Jul 21 2007, 04:54 PM
9,417 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bladin Point, Northern Territory |
QUOTE(gmail @ Jul 21 2007, 12:15 AM) Unsure. As it is, i can't even read the stepping Heck, i don't overclock my PC by 1 mhz, my timings are still stock 3-3-3-8. I'm very much the antithesis of "extreme", i'm as "extreme" as warm tea with 2 cubes of sugar when it comes to PCs these days. Heck all i do is listen to classical music on them while writing my articles, reading webpages and tech papers, download porn, put shit in EaglePCB and save osci readings Time to get a Lanparty 680i-LT, for another 2 years of frustration.....ah....good times. |
Aug 8 2007, 03:45 AM
![]() Yeah baby. New rig. Not all the stuff is new C2Q 6600 Storm G4 Rev2 waterblock MCP355 with Petra's Modded Top Black Ice Extreme 1 with twin Papst 4412M Multifans Usus P5N32-E SLI 680i motherboard 4gb of Crucial Ballistix Running 3-3-3-12 (EPP capable) Twin Thermalright HR-05 to cool the Northbridge and Southbridge Twin Thermalright HR-09 for MOSFET cooling HD2900XT 512mb graphics card Audigy2ZS digital out to Zhaolu 2.0 to Sennheiser HD-650 Quad Western Digital 500gb HDDs Twin Hitachi 500gb Enterprise HDDs Twin 74gb Western Digital Raptors Lian Li V2100 Plus II Assortment of Papst and Panaflo casefans EX-33 Drivebay and random DVDRW drives |
Aug 8 2007, 10:23 PM
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Aug 8 2007, 08:45 PM) eh??? werent u planning on the DFI 680iLT mobo??? Hard to find stock of the DFI mobo, so i gave up. y the sudden change to asus? EDIT: dude...A2ZS digital out? i saw an AV710 in Garage sales...quick quick...go get it! Nah, the audigy2zs' digital out is pretty decent, might upgrade to something better but maybe later. Audio not a priority right now. |
Oct 3 2007, 10:23 PM
I bought a new variable transformer. HOOAH!
![]() It's only purpose being to switch voltages during power supply benchmarks to see how well they deal with out of spec voltages. Also hand crimped 3 prong plug and spades, yeah yeah i know, exposing contacts is a recipe for instant death, but i'll get to heatshrinking the things later lah. Kind of too broke to get anything from the likes of Agilent or California Instruments This post has been edited by empire23: Oct 3 2007, 10:27 PM |
Oct 3 2007, 10:36 PM
Oct 4 2007, 11:49 AM
QUOTE(dkcc87 @ Oct 4 2007, 11:23 AM) I don't see why anyone who isn't benchmarking PSUs or in need of voltage conversion would be needing one. It's useful for seeing how a power supply responds to out of spec voltage tolerance. Since you can't change the voltage that comes out of a wall socket, this thing seems to be the next best any one can use. Plus you can put it inline with a shunt. A shunt is a resistor with a known resistance. By knowing ohm's law, by calculating the voltage drop across a resistor with a known voltage from the variable transformer, you can generally calculate power consumption and power factor. |
Oct 27 2007, 07:46 PM
Just bought my new Extech 380801 PC connect Power analyzer. Will post pics later.
Oct 27 2007, 10:52 PM
Ok, here's the pics of my new stuff
My new Extech power analyzer ![]() 24-105L 4.0 and 16-35L 2.8 (didn't buy it lol) ![]() Team Fortress T-shirts ![]() ![]() |
Oct 27 2007, 11:26 PM
QUOTE(ianho @ Oct 27 2007, 11:19 PM) Valve store. Expensive at 19USD each, but the quality is seriously good, plus it's just cool when your T-shirt says "i was never really on your side" lol.Here's a reminder. US Sizes are abit bigger than Malaysians go for. So if you wear XL here, buy an L at the Valve store. |
Oct 28 2007, 04:44 PM
Oct 28 2007, 09:59 PM
QUOTE(chalorlay @ Oct 28 2007, 09:07 PM) My personal concern It's fine actually.PSU is a source of electromagnetic radiation and electrostatic and most damaging to the hdd (either physically or content). IMHO its not a good practice. Still, my PC (Dell - http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/534327, the hdd bay is just under the PSU and not in the front or near the base. The neo magnet inside the HDD case is enough for most polarization, and the EM waves radiated from a PSU are of high frequencies and high order harmonics. Nothing really to get jumpy over. 2nd is that the PSU doesn't ionize any air going through it. Any ionization would indicate flawed grounding and hi-pot failure. |
Nov 13 2007, 04:59 PM
LOL RAMS ARE INFERIOR.
CANON L-CLASS LENSES ARE SUPERIOR. Although i'm supposed to post in the Photography section, i'm always a HW person so i'll poast and boast here ![]() ![]() 6.3k for a chunk of glass. |
Nov 25 2007, 03:28 AM
After borrowing it for awhile and dicking around with payment.
I has finally gotten mah wideangle piece of glass to complement my half paid for 24-105L 4.0 IS (Thanks J for being understanding) ![]() hit to wallet = 4.2k |
Nov 25 2007, 01:52 PM
Jan 10 2008, 07:31 AM
![]() EOS Electro Optical System 5D Yeah Baby, now my rig is complete (except for a lack of flash and battery grip) |
Jan 10 2008, 08:06 AM
Jan 10 2008, 11:56 AM
Jan 10 2008, 04:10 PM
QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Jan 10 2008, 03:05 PM) if u get call la kan? Depends, alot of shots are best taken from far away so the bride and groom can act natural without having the lense in their face.my cousin oso in this business wut i mean is wedding day no need such powerfull lens ma... if u going to f1 racing day ok la... But for a less powerful but equally expensive equivalent, i use the 16-35mm 2.8L |
| Change to: | 0.0591sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:39 PM |