Getting a New 2019 Saga or Nissan Almera, Recommendation or suggestion for car

TSaaron teh
post Sep 24 2019, 10:21 PM, updated 7y ago

Hi Guys,

I am planning to get a car for daily and long distance driving. I am looking out for a car which is durable and has low maintenance fee. Budget is below RM45k. My idea has narrowed down into New 2019 facelift Proton Saga or Used Nissan Almera, but i heard that Saga always got problem. Which one to choose? or there is other recommendation?

Thanks for your advise.
Jason
post Sep 24 2019, 10:46 PM

6,356 posts

Given these two choices I will pick brand new Saga. Using a Hyundai sourced 4 speed automatic. More solid than the Altima, new car got warranty no worries.

Long distance Saga will be more stable. Altima is very tin kosong car really.

Even if Saga got problem it’s covered by warranty. Altima got wear and tear you need to fork out money. The Saga engine is very mature and the transmission is widely used by Geely in China.

This post has been edited by Jason: Sep 24 2019, 10:46 PM
howszat
post Sep 24 2019, 10:47 PM

2,932 posts

Sorry to say Almera is an ugly design.
incredibless
post Sep 24 2019, 11:06 PM

437 posts

New Saga would be your better choice despite is a Proton brand and lower price where it gives you
better ride & handling, cold aircond, more value for money, better features, acceleration and better safety like
stability control and hillstart assist over the Almera even is 1.5L

Nissan badge like Almera pre-facelift ones has quite number of issues
from wheel bearing, radiator fan failing less than 3years, exhaust cover rattling, aircond system and etc.
(my family owns one and was really shocked that it has more problem than past proton cars owned and in fact
two of my colleague also has the same problem)

but if above not a main concern for you, the Almera can be considered especially the large boot space
and rear seating room which excels the Saga.

fireballs
post Sep 24 2019, 11:59 PM

5,650 posts

45k you can get a persona lo.
safer car than the two mentioned.

SilentForever
post Sep 25 2019, 12:00 AM

580 posts

If have to be between those two, go for saga. Nissan has a lot of issues when they get older and higher mileage.
arza04
post Sep 25 2019, 12:30 AM

303 posts

Why Almera? It got no vehicle stability control and the design interior and exterior is just plain boring

Increase your budget to 50k can get used 2014 honda city spec E with vsc equipped

If 45k is the max limit, get the saga premium or persona standard cvt
budang
post Sep 25 2019, 09:27 AM

975 posts

If you want something Japanese, can opt for 2015 Honda city which is going around 45-47k for the E spec which is equipped with stability control. Still got about 1 year warranty.

Want something French, Pug 208 from 2016 matches your budget. Nice car but you need some luck dealing with SC & vehicle reliability.

Anyway, I'd go for saga premium instead of the almera.

This post has been edited by budang: Sep 25 2019, 09:27 AM
Jessieccy
post Sep 25 2019, 09:57 AM

160 posts

If you plan to drive long distance... New saga have its perks like warranty. buy, drive and go.

Almera i say only go with the 2015 models onwards. Just save some extra money to change the suspensions set (whatever thats connected to it), Spark plugs, tuneup and cleaning of throttle body. The rest is just change oils. as after 100k km/4 years normal wear and tear.

After warranty general maintenance Almera is cheaper. For parts of course proton is more affordable.

Space and comfort Almera. Driver feel & pickup Proton. Test drive then decide yourself
cempedaklife
post Sep 25 2019, 11:36 AM

Master Decoy
4,358 posts

I rather buy a new proton than a used almera

Heck. I'll choose proton saga new or any new city or vios. Not in between New almera

This post has been edited by cempedaklife: Sep 25 2019, 11:37 AM
trapezohedron13
post Sep 25 2019, 12:16 PM

703 posts

new saga premium
reliable, cheaper, lower maintenance, latest tech gadget
SUSSKY233
post Sep 25 2019, 01:52 PM

u x sukak u keluar
875 posts

brand new car for sure....

Failed JJ
post Sep 25 2019, 02:13 PM

142 posts

New Saga

Cheaper, no more CVT, safer and looks so much better

Don't buy Almera until Nissan brings this in as the new Almera
soulz69
post Sep 25 2019, 04:41 PM

:: LoveHate ::
1,973 posts

new saga or persona
DS51
post Sep 26 2019, 01:15 AM

495 posts

New persona lor..its fit ur budget for standard cvt.

