71 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

Movies Cloverfield 2

jenniferjen
post Jan 21 2008, 09:55 AM

410 posts

QUOTE(i_love_japan @ Jan 21 2008, 04:29 AM)
lol....i nearly die after watching this movie and i really dun understand why there are so many LYN forumers who love it so much. rclxub.gif

honestly many ppl left the cinema after around 30 minutes show time but at least i watched the whole show.

and the guy sitting next to me went to washroom like few times. i duno why la..... maybe vomit or something. but then he just keep continue watching after he came back from washroom. laugh.gif
Well dont feel surprise.
Is you look at it, those who likes the movie were the same person over this topic.
I believe lot like the film, really... but not the motion filming of the movie, or how the movie was taken.
Is not easy to appreciate the movie, but require big mind and patient especially on the motion sick
That y i keep stressing, if the camera motion is more stable, lot more ppl will get to appreciated it more
But then it would be realism vs commercially acceptable. smile.gif
PunPunRider
post Jan 21 2008, 10:33 AM

95 posts

i didn't suffer from motion sickness from this one (thanks to my years of playing quake 3), but i felt this one promised too much and delivered too little. spotted a couple of loopholes too but thats another story for another day. at least it was a bit better than what is in my books, the king of all flops, i am legend.
paco
post Jan 21 2008, 10:39 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(i_love_japan @ Jan 21 2008, 04:29 AM)
lol....i nearly die after watching this movie and i really dun understand why there are so many LYN forumers who love it so much. rclxub.gif

honestly many ppl left the cinema after around 30 minutes show time but at least i watched the whole show.

and the guy sitting next to me went to washroom like few times. i duno why la..... maybe vomit or something. but then he just keep continue watching after he came back from washroom. laugh.gif
trust me, there're a lot of people who hate this movie, but due to there're a few "expertise" in this thread keep bashing people who gave negative feedback, there's nothing we can talk with them anymore.
c_calvin
post Jan 21 2008, 10:41 AM

¯\(º_o)/¯
1,346 posts

QUOTE(blessedvillain @ Jan 21 2008, 08:26 AM)
lol
should put this in 1st post so that other ppl noe

Added on January 21, 2008, 10:43 am
QUOTE(paco @ Jan 21 2008, 10:39 AM)
trust me, there're a lot of people who hate this movie, but due to there're a few "expertise" in this thread keep bashing people who gave negative feedback, there's nothing we can talk with them anymore.
oh i remember u
the one that hate shaky cam but yet still watch the movie
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by c_calvin: Jan 21 2008, 10:43 AM
jenniferjen
post Jan 21 2008, 10:53 AM

410 posts

QUOTE(c_calvin @ Jan 21 2008, 10:41 AM)
lol
should put this in 1st post so that other ppl noe

Added on January 21, 2008, 10:43 am

oh i remember u
the one that hate shaky cam but yet still watch the movie
laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
THe truth is how shaking it was, and for this movie...
the shaking degree is high.... sad.gif
c_calvin
post Jan 21 2008, 11:06 AM

¯\(º_o)/¯
1,346 posts

QUOTE(jenniferjen @ Jan 21 2008, 10:53 AM)
izit really that shaky? sweat.gif
coz i really din feel a thing
but then if u can't stand shaky cam especially those who din play fps game...better avoid the movie
wiNd
post Jan 21 2008, 11:07 AM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

to me, 1st viewing is okay...

2nd viewing is much better, the "handycam's shakes" doesnt bother me at all, now i can fully concentrate on the dialogues and other visuals

paco
post Jan 21 2008, 11:07 AM

339 posts

Ya, the shaking is still acceptable for me if the storyline is good, but it's a crappy storyline, which is a big dissapoinment.
Klesk
post Jan 21 2008, 11:11 AM

3,469 posts

QUOTE(paco @ Jan 21 2008, 10:39 AM)
the ppl here who thinks the movie SUCKS are either:
a. didnt know what to expect of the movie, cant blame them for living under a shell
b. had not played FPS, yeah those sissies that got motion sickness when they "tried" to play any of those kinda games
c. loves pop-"straight in your face"-corn movies
nuff said...

This post has been edited by Klesk: Jan 21 2008, 11:11 AM
wiNd
post Jan 21 2008, 11:11 AM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

QUOTE(paco @ Jan 21 2008, 11:07 AM)
Ya, the shaking is still acceptable for me if the storyline is good, but it's a crappy storyline, which is a big dissapoinment.
crappy storyline? the storyline is BEYOND YOUR IMAGINATION....

lots more to come in the Cloverfield world...stay tuned.

This post has been edited by wiNd: Jan 21 2008, 11:13 AM
hairyLGS
post Jan 21 2008, 11:13 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(wiNd @ Jan 21 2008, 11:11 AM)
crappy storyline? the storyline is BEYOND YOUR IMAGINATION....

lots more to come in the Cloverfield world...stay tuned.
Maybe he was never in a situation where a monster attacks a city he is in... that's why crappy storyline... chuckle...

