> Law student failed 18 times graduates

TSeverest
post Oct 6 2019, 12:04 AM, updated 7y ago

123 posts

After failing his degree 18 times, law student Muhammad Rafiq Izzat Zaidi, the self-described slow learner revealed that it would take him three attempts to pass one subject at university.

“But the more I failed, the longer a subject would stick in my head even though it took me 11 semesters.

“I failed as many as 18 times when I completed my studies,” he confessed on a now-viral tweet.

The 25-year-old said he took up a Bachelor of Law degree at Universiti Teknologi Mara (UiTM) at Shah Alam, Selangor in 2013.

Rafiq explained that he was not diagnosed as a slow learner but instead had difficulties adjusting to new learning environments and it would take him a long time to understand a subject.

“In my first semester, I failed four subjects,” he told mStar.

Rafiq also revealed he was almost expelled for failing a subject three times but was grateful he was given a second chance after an appeal.

Jumper123
post Oct 6 2019, 12:09 AM

95 posts

Bravo, our local talented graduates
Leong Kok Leong
post Oct 6 2019, 12:14 AM

111 posts

SELOWWWW
SUSFenix98
post Oct 6 2019, 12:16 AM

Happy Meal upsized Sir?
377 posts

Uitm da best 👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼
smallcrab
post Oct 6 2019, 12:17 AM

140 posts

wonder how much is his IQ
WallMaker
post Oct 6 2019, 12:18 AM

98 posts

why can fail 18 times?
SonnyCooL
post Oct 6 2019, 12:18 AM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

if other Uni, how many time would it be ?
SUSFenix98
post Oct 6 2019, 12:19 AM

Happy Meal upsized Sir?
377 posts

Houseman fail Tiga kali pon force pass...

Standard guardians galaxy unlocked....

Fail 3 Kali massive de force

Starbucki
post Oct 6 2019, 12:20 AM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

wasnt there an entry requirement to begin with? how did he slip thru the crack?
arubin
post Oct 6 2019, 12:20 AM

Holy Pastafarian
670 posts

He shouldn't have bothered.

Once anybody finds out about his background, no one will want to hire him to represent them.

You want someone to win the case for you in 1 try. Or at least succeed to the ensuing appeal.

You don't have the luxury to lose so many times with a client. Who wants to be represented by a slow learner anyway? Lawyers have to quick on the uptake. Supposed to yell objection but didn't cos still processing? Habis...
arsenwagon
post Oct 6 2019, 12:21 AM

all ur bass are belong to usa
2,227 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Oct 6 2019, 12:20 AM)
It's uitm
Starbucki
post Oct 6 2019, 12:22 AM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(arubin @ Oct 6 2019, 12:20 AM)

Once anybody finds out about his background, no one will want to hire him to represent them.

You want someone to win the case for you in 1 try. Or at least succeed to the ensuing appeal.

You don't have the luxury to lose so many times with a client. Who wants to be represented by a slow learner anyway? Lawyers have to quick on the uptake. Supposed to yell objection but didn't cos still processing? Habis...
fries to go with that, sir?
Spaceman_27
post Oct 6 2019, 12:23 AM

38 posts

Did he get pass the bar exam yet? If not then his chances of becoming a lawyer is highly improbable. But then again, who would want to hire him
SUSFenix98
post Oct 6 2019, 12:24 AM

Happy Meal upsized Sir?
377 posts

QUOTE(Fenix98 @ Oct 6 2019, 12:19 AM)
Houseman fail Tiga kali pon force pass...

Standard guardians galaxy unlocked....

Fail 3 Kali massive de force
U ask bani prime how he passed medical skool
jueiri
post Oct 6 2019, 12:24 AM

158 posts

Rubber stamp uni just go mainstream.

