LYN Christian Fellowship Thread Ver 15

TSunknown warrior
post Sep 26 2019, 03:45 PM, updated 4y ago

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

Welcome Fellow Christians.

We are here to fellowship, to reach out, to encourage, to strengthen one another and to be a Witness unto this lost world of the goodness and grace of our Lord Jesus Christ.
FAQ
Few simple RULES to follow in our fellowship thread.

1. No flaming/troll post please. Let's keep this fellowship thread clean, positive and encouraging, as the purpose is more for believers of Christ.
2. Do not argue about other religions please. People of other Faith are welcome to ask and enquire genuine questions or out of curiosity about Christianity.
3. What's discussed in here, stays in here.
4. Do not spark an argument or to cause excessive argument, both are not allowed, your post will be deleted and report to Admin of Forum
5. Do not judge any Christians in here, do not insult them or threatened them with hell or perdition or whatever along that line.

Previous Threads
V14
V14
v13
v13
v12
v12
V11
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3855898
V10
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3599570
V09
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3485130
V08
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3393815
V07
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3197598
V06
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...&t=2621686&st=0
V05
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1758395
V04
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/801729
Good links to share:
http://www.opensong.org/
http://www.guitar4christ.com
http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/
a database of chords and lyrics for christian songs.

GodTV
http://www.god.tv/

Good TV
http://www.goodtv.tv/
Online Bibles!
English Bible (with multi lingual): http://www.biblegateway.com/

Baptist sermon :
https://pbc.my/sermons-2/

Indonesian/Malay Bible: http://alkitab.otak.info/

Arabic Bible: http://www.arabicbible.com/bible/doc_bible.htm

Dear Christians, please do let us know about u, like denominations, which church u r from and where is ur church located. Oh, beside that, do let us know what position are u holding in ur church, as in.. hmm pianist ? choral singer ? or even Pastor.
LYN Christ Followers

Christian BookShop
1) Salvation Bookstore - PJ SS2, Summit USJ
2) Glad Sound - PJ SS2, Taipan USJ 10, One Utama
3) Evangel - PJ SS2
4) MPH Bookstore
5) Canaanland Sdn Bhd: - http://www.canaanland.com.my/index.php?opt...&id=6&Itemid=12
6) Discovery House Publishers :https://dhdmalaysia.com/

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Oct 23 2019, 11:18 PM
TSunknown warrior
post Sep 26 2019, 03:49 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

Pehkay
prophetjul
alexkos
thomasthai
Roman Catholic

TSunknown warrior
post Sep 26 2019, 03:50 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

yaokb
De_Luffy

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Sep 26 2019, 03:56 PM
TSunknown warrior
post Sep 26 2019, 04:22 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

Dear Friend, it's been awhile and I just want to obey what the Lord has deposited to me during my communion with Him,

The Lord gave me this correlation
Hebrews 13:1-2
1 Keep on loving one another as brothers and sisters. 2 Do not forget to show hospitality to strangers, for by so doing some people have shown hospitality to angels without knowing it.

And

Matthew 25: 37-40
37 Then the righteous will answer Him, ‘Lord, when did we see You hungry and feed You, or thirsty and give You something to drink? 38 When did we see You a stranger and take You in, or naked and clothe You? 39 When did we see You sick or in prison and visit You?’

40 And the King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of Mine, you did for Me.’

Angels as we know represents God.

As Christians I think we need to display kindness and hospitality to others...and it is not to say those strangers are God's angels themselves but they are there to witness your kind act towards another fellow human being.

God Bless.
TSunknown warrior
post Sep 27 2019, 10:12 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Sep 27 2019, 07:13 AM)
Maybe the display of kindness and hospitality isn't exactly the what we should be looking at, but rather love one another, as the Lord loves us.

What I can affirmed is that when a deed is done in love & with love, it is far more effective than all the words I can even think of and best of all, a real Christian, even a pagan literally, would immediately know and feel God's love.
The point I was trying to make is that we have forgotten God has invisible angels witnessing the help we give to others.

These angels are invisible from our eyes, hence too often we forgot God is watching the good deeds we dispense to others.

Hence Matthew 25:37-40....people saying when did we see you hungry?

* Another point is that, we should not discredit people who are strangers, people of different faith, culture or background.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Sep 27 2019, 02:03 PM
TSunknown warrior
post Sep 27 2019, 11:01 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

anyone who wonder how Aramaic sound, watch this video

It's modern Aramaic though not the old Aramaic which Jesus spoke in.

