they can choose.
SUSfuzzy
post Oct 30 2019, 02:47 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Oct 30 2019, 02:07 PM)

He was. His grandfather and father were among one of the wealthiest in Penang.
ymc2303
post Oct 30 2019, 02:48 PM

592 posts

got teach strawberry gen on how to handle rejection?
shuhuan
post Oct 30 2019, 02:51 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(rooney723 @ Oct 30 2019, 02:44 PM)
haha quite an asshole mum also
Of course you bet she is. She lucky her husband doesn't know to think.
Let's see if she can pull this through till her kid marry a rich kid.
rooney723
post Oct 30 2019, 02:53 PM

596 posts

QUOTE(shuhuan @ Oct 30 2019, 02:51 PM)
Of course you bet she is. She lucky her husband doesn't know to think.
Let's see if she can pull this through till her kid marry a rich kid.
later the daughter marry rich husband n dump n abandon her hahahaha, wasted all her 'investments'
shuhuan
post Oct 30 2019, 02:55 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(rooney723 @ Oct 30 2019, 02:53 PM)
later the daughter marry rich husband n dump n abandon her hahahaha, wasted all her 'investments'
Lol, that we don know yet. But if all her other kids dumps her, I think we all understand why as they are being dumped in the first place.
MamulaMoon
post Oct 30 2019, 03:00 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(rooney723 @ Oct 30 2019, 01:43 PM)
like in movie, pretty marry second rich generation guy, happy ending

no need to worry about money for the rest of her life thumbsup.gif
SUSbronkos
post Oct 30 2019, 03:03 PM

1,159 posts

so many butthurted comments in here. conlanfirm product of SK. kek
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 03:23 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(bronkos @ Oct 30 2019, 03:03 PM)
Lol. Why are you so angry? Conlan7firm product of SRI (Sekolah Rendah Istimewa)
SUSbronkos
post Oct 30 2019, 03:24 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Oct 30 2019, 03:23 PM)
Lol. Why are you so angry? Conlan7firm product of SRI (Sekolah Rendah Istimewa)
ayam not angry but thrilled at the comments, u sound like one of them tho. rclxs0.gif
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 03:48 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(bronkos @ Oct 30 2019, 03:24 PM)
ayam not angry but thrilled at the comments, u sound like one of them tho.  rclxs0.gif
Lol. Is your life so empty that you are “thrilled” so easily? rclxs0.gif
SUSbronkos
post Oct 30 2019, 03:49 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Oct 30 2019, 03:48 PM)
Lol. Is your life so empty that you are “thrilled” so easily? rclxs0.gif
empty life won't be thrilled. learn to be smart. oh I forget, u r a product of sk.
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 03:53 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(bronkos @ Oct 30 2019, 03:49 PM)
empty life won't be thrilled. learn to be smart. oh I forget, u r a product of sk.
lol. Hence your insistence on cheap “thrills”. Thrill seekers usually try to fill the void in their lives with “thrills”. It’s a well known documented fact.
ohman
post Oct 30 2019, 03:55 PM

1,178 posts

We know la why

Its now between rich vs poor.

The gap has widened.

SUSbronkos
post Oct 30 2019, 03:57 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Oct 30 2019, 03:53 PM)
lol. Hence your insistence on cheap “thrills”. Thrill seekers usually try to fill the void in their lives with “thrills”. It’s a well known documented fact.
keep lol-ing, showing how thriledl you can be with my comments and keep it documented coz it sure is fact too.
rooney723
post Oct 30 2019, 03:59 PM

596 posts

QUOTE(bronkos @ Oct 30 2019, 03:03 PM)
so which 'prestigious' school did u come from?
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 03:59 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(bronkos @ Oct 30 2019, 03:57 PM)
keep lol-ing, showing how thriledl you can be with my comments and keep it documented coz it sure is fact too.
Lol. Am so happy that you are “thrilled” with my comments. It’s not everyday that a Troll can be made excitable by my comments.
SUSbronkos
post Oct 30 2019, 04:00 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(rooney723 @ Oct 30 2019, 03:59 PM)
so which 'prestigious' school did u come from?
so you can counter strike?
rooney723
post Oct 30 2019, 04:01 PM

