Pensonic PGC-2201G Gas cooker issue, PGC-2201G Fire too strong

TSRainings
post Sep 20 2019, 03:22 PM, updated 6y ago

1,104 posts

Problem:
For only few months of usage, I started to notice all the pots that use to boil water started to leave a black mark and it's getting serious.
I hired technician come to my house to check and make sure everything is setup properly.
1. All the pipe is setup properly (Brand new pipe and burner head)
2. No Yellow flame whatsoever
3. I even bought a few new pots to test, the pots still turned black for just boiling water.
Verdict: It has nothing to do with the setup, installation and the quality of the pots

You read it right, i only use to boil water.

At first i also suspect the pot quality issue, but after i tried different pots. Same result.
Even use the cooker to fried fish, the fish become black but still uncooked.
For the very first time i encounter such issue with gas cooker.

CODE
Base on Pensonic replied, they said they tested with many Pots with the same cooker, didn't encounter such issue.
Which i don't believe them. If they admitted it is design defect, they will have to re-call all their units that being sold in the market.
I strongly believe it has something to do with their so call  "Whirlwind action burner" technology, which causes all the pots damaged.

It took more than 3 months for them to finally to test it. Because i demand a test result.
But, I really not sure if they really test the unit.
They also told me im the first one who encounter such issue, which i really doubt that.
But in the end, they decided offer a full refund base on the e-store pricing.
This will also be the last time i will buy any pensonic product.
God bless for those who using this model which have no idea the issue is causes by the gas cooker but not the user.

This post has been edited by Rainings: Sep 20 2019, 03:31 PM
Pain4UrsinZ
post Sep 20 2019, 05:57 PM

1,861 posts

I'm using this, no issue, bottom of the pan work don't even have anything black yellow or burnt.

I'm using steel pan and shogun.

R u using Cheap aluminum?

This post has been edited by Pain4UrsinZ: Sep 20 2019, 05:57 PM
nexona88
post Sep 20 2019, 06:25 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,588 posts

fuh..
was looking to change my gas stove (using some cheapo one bought in Tesco currently)...
Now u say this issues. make think to skip this model (to be safe side).
TSRainings
post Sep 20 2019, 07:00 PM

1,104 posts

QUOTE(Pain4UrsinZ @ Sep 20 2019, 05:57 PM)
I'm using this, no issue, bottom of the pan work don't even have anything black yellow or burnt.

I'm using steel pan and shogun.

R u using Cheap aluminum?
Im using original Zebra Steel pots, tried with brand new and old.
Tried different pot brands, same issue. I cannot figure out why.
Same result.
Even use the wok to fried fish, the fish blacked but still uncooked.
The wok started to have some burned mark.

This post has been edited by Rainings: Sep 20 2019, 07:03 PM
TSRainings
post Sep 20 2019, 07:02 PM

1,104 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 20 2019, 06:25 PM)
fuh..
was looking to change my gas stove (using some cheapo one bought in Tesco currently)...
Now u say this issues. make think to skip this model (to be safe side).
I bought a cheap stove as a temporary replacement. No more issue. But all the pots damaged cannot recover.
Actually if not faber cooker out of stock, i will not buy pensonic also. unlucky

This post has been edited by Rainings: Sep 20 2019, 07:03 PM
nexona88
post Sep 20 2019, 08:05 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,588 posts

QUOTE(Rainings @ Sep 20 2019, 07:02 PM)
I bought a cheap stove as a temporary replacement. No more issue. But all the pots damaged cannot recover.
Actually if not faber cooker out of stock, i will not buy pensonic also. unlucky
Seriously didn't expect this kind of thing to happen...
Pensonic products normally okay.. Guess they failed to detect this design issues..
TSRainings
post Sep 20 2019, 08:58 PM

1,104 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 20 2019, 08:05 PM)
Seriously didn't expect this kind of thing to happen...
Pensonic products normally okay.. Guess they failed to detect this design issues..
You are right. My cheap old stove last for 20 years. No issue at all.
Because the starter not working well, decided to change a better one with glass surface, easy to clean.
This is really unexpected. Because mostly my parents use it to cook and boil water.
At first i Quarrel with them saying is the pots quality and the way they use it.
After they show me by using the new pot, it really started to leave a burn mark. For long term use, it will eventually become like that, the picture above.
glasgowkitchen
post Sep 21 2019, 12:32 AM