In good quality unis, you failed 3 times, you go, man.
WallMaker
post Oct 6 2019, 12:25 AM

98 posts

Only in uitm.
ah_suknat
post Oct 6 2019, 12:26 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

Thats a world record we should be proud of

This post has been edited by ah_suknat: Oct 6 2019, 12:28 AM
SUSDreake
post Oct 6 2019, 12:29 AM

bot broken again

so slow
SUSAngelic Layer
post Oct 6 2019, 12:34 AM

91 posts

I think Tunku Abdul Rahman failed a lot of times as well.
Baconateer
post Oct 6 2019, 12:37 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

selowwwwwwpuki
ihm11
post Oct 6 2019, 12:45 AM

62 posts

would u dare instruct a loyar with dis kinda record?
SUSFenix98
post Oct 6 2019, 12:52 AM

Happy Meal upsized Sir?
377 posts

QUOTE(ihm11 @ Oct 6 2019, 12:45 AM)
Yes I would get an influencer to hire him as the opposing council solicitor...

Everyone has a purpose
Fat & Fluffy
post Oct 6 2019, 01:19 AM

397 posts

okay... now can go sell ramli
syazwan
post Oct 6 2019, 01:22 AM

448 posts

QUOTE(jueiri @ Oct 6 2019, 12:24 AM)

U must be knew. Topkek
spamfish
post Oct 6 2019, 01:25 AM

187 posts

only in malaysia...dont know should have give him credit for never give up or is this something that we should be proud off. Well anyway good luck to his client
lee_lnh
post Oct 6 2019, 01:30 AM

115 posts

bolela… deskjob..
syahmie8
post Oct 6 2019, 02:09 AM

18 posts

Ouch! Truth hurt.
kuci_mayong
post Oct 6 2019, 04:46 AM

808 posts

Lamtin should have tutored him, I think can do it with fewer tries.
powerlinkers
post Oct 6 2019, 04:49 AM

652 posts

It does not matter whether he attempts 18x or two times to pass, in the end : people will only question him whether he is a licensed lawyer.

The downside : he will struggle to be a high performing lawyer but should be able to carry out the normal duties based on his studies.

Anyway : good job for passing the exam.
Low IQ people can achieve the same level with a high IQ person with hardwork and persistence in a socially mobile society.

This post has been edited by powerlinkers: Oct 6 2019, 04:51 AM
TSeverest
post Oct 6 2019, 11:11 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(WallMaker @ Oct 6 2019, 12:18 AM)
why can fail 18 times?
Don't know
Avex
post Oct 6 2019, 11:13 AM

570 posts

his client base should be those #BMF people
ipohmali70
post Oct 6 2019, 11:15 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(everest @ Oct 6 2019, 12:04 AM)
After failing his degree 18 times, law student Muhammad Rafiq Izzat Zaidi, the self-described slow learner revealed that it would take him three attempts to pass one subject at university.

“But the more I failed, the longer a subject would stick in my head even though it took me 11 semesters.

“I failed as many as 18 times when I completed my studies,” he confessed on a now-viral tweet.

The 25-year-old said he took up a Bachelor of Law degree at Universiti Teknologi Mara (UiTM) at Shah Alam, Selangor in 2013.

Rafiq explained that he was not diagnosed as a slow learner but instead had difficulties adjusting to new learning environments and it would take him a long time to understand a subject.

“In my first semester, I failed four subjects,” he told mStar.

Rafiq also revealed he was almost expelled for failing a subject three times but was grateful he was given a second chance after an appeal.

Congratulations to this new graduate.

Now your next challenge is to find a job.

anuarnor
post Oct 6 2019, 11:22 AM

232 posts

Yeah. But imagine that kind of persistence at the enforcers side. You lawyers will cirit soon.
Bluefox98
post Oct 6 2019, 11:27 AM

QUOTE(jueiri @ Oct 6 2019, 12:24 AM)

Even in private uni,they do that.I know Sunway do that.
SUSahter
post Oct 6 2019, 11:32 AM

266 posts

Uitm .. failed 18 times.
DTorons
post Oct 6 2019, 11:38 AM

21 posts

Hopefully he will be najib's lawyer
SUSNed_Fromthenorth
post Oct 6 2019, 11:42 AM

Tezos till you Bezos
640 posts

Why uitm still let him continue despite fail so many times? I thought most real uni got limit of at most 2 resits?
andyng38
post Oct 6 2019, 11:45 AM

2,402 posts

May this determined chap get a job with UMNO or Utusan
Ayambetul
post Oct 6 2019, 11:47 AM