596 posts

QUOTE(bronkos @ Oct 30 2019, 04:00 PM)
so you can counter strike?
wan to see how 'successful' u are mar
SUSbronkos
post Oct 30 2019, 04:03 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Oct 30 2019, 03:59 PM)
Lol. Am so happy that you are “thrilled” with my comments. It’s not everyday that a Troll can be made excitable by my comments.
it's daily occurrence in here. what a thrilled deprived chap u r.
SUSeksk
post Oct 30 2019, 04:03 PM

586 posts

they can close vernacular school.. and this is where ppl will go.. go to any commercial area... sure got IGCSE centre... this is the cheapest option...
SUSbronkos
post Oct 30 2019, 04:06 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(rooney723 @ Oct 30 2019, 04:01 PM)
wan to see how 'successful' u are mar
friedricetheman he is the most successful. you should check him out.
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 04:14 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(bronkos @ Oct 30 2019, 04:06 PM)
friedricetheman he is the most successful. you should check him out.
Lol. Your bar is quite low if you consider a middle class person like myself as “most successful”.

Is this what they teach you guys in private/international schools? To strive for mediocrity?

Even I believe that I still have a lot of room for improvement.

Didn’t know that private/international school types like yourself aspire to ape the middle class lifestyle..

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Oct 30 2019, 04:18 PM
galkelly
post Oct 30 2019, 04:17 PM

752 posts

QUOTE(Zaire.Ver @ Oct 30 2019, 09:36 AM)
Sound very true...
SUSbronkos
post Oct 30 2019, 04:19 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Oct 30 2019, 04:14 PM)
Lol. Your bar is quite low if you consider a middle class person like myself as “most successful”.

Is this what they teach you guys in private/international schools? To strive for mediocrity?
what a low esteem chap. won't blame on your alma mater but on urself.
thesoothsayer
post Oct 30 2019, 05:04 PM

954 posts

QUOTE(xpole @ Oct 30 2019, 12:29 PM)
Why? Cannot afford?
Yup. Basically, his wife's net salary going to pay for the fees.
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 05:08 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(bronkos @ Oct 30 2019, 04:19 PM)
what a low esteem chap. won't blame on your alma mater but on urself.
Lol. Now you are trying to imply that just because I am middle class, I have low self esteem?

You have very deep seated psychological issues if you think that being middle class = low self esteem..

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Oct 30 2019, 05:28 PM
manypplwan
post Oct 30 2019, 05:09 PM

274 posts

You don't actually have to send your kids to international schools. Of course it's better than a regular school. But what's more important is the reputation and the connections your children can make in the school you sent them to. Anak siapa ada kat situ, or the chance of your children to be sent to top universities in the world, that's what's more important in the future
SUSbronkos
post Oct 30 2019, 05:30 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Oct 30 2019, 05:08 PM)
Lol. Now you are trying to imply that just because I am middle class, I have low self esteem?

You have very deep seated psychological issues if you think being middle class = low self esteem..
what a shame. From low esteem to psychologist wannabe. What's next? Fortune teller?
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 05:31 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(bronkos @ Oct 30 2019, 05:30 PM)
what a shame. From low esteem to psychologist wannabe. What's next? Fortune teller?
Lol. And that is the mark of a troll. Can’t think of a comeback line so have to resort to personal attacks.

I actually pity you. I bet deep down inside, you feel such emptiness that you resort to getting your thrills from bullying other forumers online.

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Oct 30 2019, 05:32 PM
SUSbronkos
post Oct 30 2019, 05:32 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Oct 30 2019, 05:31 PM)
Lol. And that is the mark of a troll. Can’t think of a comeback line so have to resort to personal attacks.
Who's talking?
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 05:33 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(bronkos @ Oct 30 2019, 05:32 PM)
Who's talking?
Lol. Who started it?
$kidzl
post Oct 30 2019, 05:34 PM

96 posts

hantar masuk sekolah kluster je dah cukup.

