Lian Li PC-A05B, Updated on 4 August 10:00PM -_-''... !!!

TSDoom
post Jul 5 2007, 04:16 PM, updated 19y ago

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

After dragging for long long time .. finally able to complete partial of my modding...

Side panel cutting, filing and polishing.

Shinning edge but too bad not mirror shine

Transparent window cutting, filing and polishing again
Before cutting...

After the cutting was done...

Filling all edges becomes straight .

Fan hole cut ..

This post has been edited by Doom: Aug 4 2007, 10:07 PM
TSDoom
post Jul 5 2007, 07:51 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

Case with the window done partially.

Fan grill that got from MNPCtech long time before ... but never put into use ... sanded all edges and polished it as well...

Different views of the side panel in action ..

Sorry about the photo earlier .. coz I couldn't access Photobucket so have to use Imageshark ...

This post has been edited by Doom: Jul 5 2007, 08:27 PM
ianho
post Jul 5 2007, 07:56 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Pls dont put thumbnails. Teruk lar hafta click on them to load 1 by 1.
Zicron
post Jul 5 2007, 08:02 PM

Come to the Dark Side
899 posts

Doom ar, how come the pic still so small ar?
Can make it bigger, a bit hard to see all ur hardware inside..lol
TSDoom
post Jul 5 2007, 08:32 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

More photo would be uploaded during weekend .... I would be doing some cable extends, LCD display for temperature and hopefully get the case ready with some decal for the side panel ...

sniper on the roof
post Jul 5 2007, 09:20 PM

23,414 posts

Sweet.... but the smallest ATX case title goes to the LC02 tongue.gif

http://www.silverstonetek.com.tw/products/...o=lc02&area=usa

Followed by the PC-C35...followed by the LC04
llllNarutollll
post Jul 6 2007, 12:58 AM

102 posts

Doom you tinted the acrylic?
TSDoom
post Jul 6 2007, 08:46 AM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

akachester
post Jul 6 2007, 09:04 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Wow..at last you are modding your beloved LL..LOL..Any other further modding for the case?Nice filter there..
TSDoom
post Jul 6 2007, 09:52 AM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

There's more it doesn't end here yet .... read post number 5 (#5)...

I;m getting the LCD display today .. .will test it out tonight and upload a photo or two afterward ///
fo33il
post Jul 6 2007, 11:15 AM

433 posts

wooohhh.... drool.gif

two thumbs up for u doom....very2 nice!
care to share wer do u get the red arcrylic?
Ryo
post Jul 6 2007, 11:42 AM

.:: Rise Lord Vader ::.
871 posts

awesome! i love the look of the red acrylics and the fan grill is wicked thumbup.gif
LExus65
post Jul 6 2007, 01:18 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

TSDoom
post Jul 7 2007, 01:17 AM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

QUOTE(fo33il @ Jul 6 2007, 11:15 AM)
wooohhh.... drool.gif

two thumbs up for u doom....very2 nice!
care to share wer do u get the red arcrylic?
Jalan Pasar .. the only shop that sale acrylic in large size and different colors...

QUOTE(Ryo @ Jul 6 2007, 11:42 AM)
awesome! i love the look of the red acrylics and the fan grill is wicked thumbup.gif
hahha the fan grill alone cost me RM55 ... ohh god ... but still I like it ... thumbup.gif

QUOTE(LExus65 @ Jul 6 2007, 01:18 PM)
Red arcylic...........devil's colour
yah ... and there's more red things coming .... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Only can update some photo at sunday night ... coz 2mr will be working on another PC-A05B doh.gif

So only can mod on sunday itself and upload the results ...

Hope everyone like this small modding project .... icon_rolleyes.gif
LExus65
post Jul 7 2007, 08:35 AM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

the fan grill plastic or aluminum ?? ..........show us ur mod on another PCA05 too.......... we would like to see it, that's no doubt it...........
TSDoom
post Jul 7 2007, 11:00 AM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

The term working on it, is for normal cable management ...

not cutting or whatsoever... haha sorry about that...

