Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

HouLeiiShytt
post Mar 26 2024, 08:51 PM

14 posts

Hi sifu,

Can I know what is the current cheapest way to deposit fund into IBKR. I have been using the WISE-IBKR integration method since this feature was introduced. However, recently I stumbled on one of Ziet YT Shorts where he suggested that, for people that have a CIMB SG account, can save some money by doing the following:

1. Transferring MYR from CIMB MY to CIMB SG (receive in SGD)
2. Transfer from CIMB SG to IBKR (receive in SGD)
3. Convert SGD to USD on IBKR

After some research, I have also saw that a Redditors on MalaysianPF mentioning the same thing, quoted "Cheapest method will be CIMB MY (during working hour)> CIMB SG > IBKR. Easiest method will be through Wise directly.".

Anyone have any experience or insights comparing WISE-IBKR integration method with this method?

Thank you in advance!
HouLeiiShytt
post Mar 26 2024, 09:32 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(sp3d2 @ Mar 26 2024, 09:01 PM)
Yeah. For moving into CIMB SG, Money match is cheaper than Wise and CIMB itself

U can always do the comparison yourself.
Ahh meaning to say using cimb sg to ibkr is cheaper than wise-ibkr integration? Only that we need to compare which way to transfer MYR to CIMB SG to get the cheapest deal?

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Mar 26 2024, 09:22 PM)
HouLeiiShytt do take note that if you want to open CIMB sg acct, you cannot use Wise anymore. can only do through these

• deposit S$1k from CIMB MY (expensive)
  • deposit S$1k from other sg banks
so, unless u are ok with the expensive fees to transfer that S$1k, open a MBB (or OCBC) sg bank acct first. open CIMB sg when you want to transfer back to Malaysia
In the case that I do already have a cimb sg account, does it mean that this will be the cheaper way to fund ibkr compared to wise-ibkr integration?

0.0228sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:28 AM