SUSbronkos
post Oct 30 2019, 05:34 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Oct 30 2019, 05:33 PM)
Lol. Who started it?
who is that dupe followed?
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 05:38 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(bronkos @ Oct 30 2019, 05:34 PM)
who is that dupe followed?
lol. I don’t have any dupes.

Who started it?
SUSbronkos
post Oct 30 2019, 05:38 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Oct 30 2019, 05:38 PM)
lol. I don’t have any dupes.

Who started it?
who follow?
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 05:40 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(bronkos @ Oct 30 2019, 05:38 PM)
who follow?
Who started it?
SUSbronkos
post Oct 30 2019, 05:40 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Oct 30 2019, 05:40 PM)
Who started it?
who follow?
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 05:42 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(bronkos @ Oct 30 2019, 05:40 PM)
who follow?
Lol. How old are you? 12? Even my 10 year old kid is more matured than you.

Grow a pair and admit your mistakes.
miromiro
post Oct 30 2019, 05:43 PM

560 posts

khawin also khawin international school kid with connection
SUSbronkos
post Oct 30 2019, 05:43 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Oct 30 2019, 05:42 PM)
Lol. How old are you? 12? Even my 10 year old kid is more matured than you.

Grow a pair and admit your mistakes.
What could be worst a mature adult like you reply my posts.
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 05:45 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(bronkos @ Oct 30 2019, 05:43 PM)
What could be worst a mature adult like you reply my posts.
What atrocious English. Even my national school going kid write better sentences than that.
pgsiemkia
post Oct 30 2019, 05:46 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(kkkw80 @ Oct 30 2019, 10:36 AM)
Its considered affordable compared to BSKL 51k per year, Epsom 85k, ISKL 100k and this is for Year 1
Yes, some so called International schools do not even have their own campus or swimming pool. Open in shop lots but at least curriculum is much better than SRK or SJK.

Most parents forgo overseas holidays, driving local cars instead of contis to ensure their children have a good foundation by sending to proper International schools. Local schools only teach you to hafal and not to fikir. I did part of my education in SMK and later overseas and saw so much difference. Here I was in last position in class but overseas, top 3 in class and yes, I graduated with 1st class honours.

Nowadays, even with parents sending to chinese schools first then Intl colleges, the kids come to work without any knowledge but good results from univ only. We have to re-teach them and them they leave for higher salary in another compeni.

SUSbronkos
post Oct 30 2019, 05:47 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Oct 30 2019, 05:45 PM)
What atrocious English. Even my national school going kid write better sentences than that.
lucky me aint have kid like yours.
iSean
post Oct 30 2019, 05:48 PM

iz old liao.
4,497 posts

QUOTE(iGamer @ Oct 30 2019, 09:21 AM)
Rich people problem.
Cough MRSM offers IGCSEs.

Kennot explain why we don't follow Cambridge Exams approach.
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 05:51 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Oct 30 2019, 05:46 PM)
Yes, some so called International schools do not even have their own campus or swimming pool. Open in shop lots but at least curriculum is much better than SRK or SJK.

Most parents forgo overseas holidays, driving local cars instead of contis to ensure their children have a good foundation by sending to proper International schools. Local schools only teach you to hafal and not to fikir. I did part of my education in SMK and later overseas and saw so much difference. Here I was in last position in class but overseas, top 3 in class and yes, I graduated with 1st class honours.

Nowadays, even with parents sending to chinese schools first then Intl colleges, the kids come to work without any knowledge but good results from univ only. We have to re-teach them and them they leave for higher salary in another compeni.
That’s the old KBSM syllabus. The kids in national schools nowadays are now being molded into well rounded individuals. My son is gently encouraged to take one sports/physical and one other extra co-curriculum activity by his school.

Their teachers also stressed critical thinking in class and bring them on school trips to the national science center and even a petting zoo.

National schools are now very different from the old days.