It's not the greatest storyline... but it does have a storyline that is intriguing... just to keep watching what's going to happen next...

This post has been edited by hairyLGS: Jan 21 2008, 11:15 AM
Mido_Ban
post Jan 21 2008, 11:25 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(paco @ Jan 21 2008, 11:07 AM)
Agree...Alot people hate this movie because of the shaky cam...But to me even the cam does not shake,i will still hate this movie because of the lousy plot...Nothing wrong with using new method shaky cam for the whole movie but again the storylines needs to improve lar...The ending sucks because it does not have a "ENDING" we do not know whether the monster die or still alive and did they really bom the whole manhattan to kill the monster???(we dont mind whether is a good ending or is a bad ending at least you must have a proper completion ending)why i said so because after the movie finish alot people standing up in the cinema shouting what!!!! is like they expecting at least how the monster die or did not die...So much question that the movie did not answer it...Last thing i want to mention is we didnt even know what is the monster name.... blink.gif

This post has been edited by Mido_Ban: Jan 21 2008, 11:27 AM
c_calvin
post Jan 21 2008, 11:25 AM

¯\(º_o)/¯
1,346 posts

QUOTE(hairyLGS @ Jan 21 2008, 11:13 AM)
Maybe he was never in a situation where a monster attacks a city he is in... that's why crappy storyline... chuckle...

It's not the greatest storyline... but it does have a storyline that is intriguing... just to keep watching what's going to happen next...
or mayb he was expecting to see Godzilla type of movie laugh.gif
to me,it's a movie that focus on a group of ppl trying to save their own life from monster invasion

Added on January 21, 2008, 11:30 am
QUOTE(Mido_Ban @ Jan 21 2008, 11:25 AM)
Agree...Alot people hate this movie because of the shaky cam...But to me even the cam does not shake,i will still hate this movie because of the lousy plot...Nothing wrong with using new method shaky cam for the whole movie but again the storylines needs to improve lar...The ending sucks because it does not have a "ENDING" we do not know whether the monster die or still alive and did they really bom the whole manhattan to kill the monster???(we dont mind whether is a good ending or is a bad ending at least you must have a proper completion ending)why i said so because after the movie finish alot people standing up in the cinema shouting what!!!! is like they expecting at least how the monster die or did not die...So much question that the movie did not answer it...Last thing i want to mention is we didnt even know what is the monster name.... blink.gif
QUOTE(wiNd @ Jan 18 2008, 06:00 PM)
DISCOVERY!!  rclxms.gif

the soundbyte at the end of credits.........i think we have an ending/sequel tongue.gif

maybe tis is the ans u're looking for
as for the name of monster, i think it's acceptable not to tell u the name of it coz monster is actually name by human, u can't expect the monster to tell u its name while it was destroying new york
so u can name it any name u want....... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by c_calvin: Jan 21 2008, 11:31 AM
hairyLGS
post Jan 21 2008, 11:31 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(Mido_Ban @ Jan 21 2008, 11:25 AM)
Mido_Ban... obviously you think this is a monster flick... but the story is about 5 friends and their last recording of what happen to them. I posted a second review a while back and finally understand what this movie story is... you probably say its lousy because most of the time you were dizzy and can't follow the story well... I too was like that at the beginning in my first review when complain about it... but reading the positive reviews have make me watch the second time... and this time, I manage to watch it with an open mind and was not dizzy...

Everyone expect too much... problem is because of their expectation they don't know what they are watching... and why want to know monster name when they (the 5 friends) all of a sudden got attack by a monster they don't know about... more like the monster attack the city they were in...

This post has been edited by hairyLGS: Jan 21 2008, 11:33 AM
Klesk
post Jan 21 2008, 11:31 AM

3,469 posts

i have to admit that the movie started abruptly and ended the same way, but thats the beauty of it, IMHO, the whole story is shrouded in mystery and secrecy... I believe J.J Abrams goin to put justice into this on the next instalment of the film..
slickz
post Jan 21 2008, 11:33 AM

Exalted Senior Elite Member
2,149 posts

Hahaha! Only after reading teh internetz did I realize ppl actually got motion sickness from the movie. I didn't feel a thing about the shaking camera. Granted, maybe it's because I play FPS games A LOT but still I didnt notice anyone leaving the cinema.Maybe because I was so engrossed in the movie.
My dad even fell asleep during the movie.

I wanted to see the movie and kept a total media blackout for this movie to avoid spoilers so I didnt know the whole movie was going to be shot this way. At first it felt like I didn't get what I paid for. I was expecting it to be your regular godzilla movie with PROFESSIONAL camera work.

So yeah I was understandably a little disappointed at the beginning but then when chaos hit the movie kicked into high gear. I was drawn into the story like no movie did for a long time.

I can see why some ppl get disappointed over the movie, especially for those who suffers motion sickness, but man if you keep your mind open and not get sick, the movie is GREAT!

I also can't see why people can't understand the choices the characters made in the movie. They were in an emergency situation, the guy was in love with the girl so would probably go through hell to save the girl of his dreams! And his friends who sanggup throw a surprise party for him surely is concerned for him as well.

All in all, yes great movie, it may be a bit boring at the beginning but pure awesomeness soon into the movie!

c_calvin
post Jan 21 2008, 11:34 AM

¯\(º_o)/¯
1,346 posts

QUOTE(hairyLGS @ Jan 21 2008, 11:31 AM)
Mido_Ban... obviously you think this is a monster flick... but the story is about 5 friends and their last recording of what happen to them. I posted a second review a while back and finally understand what this movie story is... you probably say its lousy because most of the time you were dizzy and can't follow the story well... I too was like that at the beginning in my first review when complain about it... but reading the positive reviews have make me watch the second time... and this time, I manage to watch it with an open mind and was not dizzy...

Everyone expect too much... problem is because of their expectation they don't know what they are watching... and why want to know monster name when they (the 5 friends) all of a sudden got attack by a monster they don't know about... more like the monster attack the city they were in...
could it due to the trailer??
i cannot stop thinking that movie after i watch that trailer, and it doesn't even tell u the name of the movie in the trailer sweat.gif sweat.gif
hairyLGS
post Jan 21 2008, 11:39 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(c_calvin @ Jan 21 2008, 11:34 AM)
could it due to the trailer??
i cannot stop thinking that movie after i watch that trailer, and it doesn't even tell u the name of the movie in the trailer  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
I believe it is because of the trailer... that is why it's very smart this viral marketing campaign... when the trailer was shown... it's like what the hell is going on? And they see glimpse of the monster... fui yoh people go... I want to watch...

Curiosity got them want to watch this film... here's what happens when they watch it... as it turns out, the entire film is like the trailer... which they never expect... hahahaha... so hence, the dizziness... when they get dizzy they can't follow the story and dialogue well... can't blame them... I missed out so much when I was dizzy... watching the 2nd time, I realize what to expect and able to follow the story better... on the 2nd time...

Cloverfield is the name of a street... the street where the monster attack... a very good reason why the monster has no name because it will sound stupid...

I mean, Godzilla and Gamera are Japanese names for those monster... the kwai lou got names for monsters in kwai lou version... Tremors the movie has them... Graboids and A$$blasters... stupid name right?

So rather than name a movie with a monster name... they name the incident where the monster first strike...

Oh and c_calvin contributed the 50th page for this thread... chuckle...

This post has been edited by hairyLGS: Jan 21 2008, 11:40 AM
Klesk
post Jan 21 2008, 11:44 AM

3,469 posts

QUOTE(hairyLGS @ Jan 21 2008, 11:39 AM)
I believe it is because of the trailer... that is why it's very smart this viral marketing campaign... when the trailer was shown... it's like what the hell is going on? And they see glimpse of the monster... fui yoh people go... I want to watch...

Curiosity got them want to watch this film... here's what happens when they watch it... as it turns out, the entire film is like the trailer... which they never expect... hahahaha... so hence, the dizziness... when they get dizzy they can't follow the story and dialogue well... can't blame them... I missed out so much when I was dizzy... watching the 2nd time, I realize what to expect and able to follow the story better... on the 2nd time...

Cloverfield is the name of a street... the street where the monster attack... a very good reason why the monster has no name because it will sound stupid...

I mean, Godzilla and Gamera are Japanese names for those monster... the kwai lou got names for monsters in kwai lou version... Tremors the movie has them... Graboids and A$$blasters... stupid name right?

So rather than name a movie with a monster name... they name the incident where the monster first strike...
from http://download.cloverfieldclues.com/clove...spoilerfree.htm
It was, in fact, one of Abrams' and Burk's agents, John Fogelman, who, having seen the word "monster" one too many times in private e-mail correspondence, suggested calling the project "Cloverfield," after a main street near Abrams' office in West Los Angeles.  "We started working on the movie, and it became like a nickname.  But we thought, 'There's no way that's going to be the title of the movie,'" Abrams recalls.  "We even had another title,

XXX

which we were all set to announce at Comic-Con.  But, by that time, the name 'Cloverfield' had already leaked out, and the fans already knew it by that name, so we just decided to stick with that."
who's the stupid now?

wiNd
post Jan 21 2008, 11:46 AM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

QUOTE(hairyLGS @ Jan 21 2008, 11:39 AM)

in reality :
JJ Abram's production company "Bad Robot" office for the New York filming of Cloverfield was on or near a street called Cloverfield.

in movie :
the gov. gave this event a codename : Cloverfield (event site : US447 @ Central Park)

71 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0176sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:52 AM