427 Pages « < 409 410 411 412 413 > » Bottom

Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

SUSTOS
post Nov 16 2024, 12:14 AM

8,667 posts

This is also interesting.

New Export Restrictions Target Advanced Semiconductor Nodes, Minimal Disruption Anticipated for TSMC

It is rumored in the market that some Chinese customers have obtained advanced process chips before the restrictions, which is why the U.S. Department of Commerce’s Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) is requiring TSMC to stop supplying all products below the N7 process to Chinese customers.

According to our understanding, the BIS has not yet formally issued an order, so TSMC is expected to avoid penalties by proactively complying with BIS export control regulations. TSMC will likely increase its level of scrutiny on Chinese AI businesses, and the new regulations are expected to take effect on November 11. Once the new regulations begin, N7 and below products may temporarily cease supply to Chinese customers. This is expected to have the greatest impact on HPC/AI and related products, while other consumer products should still be available to China as long as they comply with BIS’s conditions.

We believe TSMC will not be significantly affected in the short term. China’s revenue accounted for 12% of TSMC’s revenue in 2023, and we estimate a decline of less than 10% in 2024. Additionally, TSMC’s AI revenue from China is estimated to account for no more than 3% of total revenue in 2024, and this ratio may further decline by 2025.

This is because most of TSMC’s AI revenue comes from U.S. customers. Therefore, we remain cautiously optimistic about TSMC’s future growth and believe that the U.S. will remain TSMC’s main growth driver.

IP/IC design service companies face primarily limited risks from the latest export controls on China, focusing mainly on mature manufacturing processes with no direct impact.

The new wave of export controls on China may affect AI applications, particularly in HPC and related fields. Taiwanese IC design companies generally concentrate on mature processes, and their revenue exposure to China has already been gradually reduced since the 2023 export controls. For example, GUC and Alchip focus on industrial and network applications for China, with the majority of their sales in N12 and above processes. Therefore, the impact of the new regulations is expected to be minimal. According to Alchip, its revenue from China has recently decreased to about 10%, with only specific HPC-related projects, such as ADAS, potentially facing a negative impact.

Overall, we believe the IC design service industry will experience minimal impact, although there may be some influence on their Chinese orders. As for IP vendors, the new regulatory measures are expected to bring no direct impact in the short term. However, if design houses are restricted from shipping to China due to stricter regulatory compliance, they may face indirect impacts.

Original article link: https://tspasemiconductor.substack.com/p/bi...ntrols-on-tsmcs?

Source obtained from Semiwiki: https://semiwiki.com/forum/index.php?thread...-limited.21488/
SUSTOS
post Nov 16 2024, 12:20 AM

8,667 posts

The different Taiwanese and American work culture in fab is laid bare in this thread on Semiwiki: https://semiwiki.com/forum/index.php?thread...cilities.21481/

Also one gets to learn about US lawyers... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by TOS: Nov 16 2024, 12:24 AM
SUSTOS
post Nov 16 2024, 01:08 AM

8,667 posts

New book recommendation! The story of Credit Suisse, from birth to crisis, to collapse...

https://www.panmacmillan.com/authors/duncan...n/9781035037469

As featured in Bloomberg Weekend Essay

Credit Suisse Survived a Bank Run Only to Succumb to Scandal
Two years after a digital bank run crashed Credit Suisse, hindsight shows that social media only partially explains the bank’s demise.

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/202...cumb-to-scandal

Online version already available for free on Libgen... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by TOS: Nov 16 2024, 01:15 AM
SUSTOS
post Nov 18 2024, 04:15 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 5 2024, 09:17 PM)
The recent Fashion Valet incident highlighted the moral hazard of VC/PE firms in boasting their valuations prior to closing deals: here's one such article.. but with paywall at the second half of the article...