SUSbronkos
post Oct 30 2019, 05:58 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Oct 30 2019, 05:51 PM)
That’s the old KBSM syllabus. The kids in national schools nowadays are now being molded into well rounded individuals. My son is gently encouraged to take one sports/physical and one other extra co-curriculum activity by his school.

Their teachers also stressed critical thinking in class and bring them on school trips to the national science center and even a petting zoo. 

trololol..... from low esteem to high esteem father? stop bragging how smart ur kid is. if he is smart, he doesn't need you to promote.
rooney723
post Oct 30 2019, 06:03 PM

596 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Oct 30 2019, 05:46 PM)

sometimes its down to individual also, not every student who went to international school will become better like ur case, its all down to attitude also, if that student is lazy n not the bright type, u send him to the best school also he will still flunk his studies wan

n i have seen more ppl who end up becoming worse or didnt improve at all after switching to international or private schools, its like 10 ppl who study in int school n 1 or 2 excelled n we say int school is so gud it improves the student etc
bereev
post Oct 30 2019, 06:13 PM

257 posts

last time kids that kick out from school only study in international school
skeith
post Oct 30 2019, 06:28 PM

342 posts

true, i got double degree in engineer from world top 20s university.

but now i earn RM4k in malaysia only, starting from RM2k few yrs ago in penang.
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 06:34 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(bronkos @ Oct 30 2019, 05:58 PM)
trololol..... from low esteem to high esteem father? stop bragging how smart ur kid is. if he is smart, he doesn't need you to promote.
Look. I know you have really low self esteem right now as your parents spent a fortune on you but you ended up being a nobody.

It’s okay. I understand where you are coming from. The important thing now is that you should realize that it’s never too late to make something out of your life.

Don’t give up on life. Hang in there. Befrienders are just a phone call away if you feel empty inside and need someone to talk to. Don’t succumb to cheap thrills you get from pretending to be all nasty and shit.

Deep down inside, I know you are a very nice person.
Sizty
post Oct 30 2019, 06:35 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(ymc2303 @ Oct 30 2019, 02:48 PM)
got teach strawberry gen on how to handle rejection?
Ofcos not.

Thats why can see these strawberries complain about everything! So irritating
acbc
post Oct 30 2019, 06:35 PM

9,048 posts

Must be due to current EM.

Great news for everyone.
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 06:36 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(bereev @ Oct 30 2019, 06:13 PM)
last time kids that kick out from school only study in international school
+1

There is still that stigma among the elites and industry captains.

They still believe that private schools are for kids who failed their exams or got kicked out due to disciplinary problems.
SUSbronkos
post Oct 30 2019, 06:38 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Oct 30 2019, 06:34 PM)
Look. I know you have really low self esteem right now as your parents spent a fortune on you but you ended up being a nobody.

It’s okay. I understand where you are coming from. The important thing now is that you should realize that it’s never too late to make something out of your life.

Don’t give up on life. Hang in there. Befrienders are just a phone call away if you feel empty inside and need someone to talk to. Don’t succumb to cheap thrills you get from pretending to be all nasty and shit.

Deep down inside, I know you are a very nice person.
another prediction from the father who brags about his smart ass son.

typical 14 floor client when his son turns out not what is expected.

This post has been edited by bronkos: Oct 30 2019, 06:39 PM
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 06:42 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(skeith @ Oct 30 2019, 06:28 PM)
true, i got double degree in engineer from world top 20s university.

but now i earn RM4k in malaysia only, starting from RM2k few yrs ago in penang.
It’s enough lah. Our EPF money is rolling on compound interest as we speak. No other western country in the world have a government whom help us to invest a portion of our income and guarantee us returns.

That’s why I love Malaysia. We don’t have very high income taxes. And our government helps us invest part of our money for our retirement and with great returns too. And best of all, it’s free.

Our brethren overseas all have to either pay a financial consultant or DIY when it comes to investing for retirement.
ze2
post Oct 30 2019, 06:42 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Oct 30 2019, 06:36 PM)
+1

There is still that stigma among the elites and industry captains.

