How much should one spend on mattress?, Using King Size as a conhrol group.

TSAvangelice
post Oct 4 2019, 03:22 PM, updated 7y ago

5,272 posts

I am looking to buy a mattress and went to Harvey Norman and King Koil dedicated shop.

Noticed there's a very categories of materials
1) memory foam
2) latex
3) spring/latex/pocketed spring

Ranging from 7k all the way to 25k.

Is spending so much on a mattress really worth the money? My budget is around 5k to 7k. Is it enough?
Baconateer
post Oct 4 2019, 03:24 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

bring ur gf.... do some bedminton..

after test thn buy
rudduan
post Oct 4 2019, 03:25 PM

37 posts

Rm8900.00....bye..
Saitama
post Oct 4 2019, 03:25 PM

308 posts

1 more category, coconut fibre
Fyonne
post Oct 4 2019, 03:35 PM

904 posts

sleep is important, so choose the one ur comfortable with, not the price.
Mrsaitama
post Oct 4 2019, 03:56 PM

353 posts

get at lazada king koil hospitality suite
fantasy1989
post Oct 4 2019, 03:58 PM

4,707 posts

i get normal spring + latex topper

plan to change soon when married
capsulr
post Oct 4 2019, 03:59 PM

472 posts

go to mattress factory outlet, way cheaper prices there.
bought my queen size mattress rm 500 only and as good as those i tried at harvey norman. Those shops have cut throat prices, cant believe I almost forked out rm 5K for a mattress
pretty23
post Oct 4 2019, 04:00 PM

1,791 posts

all TS choice if no open air cond very hot and hard to sleep.
Wanie404.
post Oct 4 2019, 04:00 PM

132 posts

you budget is well defined

as long what you want have met the requirements...
you can adjust your budget

when come to comfort... paying a bit more is worth it

Revamperz
post Oct 4 2019, 04:01 PM

im freaking IN! ™
5,164 posts

i just go test n baring n choose what i like. expensive doesnt mean the best in this case

last time its only cost me 4k dunlopillo. suprisingly the 2nd best was only rm1.9k while some 7k-8k range while its soft but i feel “sinking”
LamboSama
post Oct 4 2019, 04:02 PM

769 posts

Bed is the one furniture you spend the most time on.
So mattress quality very important.
TSAvangelice
post Oct 4 2019, 04:37 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Mrsaitama @ Oct 4 2019, 03:56 PM)
get at lazada king koil hospitality suite
Yeah I was aiming for this. Not that expensive too
Docile
post Oct 4 2019, 04:39 PM

Naked Sleeper
404 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 4 2019, 03:22 PM)
I am looking to buy a mattress and went to Harvey Norman and King Koil dedicated shop.

1) memory foam
2) latex

Is spending so much on a mattress really worth the money? My budget is around 5k to 7k. Is it enough?
Actually 5-7k can get a pretty decent mattress already.
It's worth it in a long run, sleep is extremely important dude

When u choose, make sure u dont shy shy, go ahead and lie whole body on the mattress and try it out, see which one u can see yourself sleeping in
TSAvangelice
post Oct 4 2019, 04:41 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Docile @ Oct 4 2019, 04:39 PM)
Actually 5-7k can get a pretty decent mattress already.
It's worth it in a long run, sleep is extremely important dude

When u choose, make sure u dont shy shy, go ahead and lie whole body on the mattress and try it out, see which one u can see yourself sleeping in
Yeah I was superbly shy even wearing my shoe. No idea who wants to buy display sets from Harvey norman
duckhole
post Oct 4 2019, 04:43 PM

379 posts

rm20k for my current mattress and i somehow like my rm5k one better
Docile
post Oct 4 2019, 04:43 PM

Naked Sleeper
404 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 4 2019, 04:41 PM)
Yeah I was superbly shy even wearing my shoe. No idea who wants to buy display sets from Harvey norman
my bedframe and sidetables are from harvey norman, but not my mattress
They wont give u display set gua,.. mostly new ma
Who on earth would want to buy a display mattress man, unless if the price is slashed by half or more
hiyyl
post Oct 4 2019, 04:45 PM