Btw the fan grill is made of acrylic ....

Anyway this is the LCD temperature that I promised .... courtesy of teckchoi...

It's simple but that's what I like about it the font size is big ..about 2 cm tall and 0.5 cm wide.. easier to read.

I will be making a custom holder to hold both displays together .... hmm.gif
cgha
post Jul 7 2007, 02:14 PM

99 posts

There are 2 LCD temperature there - 24.5 and 23.7.
How do u connect the censor?.
I have 3 LCD.I want to connect to :
1. motherboard - for mobo temp
2. HD temp
3. CPU temp.
How to connect that.......

TQ
TSDoom
post Jul 8 2007, 02:04 AM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

ok ... basically during the installation of the CPU cooler u have to put the edge of the sensor into one end of the CPU die.

as for the mobo then u have to remove the original heat sink and place the edge to one end of the chipset..

as for the HDD u could just stick to any side, the best would be the surface of the HDD....

cgha
post Jul 8 2007, 11:23 AM

99 posts

Tq for ur answer.
Do u mind show me the foto to make it clear
Tq very much for ur kindness.....
TSDoom
post Jul 8 2007, 09:17 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

hmm that u have to wait a bit more of time coz I really have not attach the sensor to the CPU or GPU ... or anything ,,

I will upload the photo once I'm certain with how would like to do with the interior first ...

TSDoom
post Jul 12 2007, 02:59 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

Finally got something done ... being busy with other stuffs lately ..

Changed some hardwares and redo cable management...

Added a custom made side fan bracket .. hohoho dual 12cm fan running in low RPM and silent ..

More photo would be uploaded tonight .. .going out now .. .chow !!!

HaHaNoCluE
post Jul 12 2007, 08:57 PM

628 posts

wher u gonna install the fans??? nice fans there...
TSDoom
post Jul 12 2007, 09:19 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

hmm where am I going to install those fans .......

Here it is .... user posted image

Polar_012
post Jul 12 2007, 10:11 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Jul 12 2007, 09:19 PM)
hmm where am I going to install those fans .......

Here it is ....

Nice rclxms.gif

How's the GC temps?

Where did you buy your silicon vibration dampening kit for the 120mm fan? The 1 put between the fan and the casing.
TSDoom
post Jul 12 2007, 11:13 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

hmm overall drop to 54 during idle and max about 78 ,,,

thanks to the poor design of all the stock cooler found on the graphic card now days ... before that was idle at 60 and load about 85 ...

Overall the fans also lowered the chipset temperature by 4c ..

as for the dampening kit I sapu whenever it's available at All IT Hypermall last time ...

Now days it's no more available anywhere..
Polar_012
post Jul 12 2007, 11:34 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Jul 12 2007, 11:13 PM)
hmm overall drop to 54 during idle and max about 78 ,,,

thanks to the poor design of all the stock cooler found on the graphic card now days ... before that was idle at 60 and load about 85 ...

Overall the fans also lowered the chipset temperature by 4c ..

as for the dampening kit I sapu whenever it's available at All IT Hypermall last time ...

Now days it's no more available anywhere..
Wow 6 degrees cooler drool.gif .

I feel like it's not the stock cooler's poor design but mainly due to the rise of performance of the GC. At least stock hsf of high end GC now utilises heatpipes.
TSDoom
post Jul 13 2007, 12:22 AM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

hahah trust me the heatpipes is nothing .. coz it's only two short heatpipes that fixed to a high airflow restriction fins that doesn't help to dissipates heat fast enough to keep the card cool ..

I'm looking for Thermalrigh HR-03 R600 version right now ...

With that cooler on hand then the system would be really complete with silent and quiet yet powerful....
HaHaNoCluE
post Jul 13 2007, 02:48 PM

628 posts

but that gc cooler might oso cost a bomb at around rm300...! but ur red arclic is really nice, nice choice of fans as those r very silent type... but y ur arctic freezer terbalik??? isn't facing the rear might be better??? wher u bought those fans??? owez a fan of AC fans... the frame juz looks cool (like those restaurant fans, haha)... ur case is quite tiny too... any bling bling???
TSDoom
post Jul 13 2007, 06:58 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

Yah... I could still effort the cooler ...