TSunknown warrior
post Sep 27 2019, 03:20 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Sep 27 2019, 02:34 PM)
May i know which part of scripture endorses prayer to Mary?
haih bro...don't start lah.

later Yeeck masuk.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Sep 27 2019, 03:28 PM
TSunknown warrior
post Sep 28 2019, 11:28 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

Good sermon on description on Heaven and Hell.
TSunknown warrior
post Oct 1 2019, 09:34 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Sep 29 2019, 05:52 PM)
MATTHEW.25:40 specifically referred to providing for the brothers of Jesus Christ = His apostles and disciples, not to just any stranger or Tom, Dikk and Harry. IOW, Christians have been commanded by God/Jesus to support their pastors, missionaries and Church, eg by tithing about 3% or more.
I'm curious, where did you get the 3% from? I mean which verse?
TSunknown warrior
post Oct 1 2019, 02:07 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Oct 1 2019, 01:29 PM)

The Old Testament law of tithing 10% was towards the running of a national Jewish theocratic government headed by God's prophets/judges, starting with Moses and Joshua in 1500BC. Today, the Church is not the national government = the Church does not need a tithe of 10% to run. So, a tithe of about 3% from members should be enough to support their Church/pastor/missionary.

Bear in mind that Christians have been commanded by Jesus Christ to also pay taxes(= about 10%) to Caesar or to their national government, as long as it is not too burdensome or excessive - MATTHEW.22:21, ROMANS.13.

Requiring Christians to pay a tithe of 10% to their Church is over-burdening them(cf: ACTS.15:28-29) since they have to also pay taxes to their government - 10% + 10% = 20%. False prophets/pastors/Church who teach tithing 10% as a must, are showing greed in their hearts - MATTHEW.7:15-20. Did Paul go around demanding a tithe of 10% from his Gentile converts.?
....... Remember, the corrupt and non-biblical selling of papal indulgences that depleted other's national economies to benefit only the Roman/Italian economy resulted in the Protestant Reformation that was led by the German Catholic professor monk, Martin Luther. Germany, England, Switzerland, Holland, Denmark, etc then became Protestant nations.

Let's say a Church has 100 members earning an average salary of RM3,000 per month. A 10% tithe imposed on the 100 members = RM30,000 per month. ... A 3% tithe = RM9,000 per month. A 5% tithe = RM15,000 per month.
....... Multiply that by 10 for a mega-Church that has 1,000 members. Mega-Churches are common in Christian-majority nations like USA, Western Europe and Australasia.
....... More tithes of above 3% may be needed for Christian-minority nations.

So, a tithe of 10% is mostly unneeded, excessive and over-burdening, especially in Christian-majority nations. Hence, a tithe of about 3% should ne the norm.

As per ACTS.15:19-29 & 21:20-25 and ROMANS.14:1-4, many burdensome OT laws/commandments do not apply to Gentile Christians, eg circumcision and kosher/clean foods. Similarly for tithing 10%. Non-burdensome laws/commandments still apply, especially morality laws, eg the Ten Commandments = those who keep them will be blessed by God with a good and long life on earth and won't risk losing faith/salvation through lawlessness - MATTHEW.7:21-23, 1COR.5:1-5 & 11:30 & 6:9-11, HEB.10:26-31 & 6:1-8, JOB.2:9, 1TIM.4:1.

God loves His people = He does not over-burden them, and He loves a cheerful giver/tither. .......

MATTHEW.11:30 = For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”

Good day.
Okay and I want to ask you another question. What do you think of Trinity?

TSunknown warrior
post Oct 1 2019, 04:06 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Oct 1 2019, 04:04 PM)
Why don't you answer your own question first; what do you think of Trinity.?
No problem. I believe in the Holy Trinity, there's God the Father, God the Son and God the Holy Spirit, they are one and the same God yet 3 distinct persons.

Now your turn. What do you think of Trinity?
TSunknown warrior
post Oct 2 2019, 10:50 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Oct 2 2019, 10:26 AM)
About the same as yours.

In what ways are/is the 3 Persons of God distinct or different.?

Fyi, Bible verses against OSAS, ie the risk or possibility of Christians losing faith = losing salvation, eg through lawlessness or the willful breaking of God's commandments/laws. .......

REV.14:12 (NKJV) = 12 Here is the patience of the saints; here are those who keep the commandments of God and the faith of Jesus.

2TIM.4:6-8 = Paul’s Valedictory

6 For I am already being poured out as a drink offering, and the time of my departure is at hand. 7 I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. 8 Finally, there is laid up for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will give to me on that Day, and not to me only but also to all who have loved His appearing.
Why don't you answer your question first?