They still believe that private schools are for kids who failed their exams or got kicked out due to disciplinary problems.
Not anymore now. Well if your kid manage to go to SK cluster schools, then good, else all the best being in most SK and some SRJK.

This post has been edited by ze2: Oct 30 2019, 06:42 PM
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 06:43 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(bronkos @ Oct 30 2019, 06:38 PM)
another prediction from the father who brags about his smart ass son.

typical 14 floor client when his son turns out not what is expected.
Usually people who ask other people to 14 floor tend to end up 14 floor themselves. All the more reason to call Befrienders.

Also, I heard that those depressed individuals usually have the tendency to want to have the last words in an argument.
SUSbronkos
post Oct 30 2019, 06:45 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Oct 30 2019, 06:43 PM)
Usually people who ask other people to 14 floor tend to end up 14 floor themselves. All the more reason to call Befrienders.

Also, I heard that those depressed individuals usually have the tendency to want to have the last words in an argument.
Most often those who advice others to call befrienders ends up themselves calling the helpline.
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 06:46 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(ze2 @ Oct 30 2019, 06:42 PM)
Not anymore now. Well if your kid manage to go to SK cluster schools, then good, else all the best being in most SK and some SRJK.
The stigma is returning though.

I have seen a lot of politician’s grandkids going to national schools nowadays. You will be able to spot them during going home time as they wait patiently outside the school to pick up their grandkids.
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 06:46 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(bronkos @ Oct 30 2019, 06:45 PM)
Most often those who advice others to call befrienders ends up themselves calling the helpline.
SUSbronkos
post Oct 30 2019, 06:48 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Oct 30 2019, 06:46 PM)

cricket chirps
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 06:49 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(bronkos @ Oct 30 2019, 06:45 PM)
QUOTE(bronkos @ Oct 30 2019, 06:48 PM)
cricket chirps
This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Oct 30 2019, 06:50 PM
ze2
post Oct 30 2019, 06:50 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Oct 30 2019, 06:46 PM)
The stigma is returning though.

I have seen a lot of politician’s grandkids going to national schools nowadays. You will be able to spot them during going home time as they wait patiently outside the school to pick up their grandkids.
Dunno man... But my kids PS long waiting list. Heard now entrance test you need to be at least 80+ to secure a place.
SUSbronkos
post Oct 30 2019, 06:51 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Oct 30 2019, 06:49 PM)

friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 06:51 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(ze2 @ Oct 30 2019, 06:50 PM)
Dunno man... But my kids PS long waiting list. Heard now entrance test you need to be at least 80+ to secure a place.
Garden International school is it? They do that because there are a lot of diplomat’s kids who are waiting to get in.

Try some other international school instead.
ze2
post Oct 30 2019, 06:53 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Oct 30 2019, 06:51 PM)
Garden International school is it? They do that because there are a lot of diplomat’s kids who are waiting to get in.

Try some other international school instead.
My kids are studying in one and am happy, plus they are very happy as well.
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 06:56 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(ze2 @ Oct 30 2019, 06:53 PM)
My kids are studying in one and am happy, plus they are very happy as well.
Ok. Well, then you have no choice but to wait.

I have Australian and Singaporean friends whom enrolled their kids into Alice Smith School for primary education.

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Oct 30 2019, 06:58 PM
pgsiemkia
post Oct 30 2019, 08:35 PM

473 posts

Yup, I was involved in school activities and sports than studies, end of year even though I passed my STPM, I still did not get a place in UM to read law but sastera, however I was given a place and full board with MIT to do IT. I turned them down and went to England to read Law because I saw no future in IT. That was 1986, lol!