336 posts

Cam muka dia

Potensi kalah kes mahkamah
Ayambetul
post Oct 6 2019, 11:49 AM

336 posts

QUOTE(Fenix98 @ Oct 6 2019, 12:16 AM)
Uitm da best 👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼
Tongkat all d way

Now everyone can becum loryah

Owai

This post has been edited by Ayambetul: Oct 6 2019, 11:50 AM
s1nn3r
post Oct 6 2019, 11:55 AM

Humility makes us real
759 posts

Respect his determination
Justin Jack$on
post Oct 6 2019, 12:00 PM

158 posts

Loyar buruk
carloz28
post Oct 6 2019, 12:03 PM

Sons of Anarchy
499 posts

I dunno how this is newsworthy

If one has the money to study a degree 18 fckin times surely he can’t be poor

Reminds me of those lazy ass matriculation students in my engineering course who took aeons to graduate.

In my 1st year When I first met him in a class I thought he was the lecturer, he told me he was here before me for 2 semesters liao

And when I graduate from my uni after 4 yrs( 8 semesters), that mofo is still there studying the subjects from my 2nd year.

No prize for guessing what race it is. It would be more newsworthy if they share an article about the graduation of a wheelchair bound or visually impaired student in a law school...
SUSgogo2
post Oct 6 2019, 12:07 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(ihm11 @ Oct 6 2019, 12:45 AM)
BMF. .... Owai
lagista
post Oct 6 2019, 12:16 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(ahter @ Oct 6 2019, 11:32 AM)
Uitm .. failed 18 times.
truly kipidap n dongidap ! biggrin.gif
arubin
post Oct 6 2019, 12:21 PM

Holy Pastafarian
670 posts

QUOTE(anuarnor @ Oct 6 2019, 11:22 AM)
Yeah. But imagine that kind of persistence at the enforcers side. You lawyers will cirit soon.
I doubt it. Persistence is not an uncommon trait among lawyers.

Its like this - I can play the piano, but only cos of persistent practice. Something I realized quite quickly was that I have no actual talent for it. Regardless, I kept it up anyway and am able to pass exams and play competently. But no matter how much I practice, I'll never actually be as good as someone with actual talent and isn't a lazy bum as to not practice at all. I will never be a Yiruma. Heck, I will never qualify to perform for money in any sense. I know my limitations, and I was not even a 'slow learner' on the piano as in I didn't fail multiple piano exams when I was younger. But this is all OK. I play the piano for personal enjoyment. I don't make a career out of it.

Well this guy is trying to make a career out of something he doesn't appear to be good at, and is just persistent at. Good luck to him I guess, but until he actually proves himself, I will be remember his name as a lawyer to avoid and will never even give a chance to. Is the bias unfair? I don't think so...I have to pay good money for a lawyer so I have expectations and I don't think he will be able to meet them.

Its not like anyone would pay to hear me play the piano, why would I pay to hire him as a lawyer?

You tell me a doctor has failed multiple times before passing his exams, I am also not inclined to give them a chance. WTF? Its my life you're talking about.
ps3 fanboy
post Oct 6 2019, 12:22 PM

18 posts

can work at gov’t jadi pembantu tadbir or something
lagista
post Oct 6 2019, 12:23 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(arubin @ Oct 6 2019, 12:21 PM)

Its like this - I can play the piano, but only cos of persistent practice. Something I realized quite quickly was that I have no actual talent for it. Regardless, I kept it up anyway and am able to pass exams and play competently. But no matter how much I practice, I'll never actually be as good as someone with actual talent and isn't a lazy bum as to not practice at all. I will never be a Yiruma. Heck, I will never qualify to perform for money in any sense. I know my limitations, and I was not even a 'slow learner' on the piano as in I didn't fail multiple piano exams when I was younger. But this is all OK. I play the piano for personal enjoyment. I don't make a career out of it.

Well this guy is trying to make a career out of something he doesn't appear to be good at, and is just persistent at. Good luck to him I guess, but until he actually proves himself, I will be remember his name as a lawyer to avoid and will never even give a chance to. Is the bias unfair? I don't think so...I have to pay good money for a lawyer so I have expectations and I don't think he will be able to meet them.

