427 Pages « < 415 416 417 418 419 > » Bottom

Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

Medufsaid
post Jan 19 2025, 05:09 PM

3,485 posts

QUOTE(JusticeLeagueMY @ Jan 19 2025, 05:01 PM)
My friend suggest to open Maybank SG. Maybank MY to SG transfer is just RM10 fee.
since you're new to how these work, do note that remittance usually have
  • fixed fee, and
  • marked up MYRSGD rates
in this case, there's a fixed fee of RM10. then, you should take note of what Maybank MY is selling you. take the MYRSGD rate they give, and compare against the real mid-market rate https://wise.com/my/pricing/hold-fees?sourc...SGD&track=false

QUOTE(JusticeLeagueMY @ Jan 19 2025, 05:01 PM)
I have not tried Maybank SG to IBKR though - dare not try in case fees is high as I am now exploring Wise as a possible channel.
you are sending local bank transfer from MBB sg to IBKR's Citibank SG bank account. you are familiar with depositing cash to local malaysian brokers' bank account right? same thing, no fees
JusticeLeagueMY
post Jan 19 2025, 05:25 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jan 19 2025, 05:09 PM)
you are sending local bank transfer from MBB sg to IBKR's Citibank SG bank account. you are familiar with depositing cash to local malaysian brokers' bank account right? same thing, no fees
Waitaminute - IBKR has a Citibank SG bank account number? I didn't know that!!

So, I have to go IBKR, set up a transfer in IBKR and choose to transfer from Singapore to get their SG banking details?
Is that where I should get them?

OMG! To think I have been using SWIFT for the past 2 years and paid high fees doh.gif ranting.gif
watermineral
post Jan 19 2025, 06:48 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jan 19 2025, 02:28 PM)
watermineral nowadays CIMB SG requires you to send S$1k from CIMB MY (additional costs of RM30)

if u don't mind having a second sg bank account, open MBB sg ar-rihla (minimum balance S$200 required else there's S$2 monthly fee) first https://apply.maybank.com.sg/regionalcasa/A...Opening/arrihla, then only open CIMB sg. this will avoid that greedy RM30 surcharge that CIMB wants
that RM30 is one time charge or everytime u deposit to cimb?
watermineral
post Jan 19 2025, 06:51 PM

137 posts

I am still kinda blur.
Wise SGD > CIMB SG> IBKR CITIBANK SG?
or
WISE SGD > MBB SG > CIMB SG > IBKR CITIBANK SG?
bill11
post Jan 19 2025, 08:13 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(JusticeLeagueMY @ Jan 19 2025, 05:02 PM)
Yesterday there was a conference by Piranha Profits aka Adam Khoo. Did anyone here attend? I see that he use IBKR. Very reassuring!
how was it ? missed it.

Any summary?
Medufsaid
post Jan 19 2025, 09:32 PM

3,485 posts

QUOTE(watermineral @ Jan 19 2025, 06:48 PM)
that RM30 is one time charge or everytime u deposit to cimb?
activating CIMB SG
  • via CIMB MY -> activate by one-time deposit of S$1k from CIMB MY to CIMB SG. pay expensive forex fee of RM30 for 1 time
  • via deposit of S$1k from other singapore bank account - open MBB sg bank account (no initial deposit required, very quick) and do transfer S$1k from MBB sg to CIMB sg after MBB sg activation

QUOTE(watermineral @ Jan 19 2025, 06:51 PM)
I am still kinda blur.
Wise SGD > CIMB SG> IBKR CITIBANK SG?
or
WISE SGD > MBB SG > CIMB SG > IBKR CITIBANK SG?

from any malaysian banks use remittance companies like
  • sunwaymoney
  • moneymatch
  • duitnow overseas transfer
  • wise
  • bigpay
to convert MYR to SGD and send over to
  • MBB sg acct like ar-rihla
  • CIMB sg fast savers
to do FAST transfer to IBKR sg
watermineral
post Jan 20 2025, 08:57 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jan 19 2025, 09:32 PM)
activating CIMB SG

• via CIMB MY -> activate by one-time deposit of S$1k from CIMB MY to CIMB SG. pay expensive forex fee of RM30 for 1 time
  • via deposit of S$1k from other singapore bank account - open MBB sg bank account (no initial deposit required, very quick) and do transfer S$1k from MBB sg to CIMB sg after MBB sg activation

| from any malaysian banks | use remittance companies like

• sunwaymoney
  • moneymatch
  • duitnow overseas transfer
  • wise
  • bigpay
| to convert MYR to SGD and send over to |

• MBB sg acct like ar-rihla
  • CIMB sg fast savers
| to do FAST transfer to IBKR sg |
thank you, can use mbb sg transfer to ibkr sg?
Medufsaid
post Jan 20 2025, 09:00 AM

3,485 posts

watermineral can. we normally open CIMB sg for their cheap SGDMYR rates https://www.cimb.com.sg/en/personal/promoti...sfer-promo.html
watermineral
post Jan 20 2025, 09:45 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jan 20 2025, 09:00 AM)
watermineral can. we normally open CIMB sg for their cheap SGDMYR rates https://www.cimb.com.sg/en/personal/promoti...sfer-promo.html
ok i am clear now.. thank you sifu for all the info.. biggrin.gif
swiss228
post Jan 20 2025, 02:18 PM

317 posts

QUOTE(JusticeLeagueMY @ Jan 19 2025, 05:25 PM)
Waitaminute - IBKR has a Citibank SG bank account number? I didn't know that!!

So, I have to go IBKR, set up a transfer in IBKR and choose to transfer from Singapore to get their SG banking details?
Is that where I should get them?

