Are Grills (Like Door and Window Grills) a Must?

TSLeo the Lion
post Oct 28 2019, 02:44 PM, updated 7y ago

6,358 posts

Halooo.

I’ve been wanting to ask, are door and window grills recommended to install for new serviced apartment unit? My apartment comes with 3 tier security. So I am still wondering if I should still need door and window grills and maybe can opt for alarm or cctv instead?
Mr_47
post Oct 28 2019, 02:53 PM

***NOT MODERATOR *** Post : +10,000,000,00 Warn: 100%
4,337 posts

no problem someone will void that security n get into to rape all girls
tien171
post Oct 28 2019, 03:00 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 28 2019, 03:44 PM)
Halooo.

I’ve been wanting to ask, are door and window grills recommended to install for new serviced apartment unit? My apartment comes with 3 tier security. So I am still wondering if I should still need door and window grills and maybe can opt for alarm or cctv instead?
best to go for main door grill first . the rest can follow if you see the need.

mini orchard
post Oct 28 2019, 03:22 PM

14,511 posts

If you want further peace of mind, do it.

Windows without grills is dangerous if you have own kids or liitle ones visiting your place.
carentan
post Oct 28 2019, 05:00 PM

132 posts

i hate grill, hence i spend more and stay further at gated n guarded house......worst come to worst i rather stay at low density condo.
TSLeo the Lion
post Oct 28 2019, 05:03 PM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(carentan @ Oct 28 2019, 06:00 PM)
i hate grill, hence i spend more and stay further at gated n guarded house......worst come to worst i rather stay at low density condo.
My apartment is already low density serviced apartment 😅
carentan
post Oct 28 2019, 05:32 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 28 2019, 05:03 PM)
My apartment is already low density serviced apartment 😅
if the security do their jobs,
a grill down at main entrance door will do.

This post has been edited by carentan: Oct 28 2019, 10:03 PM
amduser
post Oct 28 2019, 06:26 PM

5,542 posts

If you stay in high floor you don't need window grill, I don't think someone will wanna climb so high up and break in through the window

You can install some restraint to prevent the window from fully open, this should prevent kids from falling

Grill at the main entrance is still needed, you never know if other unit's owner decide to break in your house one day, and you can't remove the grill at main door if it is installed by developer
mini orchard
post Oct 28 2019, 06:34 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Oct 28 2019, 06:26 PM)
If you stay in high floor you don't need window grill, I don't think someone will wanna climb so high up and break in through the window

You can install some restraint to prevent the window from fully open, this should prevent kids from falling

Grill at the main entrance is still needed, you never know if other unit's owner decide to break in your house one day, and you can't remove the grill at main door if it is installed by developer
Can share what type of restraint available in the market? Looking to get it if suitable.
TSLeo the Lion
post Oct 28 2019, 06:43 PM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Oct 28 2019, 07:26 PM)

Noted. I am living on higher floor. So I think door grill will be enough.
nexona88
post Oct 28 2019, 08:03 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

Basic grill should be sufficient enough...

Since yours is high floor.. door is okay
amduser
post Oct 28 2019, 08:15 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Oct 28 2019, 06:34 PM)
Can share what type of restraint available in the market? Looking to get it if suitable.
For push pull type window can install this
https://shopee.com.my/product/187096093/480...7784?smtt=0.0.9

Or this
https://shopee.com.my/product/169197130/284...3983?smtt=0.0.9

There is those for sliding door as well

Actually this is good even the is no children, because strong wind at higher floor can blow open a half open window, next thing you get is a flooded room when it rain heavily with strong wind, experienced it in my house before
mini orchard
post Oct 28 2019, 08:33 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Oct 28 2019, 08:15 PM)
For push pull type window can install this
https://shopee.com.my/product/187096093/480...7784?smtt=0.0.9

Are you using the above?

Is the opening length adustable and lock or fixed? From the picture, the opening width is wide.
Jason
post Oct 28 2019, 08:47 PM

6,354 posts

actually the weakest link of the main door is the lock. Apartment doors are already fire rated and it’s quite tough. If there’s a space there between the door and the place to install grill then do it so can put shoes there. Otherwise no need grill just install a good digital lock and use long screws for the strike plate.

High floor don’t need window grill unless you have children. If the thief want to Spider-Man in then let him, buy home insurance. You don’t want to feel like living in a jail cell. And always remember, most of the time it is inside job.
amduser
post Oct 28 2019, 08:48 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Oct 28 2019, 08:33 PM)
Are you using the above?

Is the opening length adustable and lock or fixed? From the picture, the opening width is wide.
i'm not using any since i have no kids and i stay alone, recently i also removed those grills that my parents installed when they buy the house

actually you can DIY, check the sliding mechanism of your glass window, then stick a piece of metal there to stop it from sliding hence prevent the window from opening wider

another alternative is to use nylon string or zip tie to tie the handle of both window so it cannot be fully open
Selectt
post Apr 23 2024, 03:08 PM

wattttt!!
1,707 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 28 2019, 02:44 PM)
Halooo.

your forgot your emergency staircase is accessible by anyone
Selectt
post Apr 23 2024, 03:11 PM

wattttt!!
1,707 posts

believe or not, there are thieves that managed to break thru the window at high floor
submergedx
post Apr 23 2024, 09:12 PM

1,124 posts

No. I'll tighten my main door security(CCTV, sensor LED autolight, Cam-recorded Digital lock) but i will never ever install grill.

In fact, grilled condo/apartment will still able to break in.

submergedx
post Apr 23 2024, 09:15 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(Selectt @ Apr 23 2024, 03:11 PM)
believe or not, there are thieves that managed to break thru the window at high floor
You can checked my years ago posts. Someone break in thru my bathroom window into my unit at 16th floor.
My phone and wallet are stolen because the window are small, he can't bring large item.

And the most stupidity is, the thief are on action other unit other floor on the next day but unfortunately he fell from 9th floor and break his head and arm, tak da mati.

Insider job.

0.0224sec    0.19    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:47 AM