In what ways are/is the 3 Persons of God distinct or different.?

Why are you suddenly talking about OSAS out of the sudden?
TSunknown warrior
post Oct 2 2019, 01:59 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Oct 2 2019, 01:03 PM)
I would be an idiot to label any fellow brethren foolish for the works that brethren has been entrusted to do by our Lord.

Yes, without a doubt we must love our Christian brethren first but Scriptures also says a prophet is never welcomed in his own home. How I wish to love all of my brethren but since this is not allowed within my own church, now I have found that loving non-Christians is far more easier and the non-Christians are much more receptive compared to those from my own community. Thus scripture is proven to be right, the first shall be last and the last shall be first.
I want this place to be a place of Christian fellowship regardless of different denomination.

TSunknown warrior
post Oct 2 2019, 04:04 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Oct 2 2019, 03:18 PM)
Yup I desire the same thing within my own Catholic community too, just like what you've written.

When I see observe the Muslim community how they look out for one another irregardlesss whether they are right or wrong, its their bonding as a community, that I find lacking in my own community. 😔 I am not referring to members in this forum. 😊
Every community have their own sets of problem, regardless, don't get swayed by that.

you do your part and be loving to your neighbors or strangers. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSunknown warrior
post Oct 3 2019, 08:57 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Sep 29 2019, 05:52 PM)
MATTHEW.25:40 specifically referred to providing for the brothers of Jesus Christ = His apostles and disciples, not to just any stranger or Tom, Dikk and Harry. IOW, Christians have been commanded by God/Jesus to support their pastors, missionaries and Church, eg by tithing about 3% or more.
I have to disagree. The word brother in Mathew 25:40 is the word "adelphos " in the Greek which means a fellow believer, it's not referring to only specifically Christ apostles and disciples during his days on earth.

Why? Because Matthew 25 is a parable denoting the time after Christ come to take his people in the rapture, that will be a different dispensation, no more on Salvation by Grace through Faith. Read verse 1 of Matthew 25, how it is phrased. Besides if good works is the basis for Salvation, then Ephesians 2:8 goes out of the window.

Also your this 3% is something you self decided and it's not based on God's word. The phrase one tenth (1/10) is being use all over in the Old Testament as well as the new Testament. The purpose of tithing though from the natural perspective is to support the church or pastor but that is never the reason or the point to tithe. You tithe unto God as an act of reverent worship and because you believe Christ is alive. Read Hebrews 7:8. On the matter blessings that comes from tithing, that I leave it to individual believers because not everyone is able to believe this, that is fine by me, not going to go into it.

I would be careful not to self decide anything on God's word. I'm sorry but tithing is always a 10% never a 3, 4 or whatever figure.

TSunknown warrior
post Oct 7 2019, 11:17 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Oct 3 2019, 10:41 AM)
ROMANS.14:1-13 (NKJV) = The Law of Liberty

14 Receive one who is weak in the faith, but not to disputes over doubtful things. 2 For one believes he may eat all things, but he who is weak eats only vegetables. 3 Let not him who eats despise him who does not eat, and let not him who does not eat judge him who eats; for God has received him. 4 Who are you to judge another’s servant? To his own master he stands or falls. Indeed, he will be made to stand, for God is able to make him stand.

5 One person esteems one day above another; another esteems every day alike. Let each be fully convinced in his own mind. 6 He who observes the day, observes it to the Lord; and he who does not observe the day, to the Lord he does not observe it. He who eats, eats to the Lord, for he gives God thanks; and he who does not eat, to the Lord he does not eat, and gives God thanks. 7 For none of us lives to himself, and no one dies to himself. 8 For if we live, we live to the Lord; and if we die, we die to the Lord. Therefore, whether we live or die, we are the Lord’s. 9 For to this end Christ died and rose and lived again, that He might be Lord of both the dead and the living. 10 But why do you judge your brother? Or why do you show contempt for your brother? For we shall all stand before the judgment seat of Christ. 11 For it is written:

“As I live, says the Lord,
Every knee shall bow to Me,
And every tongue shall confess to God.”

12 So then each of us shall give account of himself to God. 13 Therefore let us not judge one another anymore, but rather resolve this, not to put a stumbling block or a cause to fall in our brother’s way.
_______ _______

Where does the New Testament state that Christians must tithe 10% to their Church.?

