Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

roarus
post Nov 2 2019, 06:40 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 2 2019, 11:32 AM)
I don't know where you get 0.005.
Commission is 0.0035
https://www.interactivebrokers.com/en/index...=1590&p=stocks2
10000 X 0.0035 = USD35.00
QUOTE(livina2011 @ Nov 2 2019, 04:01 PM)
I don't know where you get 0.005.
Commission is 0.0035
https://www.interactivebrokers.com/en/index...=1590&p=stocks2
There are 2 pricing structure available for IBKR's customers to choose from - Tiered and Fixed. For retail investors, Tiered is cheaper most of the time. There are exceptions, so do double check though - for markets like SGX and lower amounts Fixed is cheaper.

QUOTE(livina2011 @ Nov 2 2019, 04:01 PM)
Answer : you are right abt USA. But at least you're CIMB'S customer and they have their legal department to assist you. if you deal with IB you're on your own.
Members of FINRA (which IBKR LLC is) are regulated in a pretty air tight manner - in an unfortunate event of a FINRA broker collapses, either:
i. another broker takes over and it's business as usual for you (e.g. Bear Stearns takeover by JP Morgan back in 2008)
ii. or SIPC is invoked to liquidate your securities and you get market value back + FDIC is invoked and you get deposited cash back

Things kick in automatically for whichever outcome

Update: Apparently tiered for SGX is cheaper now compared to a year back

This post has been edited by roarus: Nov 2 2019, 07:03 PM
roarus
post Nov 3 2019, 12:21 AM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Nov 2 2019, 10:03 PM)
is there a reason that you never try USD?
He tried, it failed to go through and he got his money back like 3 weeks later

QUOTE(moosset @ Nov 2 2019, 11:44 PM)
so in EUR you trust?

or in GBP you trust?
Once you buy securities with money - you'll be holding securities, not currency anymore. So doesn't matter which denomination you pick if it's a multi currency cross listed fund.

That is unless it's a currency hedge class fund

This post has been edited by roarus: Nov 3 2019, 12:28 AM
roarus
post Nov 30 2019, 06:47 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(DiamondRuby @ Nov 29 2019, 02:01 PM)
BTW, From CIMB@SGD to Interactive broker. How long leadtime the amount will appear?
For initial deposit might take 1-2 business days, subsequently usually around 15mins during Singapore business hours
roarus
post Dec 3 2019, 05:00 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(DiamondRuby @ Dec 3 2019, 04:39 PM)
To all Sifu,

Whats the different between FXCONV vs IDEALPRO ??
Both also same rate, & appear same amount to account
IDEALPRO creates a virtual position you can see in your portfolio e.g. USD.SGD
FXCONV does not
roarus
post Dec 3 2019, 11:57 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Dec 3 2019, 11:55 PM)
what's the purpose of showing this virtual position in your portfolio?
For those trading currency pairs, you can easily do a 'sell' by selecting close position option.

For long term buy and hold investors, it makes no difference. To me it's an eyesore so I use FXCONV
roarus
post Dec 6 2019, 03:07 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(ruben7389 @ Dec 6 2019, 11:32 AM)
Silly questions

Why need to transfer to SG then only IBKR? Cannot from MY to IKBR straight ?

TIA
Unless it's TT, certain remittance service transfers with a different the account holder name attached.

Examples tested (by forumer):
i. Instarem -> USD IB US (failed)
ii. Instarem -> EUR IB Germany (OK)

Or some might have faster and/or cheaper way to transfer to their SG account first.

Or some change regularly but keeps the cash as warchest in their SG account (gaining some interest), ready to deploy.
roarus
post Dec 6 2019, 04:31 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(ruben7389 @ Dec 6 2019, 03:36 PM)
OK tq

BTW since IB also has forex trading facilities, any idea how good is it? Might want to consider naving all my things under one roof
It's great, the following is a snapshot of the CURRENCY.PAIR, BID, ASK and LAST DONE:

