Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

Transition from Software Dev. to Project Manager

views

TScoolbuddha91
post Oct 12 2019, 03:52 PM, updated 5y ago

Getting Started
97 posts

I'm a software developer. However, there are many other fields in IT I can transition into. So, how's it like to transition from a software developer to a project manager in Malaysia? What should I do if I intend to do so? Any advice and experienced sharing is much appreciated.
l4nunm4l4y4
post Oct 12 2019, 04:11 PM

Enthusiast
749 posts

If you are making a transition from dev to PM,

1. Don’t give IN to any request for change unless the client signs it off. Client must know any change request will impact on delivery timeline - esp if its a major change

2. You have to be tough - learn up on negotiation skills as software devs tend to be introvert and can’t explain in layman’s term.

3. Get the project sponsor buy-in and involvement and not their HODs/Managers

TScoolbuddha91
post Oct 12 2019, 04:17 PM

Getting Started
97 posts

QUOTE(coolbuddha91 @ Oct 12 2019, 03:52 PM)
I'm a software developer. However, there are many other fields in IT I can transition into. So, how's it like to transition from a software developer to a project manager in Malaysia? What should I do if I intend to do so? Any advice and experience sharing is much appreciated.
I want to know the process to transition from a software dev. to a project maanger too. thanks.
pharmchan
post Oct 14 2019, 12:23 PM

18 posts

i think the crucial process to transition from sw dev to PM is, u have apply to the PM job first. when u get it the transiton is basially related to the job description itself.

sense75
post Oct 15 2019, 07:57 AM

Life must go on...
659 posts

QUOTE(coolbuddha91 @ Oct 12 2019, 04:17 PM)
I want to know the process to transition from a software dev. to a project maanger too. thanks.