The artic heat sink is mounted reversely because my rear case fan is intake and front fan is exhaust ...

I bough the AC fan 2 months back @ Singapore over Sim Ling Square....

I would be getting a CM red CCFL to light up the case ......
llllNarutollll
post Jul 13 2007, 07:10 PM

102 posts

idea of that little boy that own casing same like urs its definitly good.
is there any bling2 inside?
TSDoom
post Jul 13 2007, 11:34 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

U mean for the little kid's case or mine ??

I would be getting a red CCFL if possible to light up my case ...

This post has been edited by Doom: Jul 13 2007, 11:35 PM
llllNarutollll
post Jul 14 2007, 02:24 AM

102 posts

of course ur case la.
if u put red CCFL it will be kinda oven in ur case
LExus65
post Jul 14 2007, 03:38 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

doom where is ur HR-01............

red CCFL not much effect in lighting up in interior, i suggest try to get UV instead.....
TSDoom
post Jul 14 2007, 11:00 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

My HR-01 is officially retired from my hardware list ... I put it aside ..

I find it doesn't performs the same every time after re-installation .

that's why gone for this Artic Cooler that perform more stable ...

@LExus65 ..

Why u said that red CCFL doesn't lights up the interior ...

I thought CCFL is always brighter than UV CCFL ..

The only reason that I don't go for UV coz there's nth much within my case that's UV reactive ... so what to glow with UV CCFL ..
llllNarutollll
post Jul 15 2007, 03:39 AM

102 posts

CCFL are brighter than uv CCFL.
just put the red CCFL and see how its goin, it will add a burn effect hooot
TSDoom
post Jul 15 2007, 10:45 AM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

That's what I thought and wanted to get a GTR sticker to paste within case ..

close by the side panel of course ....

Now working on the LCD temperature display .... still struggling to think off how to mount the two display with a on/off switch as well .
llllNarutollll
post Jul 15 2007, 11:22 AM

102 posts

doom does that akasa work as u expect?
TSDoom
post Jul 15 2007, 02:53 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

Hmm ... for certain area only .. actually I pasted one piece behind the front panel and it does absorbs the noise generated by the front fan that exhaust air though the front panel.

As for the piece that u guys seems laying at the lower section of the case is to cover all scratches mark that don't know done by whom ...

sHawTY
post Jul 15 2007, 10:08 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Jul 15 2007, 02:53 PM)
scratches mark that don't know done by whom ...
I did that, remember when we're raping the casing at ATE?
I got jealous of you and i use the carkey to scratch scratch it. laugh.gif

Nahh, just joking. tongue.gif

Hungry_Wolf
post Jul 15 2007, 10:39 PM

836 posts

doom..when u go england, sell me the case, ok?
wanna build my server and this case really good for me...

so far u found any weakness of this case?
TSDoom
post Jul 16 2007, 12:56 AM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jul 15 2007, 10:08 PM)
I did that, remember when we're raping the casing at ATE?
I got jealous of you and i use the carkey to scratch scratch it. laugh.gif

Nahh, just joking. tongue.gif
hmm .. probably .. hahahah

Anyway there's lots of scratches here and there... but what to do ...

I was being unlucky gua ... hahahha

I have taken four A05 from ATE and the worst is mine ... just no luck ...

QUOTE(Hungry_Wolf @ Jul 15 2007, 10:39 PM)
doom..when u go england, sell me the case, ok?
wanna build my server and this case really good for me...

so far u found any weakness of this case?
hmm weakness ... lack of intake is the problem ..

but it does resolve with a intake fan and blow hole on the side ..

another problem would be the HDD zone .. it's not recommended to have more than two HDDs..

The temperature would not be that positive ..