明白了这些操作的背后逻辑,你就能够明白为什么VC/PE喜欢搞什么科技的独角兽企业,因为只有这些企业的商业模式才能够提供足够空间让大家吹捧估值。
https://vip.sinchew.com.my/huangzilun-kuiji...%9C%88%E5%A5%97
Continuation: https://vip.sinchew.com.my/huangzilun-unico...%B8%8D%E6%B8%85

写完美国总统选举后,让我们再一次把目光聚焦前一篇文章提到的本地知名时尚品牌dUCk的控股公司FashionValet(以下简称FV)的故事。

之前我们提到FV是得到国库控股(Khazanah)和国民投资机构(PNB)共投资了4,700万令吉,本以为可以扶持出一家本地独角兽企业,没想到最后累得这两家公家投资机构只能以310万令吉出售股权。

原本好端端的电商模式,决定成立实体店,从线上走入线下,完全失去了电商该有的轻资产优势。

许多原本经营实体店的商家在电商普及后,被同类产品的电商们左右夹攻,还要面临高昂的固定成本(店铺和员工)。因此,商家从线下走入线上是更合理的做法。

国库控股自己也说了是看中FV在还是电商模式下的 “高增长潜力” (预计是每年增长60%),但FV却要反其道而行之。拖着臃肿的实体店,你要怎么每年增长60%?

这种重大的商业模式转变,一掷千金的公家投资机构却没细看,很难说得过去。

有需求就有供应

可怜那些在外头苦苦挣扎的中小型企业经营者,要借贷被银行拒之千里之外,要股权融资还要交出昂贵的学习成本,还不包括那些压根儿没摸到融资门道却被各种老千骗取可观的课程费用。

说回正题,为什么这种私人企业的投资随随便便就亏钱一大笔钱,企业还是乐此不疲?

除了我之前说的,许多VC/PE公司是为了赚取管理费,投资机构其实都希望可以找到下一家阿里巴巴、抖音,或者是亚马逊,这种可以吹一辈子的投资项目。

有需求,就有供应。

于是,在金融市场里,有人给出了这么一个新词,那就是 “独角兽”(unicorn)企业。这种商业独角兽的一大衡量标准就是公司得值上10亿美元。

那么,公司的价值要怎么上来?

要注意,我们说的是10亿美元。不是1,000万令吉盈利,这种靠实打实干,还是有可能实现的目标。最容易的方式就是靠各位VC/PE大神吹捧出来。也是我之前文章说的,每一个后来注资的投资者都在给之前的投资者抬轿,提高后者投资账面的价值,这样一层层地叠上去。

为何亏这么多钱

当然,我不是说做VC/PE的是骗子,能够在VC/PE做投资决策的更不会是笨蛋。

相反,他们绝大多数都有非常强的教育背景,常春藤名校毕业都只是基本要求,他们的人脉也都是数一数二的,许多事情只要打个电话就查得清清楚楚了。

既然他们这么聪明,为何还会亏这么多钱?

很简单,那就是VC/PE的一个短板——投资期限过短。很多的VC/PE都会给设立大概5年至7年的期限。用回FV的例子,当两家公家机构在2018年注资,他们大概率就是预计以在2023年到2025年之间套现。

最直接的套现方式就是上市。

但是,你也知道,不是每一个企业都能够在5年到7年之间站稳脚跟。

在互联网大企业横行的年代,人们习惯去歌颂哪些企业多快实现某些目标,例如ChatGPT就被高度赞美比其他的平台多快累积到100万用户,而鲜少有人去注意到底这当中有多少拔苗助长的失败案例。

要我说,FV很有可能就是其中之一。

不过,不管了,让我们回到金融市场。既然要搞上市来套现,甭管你在哪一个市场上市,公司都需要讲好他们的未来成长故事。故事说好了,投资者才愿意花钱,也愿意等。什么故事最吸引人?