Long distance travel better 1.6 owh. 1.3 power a bit smaller and tiring for long distance. Been there done that. That is why I suggest 1.6
SUSDaylight2018
post Sep 26 2019, 06:50 AM

227 posts

For all cars
U want to go for a shitty almera

With 45k, u can go for persona standard cvt
leon898
post Sep 26 2019, 08:31 AM

734 posts

QUOTE(aaron teh @ Sep 24 2019, 10:21 PM)
Hi Guys,

I am planning to get a car for daily and long distance driving. I am looking out for a car which is durable and has low maintenance fee. Budget is below RM45k. My idea has narrowed down into New 2019 facelift Proton Saga or Used Nissan Almera, but i heard that Saga always got problem. Which one to choose? or there is other recommendation?
Thanks for your advise.
Almera aren't free from troubles. Unless u put vios in your list, I am voting for new saga.
unitron
post Sep 26 2019, 09:00 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(incredibless @ Sep 24 2019, 11:06 PM)
Nissan badge like Almera pre-facelift ones has quite number of issues
from wheel bearing, radiator fan failing less than 3years, exhaust cover rattling, aircond system and etc.
(my family owns one and was really shocked that it has more problem than past proton cars owned and in fact
two of my colleague also has the same problem)
Nissan despite being Japanese brand is not known for their reliability since partnering up with the French
Jasonist
post Sep 26 2019, 09:39 AM

Oldfag
1,176 posts

if next gen Almera then ok.. not the current one
asusman
post Sep 26 2019, 09:43 AM

153 posts

stay away from Malaysia Tan Chong - Nissan at all cost. Their car is a total rip off.

Tried that been there...
carnby77
post Sep 26 2019, 09:44 AM

385 posts

Get a Saga Bro, Almera have a lot of issues...I'm driving one..i know. The SC also not good.
Parts are expensive and their wheel bearing issue have not been solved.

This post has been edited by carnby77: Sep 26 2019, 09:48 AM
slaveone
post Sep 26 2019, 09:46 AM

1,231 posts

saga
longinusshortleg
post Sep 26 2019, 10:05 AM

141 posts

Nissan was fine... their Teana was well received all around the world, especially in the US.

but then they decided to partner with Renault, king of shit cars.
Jason
post Sep 26 2019, 10:38 AM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(longinusshortleg @ Sep 26 2019, 10:05 AM)
Nissan was fine... their Teana was well received all around the world, especially in the US.

but then they decided to partner with Renault, king of shit cars.
How's a Teana relevant to the Almera?
And how is Renault involved in Almera?

Almera is Nissan's own dog shit.
anakMY
post Sep 26 2019, 05:13 PM

1,450 posts

They should know there is something called as internet. Nowadays people go online and post reviews. Car makers must understand this , they just do a good job in building the cars, if not people will give bad comments on the internet, there goes your reputation.
Captain89
post Sep 26 2019, 07:55 PM

Jiken
3,190 posts

I would say go for 2019 new saga. Alot of perks installed for new variant. Used Almera has many problems from air conditioning to engine those 100k above mileage
BravoZeroTwo
post Sep 26 2019, 10:40 PM

1,128 posts

QUOTE(asusman @ Sep 26 2019, 10:43 AM)
stay away from Malaysia Tan Chong - Nissan at all cost. Their car is a total rip off.

Tried that been there...
Which model you owned ?
asusman
post Sep 27 2019, 11:28 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Sep 26 2019, 10:40 PM)
Which model you owned ?
- Sylphy 2011
- after driving for 3 years, their absorber became like jello, feels like a boat floating in the water when driving highway more than 90 KM/h
- ridiculously small battery for this car size, need to replace it annually and its not cheap.
- the whole car built up was filmsy with cheap materials
- there's a tons of "pre-removed" safety parts from Tan Chong side (only get to know on the day when the sales person handover the keys telling all the light on the - dashboard that doesn't really exist physically for Malaysian CKD, felt cheated - part of it is my mistake for not reading the details carefully before this purchase due to urgency at that point of time)
- their audio system is the worse among all, literally no sound even when the volume was maxed out -> turn out I need to have it replace a 3rd party player after a few weeks drive despite the case was escalated and brought up to the consumer board, everything has been ignored by Tan Chong and NCCC cannot do anything about it as it claimed "the unit is working as per design"
- Service center wise, better prebook your slot 2 weeks prior the service, 1 month is preferable just to secure a slot
- Service Advisor will scold customers for late service

Lesson learned
- test drive the targeted car from a few dealers
- bring a couple of passengers to fully fill in the car to make sure the car is not underpower
- see a puddle on the road, drive through it to make sure the absorber is not a Jello
- try their audio and max it out
- most importantly, take your time to decide which car to go for, don't rush

own verdict
- Given the kind of "customer experience", I will NEVER try Nissan ever again
- avoid Tan Chong car dealers at all cost