This is the concept .. when u use the rear as intake and the air that passed through CPU cooler would be slightly warmer .. so the warm air that passed through the HDD scan't provides cool airflow as compared to standard case that intake cool air to cool of HDDs before other component..

Other than that .. nth much coz this is a small case with lots of space to work on with ...
LExus65
post Jul 16 2007, 09:30 AM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

red CCFL indeed is brighter then UV one, but it have a good chance wont light up your case as u expected (glowing red) as there are not much reflective surface inside ur casing left i presumed plus a red light may not light up a red arcylic panel as well as you think

futhermore red CCFL itself may be just too bright ...........become unbalance like most cases with neon LED fans,

to get a glowing u may need to apply back lighting method with different colour of CCFL.........try to borrow 1 and see how it goes..........

This post has been edited by LExus65: Jul 16 2007, 09:31 AM
TSDoom
post Jul 16 2007, 03:53 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

hahha u got one to borrow ???

Basically I don't plan to just stick the CCFL and light it up ..

I'm fully aware of the over bright issue with CCFL ...

It's killing and just doesn't serve aesthetic purpose ...

I played with lightings a lot last time that's why I have some other modification need to be done to the CCFL after I grab one ...

Anyway some updated would be posted tonight ... have to back to mod again ...

This post has been edited by Doom: Jul 16 2007, 11:07 PM
TSDoom
post Jul 16 2007, 11:07 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

Finally able to update something after working for whole day long ...

shh ,,, really tired ...

Anyway .. here u go .. hopefully can speed up the process .. .2mr will be running with full engine again ,,,

Some old Cooler Master bezel and stock Lian Li bezel that would be used for the modification ...

Power connector that I would modify to power up my Burner and HDD ..

This is what I done for the floppy bezel .. .just a simple carbon fiber sticker ...

Soldered the header with wires to SATA connector ..

Custom LCD display that make of Lian Li bezel plus some wiring ... cutting the holes and mounting the bezel took me whole day long ..

LCD in action thumbup.gif

Another view from further away .... notworthy.gif

2mr would work on the rest of the wiring soldering and a switch for the LCD display .. now it on all the time when the system is running ... doh.gif

Tsubasa66
post Jul 16 2007, 11:35 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Jul 16 2007, 11:07 PM)

shh ,,, really tired ...

Anyway .. here u go .. hopefully can speed up the process .. .2mr will be running with full engine again ,,,

Another view from further away ....  notworthy.gif

2mr would work on the rest of the wiring soldering and a switch for the LCD display .. now it on all the time when the system is running ...  doh.gif
superb man how much u get this stuff ??

TSDoom
post Jul 17 2007, 01:24 AM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

hhahah RM17 for the LCD and other stuffs spent about RM20 guah ,,

Can't remember clearly .. coz don't want to remind myself how much I spent for the mod ...
LExus65
post Jul 17 2007, 08:20 AM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

very nice job with the LCD display hehe............u plan to connect external hdd at the front ? btw ur lcd display is come cover with a layer of plastic ?

well indeed i have a spare CCFL, but 3 colours (which colour i forgot, RGB perhpas)......

may be u can cover the colours 1by1 and see which does the best...........PM me if u want......
TSDoom
post Jul 17 2007, 11:41 AM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

hmmm ,,, can the light stay at one particular color that I want ...

I would prefer constant lighting ...

Yah there's a layer of tint that cover the LCD ... so that the color would not over bright ..

Anyway the photo doesn't show clearly how it suppose to looks like ..

I would adjust my cam after finished with today's mod and hopefully able to deliver the way the display should looks like ..

It suppose to be glow in dark red ... very nice .. but thanks to my cam....

Anyway stay tune,,,

This post has been edited by Doom: Jul 17 2007, 05:41 PM
TSDoom
post Jul 17 2007, 05:41 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

Finally after a whole day long of soldering and fixing the wires ... here u go .... sweat.gif sweat.gif

Front look of the case .. notice the wires that lead to three small switches at the bottom of the case ... that's the switches for my LCD display and other coming lighting switch..