QUOTE(Sza123 @ Dec 6 2019, 03:58 PM)
Iv just gotten my ib account approved.
I understand theres a 10usd monthly fee if ur brokerage is less thn tht. I dont understand the market data subscription. Do i have to pay to receive live data? If i dont subscribe meaning u trade using delayed data?
Correct, if you're not a trader you can probably live with quotes off google finance/investing.com
roarus
post Dec 6 2019, 11:50 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Sza123 @ Dec 6 2019, 04:43 PM)
Thanks!
Also im seeing alot of u using tradestation global and everyone says the fee for us stocks is 1.5usd.. And theres no inactivity fee. Thts just 50c more per trade and no inactivity fee.. Making it a better choice than IB.
But when i google abt tradestation global... They do charge inactivity fee. Am i looking at the wrong place. Can someone show me where it says theres no fee? Cant find it.
<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2019/12/06/5wTFLX.md.jpg' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2019/12/06/5wTFLX.md.jpg </a>
I'd say some of the info on their website info is outdated, for example:
i. NYSE trades are $1 min (bought 1 ticker on NYSE ARCA for shits and giggles)
ii. For inactivity fee, I've contacted support and was told no inactivity fee (well specifically, I asked if I traded only 1-2 times a year would there be inactivity fee imposed)

QUOTE(dwRK @ Dec 6 2019, 05:42 PM)
ib fx trading is non-leveraged right? we've been mainly doing conversations
For 'educational' purpose, (because I think borrowing money to trade FX is not likely going to end well) - I'm 90% sure you can open a virtual position for currency via IDEALPRO on a margin account.

Or you can check out this thingy called CME FX Futures or its Micro/E-Micro equivalent (definitely tradable with IB account, do check if it's tradable via TradeStation Global). Supposedly it's a whole lot cheaper to trade (by contract vs % of cash value) with similar spread tightness.

QUOTE(toiletking2006 @ Dec 6 2019, 08:10 PM)
Emailed tnem. Waiting for reply
Perhaps do a Reports -> Statement run for month of Nov 2019 to see what the item description is?
roarus
post Dec 7 2019, 10:13 AM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(toiletking2006 @ Dec 7 2019, 07:11 AM)
This is a minimum activity fee of USD 1.00 in the base currency of yours (SGD)

It only applies to small balance accounts

You can find detailed information here:

https://www.interactivebrokers.co.uk/en/index.php?f=38234

And my balance is around 1k usd . Attach below is the screenshot given to me
Fees waiver for first 3 months. For my case which means July to Oct. And fees will be charged if balance less than 100k usd. Based on my understanding

Looks like you were hit with this - Broker Client Account min liquidation value < USD$1000

Did you have on the dot USD$1000 equivalent of SGD during account opening? USD.SGD might've fluctuated and you ended up with < USD$1000 on certain periods
roarus
post Feb 22 2020, 02:26 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(andrewlimkn @ Feb 22 2020, 02:19 PM)
I received the email from Tradestation Global which provide another set of username and password. Now it is confusing

What's the difference between using the IBKR and Tradestation Platform to trade? Are we charged different fees if we trade on one or the other platform or it is interchangeable?
It's just an extra platform with graphing tools, if you're not active trader you can ignore it and just use IBKR TWS/WebTrader/Mobile directly. Fees will follow TradeStation Global's fee table - same, doesn't matter if you execute using via TSG or IBKR directly.
roarus
post May 17 2020, 11:49 AM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Lakeambience @ May 17 2020, 10:33 AM)
Ya this one is outdated. Even during that time BigPay's fee was at RM7 and then they lowered it to RM5 sometime early this year I think

I compared recently and there has been times where BigPay's rates are better than instarem. And BigPay fee is fixed at RM5

Just want to know if it'll reflect in IBKR in Singapore. Maybe I'll give it a try
There's a chance it may not work, you may still try it out for the benefit of everyone with a small amount rclxms.gif

This is what shows up in my SG bank for Instarem and BigPay transfer:
i. Intarem
Inward FAST -
NSTAPTE3, OTHR-<MY NAME>XXXXXXXX<SEEMINGLY RANDOM ALPHANUMERICS>

ii. BigPay
Giro Credit from TikFx Singapore
BECH-<SEEMINGLY RANDOM ALPHANUMERICS>

For BigPay my name is not visible in the inward transfer. Another thing is that in BigPay there's no place to include transfer remarks to enter IBKR account number/name.
roarus
post May 17 2020, 05:21 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Gwynbleidd @ May 17 2020, 03:34 PM)

Credits to Rintaro from LYN Stock Market Discussion Telegram Group.
Cool thanks, I'll use this for this month instead of BigPay!
roarus
post May 23 2020, 04:07 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(FishIsSmart @ May 23 2020, 03:57 PM)
can broker accept deposit , if my first name become last name
and my last name become first name.

