427 Pages « < 69 70 71 72 73 > » Bottom

Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

Ramjade
post Jul 3 2020, 12:47 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(Ivan113 @ Jul 3 2020, 11:16 AM)
Stupid question here,

So much hassle in opening an account and transfer fund for IBKR, why not just use eToro? Not endorsing eToro here, but as noob, can someone let me know what are the pros in IBKR over eToro? Better security? Guarantee funds?
Limited stocks and market. I wouldn't trust etoro at all. They are only good for copy trade.
You need to think about withdrawing.
Krv23490
post Jul 3 2020, 01:15 PM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 3 2020, 12:47 PM)
Limited stocks and market. I wouldn't trust etoro at all. They are only good for copy trade.
Exactly, Alot of people tempted to go with etoro due to the ease of deposit via credit card IINM

Not a real broker in my opinion
Ramjade
post Jul 3 2020, 06:19 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Jul 3 2020, 01:15 PM)
Exactly, Alot of people tempted to go with etoro due to the ease of deposit via credit card IINM

Not a real broker in my opinion
If between etoro anf trading212, I will pick trading212 anytime. Somehow I don't trust etoro.
dwRK
post Jul 3 2020, 08:34 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

come lah people...

we have old school brokers...ibkr, tda, 212, etc...

we have newer cfd/fx brokers...oanda, pepperstone, etoro...

we have crypto brokers...yada yada

and scam brokers...

there is nothing wrong with etoro...it's a legit broker with all the licenses and regulations... it's just different type of business model...
dwRK
post Jul 3 2020, 08:43 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

just to add...

if you doing long term growth/dividend investing... buy and hold a few years type... by all means go with traditional brokers

if you are limited funds day trader punter type... advantages of cfd/fx brokers gives you big leverages and swap to go big or go homeless... lol

so really is different business and different market segment ah...
xerxesbear_1 P
post Jul 3 2020, 10:20 PM

Probation
35 posts

Hey there! I just opened an IBKR account and I'm really excited to start investing. I plan to fund my whitelabel IBKR using my US account. Has anyone tried sending money from malaysian bank account to us account using instaRem? Will i run into any roadblocks or interrogations of why im sending money abroad? Is instaRem a secure to send money?
Ramjade
post Jul 3 2020, 10:33 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(xerxesbear_1 @ Jul 3 2020, 10:20 PM)
Hey there! I just opened an IBKR account and I'm really excited to start investing. I plan to fund my whitelabel IBKR using my US account. Has anyone tried sending money from malaysian bank account to us account using instaRem? Will i run into any roadblocks or interrogations of why im sending money abroad? Is instaRem a secure to send money?
IB will not accept 3rd party transfer for USD (instarem and other similar companies)
They will only accept if it's by banks (only for USD). Other currency no problem.

It's perfectly safe and fast. Just need to show bank statement, proof of salary if asked by them.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 3 2020, 10:33 PM
heyamazingpeople
post Jul 4 2020, 12:29 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(xerxesbear_1 @ Jul 3 2020, 10:20 PM)
So u already have US bank account? Shouldn’t have any issue.. if ur question is transferred from Msia bank account to US bank account using instarem.
red streak
post Jul 4 2020, 12:01 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

QUOTE(Ivan113 @ Jul 3 2020, 11:16 AM)
Stupid question here,

So much hassle in opening an account and transfer fund for IBKR, why not just use eToro? Not endorsing eToro here, but as noob, can someone let me know what are the pros in IBKR over eToro? Better security? Guarantee funds?
Etoro doesn't have everything and they have minimum trade amounts so if you're trying to invest a set chunk of money into a bunch of stocks at once, T212 is way better. The former has been around significantly longer than most fintechs on the market including T212 so in terms of stability and financial viability, they'll probably still be here in the next 20-30 years.

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 3 2020, 12:47 PM)
Withdrawing is not an issue at all. It's already been tried and tested multiple times by pretty much everyone who uses it and had the same doubts. It's a lot easier than pulling out your money from IKBR even though you have to keep in RM rather than foreign currency.
Dage
post Jul 5 2020, 11:48 AM

178 posts

hi, i have recently started to withdraw money on monthly basis from interactive brokers to maybank.
everytime, i do the transfer, the bank will call me to ask about the source of the fund because the amount is >10kMYR

1. is there a workaround for this? is foreign bank (HSBC or CItibank) better in this regards?
2. THe withdrawal from IB to Maybank cost me about USD25. this is a bit too much in my perspective, anyone has experience with other banks?