As per ACTS.15:19-29 and GALATIANS.5:1-15, Gentile Christians have been liberated from God's burdensome laws. So, wrt burdensome or non-essential laws, Gentile Christians are at liberty to self-decide to obey or not to obey them, eg circumcision, kosher/clean foods, Sabbath Sunday, etc. .......

In Essentials Unity, In Non-Essentials Liberty, In All Things Love.
So, you do admit at least that the passage applied to supporting fellow believers and not to any stranger or Tom, Dikk and Harry, especially the enemies of believers.

Notice that it was the righteous and saved sheep who were asking Jesus Christ those questions. So, it would be odd that they did not know that He was referring to them as those being fed, given drink, shelter, clothed, visited in prison and when sick.
...... At MATTHEW.24 & 25, Jesus was speaking to His apostles/disciples. So, I believe He was referring to His apostles/disciples when He said "My brethren", as alluded by .......

MATTHEW.10:9-15 = . 9 Provide neither gold nor silver nor copper in your money belts, 10 nor bag for your journey, nor two tunics, nor sandals, nor staffs; for a worker is worthy of his food.

11 “Now whatever city or town you enter, inquire who in it is worthy, and stay there till you go out. 12 And when you go into a household, greet it. 13 If the household is worthy, let your peace come upon it. But if it is not worthy, let your peace return to you. 14 And whoever will not receive you nor hear your words, when you depart from that house or city, shake off the dust from your feet. 15 Assuredly, I say to you, it will be more tolerable for the land of Sodom and Gomorrah in the day of judgment than for that city!
The Law of liberty has nothing to do with deciding the portion of tithe. Read the whole context, it has to do with judgmental attitude towards another brother where he seem to be weak or thought to have fallen from grace in comparison to the one who judge him

There you go again, having an erroneous idea of tithing, I think I've said this before tithing's primary reason is not to the Church or Pastors, has nothing to do with burdensome. That is a very carnal understanding. Go research more and read more on why we tithe.

As for where is the scripture in the New Testament that support on Tithing, I've just supplied to you in the previous post. Something to do with the priest Melchizedek and Christ Jesus himself did mention to practice tithing.

As for what I've shared on giving hospitality towards stranger, nobody is suggesting that you show it to people like ISIS or murderers. It is suggested that you showed to strangers who are in need, who in dire straits or in helplessness. Why? Because as what James suggested, faith without work is dead...they need help and you would never know if the person is a believer or not. And it does not matter. You don't do it for the sake that they are believers but because it's your new creation nature, we are meant to be a channel for God's love to touch lives.

That is why the sheeps was never conscious of who they help when asked by the Great Judge on Judgment day. That is why the scripture verses were linked in my sharing.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Oct 7 2019, 12:23 PM
TSunknown warrior
post Oct 8 2019, 10:35 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Oct 5 2019, 09:22 AM)
Alright, good morning Saturday. So who's ready for some Calvinism dose?

How to contrast 'you didn't choose me, I chose you' (John 15) with 'repent and believe?'

Is salvation the will of God (hence choosing, election), or the will of man (free will to accept or reject Christ)?
It has always been the choice/will of God to save us, but that choice is up to the individual to receive.

Even in the context of pre-destination, it always have been God's intent and desire to have laid out Salvation plan before the foundation of the world and YET we still need to make that conscious decision to receive Him.

I don't think God control our will or force conditions in a person's life making him saved for sure.

I think this is where we are missing it in the argument of pre-destination.

This post has been edited by unknown warrior: Oct 8 2019, 10:43 AM
TSunknown warrior
post Oct 8 2019, 10:40 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Oct 8 2019, 09:00 AM)
If a man does not provide for his own, even of his own household, he has denied the faith, and is worse off than infidel.

Q1. To whom does Paul refer to when he says 'his own', 'his own household'?
Q2. Why does not providing for one's own translate to rejecting Christ?
q1. Own family member, own brethren

q2. If you're able to help then I think should help. If you can't and in need, then just do whatever you can. If one does not help own family or brethren in need, we never fully understand what it means to love.
TSunknown warrior
post Oct 8 2019, 10:46 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

I have a question to ask.

What if a person has Alzheimer or has some kind of disability in the mind, how can that person be saved?

TSunknown warrior
post Oct 8 2019, 11:39 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(azriqii @ Oct 8 2019, 11:27 AM)
If he believed before the alzheimer then he's saved. We can ask tougher question: what happens to babies or kids who haven't have the ability to believ but died? Only God knows.
Kids have special place according to God's word.

I'm asking after not before.

63 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.2906sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:02 AM