DIY Operation of KSC75,Aego2,Stax SR-X,MX300, Voice Coil & recable mx300, YUIN PK1

scottiebabie
post Jul 5 2007, 11:17 PM

947 posts

all i can say is.....CONGRATS!!! to brader PCdude!! certainly a job well done above and beyond duty! Malaysia Boleh!! (thxs god brader PCdude doesnt belong to team NATO!!! laugh.gif)
scottiebabie
post Jul 11 2007, 05:46 PM

947 posts

PCdude...brader, you've done it again! i dont know how u can handle something so small and more importantly, so fragile! a job well done although why anyone wants to repair mx300 is beyond me! isnt the mx300 one of those use once and dispose typa thingies???

ps:i wouldnt worry about LYN hi-hands bud. the only thing alot of ppl are hi on is either glue or team NATO! or maybe both...M'sia Boleh!
scottiebabie
post Apr 17 2008, 07:42 PM

947 posts

finally got my 'buds back & wanna offer my thxs in acknowledging the great work PCWORK did in recabling my Yuin & Sony earbuds. the workmanship is almost perfect to the effect that my 15yrs old Sonys look, feel & perform as new. excepting cable choices (or lackof rather which cant be attributed to bro PCWORK but more bcos a lack of local sources) there cant be any complaints.

on the SQ side, both 'buds exhibits a slight upper freq brightness (perhaps even harshness) while the bottom-end wasnt as extended nor defined as i previously recalled. this i attribute to the new cable needing some cooking time. all in all, im stoked & super pleased. thxs again bro PCWORK. anyone needing an earbud (or other cans for that matter) recable & can supply his/her own cable wont find a better craftsman than PCWORK rclxms.gif nod.gif thumbup.gif

ps:to anyone owning old Sony earbuds, dont throw them away but instead have it recabled by PCWORK. its almost as good as the Yuin PK1- bliv it or not wink.gif
scottiebabie
post Apr 19 2008, 12:55 PM

947 posts

Bro PCWORK im stoked to say that after a coupla days of 24/7 cooking, the high-end tizzzzz exhibited initially is gone or substantially toned down at the very least. either that or its a bad case of psychoacoustics unsure.gif blush.gif

on another great note (pardon the pun wink.gif its crystal clear to me that the Koss cable pawns the ori Yuin cable. as of now & subject to my superhuman powers of TotalRecall (again...pardon the pun laugh.gif ), the Koss-cabled PK1s are not only cleaner with greater clarity & detail, imaging has improve with a lazer-like precision instead of the blob it was. all in all- 2thumbs up for bro PCWORK thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

bro Akabane, if bro PCWORK is amenable to recabling your PK3, i highly recommend u to run (dont walk la) to shove it him. if not, perhaps a note declaring your everlasting love mite move bro PCWORK to action - otherwise beg, cajole or threaten! u wont regret it...regardless of the ori Yuin cable (or other unspecified parts brows.gif ) stiffening or not. the Koss is a better cable thumbup.gif .

as for my ancient Sonys (MDR E805 for the curious need2knows) with the bigger drivers, it still isnt a match for my PK1s. while both has similiar bass quantity, a well driven PK1 triumphs over the Sonys in bass quality, is fuller & smoother across the range with better imaging & perhaps superior micro-info retrieval. the preceding statements is only true with the CAVEAT being a well-driven PK1 (while the Sonys have no such requirement although there were improvements when amped). all in all & honest be told, i wouldnt be too disappointed if i only had the Sonys to accompany me at beddie-bye time.

me thinks similiar to PCWORKs 10yrs old MX500, my old Sonys sound grand not so much cos of burn-in but more bcos these items (& alot of other things for that matter) are simply better made - both in materials & workmanship. for 1, im quite positive that both these old Sonys & MX500s arent of the made-in-china variety. nothing personal against China made products but its not exactly TopSecret that alot of those products leaves alot to be desired. just my 2cents ofcos. thxs again bro PCWORK for the greatjob rclxms.gif

0.0185sec    0.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:08 AM