Coverage and data

SUSjudehow
post Oct 29 2019, 05:18 PM, updated 7y ago

4,118 posts

I am using mobile data , in the living hall i get to use my data but when

i go to the kitchen can't use my mobile data and worse when i go up the first floor can't use my mobile data but got line and H plus signs.

Lastly when i go to street able to use my data.

Any solution for this? Hope you guys can understand what i trying to explain.
sHawTY
post Oct 29 2019, 05:21 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Other than notifying the telco about the matter, no there's nothing you can do
SUSjudehow
post Oct 29 2019, 05:23 PM

4,118 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Oct 29 2019, 05:21 PM)
Other than notifying the telco about the matter, no there's nothing you can do
Is it bacause of the wall? But i use other telco can use like maxis, digi.

This post has been edited by judehow: Oct 29 2019, 05:26 PM
Baconateer
post Oct 29 2019, 05:29 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

sometime it can be your phone problem as well..

some phone models are quite weak in signal reception..

u can try changing to other telco

This post has been edited by Baconateer: Oct 29 2019, 05:33 PM
PointOfSale
post Oct 29 2019, 05:45 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(judehow @ Oct 29 2019, 05:18 PM)
I am using mobile data , in the living hall i get to use my data  but when

i go to the  kitchen can't use  my mobile data  and worse when i go up the first floor can't use my mobile data but got line  and H plus signs. 

my office in bangsar south tower is using this device. It comes in pair so the main receiver is at the other end facing outer window. We have 4 pairs in my floor as the office occupied the whole 7 floors. So they put North south east west then the secondary device facing inside the office.

I forgot the name but the last i check per pair cost RM 2000++ and made in ITALY. It also has digital display for the signal. And guess what It has MCMC and sirim sticker on it.

So it's legal. Unless u dare to use china illegal repeater or booster RM 200 la
SUSjudehow
post Oct 29 2019, 06:05 PM

4,118 posts

QUOTE(PointOfSale @ Oct 29 2019, 05:45 PM)
my office in bangsar south tower is using this device. It comes in pair so the main receiver is at the other end facing outer window. We have 4 pairs in my floor as the office occupied the whole 7 floors. So they put North south east west then the secondary device facing inside the office.

I forgot the name but the last i check per pair cost RM 2000++ and made in ITALY. It also has digital display for the signal. And guess what It has MCMC and sirim sticker on it.

So it's legal. Unless u dare to use china illegal repeater or booster RM 200 la
But i am using mobile data umobile GX30. can it work?
SUSjudehow
post Oct 29 2019, 06:10 PM

4,118 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Oct 29 2019, 05:29 PM)
sometime it can be your phone problem as well..

some phone models are quite weak in signal reception..

u can try changing to other telco
I have try other telco can work but i dont know why mine one can't work.
PointOfSale
post Oct 29 2019, 06:11 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(judehow @ Oct 29 2019, 06:05 PM)
But i am using mobile data umobile GX30. can it work?
almost rm3k sure work la..not sure for china booster..after use signal from 1 bar become 3 bar to 5 bar up and down...can work but high latency..

i did speed test before..high latency..sometimes times out

total 4 pair almost rm 12k la...
Baconateer
post Oct 29 2019, 06:12 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(judehow @ Oct 29 2019, 06:10 PM)
then it could be umobile problem
AV_2018
post Oct 29 2019, 06:21 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(judehow @ Oct 29 2019, 06:10 PM)
Maybe the different telcos are using different transmission towers and/or transmit power and/or carrier frequency in your area.
SUSjudehow
post Oct 29 2019, 08:22 PM

4,118 posts

QUOTE(AV_2018 @ Oct 29 2019, 06:21 PM)
Maybe the different telcos are using different transmission towers and/or transmit power and/or carrier frequency in your area.
Omg that is why 😐
SUSlurkingaround
post Oct 29 2019, 08:27 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

i go to the  kitchen can't use  my mobile data  and worse when i go up the first floor can't use my mobile data but got line  and H plus signs. 

A 4G LTE cell tower can cover a range of up to 3 miles/5km for Internet data and 10 miles for voice calls/SMS. It's signals are line-of-sight = can be blocked by walls, tall buildings, hills, heavy rain, etc. It can only serve up to 60 users at any one time. 4G LTE cell towers are usually located in city areas(= more towers closer together) and along main roads and highways(= less towers in non-city areas) to cater for car nav apps like Waze.