SUSBillCollector
post Oct 30 2019, 08:53 PM

818 posts

https://nces.ed.gov/surveys/pisa/pisa2015/p...hlights_3_1.asp

This doesn't suggest they crap national schools have improved.
s1nn3r
post Oct 30 2019, 08:57 PM

Humility makes us real
759 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Oct 30 2019, 08:35 PM)
Yup, I was involved in school activities and sports than studies, end of year even though I passed my STPM, I still did not get a place in UM to read law but sastera, however I was given a place and full board with MIT to do IT. I turned them down and went to England to read Law because I saw no future in IT. That was 1986, lol!
I see my classmates, those who are active in society that's really success in life.
focusrite
post Oct 30 2019, 09:08 PM

409 posts

Why you play favourites for your children?

One send to good school while another to shit school

later one of them hate you
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 09:14 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Oct 30 2019, 08:35 PM)
But hey. In 1986, being a lawyer is all the rage from what I have heard from my aunties and uncles.

QUOTE(BillCollector @ Oct 30 2019, 08:53 PM)
https://nces.ed.gov/surveys/pisa/pisa2015/p...hlights_3_1.asp

This doesn't suggest they crap national schools have improved.
That’s because you are taking the national average which includes schools in the rural and interior areas of Malaysia.
focusrite
post Oct 30 2019, 09:22 PM

409 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Oct 30 2019, 12:00 PM)
send kids to international school because they can't deal with the language.

way to breed entitled strawberries.
If you are learning a subject in a language you aren't fluent in, you are just setting up yourself for failure.

Sure some might be able to cope and if they do cope, they benefit more, but most can't.
friedricetheman
post Oct 30 2019, 09:32 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(focusrite @ Oct 30 2019, 09:22 PM)
If you are learning a subject in a language you aren't fluent in, you are just setting up yourself for failure.

Sure some might be able to cope and if they do cope, they benefit more, but most can't.
When there is a will, there is a way.

I learned to speak most languages by just listening to my classmates in school. When we were young, our minds are like sponge. I picked up languages and dialects with ease in my youth by just interacting with my peers.

I picked up some Francais and Espanyol along the way too by watching and listening to people talking to each other in a social setting.

This post has been edited by friedricetheman: Oct 30 2019, 09:36 PM
kkkw80
post Oct 30 2019, 09:40 PM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

QUOTE(miromiro @ Oct 30 2019, 05:43 PM)
khawin also khawin international school kid with connection
Agree, my ex boss even said that. His class mate was Selena Cheah
focusrite
post Oct 30 2019, 09:41 PM

409 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Oct 30 2019, 09:32 PM)
When there is a will, there is a way.

I learned to speak most languages by just listening to my classmates in school. When we were young, our minds are like sponge. I picked up languages and dialects with ease in my youth by just interacting with my peers.

I picked up some Francais and Espanyol along the way too by watching and listening to people talking to each other in a social setting.
I don't deny that, in fact, I think those who struggle and succeed would come out stronger than those that took the easy way.

I just don't think most would succeed. They just end up failing.

My opinion is based on my own experience. I struggled a lot with school for most of my childhood and teen years because I went to Chinese schools. Changed to a English-medium school when I was halfway through secondary school and I did much better. Still not great since I'm not academically inclined but at least I wasn't at risk of being held back a year like when I was back at my previous school.
miromiro
post Oct 31 2019, 08:12 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(kkkw80 @ Oct 30 2019, 09:40 PM)
Agree, my ex boss even said that. His class mate was Selena Cheah
Then show off,later said school fees high hard to maintain
pgsiemkia
post Oct 31 2019, 10:51 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(s1nn3r @ Oct 30 2019, 08:57 PM)
I see my classmates, those who are active in society that's really success in life.
Yes bro...those are outwardly bold dare to take risks and challenges while the bookworms or memorizers of Q&A don't know much.

Btw playing mobile games is not a sporting exercise..
s1nn3r
post Oct 31 2019, 11:36 AM

Humility makes us real
759 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Oct 31 2019, 10:51 AM)
Yes bro...those are outwardly bold dare to take risks and challenges while the bookworms or memorizers of Q&A don't know much.

Btw playing mobile games is not a sporting exercise..
Socail including gangsterism but not mobile games.

Basically they learn to handle people at early age.

0.0486sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:39 PM