古龙和金庸的武侠小说里的主角够吸引人了吧?古龙笔下的主角,例如陆小凤和楚留香,个个出场就是顶尖高手;而金庸喜欢写主角的成长故事,于是你会常常读到类似张无忌或令狐冲慢慢地修炼各种神功的情节。

VC/PE喜欢什么故事?就是古龙和金庸的结合。

补贴是一个大坑

他们要主角一出场就是顶尖高手,例如楚留香,但又要他们可以拿到《九阳神功》和《乾坤大挪移》,让实力进一步增强到可以毁天灭地的水平。

扪心自问,现实世界里哪有这么多不讲生物和物理逻辑,直接开挂的主角?整部小说也就只有主角的晋升阶梯这么不讲道理。大部分人和大部分企业都只是平均水平。奈何,金融市场里的资金却是越来越多,各个投资机构,乃至国家,都非常急躁,都希望尽快找到自己的独角兽企业,那位懂得尚未练就《九阳神功》的楚留香。

还是那句,有需求,就有供应。

于是,被赶鸭子上架的企业,或者假装自己是独角兽的 “毒”角兽,就此诞生。你也看到各种毫无商业逻辑的补贴大战就此展开。因为在他们之前有一家名为亚马逊的公司,依靠不断补贴,改变了用户对上网购物的隐忧,而这模式被阿里巴巴在中国市场很好地复刻出来。下一个他们希望搞出类似名堂的市场,就是。。。
a_capybara
post Nov 18 2024, 05:50 PM

29 posts

Anyone suddenly getting all their trading permissions removed? The annual review came up and besides some unfilled fields in the Experience section, everything was as before. Hit Next and got a screen telling me I no longer qualify to trade: everything.

I'm pretty sick of IBKR. There'll be long moments of quiet where nothing happens and suddenly you have random bullshit like this or Compliance bugging you for documents and you have to do the tango, wasting everyone's time.

This post has been edited by a_capybara: Nov 18 2024, 05:55 PM
SUSTOS
post Nov 18 2024, 06:25 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(a_capybara @ Nov 18 2024, 05:50 PM)
Anyone suddenly getting all their trading permissions removed? The annual review came up and besides some unfilled fields in the Experience section, everything was as before. Hit Next and got a screen telling me I no longer qualify to trade: everything.

I'm pretty sick of IBKR. There'll be long moments of quiet where nothing happens and suddenly you have random bullshit like this or Compliance bugging you for documents and you have to do the tango, wasting everyone's time.
No such issue for me for the past 4 years...

You trade too often?
SUSTOS
post Nov 18 2024, 06:45 PM

8,667 posts

FT Best Business Book of the Year 2024:

https://www.ft.com/content/f3e9dec3-28bb-49...ec-11e5b10afa54

Takudan
post Nov 18 2024, 10:45 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(a_capybara @ Nov 18 2024, 05:50 PM)

I got that too. You just have to input enough experience to qualify to trade the instruments smile.gif
SUSTOS
post Nov 19 2024, 09:44 AM

8,667 posts

Bloomberg Opinion

Ben & Jerry’s Vs. Unilever Is the End of Corporate Do-Gooderism
When the conglomerate bought the progressive ice cream maker, its social stances were a selling point. Then tastes changed.

by Beth Kowitt, Columnist

https://www.bloomberg.com/opinion/articles/...te-do-gooderism
SUSTOS
post Nov 19 2024, 11:03 AM

8,667 posts

Bloomberg Industries | The Big Take

Shoppers Are Ditching Classic Brands They Once Loved
Customers are either paying up for higher-end items from upstarts or trading down to cheaper “private label” ones

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/features/202...assic-us-brands
SUSTOS
post Nov 19 2024, 10:03 PM

8,667 posts

For those who like to travel to Japan:

FT Opinion Lex

Japan’s beef bowl economy shows consumer resilience as prices rise
Increases at fast food outlets and restaurants are not deterring locals from dining out

https://www.ft.com/content/ff6dac95-313c-4a...82-d996ab2186ae

SUSTOS
post Nov 20 2024, 01:46 PM

8,667 posts

FT Economics books

Best books of 2024: Economics
Martin Wolf selects his must-read titles

https://www.ft.com/content/d5fa4853-bd5c-43...64-82a2a4dd5232

SUSTOS
post Nov 20 2024, 04:23 PM

8,667 posts

FT Opinion Lex

Nestlé serves up a bland vision for consumer conglomerates
Delivering its growth ambition will require the Swiss group to raise marketing investment

https://www.ft.com/content/b6be6aba-c1f7-46...ce-baefd5bdcdd1

Time to dump Nestle stock. There is just so much Milo to drink in this country... laugh.gif

