Syed Saddiq wants RM6 billion to create 350k jobs
mushigen
Oct 9 2019, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(duHwaN @ Oct 9 2019, 09:47 AM) For a government, I think it is possible by carving up a new industry (or an existing one, not so preferable). What is missing is the plan, and it is not very confidence reassuring to plough in the money first without a plan. For all we know, end up like NFC It's not possible to carve a new industry unless you have unlimited budget to gamble with.
mushigen
Oct 9 2019, 10:12 AM
QUOTE(duHwaN @ Oct 9 2019, 09:55 AM) As someone up there gave an example, like start up a ketum/weed industry. As government they can legalize and regulate it... don't really need that unlimited budget to gamble. Taadah... a new "pharmaceutical" product 6B is a lot to kickstart a lot of things.... Hmmm...betul juga. The next issue is its sustenance. In the ketum example, does the gomen have the will to tackle the side effects of this industry which will ultimately end it? Example, abuse of ketum amongst the population, the crowding out of other traditional crops, black market trading, etc.
mushigen
Oct 9 2019, 10:30 AM
QUOTE(peteryaw @ Oct 9 2019, 10:20 AM) 6billion investment into new field like AI. attract top talent then built support industries around it. AI is not exactly new ady. We have lost the first-mover advantage. Look around you. We can't even seem to have fully functioning street lamps and CCTVs. Let's get these basic stuff right first and move from there. To attract top talents, we need to be attractive to them in the first place. Dangling fat pay cheques (even if we can afford it) doesn't work all the time.
mushigen
Oct 9 2019, 10:50 AM
QUOTE(DM52 @ Oct 9 2019, 10:41 AM) He works as a tutor and debate coach b4. Never work in industry. Then.lets see. I also cant wait to see the outcome. Large scale like this really risky. But who knows if implementation is correct, it will become successfull. Only times will tell. Try approaching Jack Ma for financial back up, tell him who knows it will become successful if implementation is correct.