TIA
SUSMNet
post Jul 5 2020, 01:23 PM

11,954 posts

QUOTE(Dage @ Jul 5 2020, 11:48 AM)
hi, i have recently started to withdraw money on monthly basis from interactive brokers to maybank.
everytime, i do the transfer, the bank will call me to ask about the source of the fund because the amount is >10kMYR

1. is there a workaround for this? is foreign bank (HSBC or CItibank) better in this regards?
2. THe withdrawal from IB to Maybank cost me about USD25. this is a bit too much in my perspective, anyone has experience with other banks?

TIA
Its depend on the amount u withdraw if less than threshold then they will not call u
OTBB
post Jul 5 2020, 01:26 PM

54 posts

TIA
BTW, are you trading in the futures market? Or only stocks and stock options? Is there anyone trading in the futures market such as S&P 500 Index Futures, Oil Futures, Sugar Futures etc? Thank you.
Krv23490
post Jul 5 2020, 02:53 PM

2,175 posts

TIA
from IB to Malaysian bank account ? If it is, Why dont you open a Singaporean account (cimb/sg) ?
willylwl
post Jul 5 2020, 08:33 PM

17 posts

Hello Sifu Sifu,

I just got my IB acc approval, and came across TSG + IB can avoid monthly fees.
May i ask if after i registered with TSG + IB using my existing IB acc.... Which platforms should i do my funding? Both acc also can use? Our money still under IB and safe? sweat.gif sweat.gif

Thank you
Ramjade
post Jul 5 2020, 08:44 PM

24,334 posts

TIA
Convert your money to SG,D via Ibkr. Do not straight transfer out. Then deposit into SG bank account. You can use CIMB sg to bring back money at very good rates.

At the same time you avoid paying usd25. You just pay usd2.00/conversion.

QUOTE(willylwl @ Jul 5 2020, 08:33 PM)
Hello Sifu Sifu,

I just got my IB acc approval, and came across TSG + IB can avoid monthly fees.
May i ask if after i registered with TSG + IB using my existing IB acc.... Which platforms should i do my funding? Both acc also can use? Our money still under IB and safe?  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

Thank you
You need to make sure your broker is IB and not TSG. Login into IB. Go to report and generate a report. It should write TSG if you are using TSG.

TSG function is just for opening account. After that login, deposit money, convert money, buy and sell, withdraw all using IB.

willylwl
post Jul 5 2020, 09:25 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 5 2020, 08:44 PM)
Convert your money to SG,D via Ibkr. Do not straight transfer out. Then deposit into SG bank account. You can use CIMB sg to bring back money at very good rates.

At the same time you avoid paying usd25. You just pay usd2.00/conversion.
You need to make sure your broker is IB and not TSG. Login into IB. Go to report and generate a report. It should write TSG if you are using TSG.

TSG function is just for opening account. After that login, deposit money, convert money, buy and sell, withdraw all using IB.
Thank you for your reply.
So, if i am still with IB now, i should go to TSG website and link my IB acc to TS platform?
Then my acc will be under TSG and no monthly fees?

Thank you for ur help thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif
SUSMNet
post Jul 6 2020, 08:43 AM

11,954 posts

QUOTE(willylwl @ Jul 5 2020, 09:25 PM)
Thank you for your reply.
So, if i am still with IB now, i should go to TSG website and link my IB acc to TS platform?
Then my acc will be under TSG and no monthly fees?

Thank you for ur help  thumbsup.gif  thumbsup.gif
its different company
u need reopen new acc
z21j
post Jul 6 2020, 02:52 PM

1,307 posts

If i deposit usd from hk or sg multicurrency account to ib, are there charges or handling fees? How about withdrawal, if i withdraw usd do i get in hkd or sgd assuming in crediting to local banks?
solstice818
post Jul 6 2020, 03:02 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(z21j @ Jul 6 2020, 02:52 PM)
If i deposit usd from hk or sg multicurrency account to ib, are there charges or handling fees? How about withdrawal, if i withdraw usd do i get in hkd or sgd assuming in crediting to local banks?
Your answers for both questions are in the thread. Just search for it.
michaelangelo
post Jul 6 2020, 04:16 PM

98 posts

May I know what is market data subscriber status? What i click on Fund transfer, this page will prompt out to ask me choose either Professional and Non Professional. I am afraid that i may be charged for market data subscription

427 Pages « < 69 70 71 72 73 > » Top

0.0168sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:51 PM