So, if your phone is only receiving a weak 2 bars out of 5 bars in signal strength from U Mobile's 4G LTE cell tower when you are outside on the street(= your location is near the edge of the 3 miles/5km range limit), the cell signals will be more easily blocked by walls or other objects.
....... I live near a highway in KV = get at least 4 bars 4G LTE signal strength with U Mobile GX50 on my 4G Android device facing outside, ie not blocked by any house wall. In my bedroom = cell signal strength drops to 2 bars but still able to video-stream Youtube at 480p.
SUSjudehow
post Oct 29 2019, 09:42 PM

4,118 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Oct 29 2019, 08:27 PM)
A 4G LTE cell tower can cover a range of up to 3 miles/5km for Internet data and 10 miles for voice calls/SMS. It's signals are line-of-sight = can be blocked by walls, tall buildings, hills, heavy rain, etc. It can only serve up to 60 users at any one time. 4G LTE cell towers are usually located in city areas(= more towers closer together) and along main roads and highways(= less towers in non-city areas) to cater for car nav apps like Waze.

So, if your phone is only receiving a weak 2 bars out of 5 bars in signal strength from U Mobile's 4G LTE cell tower when you are outside on the street(= your location is near the edge of the 3 miles/5km range limit), the cell signals will be more easily blocked by walls or other objects.
....... I live near a highway in KV = get at least 4 bars 4G LTE signal strength with U Mobile GX50 on my 4G Android device facing outside, ie not blocked by any house wall. In my bedroom = cell signal strength drops to 2 bars but still able to video-stream Youtube at 480p.
At the 1st floor the weird thing is got line got h+ and got even 4G line but still can't go.. I have to be at the hall all the time

SUSlurkingaround
post Oct 29 2019, 10:09 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(judehow @ Oct 29 2019, 09:42 PM)
At the 1st floor the weird thing is got line got h+  and got even 4G line  but still can't go.. I have to be at the hall all the time
Likely, the U Mobile 4G LTE cell tower serving your phone and house is located somewhere in front of your house. Install the Cellmapper app to see the actual location of the U Mobile 4G LTE cell tower.

How many bars of 4G LTE signal strength are you getting.?

HSPA+ is 3G = only about 1.5Mbps download speed. If you can get 4G LTE signals, you should also be getting 3G signals from the same cell tower. In this case, 3G only serves as a backup. In 2020, some countries will be mothballing 3G. In Singapore, there is already no 2G for feature phones.

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Oct 29 2019, 10:17 PM
SUSjudehow
post Oct 29 2019, 10:44 PM

4,118 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Oct 29 2019, 10:09 PM)
Likely, the U Mobile 4G LTE cell tower serving your phone and house is located somewhere in front of your house. Install the Cellmapper app to see the actual location of the U Mobile 4G LTE cell tower.

How many bars of 4G LTE signal strength are you getting.?

HSPA+ is 3G = only about 1.5Mbps download speed. If you can get 4G LTE signals, you should also be getting 3G signals from the same cell tower. In this case, 3G only serves as a backup. In 2020, some countries will be mothballing 3G. In Singapore, there is already no 2G for feature phones.
4 bars
SUSlurkingaround
post Oct 29 2019, 11:37 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(judehow @ Oct 29 2019, 10:44 PM)
4 bars
Try positioning your phone near an open window in your kitchen and 1st floor.

Looks like no solution to the problem of no mobile data at your kitchen and 1st floor. The problem should lie with U Mobile using only 4G LTE Band 7 = 2600MHz = higher frequency is more easily blocked by walls.

In comparison, Digi uses Band 7 and Band 8 = 900MHz = lower frequency is less easily blocked by walls; Unifi Mobile uses Band 38/40 and Band 5 = 850MHz; and both Celcom and Maxis use Band 7 and Band 3 = 1800MHz.

SUSjudehow
post Oct 30 2019, 01:04 AM

4,118 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Oct 29 2019, 11:37 PM)
Try positioning your phone near an open window in your kitchen and 1st floor.

Looks like no solution to the problem of no mobile data at your kitchen and 1st floor. The problem should lie with U Mobile using only 4G LTE Band 7 = 2600MHz = higher frequency is more easily blocked by walls.

In comparison, Digi uses Band 7 and Band 8 = 900MHz = lower frequency is less easily blocked by walls;  Unifi Mobile uses Band 38/40 and Band 5 = 850MHz; and both Celcom and Maxis use Band 7 and Band 3 = 1800MHz.
Near the window 1st floor can not use data and even kitchen can not too.
soonwai
post Oct 30 2019, 02:22 AM

11,459 posts

I don't use it anymore but back in 2013, I bought a repeater from these guys. http://mymobilebooster.com It worked quite well.

0.0187sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 06:57 AM