Installed the cd-rom cover that mod into a power connector for my ROM and HDD..

Close up view of the CD-ROM cover ...

Where I stored all the wires... doh.gif doh.gif ... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Front look when the system is running .... looks the LCD display that's how it suppose to looks like ... in real .... icon_rolleyes.gif Glowing in behind dark ...

Cover with side panel...

More bling bling would be added after I have some financial replenishment .. running very poor now ,,,,, doh.gif doh.gif
z3r0717
post Jul 17 2007, 05:52 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

got to say this is one heck of a nice casing tat u did.. love the side panel, creative and different from others... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif for u.. notworthy.gif
llllNarutollll
post Jul 17 2007, 06:26 PM

102 posts

that lcd mod is cool and ur case look neat/clean.
Red devil theme.
peaceofluck
post Jul 18 2007, 12:57 AM

357 posts

very nice...like the way u use the power connector...not same like others..
keep up bro..know u can make more than tis..
LExus65
post Jul 18 2007, 08:09 AM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

wah really nice with the LCD display make ppl drool only hehe..........

u still have quite some space behind the PSU, hehe can place some action model there..........hehe
lolhalol
post Jul 18 2007, 08:56 AM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

haha bro seems like i start trends without knowing... haha last time i do flame then a few people did flames... then i bought that connector thingi, then u also buy.... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif nice usefull buggers arnt they...lolz..... neways like they always say imitation is a form of flattery... hahaha ....no lah..... j/k ing only.... bro how much did u buy those connectors?just wanted to knw..if urs cheaper then ill buy from wherever u bought them from......... btw nice clean mod... beautifully done....but one thing is y use noctua for intake... imo not enough pressure for to blow thru all that stuffs... suggest u use a panaflow m series.... superbly quite with high pressure and nice airflow...

This post has been edited by lolhalol: Jul 18 2007, 08:57 AM
TSDoom
post Jul 18 2007, 09:41 AM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Jul 17 2007, 05:52 PM)
got to say this is one heck of a nice casing tat u did.. love the side panel, creative and different from others... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif for u.. notworthy.gif
Thanks men .. all these modding beside cutting side panel is my first attempt so it's still not the best yet ,,

but hey it's still work since this is a small case with only few hardwares .. so it's fine .. nod.gif

QUOTE(llllNarutollll @ Jul 17 2007, 06:26 PM)
that lcd mod is cool and ur case look neat/clean.
Red devil theme.
Yah ,,, took me ages to get the idea out ... most of the mod is trial and error basis .... sweat.gif sweat.gif

Lots of risk involved ... shocking.gif

QUOTE(peaceofluck @ Jul 18 2007, 12:57 AM)
very nice...like the way u use the power connector...not same like others..
keep up bro..know u can make more than tis..
hahah ,,it was really hard to solder the cable due to very restrictive size of the connector ..

I wish to do further with lighting but run out of budget for now ... hope to continue it soon once financially capable ... doh.gif doh.gif

QUOTE(LExus65 @ Jul 18 2007, 08:09 AM)
wah really nice with the LCD display make ppl drool only hehe..........

u still have quite some space behind the PSU, hehe can place some action model there..........hehe
QUOTE(lolhalol @ Jul 18 2007, 08:56 AM)
haha bro seems like i start trends without knowing... haha last time i do flame then a few people did flames... then i bought that connector thingi, then u also buy....  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  nice usefull buggers arnt they...lolz.....  neways like they always say imitation is a form of flattery... hahaha ....no lah..... j/k ing only.... bro how much did u buy those connectors?just wanted to knw..if urs cheaper then ill buy from wherever u bought them from......... btw nice clean mod... beautifully done....but one thing is y use noctua for intake... imo not enough pressure for to blow thru all that stuffs... suggest u use a panaflow m series.... superbly quite with high pressure and nice airflow...
Hmm ... ic ic .. not hard feeling about it bro ... modding is always about pushing the limit of creativity ..

Actually for me the Nortua fan works quite well since I have no filter or restrictive fan grill installed .. .my CPU fluctuate from 35c-40c only ..