Flying panda~
692 posts

QUOTE(capsulr @ Oct 4 2019, 03:59 PM)
go to mattress factory outlet, way cheaper prices there.
bought my queen size mattress rm 500 only and as good as those i tried at harvey norman. Those shops have cut throat prices, cant believe I almost forked out rm 5K for a mattress
Kasi location pls
cintamani83
post Oct 4 2019, 04:46 PM

177 posts

see see who say malaysia economy bad?
Boom Mortar
post Oct 4 2019, 04:46 PM

227 posts

Pasar malam rm50
takadanicklagi
post Oct 4 2019, 04:48 PM

124 posts

Go there and sleep try out. 3 to 5k can get u pretty good mattress. Unless u are of noble blood born with silver spoon you wont feel much difference.
idoblu
post Oct 4 2019, 04:49 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

my current mattress cost me 10k. that was 12 years ago and its time to buy a new one. problem is what if i dont like the new one....its like buying a pair of shoes. you wont know if it really fits until you pass the point of no returns
Fat & Fluffy
post Oct 4 2019, 04:51 PM

397 posts

best.... 4s 1t

Simmons, Sealy, Serta, Slumberland, Tempur
SUSGodTier
post Oct 4 2019, 04:52 PM

135 posts

Now got watercool bed from tech company.. Waiting for china to clone then I upgrade
tokdukun
post Oct 4 2019, 04:52 PM

376 posts

I see Sonno mattress ads a lot on fb.

Anyone tried it? Is it truly the best, looks to me like memory foam + latex layer on top maybe, no spring, rollable.
Iceman74
post Oct 4 2019, 04:54 PM

1,407 posts

1) memory foam
2) latex

Included bed frame? King or Queen?

You need to go around and check which type you want

1. The bed size, Queen or King or bigger but u need to check your bedroom location have the space move in. (Mine luckily enough space and can turn king size mattress at staircase)
2. Soft or hard type will determine your mattress materials
3. Normal or Hotel line type
4. Have all those fancy stuff like anti static, anti dust mites bed & so on..

Mine king size set cost me more than 3k (cost price cos need to contra with the furniture shop customer)
aspartame
post Oct 4 2019, 04:58 PM

3,165 posts

Actually 20k no difference from 5k... dun get conned into the game of more expensive means better...they purposefully packaged them at higher price cos certain segment will insist on “top of the range ” and “dun mind paying more.. it’s your health” kind of thing... go try.. dun look at the price... see which u prefer..
SUSBillCollector
post Oct 4 2019, 05:16 PM

818 posts

I use IKEA Hidrasund, love it but you must use an IKEA frame as well because any mattress you buy from IKEA will be 10cm longer than those you get elsewhere.

QUOTE(Docile @ Oct 4 2019, 04:43 PM)
my bedframe and sidetables are from harvey norman, but not my mattress
They wont give u display set gua,.. mostly new ma
Who on earth would want to buy a display mattress man, unless if the price is slashed by half or more
There are people that buys those display sets.

Sometimes it is sold at their warehouse or clearance sales for up to 50-70% off.

Many people rush for them especially those that are doing AirBNB or homestays.
alwinnng
post Oct 4 2019, 05:18 PM

4,296 posts

Pick better one cause long term ma

Better if the top don't have the layer of memory thingy one.. that one will sink after 2-3years

If insist want the memory foam layer, buy around 4-5k enough.. change more frequently.. old one put to other room or donate to other ppl
kaiserreich
post Oct 4 2019, 05:20 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

I bought Getha bed.
Now I sleep in shitty bed, my back will hurt.

yhcyber
post Oct 4 2019, 05:22 PM

482 posts

Bought Napure last year at Home Deco fair MV. After 50% off is RM3200 including the bedframe, full latex, worth the penny
mpyw
post Oct 4 2019, 05:23 PM