**sorry for the long story, but hopefully can shed some light to all car buyers
anakMY
post Sep 27 2019, 01:39 PM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(asusman @ Sep 27 2019, 11:28 AM)
- Sylphy 2011
- after driving for 3 years, their absorber became like jello, feels like a boat floating in the water when driving highway more than 90 KM/h
- ridiculously small battery for this car size, need to replace it annually and its not cheap.
- the whole car built up was filmsy with cheap materials
- there's a tons of "pre-removed" safety parts from Tan Chong side (only get to know on the day when the sales person handover the keys telling all the light on the - dashboard that doesn't really exist physically for Malaysian CKD, felt cheated - part of it is my mistake for not reading the details carefully before this purchase due to urgency at that point of time)
- their audio system is the worse among all, literally no sound even when the volume was maxed out -> turn out I need to have it replace a 3rd party player after a few weeks drive despite the case was escalated and brought up to the consumer board, everything has been ignored by Tan Chong and NCCC cannot do anything about it as it claimed "the unit is working as per design"
- Service center wise, better prebook your slot 2 weeks prior the service, 1 month is preferable just to secure a slot
- Service Advisor will scold customers for late service
Lesson learned
- test drive the targeted car from a few dealers
- bring a couple of passengers to fully fill in the car to make sure the car is not underpower
- see a puddle on the road, drive through it to make sure the absorber is not a Jello
- try their audio and max it out
- most importantly, take your time to decide which car to go for, don't rush
own verdict
- Given the kind of "customer experience", I will NEVER try Nissan ever again
- avoid Tan Chong car dealers at all cost

**sorry for the long story, but hopefully can shed some light to all car buyers
All along I thought that sylphy is a good car ...
danielisme
post Sep 27 2019, 02:40 PM

2,211 posts

ALMERA , even proton has upgraded the safety and engine performace of saga.
the car design ,room space and comforts are remain suck..
Aquariusdenz
post Sep 27 2019, 04:53 PM

1,533 posts

Go for Saga, VSC is a no brainer.
putra23
post Sep 27 2019, 11:18 PM

654 posts

Saga for safety, handling and peace of mind warranty.
If you can stretch just a little, go for the Persona. 5 stars safety and 1.6 engine.

Pugbunny
post Sep 28 2019, 01:43 AM

717 posts

Nowadays, active safety system like VSC is a must.

New saga FL premium > used Almari

Can consider Persona too if you are looking for slightly higher power for long journey travelling.
asusman
post Sep 28 2019, 01:53 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(anakMY @ Sep 27 2019, 01:39 PM)
All along I thought that sylphy is a good car ...
its a good car before it landed local's shore, until Tan Chong rip us all
That's y end point is avoid Tan Chong at all costs
mushigen
post Sep 28 2019, 11:00 AM

4,954 posts

RM45k can get you Saga top spec or Persona Standard.
The Persona std seems to be more suitable if you are travelling long distance often.
Spec wise, the Persona Std is superior to the Saga except the absence of DRL and perhaps the CVT.

SUSDaylight2018
post Sep 28 2019, 11:38 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Sep 28 2019, 11:00 AM)
RM45k can get you Saga top spec or Persona Standard.
The Persona std seems to be more suitable if you are travelling long distance often.
Spec wise, the Persona Std is superior to the Saga except the absence of DRL and perhaps the CVT.
Persona std dont have 6 airbags
mushigen
post Sep 28 2019, 11:41 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(Daylight2018 @ Sep 28 2019, 11:38 AM)
Persona std dont have 6 airbags
I know. So it's equal, and not worse than Saga nor superior.
SUSDaylight2018
post Sep 28 2019, 11:51 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Sep 28 2019, 11:41 AM)
I know. So it's equal, and not worse than Saga nor superior.
Saga premium have 6 airbags
ah_suknat
post Sep 28 2019, 12:23 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(Daylight2018 @ Sep 28 2019, 03:51 AM)
What?

Thats persona
mushigen
post Sep 28 2019, 01:38 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(Daylight2018 @ Sep 28 2019, 11:51 AM)
Not true.
Thrust
post Sep 28 2019, 02:43 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

Avoid the Almera. Many problems and it is not as reliable as the City and Vios. My house have all these 3 cars and I can make comparison.

Suggest you to get the new Saga instead as it comes with warranty.
mar72
post Sep 28 2019, 04:09 PM

57 posts

Saga. New is always better. With VVT and notmal 4AT, should be peace of mind
dares
post Sep 28 2019, 05:45 PM

834 posts

mada ada. 2 only.
Pugbunny
post Sep 29 2019, 01:45 PM

717 posts

2 airbags je la
SUSDaylight2018
post Oct 1 2019, 09:49 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Sep 28 2019, 12:23 PM)
What?

Thats persona
QUOTE(mushigen @ Sep 28 2019, 01:38 PM)
Not true.
QUOTE(Pugbunny @ Sep 29 2019, 01:45 PM)
2 airbags je la
QUOTE(dares @ Sep 28 2019, 05:45 PM)
mada ada. 2 only.
Oops maybe i got confused between persona and saga
It doesnt have 6 airbags

This post has been edited by Daylight2018: Oct 1 2019, 09:50 PM