As for the connector it should be RM3 per set includes both the male and female connector .. got it at Jalan Pasar ... rclxm9.gif

THANKS FOR ALL THE POSITIVE REPLY ... WILL TRY TO DO MORE AND UPLOAD MORE .. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
lolhalol
post Jul 18 2007, 09:47 AM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

bro im not saying it coz im angry or anything... just joking lah... hmm the price nt bad also,.... i also got from jalan pasar area but at 3.50... maybe ill go survey around there today... hehe.... my office behind jalan pasar only..lolz.... n yeah its a bi**h to solder the connector right..haha... took me like 3 times before got it right... lolz.... urz look like it has a silicon or rubber looking thing in between teh male and female... is it?
TSDoom
post Jul 18 2007, 10:23 AM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

hahaha .. i mean just take those word as source of improvement only ...

yah it helps to prevent the connector from spinning ... but I think it would be better to have another at the other side also ..

The one I've got is from the shop opposite to Pudu Plaza ..

If u go in from their entrance on the left hand side .. it's placed in the glass shelf on left hand side also...
lolhalol
post Jul 18 2007, 10:26 AM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

ahh i think i got from same shop...haha is it nixie electronics? if it is then we have the same electronics shop... wondering y mine is 50 cent more..maybe mine was the bigger sized ones... coz urs look smaller in comparison to the cdbay.... haha
TSDoom
post Jul 18 2007, 10:30 AM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

Yah, I go for the smaller size coz it looks nicer within that small case ...

besides that I like the design of the smaller one than the bigger one ..

Too bad they don't sell those awesome switches.. else I would replace the stock switch already ,,,

lolhalol
post Jul 18 2007, 10:36 AM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

i have the bulgin switch if u want to buy.. but its blue... pm me if u want it... hehe..maybe one day we can have a yamcha session... bro pm me ur email adress well talk there..later mods kacau....
cablesguy
post Jul 19 2007, 08:30 PM

1,597 posts

nice job Doom, make me wanna go get a dremel and cut something up, btw was it a dremel or something else? thumbup.gif
TSDoom
post Jul 20 2007, 12:00 AM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

Yah .. actually I used dremel, jigsaw and driller ...

What u want to cut ??? I thought u already polished ur case like mirror shine ......
llllNarutollll
post Jul 20 2007, 09:20 AM

102 posts

doom when we use jigsaw to me its very loud....
sometimes i,m scared of it loudenes..
cause i live in rumah teres so mybe my neigbor dont want to hear such noise
TSDoom
post Jul 20 2007, 02:04 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

yah ...I did the cutting in two places ...

bathroom and outside of the house ...

inside of the bath room would kill you self coz the noise would creates echo ...

making me can't focus too long with precision cutting ...

Cutting outside can only at the correct time .... else would influent the neighbor ...

I really wonder how uncle Ianho hides the noise .... hhahahaha
llllNarutollll
post Jul 20 2007, 02:40 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Jul 20 2007, 02:04 PM)
I really wonder how uncle Ianho hides the noise .... hhahahaha
yea i think uncle ian use some technic that can trap the noise brows.gif

cablesguy
post Jul 20 2007, 02:45 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Jul 20 2007, 12:00 AM)
Yah .. actually I used dremel, jigsaw and driller ...

What u want to cut ??? I thought u already polished ur case like mirror shine ......
nothing in particular atm, just thot wanna do some experiment so can do some minor mods when the need arises...u know la, when fingers itchy lol
akkmutd0711
post Jul 20 2007, 09:42 PM

188 posts

doom, i thought the arctic 64 pro is supposed to install the other way around so that the hot air can be blown out?
TSDoom
post Jul 20 2007, 11:11 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

QUOTE(llllNarutollll @ Jul 20 2007, 02:40 PM)
yea i think uncle ian use some technic that can trap the noise brows.gif
yalah ... from his photos .. usually he cut his stuffs around kitchen or laundry area if I'm not mistaken ... sweat.gif