the broker set up my name terbalik, eg. ali baba become baba ali.
Can, my name (Chinese name) in broker transfer instruction is <first name> <last/family name> but the bank account I transfer from is <last/family name> <first name>.
roarus
post May 24 2020, 12:42 AM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(GregPG01 @ May 23 2020, 11:49 PM)
I am interested to open an account and fund it. From the screenshot only have the routing number and swift code, how would they know it from me and not other customer?
There's more not shown in the screenshot (understandably since there's private info), the section below it has:
i. Bank Account Number - this is a virtual account number to transfer to unique for each of their customer
ii. Payment Reference/For Further Credit to - brokerage account code + your name for you to fill in your bank transfer transaction reference box

This post has been edited by roarus: May 24 2020, 12:42 AM
roarus
post Mar 31 2021, 09:26 PM

1,042 posts

Anyone got this message recently when placing Buy?

YOUR ORDER IS NOT ACCEPTED. THERE IS INSUFFICIENT SETTLED CASH [-XXX USD for 20210402] IN YOUR ACCOUNT TO
OBTAIN THE DESIRED POSITION.

Seems to imply that my SGD -> USD need to wait until 2 Apr 2021 to settle before I can use?

This is my first time banking into the new HSBC account, previously Citibank I could just convert SGD->USD and execute buy immediately.
roarus
post Apr 1 2021, 09:24 AM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Apr 1 2021, 12:47 AM)
Long time ago, something like this happened to me but it was Instarem to IBKR.

The reason was I forgot to notify IBKR about my transfer. So the money is in the account but cannot trade because IBKR hasn't been notified that it's your money.

Not sure if it's the same reason as yours.
I deposited from my CIMB SG account, the deposit notification status for SGD is available and no longer pending. I converted that amount to USD.

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 1 2021, 08:09 AM)
Normal. Need to wait especially if you convert money. Only way around waiting is convert to margin account.
Eh? Mine's cash account. You use FXCONV or IDEALPRO? I've always used FXCONV in TWS and able to trade the same day previously. Only thing different this round was depositing to HSCB instead of Citibank.

Tried to use livechat but no one picking up the ticket
roarus
post Apr 1 2021, 11:59 PM

1,042 posts

Update: I'm able to trade with my USD today instead of having to wait another day. Will observe my next transfer and conversion to see if goes back to "normal" i.e. same day trade allowed.
roarus
post Apr 28 2021, 05:06 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(roarus @ Mar 31 2021, 09:26 PM)
Anyone got this message recently when placing Buy?

YOUR ORDER IS NOT ACCEPTED. THERE IS INSUFFICIENT SETTLED CASH [-XXX USD for 20210402] IN YOUR ACCOUNT TO
OBTAIN THE DESIRED POSITION.

Seems to imply that my SGD -> USD need to wait until 2 Apr 2021 to settle before I can use?

This is my first time banking into the new HSBC account, previously Citibank I could just convert SGD->USD and execute buy immediately.
QUOTE(roarus @ Apr 1 2021, 11:59 PM)
Update: I'm able to trade with my USD today instead of having to wait another day. Will observe my next transfer and conversion to see if goes back to "normal" i.e. same day trade allowed.
Ok, I think it's due to IBKR changing from CITI to HSBC. My 2nd time depositing to HSBC, I'm able to convert SGD->USD and immediately use it for buy
roarus
post Apr 30 2021, 04:26 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(WHITE APPLE @ Apr 30 2021, 04:21 PM)
the benefit to switch over from TSG to pure IBKR is the trading fee? USD 0.35 vs 1.5 per transaction?
That and broker country regulation. TSG is subject to regulation of UK law. IBKR (LLC - US) is subject to regulation of US law.

However since IBKR has opened up shop down south, I'm not sure if Malaysians are "forced" to open up account with IBKR SG instead.
roarus
post Apr 30 2021, 05:28 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 30 2021, 04:42 PM)
Not really.
You get fractional shares, IPO access (don't know how to go about it), cheaper margin fees.

That's what I can think of. I definitely moving to pure IBKR once I have USD200k.
Recommend to open IBKR SG. Cause it will be under SG law and not US law. Which means no death tax.
Estate tax applicable for monies and US domiciled securities only, laddered starting from USD 60k onwards

QUOTE(a16791 @ Apr 30 2021, 04:52 PM)
How do we know which IBKR our a/c are being held ?
To be doubly sure, from generated report you can see which entity of Interactive Brokers you're dealing with

0.3592sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:40 PM