--------------------------

FT Opinion Insight & Comment

Investors need to know when to put down the phone
Smartphone alerts can promote what behaviourists call ‘overtrading’, shredding your returns — and your nerves

by Jonathan Guthrie (3 hours ago)

https://www.ft.com/content/37563989-0e46-4f...27-dd8991a120a2

SUSTOS
post Nov 21 2024, 08:49 PM

8,667 posts

Never buy insurance in America. tongue.gif

Bloomberg Markets: Backdoor Private Credit Funds Lure Insurance Industry Billions

Rated feeders help insurers ramp up private asset exposure
Yet the vehicles have attracted scrutiny from regulators

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/202...dustry-billions
Medufsaid
post Nov 24 2024, 11:28 AM

3,486 posts

https://www.financemagnates.com/forex/regul...trading-freeze/
SUSTOS
post Nov 25 2024, 12:22 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Nov 24 2024, 11:28 AM)
Said that a long time ago...

They are still being fined to this day haha. FINRA is self-regulated, those fines are just cost of running brokerage business in America... No accountability... Haiz...

Record-Keeping Error in Stock Lending Program

Last month, Interactive Brokers was fined USD 475,000 by the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) for deficiencies in its share lending program. The brokerage has since settled the matter with the regulator.

According to the official “Acceptance, Waiver, and Consent (AWC)” letter, FINRA detailed that Interactive Brokers miscalculated the number of excess shares listed on European exchanges that were available for return to customers under the stock lending program.

SUSTOS
post Nov 25 2024, 12:23 AM

8,667 posts

Let's hope Hermes won't end up here.

FT Chinese business & finance

China’s cash-strapped shoppers drawn to second-hand luxury items
Price-conscious buyers hunt for deals while others seek goods that can hold value in times of uncertainty

https://www.ft.com/content/4ba69bac-b314-4b...b1-f566bfacd7a8

TaiGoh
post Nov 25 2024, 04:45 PM

128 posts

Would like to confirm divided is not counted as part of unrealised profit correct?
Bought BIL last month then noticed that I am in loss position.
SUSTOS
post Nov 25 2024, 06:23 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(TaiGoh @ Nov 25 2024, 04:45 PM)
Would like to confirm divided is not counted as part of unrealised profit correct?
Bought BIL last month then noticed that I am in loss position.
Let me tell you a secret bro. You should never trust your broker's calculated P&L.

Instead, you should ALWAYS create your own Excel spreadsheet and record the transactions/returns on your own.

Brokers design the P&L display in such a way to encourage you to trade more often, and often unnecessarily...

In fact, it's the total return that matters, as you have observed with the case on BIL ETF.

---------------------------------

So, for your answer, yes. Dividend is not counted as unrealized profit just for one day, i.e., the ex-date. IBKR used to deduce the correct dividend amount to be paid and deduct that figure from the daily P&L during ex-date, but in recent months I notice they purposely pretend to be a little more stupid and display unnecessarily large unrealized loses to scare investors.

Maybe just some IT issue, but always have your own records in hand to countercheck yea. biggrin.gif

--------------------------------------

Off-topic: I passed my qualifying exam liao. Monthly salary goes up by 500 SGD! rclxm9.gif
SUSTOS
post Nov 26 2024, 01:27 PM

8,667 posts

Damn good reads...

Bloomberg Opinion

by Matt Levine, Columnist

https://www.bloomberg.com/opinion/articles/...d=homepage-asia

427 Pages « < 409 410 411 412 413 > » Top

0.0243sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled