How much do second-hand car deakers make?, Offered price vs posted price

DM52
post Oct 17 2019, 11:10 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(rooney723 @ Oct 17 2019, 10:08 PM)
few years bck when i sold my vios, the dealer only offered 35k max, then after that i saw the same model same year selling for 45k++

then one of my fren bought a first gen myvi for 22k, he found the original owner contact and then he asked the ori owner how much he sold his car to the dealer, he said 12k

the selling price haven include those 'hidden fees' yet

and for recond cars, those cars they got it very cheap oni frm japan n other countries, lets say a toyota estima la, they get frm japan for 80-90k, then add AP price 50k, add few k for restoration, and sell it for 180k-200k
That myvi..how long the buy and sell gap between owner and ur friends purchase. If less than a year then consider 2nd hand dealer really lucky la. Nowadays 2nd hand dealer profit is shrinking compared than b4.

U looks like they make a profit. But remember not everytime they make a strike. And even if they manage to sell high profit. They need to leverage the car that not laku. Sometimes they sell 3 cars, but 7 cars collecting dust.

I know liao cos my friends works in 2nd hand dealer b4. They make money from small cars such as axia, bezza, city, vios and etc. Big car such as accord, camry, teana really headache for them to sell. If interested buyer come, indeed can nego kaw2 because every year easily drop 10k depreciation.

But small car cannot. They jual mahal cannot nego a bit since many people find it.
DM52
post Oct 17 2019, 11:14 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(rooney723 @ Oct 17 2019, 10:08 PM)
few years bck when i sold my vios, the dealer only offered 35k max, then after that i saw the same model same year selling for 45k++

then one of my fren bought a first gen myvi for 22k, he found the original owner contact and then he asked the ori owner how much he sold his car to the dealer, he said 12k

the selling price haven include those 'hidden fees' yet

and for recond cars, those cars they got it very cheap oni frm japan n other countries, lets say a toyota estima la, they get frm japan for 80-90k, then add AP price 50k, add few k for restoration, and sell it for 180k-200k
That recond car business really profitable now. Especially vellfire and alphard.

But sadly to say, this is not everybody business. Only the one who get connection can imported those model in.

Very few recond dealer got this privilege and I can say they really make tons of money. Not like 90% 2nd hand dealer out there.

0.0172sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:44 AM