Suggestion for head unit below 1.5k
TSjeff_85
Oct 26 2019, 12:36 PM, updated 7y ago
Hi, I'm looking for a head unit with below condition: Price below 1.5k Android base At least 2gb ram Can link to phone (what I open on my phone will display on screen) Doesn't need cd/dvd Can use waze Any recommend?
fireballs
Oct 26 2019, 12:57 PM
500 enough
TSjeff_85
Oct 26 2019, 02:08 PM
QUOTE(fireballs @ Oct 26 2019, 12:57 PM) Wat brand? Can suggest?
TitaniumZ
Oct 26 2019, 09:53 PM
QUOTE(jeff_85 @ Oct 26 2019, 12:36 PM) Hi, I'm looking for a head unit with below condition: Price below 1.5k Android base At least 2gb ram Can link to phone (what I open on my phone will display on screen) Doesn't need cd/dvd Can use waze Any recommend? If you have budget up to RM1.5k I'll suggest to get a proper head unit that support Apple CarPlay and Android Auto. I'm using Pioneer AVH-Z5050BT and it's a great HU. Although it's an older model released back in 2017 (which is a good thing as the price has been coming down to more affordable level), it supports Apple CarPlay/Android Auto (via USB connection) and Spotify (via Bluetooth). Google Map and Waze are supported through Android Auto. Another plus point with Android Auto is Google Assistant integration. Time Alignment is another great feature that'll save you a lot of headache to create good enough soundstage. If you are not into adding an amp it has built-in digital crossover. This post has been edited by TitaniumZ: Oct 26 2019, 09:57 PM
TSjeff_85
Oct 26 2019, 10:40 PM
Kenwood and pioneer doesn't support waze anymore due to license issue right? Thx for ur intro, will keep an eye on it
TitaniumZ
Oct 27 2019, 08:08 AM
QUOTE(jeff_85 @ Oct 26 2019, 10:40 PM) Kenwood and pioneer doesn't support waze anymore due to license issue right? Thx for ur intro, will keep an eye on it Waze is not supported by Pioneer own AppRadio Mode only because Waze ceased the licensing and moved to Android Auto in favour of its parent company Google's own platform. That's why I recommend Z5050BT which support Android Auto natively. For MirrorLink, chances s are when the app get an update it may break the compatibility.
TSjeff_85
Oct 27 2019, 01:13 PM
QUOTE(TitaniumZ @ Oct 27 2019, 08:08 AM) Waze is not supported by Pioneer own AppRadio Mode only because Waze ceased the licensing and moved to Android Auto in favour of its parent company Google's own platform. That's why I recommend Z5050BT which support Android Auto natively. For MirrorLink, chances s are when the app get an update it may break the compatibility. Can I say like tat, all brand which support android auto they can run waze and Google map? For mirror link, is it what I open on my phone wil display on monitor? For example if I open astro go on my phone, will they display it on monitor?
Oldskolboyz
Oct 27 2019, 01:38 PM
QUOTE(TitaniumZ @ Oct 26 2019, 09:53 PM) Time Alignment is another great feature that'll save you a lot of headache to create good enough soundstage. If you are not into adding an amp it has built-in digital crossover. This part only good for driver seat & not for passenger seat.. 🤣🤣
TitaniumZ
Oct 27 2019, 09:02 PM
QUOTE(jeff_85 @ Oct 27 2019, 01:13 PM) Can I say like tat, all brand which support android auto they can run waze and Google map? For mirror link, is it what I open on my phone wil display on monitor? For example if I open astro go on my phone, will they display it on monitor? The HU brand doesn't matter as long as it's running Android Auto, because Google Map and Waze runs off your phone. MirrorLink is a bit hit or miss, you might want to check if your app is supported or not.
TitaniumZ
Oct 27 2019, 09:09 PM
QUOTE(Oldskolboyz @ Oct 27 2019, 01:38 PM) This part only good for driver seat & not for passenger seat.. 🤣🤣 Well if you don't care about enjoying the most out of your ice setup because there's no way for everyone to get the same audio treatment in a car. If you drive alone, TA to front right is the way; if you do grab and want the backseat passenger to enjoy then TA to rear. 90% of the time I'm alone in my car so obviously I would want to enjoy the best music I could get for those money I spent on it.
howiechoo
Oct 29 2019, 09:46 PM
QUOTE(jeff_85 @ Oct 26 2019, 12:36 PM) Hi, I'm looking for a head unit with below condition: Price below 1.5k Android base At least 2gb ram Can link to phone (what I open on my phone will display on screen) Doesn't need cd/dvd Can use waze Any recommend? why yo want to mirror your phone if the headunit already android based? most of the apps already inside the android headunit right?
TSjeff_85
Oct 29 2019, 10:43 PM
QUOTE(howiechoo @ Oct 29 2019, 09:46 PM) why yo want to mirror your phone if the headunit already android based? most of the apps already inside the android headunit right? Haha, true also, if like tat better choose a head unit with mirroring will do. Not neccessory must android base. My ride is vios year 2008,currently aiming for those head unit with 200mm which perfectly suit for Toyota, but 1 thing I concern is if next time I change my car, others can't fit with 200mm. Any idea?
TSjeff_85
Oct 29 2019, 10:45 PM
Currently in my list is kenwood dmx719 or dmx7019. Any1 using this? Any comment? Which 1 should I get? And any other brands which the price is lower/on this range?
howiechoo
Oct 31 2019, 08:10 PM
QUOTE(jeff_85 @ Oct 29 2019, 10:45 PM) Currently in my list is kenwood dmx719 or dmx7019. Any1 using this? Any comment? Which 1 should I get? And any other brands which the price is lower/on this range? Come my shop I show u the diff... Haha dun beat me other taiko
TitaniumZ
Oct 31 2019, 09:40 PM
QUOTE(jeff_85 @ Oct 29 2019, 10:45 PM) Currently in my list is kenwood dmx719 or dmx7019. Any1 using this? Any comment? Which 1 should I get? And any other brands which the price is lower/on this range? On paper specs their main difference is DDX7019BT has CD/DVD player where DMX719WBT doesn't. You mentioned you do not need CD/DVD player than DMX719WBT might be better (cheaper because no CD/DVD). Furthermore DMX719WBT has 2x USB where DDX7019BT only has one. Sound quality and performance wise I cannot comment but I'm pretty sure they will sound better than those cheap China-made Android HU. This post has been edited by TitaniumZ: Oct 31 2019, 09:44 PM
TSjeff_85
Nov 2 2019, 08:53 AM
QUOTE(howiechoo @ Oct 31 2019, 08:10 PM) Come my shop I show u the diff... Haha dun beat me other taiko Where is ur shop boss? If I got passby maybe can pay ur shop a visit
howiechoo
Nov 4 2019, 09:27 PM
QUOTE(jeff_85 @ Nov 2 2019, 08:53 AM) Where is ur shop boss? If I got passby maybe can pay ur shop a visit see my signatuure