I wonder whether got aluminum dust here and there flying around uncle's cloths or not ... hahahha joke joke

QUOTE(cablesguy @ Jul 20 2007, 02:45 PM)
nothing in particular atm, just thot wanna do some experiment so can do some minor mods when the need arises...u know la, when fingers itchy lol
hmmm ... looking forward for it bro .... haven't got the chance to meet up with u lately after last OC Demo . hmm.gif

QUOTE(akkmutd0711 @ Jul 20 2007, 09:42 PM)
doom, i thought the arctic 64 pro is supposed to install the other way around so that the hot air can be blown out?
Coz with this case the rear side is intake and the front is for exhaust ... that's why have to configure it in opposite direction to take advantage of the airflow from the rear intake ..

btw it's Freezer 7 Pro with PWM not ... Freezer 64 Pro ... I'm using C2D or LGA 775 socket bro ...

cablesguy
post Jul 22 2007, 02:06 AM

1,597 posts

been a little busy w work and also trying to balance things out abit, always thinking abt pc only coz poison v strong, need or dont need also think of getting, not healthy for the wallet laugh.gif
Kyogezsho
post Jul 30 2007, 02:45 AM

195 posts

hey doom would like to ask the LCD how much u bought each?
and also would liek to ask how do u mount the sensor onto ur hdd?

i m intrested as well tongue.gif
cause my hdd too hot .. wanna monitor it ...

TSDoom
post Jul 30 2007, 08:47 AM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

It's about RM20 each ..got it from bulk order ..

U just need to attach it to the HDD surface with tape ....

that's all .. .
Proclaimer
post Jul 31 2007, 02:33 AM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(Kyogezsho @ Jul 30 2007, 02:45 AM)
hey doom would like to ask the LCD how much u bought each?
and also would liek to ask how do u mount the sensor onto ur hdd?

i m intrested as well tongue.gif
cause my hdd too hot .. wanna monitor it ...
Might b out of topic here... But wat the heck.. biggrin.gif
There is a software called speedfan.. Try it out... thumbup.gif

It gives reading for cpu,nb, and hdd...
Not sure how accurate it is for the hdd but it is accurate for the cpu and nb temp.. smile.gif

So no need to buy sensors unless u got cash to spare.. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Proclaimer: Jul 31 2007, 02:34 AM
TSDoom
post Aug 4 2007, 09:21 AM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

basically the sensor i bought is not for the purpose of monitoring the component ...

I just want to monitor the ambient of different zone in the case ..

so that I know where the heat are concerntrated.. .
TSDoom
post Aug 4 2007, 10:06 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

Finally got to add some lighting into it ..

red LED ... yah red red and red again ... notworthy.gif

From the far view...

Closer View

That's where the LEDs are ...

From rear side .... thumbup.gif

and it's able to be off like the LCD display as well ... thumbup.gif
hypermax
post Aug 4 2007, 10:39 PM

2,524 posts

Good job dude. Btw, may i ask why you choose red acrylic? I think it'll look better with clear acrylic as you can show of your wonderful cable management. smile.gif
TSDoom
post Aug 4 2007, 10:53 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

hahhah ,.. coz I just want to maintain the red theme through inside out mah ..

ganas .. fierce and hot .. thanks to the x2900xt inside ..

fan running quite noisy for me ... although not as bad as a delta fan ...

sherren
post Aug 5 2007, 01:17 AM

Retired
1,298 posts

nice colour scheme there Red Hot, looks Monsterous brows.gif
sHawTY
post Aug 5 2007, 01:21 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Aiee boss, your photobucket load damn slow ler. sweat.gif
TSDoom
post Aug 5 2007, 09:56 AM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

hmm . any alternative than photobucket... ???

I've been looking for one for long time coz I really have tough time loading into the account ...
llllNarutollll
post Aug 5 2007, 11:54 AM

102 posts

what about red CCFL u wanna put it?
more red wub.gif
TSDoom
post Aug 5 2007, 01:31 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

nope .coz red CCFL doesn't looks red at all ..

it's like pink most of time .. thats' why I go for red LED ..

at least it's lights up in red ..

