Getting a New 2019 Saga or Nissan Almera, Recommendation or suggestion for car
TSaaron teh
Sep 24 2019, 10:21 PM, updated 7y ago
Hi Guys,
I am planning to get a car for daily and long distance driving. I am looking out for a car which is durable and has low maintenance fee. Budget is below RM45k. My idea has narrowed down into New 2019 facelift Proton Saga or Used Nissan Almera, but i heard that Saga always got problem. Which one to choose? or there is other recommendation?
Thanks for your advise.
Jason
Sep 24 2019, 10:46 PM
Given these two choices I will pick brand new Saga. Using a Hyundai sourced 4 speed automatic. More solid than the Altima, new car got warranty no worries.
Long distance Saga will be more stable. Altima is very tin kosong car really.
Even if Saga got problem it’s covered by warranty. Altima got wear and tear you need to fork out money. The Saga engine is very mature and the transmission is widely used by Geely in China.
This post has been edited by Jason: Sep 24 2019, 10:46 PM
howszat
Sep 24 2019, 10:47 PM
Sorry to say Almera is an ugly design.
incredibless
Sep 24 2019, 11:06 PM
New Saga would be your better choice despite is a Proton brand and lower price where it gives you better ride & handling, cold aircond, more value for money, better features, acceleration and better safety like stability control and hillstart assist over the Almera even is 1.5L
Nissan badge like Almera pre-facelift ones has quite number of issues from wheel bearing, radiator fan failing less than 3years, exhaust cover rattling, aircond system and etc. (my family owns one and was really shocked that it has more problem than past proton cars owned and in fact two of my colleague also has the same problem)
but if above not a main concern for you, the Almera can be considered especially the large boot space and rear seating room which excels the Saga.
fireballs
Sep 24 2019, 11:59 PM
45k you can get a persona lo. safer car than the two mentioned.
SilentForever
Sep 25 2019, 12:00 AM
If have to be between those two, go for saga. Nissan has a lot of issues when they get older and higher mileage.
arza04
Sep 25 2019, 12:30 AM
Why Almera? It got no vehicle stability control and the design interior and exterior is just plain boring
Increase your budget to 50k can get used 2014 honda city spec E with vsc equipped
If 45k is the max limit, get the saga premium or persona standard cvt
budang
Sep 25 2019, 09:27 AM
If you want something Japanese, can opt for 2015 Honda city which is going around 45-47k for the E spec which is equipped with stability control. Still got about 1 year warranty.
Want something French, Pug 208 from 2016 matches your budget. Nice car but you need some luck dealing with SC & vehicle reliability.
Anyway, I'd go for saga premium instead of the almera.
This post has been edited by budang: Sep 25 2019, 09:27 AM
Jessieccy
Sep 25 2019, 09:57 AM

If you plan to drive long distance... New saga have its perks like warranty. buy, drive and go.
Almera i say only go with the 2015 models onwards. Just save some extra money to change the suspensions set (whatever thats connected to it), Spark plugs, tuneup and cleaning of throttle body. The rest is just change oils. as after 100k km/4 years normal wear and tear.
After warranty general maintenance Almera is cheaper. For parts of course proton is more affordable.
Space and comfort Almera. Driver feel & pickup Proton. Test drive then decide yourself
cempedaklife
Sep 25 2019, 11:36 AM
I rather buy a new proton than a used almera
Heck. I'll choose proton saga new or any new city or vios. Not in between New almera
This post has been edited by cempedaklife: Sep 25 2019, 11:37 AM
trapezohedron13
Sep 25 2019, 12:16 PM
new saga premium reliable, cheaper, lower maintenance, latest tech gadget
SUSSKY233
Sep 25 2019, 01:52 PM
brand new car for sure....
Failed JJ
Sep 25 2019, 02:13 PM

New Saga Cheaper, no more CVT, safer and looks so much better Don't buy Almera until Nissan brings this in as the new Almera
soulz69
Sep 25 2019, 04:41 PM
new saga or persona
DS51
Sep 26 2019, 01:15 AM
New persona lor..its fit ur budget for standard cvt.
Long distance travel better 1.6 owh. 1.3 power a bit smaller and tiring for long distance. Been there done that. That is why I suggest 1.6
SUSDaylight2018
Sep 26 2019, 06:50 AM

For all cars U want to go for a shitty almera
With 45k, u can go for persona standard cvt
leon898
Sep 26 2019, 08:31 AM
QUOTE(aaron teh @ Sep 24 2019, 10:21 PM) Hi Guys, I am planning to get a car for daily and long distance driving. I am looking out for a car which is durable and has low maintenance fee. Budget is below RM45k. My idea has narrowed down into New 2019 facelift Proton Saga or Used Nissan Almera, but i heard that Saga always got problem. Which one to choose? or there is other recommendation? Thanks for your advise. Almera aren't free from troubles. Unless u put vios in your list, I am voting for new saga.
unitron
Sep 26 2019, 09:00 AM
QUOTE(incredibless @ Sep 24 2019, 11:06 PM) Nissan badge like Almera pre-facelift ones has quite number of issues from wheel bearing, radiator fan failing less than 3years, exhaust cover rattling, aircond system and etc. (my family owns one and was really shocked that it has more problem than past proton cars owned and in fact two of my colleague also has the same problem) Nissan despite being Japanese brand is not known for their reliability since partnering up with the French
Jasonist
Sep 26 2019, 09:39 AM
if next gen Almera then ok.. not the current one
asusman
Sep 26 2019, 09:43 AM

stay away from Malaysia Tan Chong - Nissan at all cost. Their car is a total rip off.
Tried that been there...