You mentioned safety and you want discs at the back? Which kampung tuner told you that?
Replacing Rear Drum with Disc Brake, Honda City
Sep 25 2019, 03:51 PM
6,733 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Zion |
You mentioned safety and you want discs at the back? Which kampung tuner told you that?
Sep 25 2019, 07:13 PM
QUOTE(greedy5513 @ Sep 25 2019, 07:03 PM) I'm not here to argue the pros and cons of drum brakes vs disc brakes bro, just asking for the feasibility of upgrading the rear from drums to disc brakes. When you want fade resistant braking over stock calipers, your only option is better disc and pads. There is also an option of better brake boosters and braided lines. My front is using a ceramic brake pads already, others are stock standard calipers. If upgrade front disc, what are the options? As 15" tyre does not have much room to spare for bigger calipers n disc. The cons of drums are during wet condition and it doesn't function as well as disc and heat dissipation is not good, hence the concern on safety especially doing downhill drive from genting. hopefully this clears up the doubt from everyone. The only other way to get massive braking performance up front is changing to 4 pot brakes. Usually comes with bigger discs. That means bigger wheels and lower profile tires. About the rear drums, they are not designed to lock up in the first place. You lock up the rear lets see how all your magical ABS, ESC will deal with that. You will have your first drift feeling. And how many workshop you know that has brake distribution measurement hardware besides JPJ? |
Sep 25 2019, 08:38 PM
QUOTE(greedy5513 @ Sep 25 2019, 07:19 PM) Aren't brakes supposed to brake all 4 together to prevent fishtailing? They are supposed to clamp at the same time. But the clamping force must be different because of weight balance of the car. Even when brakes are not used, most cars weight is at the front. When you stop, all the weight would be even more. Then got so many factors why front brakes are always more stronger than back. If the brakes to small for the car weight they won't slow down fast enough because of friction surface, slow heat dissipation, etc. Well, let's just say that if I'm that well informed, I won't be here asking for help bro. You also do not want it to lock immediately hence ABS. At the back you do not want the brakes to lock up at all if possible. Because skidding force are unpredictable. No you cannot say drift cars initiate by locking up the back wheels to your logic. Yes they can do that because they know where/when force that changes the car trajectory is being used. On regular driving when you do heavy braking you seriously do not want that. If you find that when brake so hard downhill that when you start to lock up the rears instead of the front, you are just going too fast. Drive slower. This post has been edited by netmatrix: Sep 25 2019, 08:39 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0158sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:14 PM |