I would be making another set for the top of the case ..

so that it's fully brighthen ...
llllNarutollll
post Aug 5 2007, 02:55 PM

102 posts

more red led to burn the entire case...
how about set fire in ur case doom just to see that red theme work perfecly or not tongue.gif
LExus65
post Aug 6 2007, 08:27 AM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

very nice look with the RED led.........

may be u can try to put some inside ur x2900XT too..........hehe fire within fire
TSDoom
post Aug 6 2007, 05:05 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

hmmm..that's a nice idea which would spoil my warranty coz the cooler cannot be removed without voiding the waranty sticker ..

hmmm should I or not ????
LExus65
post Aug 6 2007, 05:52 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

i do remember there are some small openings around the side, may be u can insert those small led there, those flat type...........

just a suggestion though
TSDoom
post Aug 6 2007, 06:15 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

hmmm .. have to take out the card and check it out then ...

hmmm ... will try it out .. but now have another idea in mind that really want to do it ..

but time time .. .the major element that I'm lack off now .
overclockalbert
post Sep 2 2007, 06:39 PM

1,058 posts

nice mod Doom
Bigblock
post Dec 6 2007, 01:35 PM

|| F(R)έǎжy ||
2,275 posts

nice modd bro!
TSDoom
post Dec 6 2007, 09:18 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

hhaha too bad the case long sold to a new owner that is way younger than I'm...

I really how does the case now .... hopefully still in one piece ..

hahah ... hopefully in the future I would be able to get this case again and mod it with all my skills...
Bigblock
post Dec 6 2007, 09:45 PM

|| F(R)έǎжy ||
2,275 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Dec 6 2007, 09:18 PM)
hhaha too bad the case long sold to a new owner that is way younger than I'm...

I really how does the case now .... hopefully still in one piece ..

hahah ... hopefully in the future I would be able to get this case again and mod it with all my skills...
brows.gif We all know you can bro nod.gif
sniper on the roof
post Dec 7 2007, 01:41 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Dec 6 2007, 09:18 PM)
There's no time like today.. quick.. go and get another one lar.

TSDoom
post Dec 9 2007, 10:11 AM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

hahah ... that's if I really have a place to stay for slightly longer period and a backyard for me to work on modding ..

Nothing is stable yet and I'm not sure what would I want to mod for ..

aesthetic or cooling or both .. hmmm
easternC
post Dec 9 2007, 01:11 PM

62 posts

hahah go for both... this thread show ur work really good isnt it?
hahahha btw, mr sniper, ur sponsor look nowhere near uncle ianho sponsor ~ wahahahaaaa
yuktsi14
post Apr 27 2008, 12:44 AM

Gloomy Sunday
2,585 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Jul 17 2007, 12:07 AM)

shh ,,, really tired ...

Some old Cooler Master bezel and stock Lian Li bezel that would be used for the modification ...

Power connector that I would modify to power up my Burner and HDD ..

This is what I done for the floppy bezel .. .just a simple carbon fiber sticker ...

Soldered the header with wires to SATA connector ..

Custom LCD display that make of Lian Li bezel plus some wiring ... cutting the holes and mounting the bezel took me whole day long ..

LCD in action  thumbup.gif

Another view from further away ....  notworthy.gif

2mr would work on the rest of the wiring soldering and a switch for the LCD display .. now it on all the time when the system is running ...  doh.gif
where to get the small lcd?
mfcm
post Apr 27 2008, 01:01 AM

2,765 posts

@yuksti
u mean those temp lcd sensor?if dat u can find in bulk section..sell by teckhooi icon_rolleyes.gif
verdict
post Mar 20 2009, 04:39 AM

Time is Flying By
2,458 posts

LCD sensor is ngam with your Ah Lian...

brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
lun1986
post Mar 20 2009, 08:56 PM

939 posts

when can completed ?alu casing very nice
chanws8