OMG! To think I have been using SWIFT for the past 2 years and paid high fees  doh.gif  ranting.gif
Is your IBKR base currency in SGD or USD? If it's in SGD, should be easy: no fees!
JusticeLeagueMY
post Jan 21 2025, 07:32 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(swiss228 @ Jan 20 2025, 02:18 PM)
Is your IBKR base currency in SGD or USD? If it's in SGD, should be easy: no fees!
My IBKR base currency is USD at this moment.
swiss228
post Jan 21 2025, 11:12 PM

317 posts

QUOTE(JusticeLeagueMY @ Jan 21 2025, 07:32 PM)
I would suggest you change yr base currency to SGD. If you have a Spore bank account, transfer funds in SGD to IBKR. If you need USD for trading, then use the internal IBKR conversion mechanism. I used this method since I opened my account 4 years ago. I am quite sure IBKR internal conversion rates are the best: this I learnt from the sifu who started the lowyat IBKR forum.

swiss228
post Jan 21 2025, 11:19 PM

317 posts

Btw, I like to find out from fellow traders here whether they prefer to use Trader Workstation Live Trading or the Client portal website when they access IBKR? Personally, I never use the Trader Workstation but I like to find out from traders here who do. Your insights/tips would be very much appreciated. TQ!

This post has been edited by swiss228: Jan 21 2025, 11:20 PM
Medufsaid
post Jan 21 2025, 11:21 PM

3,485 posts

QUOTE(JusticeLeagueMY @ Jan 21 2025, 07:32 PM)
no need to change base currencies from USD to SGD... mine is in USD. was never charged any extra fees when i deposit SGD and withdraw SGD. just currency conversion fees or other miscellaneous will be billed to you in USD

if one day when i want to exit IBKR for good, only then will i switch base currency to SGD (easier for fees to be calculated when i convert back into SGD)

This post has been edited by Medufsaid: Jan 21 2025, 11:23 PM
JusticeLeagueMY
post Jan 22 2025, 09:58 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(swiss228 @ Jan 21 2025, 11:19 PM)
Btw, I like to find out from fellow traders here whether they prefer to use Trader Workstation Live Trading or the Client portal website when they access IBKR? Personally, I never use the Trader Workstation but I like to find out from traders here who do. Your insights/tips would be very much appreciated. TQ!
I prefer IBKR mobile. Otherwise, IBKR via web browser.
TWS is too complicated. Need a lot of set up. Unless you are doing Day Trading, I think simplicity is the best.

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jan 21 2025, 11:21 PM)
no need to change base currencies from USD to SGD... mine is in USD. was never charged any extra fees when i deposit SGD and withdraw SGD. just currency conversion fees or other miscellaneous will be billed to you in USD

if one day when i want to exit IBKR for good, only then will i switch base currency to SGD (easier for fees to be calculated when i convert back into SGD)
Thanks Medufsaid. You are always very informative and helpful. Since we are at the topic of SGD, I would like to invest in some SG Banks like DBS or UOB, just to diversify, and enjoy better dividend yield. I don't think I can invest through MBB SG, which I have. In MBB SG, I can do Unit Trust only. So, the other idea is to do it via IBKR. Is there a better way or IBKR is still the easiest (since I already have IBKR for a few years)
swiss228
post Jan 22 2025, 01:09 PM

317 posts

QUOTE(JusticeLeagueMY @ Jan 22 2025, 09:58 AM)
I prefer IBKR mobile. Otherwise, IBKR via web browser.
TWS is too complicated. Need a lot of set up. Unless you are doing Day Trading, I think simplicity is the best.
Thanks Medufsaid. You are always very informative and helpful. Since we are at the topic of SGD, I would like to invest in some SG Banks like DBS or UOB, just to diversify, and enjoy better dividend yield. I don't think I can invest through MBB SG, which I have. In MBB SG, I can do Unit Trust only. So, the other idea is to do it via IBKR. Is there a better way or IBKR is still the easiest (since I already have IBKR for a few years)
I use IBKR mobile too. I agree; simplicity is the best
Why not buy EWS in IBKR, instead of individual stocks? Ever since I started using IBKR, I have become a firm believer in ETFs, esp those listed in US as trading fees are low.
The only thing I worried about using IBKR is what will happen to my funds if I die unexpectedly. bye.gif I access IBKR with face recognition so....
JusticeLeagueMY
post Jan 22 2025, 07:45 PM

27 posts

I am just thinking of diversifying. Here a bit, there a bit.
Medufsaid
post Jan 31 2025, 12:56 PM

3,485 posts

QUOTE(swiss228 @ Jan 22 2025, 01:09 PM)
The only thing I worried about using IBKR is what will happen to my funds if I die unexpectedly.  bye.gif I access IBKR with face recognition so....
you can actually open a joint IBKR acct with your spouse. Or transfer stocks position back to Moomoo Malaysia. Now there's promo in moomoo MY for free iPad if stock transfers exceeds RM200k
swiss228
post Feb 3 2025, 10:03 AM

317 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jan 31 2025, 12:56 PM)
you can actually open a joint IBKR acct with your spouse. Or transfer stocks position back to Moomoo Malaysia. Now there's promo in moomoo MY for free iPad if stock transfers exceeds RM200k
Thanks. Will consider it.

annoymous1234
post Feb 3 2025, 11:03 PM

7,614 posts

Has anyone withdraw large amount like rm30k or even rm100k from IBKR before? How did u do it? Wise only allow to store rm20k inside, what happen to the balance if I withdraw more than rm20k from IBKR to Wise?

427 Pages « < 415 416 417 418 419 > » Top

0.0415sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:38 PM