3,603 posts

I got the Sealy Classic king size from HN few months back for around RM5k...very good mattress
rubrubrub
post Oct 4 2019, 05:24 PM

senor
1,793 posts

QUOTE(yhcyber @ Oct 4 2019, 05:22 PM)
Bought Napure last year at Home Deco fair MV. After 50% off is RM3200 including the bedframe, full latex, worth the penny
what model?
novblaze
post Oct 4 2019, 05:29 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(Saitama @ Oct 4 2019, 03:25 PM)
1 more category, coconut fibre
this is actually so good. bought my current matress then only found out about this. really good for people with backaches
capsulr
post Oct 4 2019, 05:32 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(hiyyl @ Oct 4 2019, 04:45 PM)
Kasi location pls
Just Google mattress factory outlet, got in pj, Subang and ampang
yhcyber
post Oct 4 2019, 05:39 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(rubrubrub @ Oct 4 2019, 05:24 PM)
what model?
If not mistaken it is Chiro series, King size, need dig back the DO to confirm again, the transaction done with LSK directly in the fair, so will be cheaper than outside (the sales manager say la)

Free 2 latex pillows and a bed cover, all under Napure brand
masahito
post Oct 4 2019, 05:39 PM

488 posts

Pocket spring gooding

king size yo

hft
post Oct 4 2019, 05:41 PM

1,081 posts

1) memory foam
2) latex

RM1-2k from IKEA enough. RM10k and above is really not worth it.
ericangtzeann
post Oct 4 2019, 05:42 PM

123 posts

Used to stay at Ampang.. has a few good brick and mortar furniture shops that sells good quality mattresses at reasonable prices if thats what you're looking for.

I myself is all for harvey for its services.. 5k is reasonable for me. Haven't reach the 5 figure mattress league yet.
Mackiddo
post Oct 4 2019, 05:48 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

i’m using Simmons. best buy ever
capsulr
post Oct 4 2019, 05:54 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(hft @ Oct 4 2019, 05:41 PM)
RM1-2k from IKEA enough. RM10k and above is really not worth it.
Ikea mattress like shit only la, you go touch their pillows also know already. Also their mattress don't come in standard size, king queen don't apply
hft
post Oct 4 2019, 05:56 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(capsulr @ Oct 4 2019, 05:54 PM)
Ikea mattress like shit only la, you go touch their pillows also know already. Also their mattress don't come in standard size, king queen don't apply
Pillow I agree shit. Pillow at least RM100 ea is nice.
imperialrealcs
post Oct 4 2019, 05:57 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

i bought the king koil premium series. damn it now when i stay outside i cant get used to other bed. bed is a long term investment. much longer than car and you spend most of the time there. i got the full set with bedframe for 9k+ last time when they do promo
imperialrealcs
post Oct 4 2019, 05:58 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

oh ya, the quality of the linen and comforter are equally important as well. dont skimp on that. i bought ikea one initially and straight give my bro. hot af
SUSlaoahpek
post Oct 4 2019, 06:03 PM

40 posts

slumberland
shuhuan
post Oct 4 2019, 06:07 PM

101 posts

I got cheap bed and having regrets. You must get the most comfortable bed. You spend about eight hours on it everyday. Not worth getting body aches and bad sleep trying to save money.
haroldz123
post Oct 4 2019, 06:42 PM

1,062 posts

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/843907/+6120

Post ur question here or read this thread

rubrubrub
post Oct 4 2019, 07:00 PM

senor
1,793 posts

QUOTE(yhcyber @ Oct 4 2019, 05:39 PM)
If not mistaken it is Chiro series, King size, need dig back the DO to confirm again, the transaction done with LSK directly in the fair, so will be cheaper than outside (the sales manager say la)

Free 2 latex pillows and a bed cover, all under Napure brand
sounds like a really good deal
Pichu00
post Oct 4 2019, 07:22 PM

640 posts

1) memory foam
2) latex

Got few good one 3-4k max je
adamtayy
post Oct 4 2019, 07:24 PM

1,400 posts

unker, came across
Vono Spine pro 1200 (queen size), roughly, RM1800
with 15 years warranty for its pocket spring

