FOREX: Instarem v BigPay v Transferwise, True as at 6/7/2020

Takudan
post Feb 23 2021, 10:26 PM

1,056 posts

I just did a comparison using my own sheet (thank you TS for the format), BigPay's winning by a big shot because it has fixed RM5 transfer compared to the other 2 charging proportionate to your transfer amount.

(I've never used BigPay international transfer, so I minused the RM5 fee i.e. by inputting 995, 2995, 4995... to get the numbers)

I guess I'm going there this time haha, no more manual minus.

edit: Just read up past messages about SunwayMoney, added to list for quick comparison... still BigPay
I added the "special discounts" manually such that Total Payment tallies with the rest (with about 2 cent spread)

This post has been edited by Takudan: Feb 23 2021, 10:42 PM
Takudan
post Feb 24 2021, 10:20 AM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 24 2021, 05:18 AM)
Don't compare during non office hour. Compare during office hour.
Bigpay problem. Max only RM10k/transfer.
I wasn't aware that they have a different rate during office hour O.o
Alright I did another comparison as below, funny BigPay doesn't allow me to screenshot in the phone app...

SunwayMoney has a much better rate now, but still very slightly losing out to bigpay on larger amount.
BigPay uses the exact same rate as yesterday night (12h ago), which was slightly higher, so the gap seems bigger to the other 2. I'm surprised to see Instarem and TW having such a shitty rate, in fact I used TW last year as it was the best at that time.

Conclusion:
1k = SunwayMoney
3k-10k=BigPay
20k+ = SunwayMoney
SunwayMoney is the best choice if BigPay indeed has max 10k/transfer. I didn't see anywhere in the app though... then again I don't have more than 10k to see the app rejecting my transaction lol.
Takudan
post Mar 6 2021, 09:03 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Mar 6 2021, 04:11 PM)
Is this Sunway Money good for sending tuition fees of Euro 42(per lesson per week) to Austria's bank account?
I just made my spreadsheet public for viewing so you can consider making a copy and do your own comparison. https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1DF1...#gid=1671928582

It should work for every currency conversion that google supports haha.
Takudan
post Apr 4 2021, 04:52 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Apr 4 2021, 04:34 PM)
So what is your new recommendation, sifu? biggrin.gif
The whole point of this thread is to compare the transfer rates offered by various parties everytime you want to make a transfer. Any fintech you can get your hands on means you should always add it to the list for comparison. There's no one true answer that is applicable forever because the rates are always changing, and some of them get promotional rates sometimes.

I do have to agree with Ramjade that Instarem's rate has been disappointing though. Of all 3 of my transfers since last year, Instarem was almost always in the last place. I don't actually have Instarem account atm because i heard the procedures are kind of a hassle (interview at their branch and whatnot..?), but the good thing about them is that I can compare their rates without logging in. Wise and BigPay have to log in, and BigPay is on the phone only.

This post has been edited by Takudan: Apr 4 2021, 04:52 PM
Takudan
post Dec 16 2021, 12:51 PM

1,056 posts

Just came across WorldRemit ad when I looked up exchange rate for MYR to SGD... 5M+ app download versus Wise's 8M+, sounds pretty legit. Anyone heard of this or have any comment about it?
Takudan
post Mar 2 2022, 01:15 AM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Mar 2 2022, 12:57 AM)
Oz?
"Aussie", I assume.

Interesting change of pace... I was almost gonna remove Instarem from my check because it was always last place for 1 year+ lol
Takudan
post Apr 19 2022, 09:08 PM

1,056 posts

PSA: BigPay dropped from my numba 1 last year to shittiest rate this year lol
Takudan
post Apr 20 2022, 01:18 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 19 2022, 11:12 PM)
Instarem rates good? Madam lousy only.
AirAsia not making money ma. How to support bigpay? Need to hike up rate to get more money for AirAsia.
Yeah Instarem still shit (3rd among that list). I guess bigpay just wanted to lure in customers initially, but we can only do our part to always compare.
Sunway Money registration was shit as I had to chase them like a month after I sent all my details, but upon chasing them, I got approved immediately. Transfer wise (no pun intended), Sunway rates has been really good XD I also confirmed I got the money this morning.
Takudan
post Aug 22 2022, 04:41 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Aug 22 2022, 04:26 PM)
Managed to open Sunway Money account within 3 working days, but that's with 1 day of nothing happening. 3rd working day terus email them, then shortly after they activate the account.

As of 4.20pm today, 10000 MYR to SGD is as follows:
Wise: SGD3091.70
BigPay: SGD3101.54
Sunway Money: SGD 3100.00 (RM9999.00 + RM1 fee)
Sunway Money is in fact quite noob in processing new accounts...
Yknow mine was actually 1+ MONTH of nothing happening, until I chased them on email then next day can d lol

0.0258sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:23 PM