post Jul 8 2007, 08:37 AM, updated 19y ago

I'm BINKS ...
761 posts

Hi guys,

new in Mac world!
i gotten a iBook (G4)
i got problem booting it up ...
when i press ON button nothing .. only got sound but not visual
hear from my other friends ..if might cause from logic board or motherboard ..
any recommendations of technician around that can check the problem ..

call me 017-2112218 -> Alex

Pls Help
rajulkabir
post Jul 8 2007, 03:12 PM

1,428 posts

Do you have a video adapter? Does it work with an external monitor?

If you press the caps lock key, does it react (does the light come on)?

Does it work in Firewire target mode?

Can you ping it from another machine?

Does it react when you insert a CDROM? How about a bootable one, like the original Apple install one? Hold down the "C" key while turning it on.
TSbinks
post Jul 8 2007, 03:26 PM

I'm BINKS ...
761 posts

QUOTE(rajulkabir @ Jul 8 2007, 03:12 PM)
Do you have a video adapter? Does it work with an external monitor?

If you press the caps lock key, does it react (does the light come on)?

Does it work in Firewire target mode?

Can you ping it from another machine?

Does it react when you insert a CDROM? How about a bootable one, like the original Apple install one? Hold down the "C" key while turning it on.
i dont have the video adapter with me
If you press the caps lock key, does it react (does the light come on)? -> the light do come up ...
Does it work in Firewire target mode? -> dunno what is tht
i can't ping cuz dunno how
i dun have the original apple cd with me right now ..

how? rajulkabir pls help
neji02
post Jul 8 2007, 04:21 PM

60 posts

you new to mac world rite, that mean u just got ibook g4,rite??
so ask ur ibook seller about it...

just to try out your lcd - when the system booting up, press and hold option key..the screen then appears, ask u to select ur destination disk..

TSbinks
post Jul 8 2007, 04:24 PM

I'm BINKS ...
761 posts

yup
u're correct.
i got from my uncle ..
the thing doesn't according to him ..
tht i brought it home and figure it out ...

i forget to ask the boot disc from him, the video adapter ...

neji02, don't ahve anything show ...bcuz all i have is black screen . no visual

Added on July 10, 2007, 7:35 amguy how?>
naybodi can help me resolve this issues ..
i don't mind paying if got people can resolve it for me ...

anybodi home ..??

This post has been edited by binks: Jul 10 2007, 07:35 AM
TechnoDude94
post Jul 10 2007, 08:21 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

Thinking of how to help you. Just asked my school technician's whether any of the iBook G4's we have got any problems like that and how did they fix it. Will come back to you as soon as possible.
suns8630
post Jul 10 2007, 10:10 PM

1,122 posts

QUOTE(binks @ Jul 8 2007, 08:37 AM)
Hi guys,

new in Mac world!
i gotten a iBook (G4)
i got problem booting it up ...
when i press ON button nothing .. only got sound but not visual
hear from my other friends ..if might cause from logic board or motherboard ..
any recommendations of technician around that can check the problem ..

call me 017-2112218 -> Alex

Pls Help
very very slim chances that if would not bootup ....

or if you are telling half the story ....!!!

if this ibook G4 is brand new and would not bootup .... rush straight to the shop where you bought from ....slap this ibook on their table and get a NEW replacement .....

but if you got if from some other source ... then is totally a different way of asking for help ...

someone might had format the Harddisk .. so... bootup loooh ...(no os x inside maah )

rajulkabir
post Jul 11 2007, 01:06 AM

1,428 posts

QUOTE(binks @ Jul 8 2007, 04:24 PM)
naybodi can help me resolve this issues ..
i don't mind paying if got people can resolve it for me ...

anybodi home ..??

I'm happy to try, if you want to bring it to town. In the very least I can most probably tell you what's wrong with it.
TSbinks
post Jul 11 2007, 09:11 AM

I'm BINKS ...
761 posts

i ain't telling half story!

this is a 3 yrs old ibook, gotten from my uncle!
found it in his store room; he mention wasn't working anymore
cuz was saying tht it was either logic board or mother board got problem ..
the apple computer service center in SG offer him S$800 for repaired; he doesn't wan to repair due to too expensive.

so i brought back the ibook, see nay luck getting any cheap part for the repair anot.

i tried many times switching on/off .. there was once i manage to ON it and boot into MAC OS .. btu between minutes the thing shut down again ..

suns8630 -> tht my whole story!
TechnoDude94 -> wait for yr good newz
rajulkabir -> where u located?
rajulkabir
post Jul 11 2007, 01:16 PM

1,428 posts

QUOTE(binks @ Jul 11 2007, 09:11 AM)
rajulkabir -> where u located?
Right by Low Yat. But if it's already been diagnosed as having a logic board problem, I probably can't do much more.
TSbinks
post Jul 11 2007, 01:52 PM

I'm BINKS ...
761 posts

QUOTE(rajulkabir @ Jul 11 2007, 01:16 PM)
Right by Low Yat. But if it's already been diagnosed as having a logic board problem, I probably can't do much more.
i need confirmation ...
i don't trust those SG technician ..
how much u gonna charge?
which part of LYN?
shop name ...
PM me ..
cheerz

0.0164sec    0.81    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:06 AM