BOTAK_WAI
post Oct 4 2019, 07:38 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,160 posts

if i suggest value for money combo, it must be:

1. Ikea Hyllestad (180x200cm medium firm, don't choose firm because memory foam is smelly and hot)
2. Ikea Gokart mattress protector (180cmx200cm)
3. Ikea Nattjasmin fitted bed sheet (180x200cm white)
4. Ikea Nattjasmin quilt cover set (240x220cm)
5. Ikea quilt depends on your preference, even cheap Tilkort model (240x220cm) can satisfy if u scare hot.
6. Ikea Espevar mattress base (2 set 90x200cm put side by side to fit Ikea 180x200cm mattress for greater support. But why not just use 1 set 180x200cm mattress base? because the middle beam with center leg not as firm 2 set 90x200cm mattress base)
7. Pillow and bolster get outside like Das Abdul…Ikea pillow sucks.

reminder: all Ikea mattress u need to air it for 3 days to get rid of the smell.

This post has been edited by BOTAK_WAI: Oct 4 2019, 07:58 PM
hirano
post Oct 4 2019, 07:45 PM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

Any good mattress around small budget of RM1.5-2k to recommend me? Firm ones
yhcyber
post Oct 7 2019, 01:41 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Oct 4 2019, 07:45 PM)
Any good mattress around small budget of RM1.5-2k to recommend me? Firm ones
I would suggest you go to the fair and have a look and test, brand is not the criteria that need to look into, but the made and comfort. The good thing in fair is, there are plenty type of mattress and you can try it out personally then only make decision.
yahiko
post Oct 7 2019, 01:46 PM

1,215 posts

brought a dunpillo RM8++K with cooling system ( cool matt beneath it) - the name is galaxy something king size + kingsize bedframe free + all those free pillow + boaster

many cooling compare to my previous matress..
pisces88
post Oct 7 2019, 02:00 PM

3,969 posts

1) memory foam
2) latex

I got the Serta from harvey merdeka sales. 18k become 7k lol
badkid
post Oct 7 2019, 02:02 PM

256 posts

Rm57k mattress still not enough.. Taking care of spine, neck and a good sleep is worth no less than rm1mil
19 Degree South
post Oct 7 2019, 03:36 PM

1,681 posts

QUOTE(Fat & Fluffy @ Oct 4 2019, 04:51 PM)
best.... 4s 1t

Simmons, Sealy, Serta, Slumberland, Tempur
Simmons and sealy are like BMW and Mercedes! Shang hotel uses Simmons mattresses in all their hotels!
optprime
post Aug 2 2020, 09:14 AM

349 posts

Would u all recommend a full latex mattress?
kkkw80
post Aug 2 2020, 09:28 AM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

Just bought my master bedroom mattress from Getha, 10,500

This post has been edited by kkkw80: Aug 2 2020, 09:29 AM
iGamer
post Aug 2 2020, 09:35 AM

Toxic ktards probably losers irl
1,374 posts

QUOTE(takadanicklagi @ Oct 4 2019, 04:48 PM)
Go there and sleep try out. 3 to 5k can get u pretty good mattress. Unless u are of noble blood born with silver spoon you wont feel much difference.
Pretty sure noble born with silver spoon wouldn’t bother opening thread to buy a mattress biggrin.gif
jeffboon97
post Jun 21 2021, 10:40 AM

669 posts

I think nowadays the "cheaper" local one like Sonno/Joey/Origin can easily compete with the big brands out there... I recently ordered Origin Mattress due to their 60% so a Queen size mattress only cost RM 1.8k.

Order experience is easy and can 3 month installment via Atome app. Then I scheduled to deliver on 17 June, they arrive on 17 June. Unboxing is easy and can be done by a young lady.

After sleeping for many days can say it's very comfortable, the firmness is not too hard and not too soft and previously I used to sweat when I sleep now I no longer sweat because of the mattress technology to draw away body heat drool.gif

This post has been edited by jeffboon97: Jun 21 2021, 10:43 AM

0.0256sec    0.98    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:43 PM