Its not like anyone would pay to hear me play the piano, why would I pay to hire him as a lawyer?

You tell me a doctor has failed multiple times before passing his exams, I am also not inclined to give them a chance. WTF? Its my life you're talking about.
depends on how the individual develop himself later

btw PKR MP Baru Bian / Works Minister n ncr native rights lawyer also ITM law graduate

throughout his career handling hundreds of land cases against plantation cronies in Sarawak
anuarnor
post Oct 6 2019, 12:51 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(arubin @ Oct 6 2019, 12:21 PM)

Not everyone need to be Karpal or Shafie. There a whole loads of sections that nade up a law teams. Also chill out and get a life dude. Not nice to the body when it's full of negativity.
fu'house
post Oct 6 2019, 12:54 PM

553 posts

This loyar can pakai or not. One chance sahaja trial. Not 18 times.

I don't want to go to jail 18 times x 2 years then only win. If sentenced 4 years each case, never mind lah go 14th floor ASAP.
SUSFreedom6
post Oct 6 2019, 01:24 PM

QUOTE(Starbucki @ Oct 6 2019, 12:20 AM)
Since when meritocracy is required .......
No wonder manyak jobless la, who dares to hire such grad.....it's like would you hand your life to a surgeon was passed after several attempts 😅
blanket84
post Oct 6 2019, 01:30 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(anuarnor @ Oct 6 2019, 12:51 PM)
Not everyone need to be Karpal or Shafie. There a whole loads of sections that nade up a law teams. Also chill out and get a life dude. Not nice to the body when it's full of negativity.
Yeah. My snp lawyer can’t even get the unit number i purchased right, but such error is not disastrous as doctor cut the wrong thing or engineer miscalculate a beam/column.
deathTh3Cannon
post Oct 6 2019, 01:39 PM

248 posts

maybe you are not cut for it
arubin
post Oct 6 2019, 02:45 PM

Holy Pastafarian
670 posts

QUOTE(lagista @ Oct 6 2019, 12:23 PM)
depends on how the individual develop himself later

btw PKR MP Baru Bian / Works Minister n ncr native rights lawyer also ITM law graduate

throughout his career handling hundreds of land cases against plantation cronies in Sarawak
Did he fail 18 times before passing?

QUOTE(anuarnor @ Oct 6 2019, 12:51 PM)
Its being realistic dude. Actual work isn't like studying. You don't get to fail multiple times. Fail even once and you lose a client or a job.
alexkos
post Oct 6 2019, 02:48 PM

2,275 posts

When getting client

Client: what's your track record
Lawyer: you can be assured that the probability for a verdict render against you is pretty high.

This post has been edited by alexkos: Oct 6 2019, 02:48 PM
lagista
post Oct 6 2019, 02:57 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(arubin @ Oct 6 2019, 02:45 PM)
Did he fail 18 times before passing?

i dont think so nope
Starbucki
post Oct 6 2019, 03:18 PM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

end up work at mekdi if he is lucky?
SUSRO Player
post Oct 6 2019, 03:18 PM

Now I am a Se7eN Star TigeR!
4,276 posts

later want tongkat...

he doesnt care...all is govt money..
wheelcartcathy
post Oct 6 2019, 03:21 PM

36 posts

finally get to pass because he finally understood Law or lecturers all kesian him he fail 18x?
Daddy2be
post Oct 6 2019, 03:42 PM

459 posts

Only at a shit hole like Uitm can you fail 18 times and still wear academic hat

Good luck to whoever hire this clown as a lawyer LOL
ray148
post Oct 6 2019, 03:44 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(Leong Kok Leong @ Oct 6 2019, 12:14 AM)
SELOWWWW
Fark...I'm going to hell for laughing.
Leong Kok Leong
post Oct 6 2019, 04:13 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(ray148 @ Oct 6 2019, 03:44 PM)
Fark...I'm going to hell for laughing.
I didn't not intend to direct it to the student. But I guess that works too.
TSeverest
post Oct 7 2019, 08:43 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(s1nn3r @ Oct 6 2019, 11:55 AM)
Respect his determination

0.0247sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:36 PM