84 posts

Thanks for the headsup!
nexona88
post Sep 21 2019, 12:05 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,588 posts

QUOTE(Rainings @ Sep 20 2019, 08:58 PM)
You are right. My cheap old stove last for 20 years. No issue at all.
Because the starter not working well, decided to change a better one with glass surface, easy to clean.
This is really unexpected. Because mostly my parents use it to cook and boil water.
At first i Quarrel with them saying is the pots quality and the way they use it.
After they show me by using the new pot, it really started to leave a burn mark. For long term use, it will eventually become like that, the picture above.
Walao..
Very good stove u have there.. 20 years lasting... If they make like that now, No biz for manufacturer... Coz many won't change it 🤣 that's why nowadays maximum is around 5 years before some issues would pop up....
TSRainings
post Sep 21 2019, 12:19 PM

1,104 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 21 2019, 12:05 PM)
Walao..
Very good stove u have there.. 20 years lasting... If they make like that now, No biz for manufacturer... Coz many won't change it 🤣 that's why nowadays maximum is around 5 years before some issues would pop up....
those cheap metal stove usually can last > 10 years. Which is usually less than RM100.
First time bought RM200++ stove, all my pots damaged.
Maybe nowadays they try to over engineered.
"if it ain't broke don't fix it" it make sense now.
silverwave
post Oct 18 2020, 10:52 AM

4,083 posts

Hi, still having the issue with the stove?
TSRainings
post Oct 18 2020, 12:21 PM

1,104 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Oct 18 2020, 10:52 AM)
Hi, still having the issue with the stove?
Regarding the test result, they told me they have tested, ntg wrong with the stove.
(to be honest i really doubt that, if not how do you can explain to me why all my pots got the same burned mark. same spot).
they tried to replace a unit with another model, but the unit looks like a demo unit, scratch mark everywhere. I declined their offer.
In the end, they did a full refund. right now I'm using cheap stove, no issue at all. peace of mind.
sometimes an expensive product doesn't mean better quality.
I will never buy pensonic product anymore.
silverwave
post Oct 18 2020, 12:49 PM

4,083 posts

QUOTE(Rainings @ Oct 18 2020, 12:21 PM)
Regarding the test result, they told me they have tested, ntg wrong with the stove.
(to be honest i really doubt that, if not how do you can explain to me why all my pots got the same burned mark. same spot).
they tried to replace a unit with another model, but the unit looks like a demo unit, scratch mark everywhere. I declined their offer.
In the end, they did a full refund. right now I'm using cheap stove, no issue at all. peace of mind.
sometimes an expensive product doesn't mean better quality.
I will never buy pensonic product anymore.
I see, i suspect it is the unit problem itself. I have a stove that is having a same issue now in the rented unit and based on google it seems like the oxygen mixture ratio has to be checked.
TSRainings
post Oct 18 2020, 01:43 PM

1,104 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Oct 18 2020, 12:49 PM)
I see, i suspect it is the unit problem itself. I have a stove that is having a same issue now in the rented unit and based on google it seems like the oxygen mixture ratio has to be checked.
what brand is that? sometimes the cheap one works the best.

oxygen mixture ratio has to be checked

we have no control for that i think. could be the stove pipe design
silverwave
post Oct 18 2020, 01:55 PM

4,083 posts

QUOTE(Rainings @ Oct 18 2020, 01:43 PM)
what brand is that? sometimes the cheap one works the best.
we have no control for that i think. could be the stove pipe design
It's Elba and should be more than 5 years already.

Yes, usually it is dirt or something blocking it but should not happen for a new one. Yours maybe has a manufacturing defect.
TSRainings
post Oct 18 2020, 02:13 PM

1,104 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Oct 18 2020, 01:55 PM)
It's Elba and should be more than 5 years already.

Yes, usually it is dirt or something blocking it but should not happen for a new one. Yours maybe has a manufacturing defect.
Pensonic told me they tested my unit, they said is fine rolleyes.gif
they said, they use it to boil water until water dried out also no black mark. rolleyes.gif
SUSceo684
post Oct 18 2020, 03:41 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

-double post-

This post has been edited by ceo684: Oct 18 2020, 03:43 PM

0.0194sec    1.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled