Sony x80 vs samsung ru7400 (55"), Gaming tv comparison

TSHafiz.y
post Oct 8 2019, 01:38 PM, updated 7y ago

Hi

My samsung tv screen is broken, any place can repair?

Btw, im looking forward to buy new tv, in my mind is this 2 cuz the price almost same.

1. Sony x80G
2. Samsun ru7400

Both 55" and 2019 model

Any sifu can recommend which is better?
If got other model within 3-4k also can rekomen. Tq

Using mostly for watching movie n ps4 pro sometime..

lamusiqa
post Oct 8 2019, 03:46 PM

397 posts

I wouldn't recommend getting those TVs.

A good 4K HDR tv requires 3 things:
1. Decent brightness level (>500 nits peak brightness)
2. Wide colour gamut
3. High native contrast ratio (VA or OLED panels)

If you can find Samsung 2018 mid-range king UA55NU8000, that's the best option for you. Otherwise, get the 2018 Samsung Q6FN. It's the next best thing:

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/samsung-...0hoCRMgQAvD_BwE

Don't get the 2019 Q60R model. It doesn't have local dimming and is considered as a downgrade. Save up a little bit more and get a 65 incher decent HDR TV. You'll love it. I myself play my PS4 Pro on a 65 inch Samsung NU8000 which I bought for RM5.9K in Dec 2018. It's awesome.

If you truly insist on 55 inch with a budget of >RM4K, then get the Panasonic 55 inch GX800 TV for about RM3.7K

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/2019-mod...0VsE0Z&search=1

This post has been edited by lamusiqa: Oct 8 2019, 03:50 PM
TSHafiz.y
post Oct 9 2019, 08:19 AM

QUOTE(lamusiqa @ Oct 8 2019, 03:46 PM)

2. Wide colour gamut

If you can find Samsung 2018 mid-range king UA55NU8000, that's the best option for you. Otherwise, get the 2018 Samsung Q6FN. It's the next best thing:

Don't get the 2019 Q60R model. It doesn't have local dimming and is considered as a downgrade. Save up a little bit more and get a 65 incher decent HDR TV. You'll love it. I myself play my PS4 Pro on a 65 inch Samsung NU8000 which I bought for RM5.9K in Dec 2018. It's awesome.

If you truly insist on 55 inch with a budget of >RM4K, then get the Panasonic 55 inch GX800 TV for about RM3.7K

Wow .. tq tq
TSHafiz.y
post Oct 27 2019, 05:02 PM

Waiting for my pana gx800 to arrive hopefully worth it
Mr.Docter
post Nov 16 2019, 12:09 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

2. Wide colour gamut

Amazing.
realventis
post Nov 24 2019, 02:10 PM

204 posts

2. Wide colour gamut

Got any other tv recommendation besides above? Budget around 4k..looking for the model that listed in rtings website so that i can check the spec model especially the nits spec..
lamusiqa
post Nov 28 2019, 11:23 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(realventis @ Nov 24 2019, 02:10 PM)
Got any other tv recommendation besides above? Budget around 4k..looking for the model that listed in rtings website so that i can check the spec model especially the nits spec..
Online, this is your best deal (Samsung 65 inch NU8500!):

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/free-shi...ZKPBgc&search=1

Since it's almost December, you're in luck. Chains like Harvey Norman and Sen Heng usually run year-end sale roadshows or promos. There are 2 possible options for your budget:

Normal in-store sale: NEGO NEGO. Tell them you saw cheaper price on Lazada/Shopee. They will want to compete. For your budget, get the Samsung NU8500 above at the Wing Ming Electrical store in Klang (probably can nego lower than the Lazada price) or Panasonic 65 inch GX740 (it's IPS but IMO, the picture quality is pretty good. Go check it out first).

Special concourse area sale/roadshow: Ask if you can purchase the display set of a 55-inch LG OLED TVs (B9 or C9) at the showcase/roadshow as they usually use new units. You can get quite of a major discount simply because it's a "display unit" despite being only recently opened. The downside is you have to wait for the roadshow to be over for collection/delivery even if you paid for it early. I've tried with Harvey Norman and they once offered me RM12.5K for a 65-inch LG OLED C6 on display which was selling for a promo price of RM15K at the time (usual price was RM16K) and barely clocked in 20 hours.

PROTIP: When you go to shops to check out the TVs on display and the picture quality, make sure to bring a thumb drive with a HDR demo or turn on wireless hotspot on your phone if the cell signal is good. Ask the store rep to switch the TV's mode from Store Mode to Home Mode and fire up the video from your thumb drive or connect the TV's wifi to your phone and play a HDR video on the TV's youtube app. Something like Morocco 8K 60fps HDR demo from Jacob & Katie Schwartz. Most in-store wi-fi is unreliable.

This post has been edited by lamusiqa: Nov 28 2019, 11:28 AM
wolf1991
post Dec 9 2019, 09:53 PM

848 posts

QUOTE(lamusiqa @ Nov 28 2019, 11:23 AM)
Online, this is your best deal (Samsung 65 inch NU8500!):

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/free-shi...ZKPBgc&search=1

Since it's almost December, you're in luck. Chains like Harvey Norman and Sen Heng usually run year-end sale roadshows or promos. There are 2 possible options for your budget:

Normal in-store sale: NEGO NEGO. Tell them you saw cheaper price on Lazada/Shopee. They will want to compete. For your budget, get the Samsung NU8500 above at the Wing Ming Electrical store in Klang (probably can nego lower than the Lazada price) or Panasonic 65 inch GX740 (it's IPS but IMO, the picture quality is pretty good. Go check it out first).

Special concourse area sale/roadshow: Ask if you can purchase the display set of a 55-inch LG OLED TVs (B9 or C9) at the showcase/roadshow as they usually use new units. You can get quite of a major discount simply because it's a "display unit" despite being only recently opened. The downside is you have to wait for the roadshow to be over for collection/delivery even if you paid for it early. I've tried with Harvey Norman and they once offered me RM12.5K for a 65-inch LG OLED C6 on display which was selling for a promo price of RM15K at the time (usual price was RM16K) and barely clocked in 20 hours.

PROTIP: When you go to shops to check out the TVs on display and the picture quality, make sure to bring a thumb drive with a HDR demo or turn on wireless hotspot on your phone if the cell signal is good. Ask the store rep to switch the TV's mode from Store Mode to Home Mode and fire up the video from your thumb drive or connect the TV's wifi to your phone and play a HDR video on the TV's youtube app. Something like Morocco 8K 60fps HDR demo from Jacob & Katie Schwartz. Most in-store wi-fi is unreliable.
mind to share any difference between gx740 and gx800? I cannot find much information on it. Seem like gx800 screen is more bright but is it worth the a higher price? Beside this any other differences?
wolf1991
post Dec 9 2019, 09:55 PM

848 posts

QUOTE(Hafiz.y @ Oct 9 2019, 08:19 AM)
Wow .. tq tq
so after using it for quite some time, mind to share your feedback for the tv itself?
TSHafiz.y
post Dec 10 2019, 09:49 PM

QUOTE(wolf1991 @ Dec 9 2019, 09:55 PM)
so after using it for quite some time, mind to share your feedback for the tv itself?
So far im quite satisfied with the images except ive noticed that there is some white wash below the screen (left bottom) and the sounds is quite imbalanced im not sure why...

Maybe need to find a decent soundbar..

0.0177sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 09:27 PM