> Umobile capped speed 100GB, apa jawapan umobile

SUSlurkingaround
post Oct 16 2019, 10:04 AM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(sssl4444 @ Oct 10 2019, 12:37 AM)
Nowadays Blu-ray movies and 4K movies are very big, so exceeded 100GB is very common. No need to bypass anything, just use the sim card with usb modem on pc. I also facing the same problem with GX30, speed drop after 100GB. Using the data 24/7.
The GX30/GX50 phone plan is capped at SD/480p/1.5Mbps for video-streaming, eg at Youtube. Streaming at 4k/2160p/UHD will require very long buffering. So, GX30/GX50 is not truly unlimited wrt download speed and monthly data.

FUP or monthly data limits/caps is very common with mobile telcos. Why.? = because they have to pay TM for the data put through the backend Fiber cable connection to the Internet, ie phone subscribers --> 4G cell towers --> TM Fiber land lines --> trans-ocean submarine fiber cables --> Internet or www. Hence, true unlimited monthly data only comes with fixed telcos like TM Unifi Fiber or Copper.

Downloading 1 hour of 4k/2160p/UHD video = 8GB of data. Instead of downloading at 4k, dl at 480p/SD or 360p. ...
....... Dl 1 hour of 480p video = 0.5GB of data. So, 100GB per month will give you 200 hours of 480p videos = 200 episodes of HK TVB shows or 100 movies per month. This should satisfy most phone plan subscribers.

Fyi, using the GX30/GX50 phone plan with a USB 4G modem dongle or 4G modem-router is illegal and can be banned/blacklisted or CTOS'ed by U Mobile.

Digi 150 Infinite phone plan is data capped at 1TB per month and can be used with a 4G modem-router or USB modem. U Mobile P139 Hero should be similarly data capped monthly and can be used with a 4G modem.
....... TM Unifi Fiber or Copper(= Unifi Lite or ex-Streamyx)/Unifi Air/Unifi Mobile and Maxis Fiber are truly unlimited or not data-capped.

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Oct 21 2019, 11:13 AM
SUSlurkingaround
post Oct 16 2019, 01:52 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(kevin23)
Exactly. Duno what these jokers do until can reach 100gb every month.

Download an AAA/3D game = about 30GB of data.
Download a 2 hour movie in 4k/2160p/UHD = 16GB of data.
....... At 5Mbps, it will take about 5 hours to download the 16GB 2-hour 4k movie.

The hotspot limit of the GX30/GX50 phone plan, eg to share Internet data with a computer/laptop, can be bypassed with certain apps. Again, this is illegal = against the T&C.

Mobile telcos can use Deep Packet Inspection of suspect-subscribers' web traffic to detect illegal users.

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Oct 21 2019, 11:12 AM
SUSlurkingaround
post Oct 16 2019, 04:51 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(kevin23)
.Download a 4k movie? Hahaha.. Goodluck with that. After 10mins u will give up. It will take you a month to finish downloading that 4k movie.

Btw, u won't get 5Mbps with Gx50 yea..

With the GX50 phone plan and mobile hotspot(= 5GB limit), I had downloaded the 3.4GB Win 10 32bit ISO file in about 2 hours(= at 5Mbps) to my computer.

So, a 16GB 4k movie of 2 hrs will take about 9 hours(correction = not 5 hrs) to download with the GX50 plan; a 4GB 1080p movie of 2 hrs will take about 2+ hours; and a 1GB 480p movie of 2 hrs will take only about 30 mins = better to use lower video resolution = faster to dl.

480p videos are quite satisfactory for viewing on the phone's small 6" screen or even on a 14" laptop. Large screen TVs require at least 1080p. Only TV screens larger than 55" or AR headsets(= screen is very close to the eyes) require 4k/2160p = 4k videos are not noticeably different if viewed on TV screens smaller than 55".

240p is blurry, even on a phone.

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Oct 21 2019, 11:11 AM
SUSlurkingaround
post Oct 16 2019, 05:04 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(Too Cloudy @ Oct 16 2019, 04:15 PM)
My current bypass is free from using any apps or vpns
Modified Huawei Bxxx 4G modem-router.?

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Oct 16 2019, 05:05 PM
SUSlurkingaround
post Oct 16 2019, 08:38 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Oct 16 2019, 05:04 PM)
Modified Huawei Bxxx 4G modem-router.?

QUOTE(Too Cloudy @ Oct 16 2019, 05:26 PM)
Nope...still using my hp as a wifi hotspot...no additional apps or vpns needed
Manually set your own proxy server.?

Whatever bypass method you use, it is illegal and can be detected by the mobile telcos. They only need to do some homework(= Deep Packet Inspection), like what private investigators do. Once detected, U Mobile can clamp down hard on subscribers who use its mobile network illegally or against the T&C.

P S - The US government/FCC does not allow the ISPs to conduct Deep Packet Inspection on their subscribers = some US mobile telcos do not allow mobile hotspot in their phone plans.

P P S - Afaik, YES's phone plans do not allow mobile hotspot = YES does not want the hassle and extra costs in tracking down illegal bypassers of the mobile hotspot monthly data limit.

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Oct 17 2019, 09:59 AM
SUSlurkingaround
post Oct 27 2019, 01:28 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(Azizulkaito @ Oct 27 2019, 11:52 AM)
Is umobile start to capped at 80gb now? I felt like my internet become more slow since yesterday when i reached that quota.
Note that U Mobile will throttle your download speed if it detects you doing P2P/torrenting. It may also throttle or disconnect you to give indirect warning if you use illegal/unapproved hotspot limit bypass methods or 4G Mifi/modems with your phone plan.
...... Otherwise, throttling by U Mobile should only happen after exceeding 100GB of data per month.

P S - 4G LTE cell signals are line-of-sight = blocked by walls, tall buildings, hills, heavy rain, etc. The signals have a range of only 3 miles/5km for Internet data. So, ensure your phone is not blocked and is within range.
....... Network congestion can also affect your dl speed since a 4G cell tower can only accommodate up to 60 users at any one time, on a 1st-come-1st-serve basis = once connected with good dl speed, do not standby or switch off your phone unless necessary, eg use an AC wall outlet or power-bank.

This post has been edited by lurkingaround: Oct 27 2019, 01:33 PM
SUSlurkingaround
post Nov 1 2019, 11:46 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(sssl4444 @ Nov 1 2019, 09:49 PM)
Now the limit had been set to 50gb, no more 100gb. U mobile had changed the policies for GX30 from 100gb quota to 50gb, over 50gb, no more high speed 3mbps, only basic 64kbps.
Is this new FUP confirmed, ie throttling when exceeded 50GB of data per month for GX12/30/50.?
SUSlurkingaround
post Nov 2 2019, 04:40 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(sssl4444 @ Nov 1 2019, 09:49 PM)
Now the limit had been set to 50gb, no more 100gb. U mobile had changed the policies for GX30 from 100gb quota to 50gb, over 50gb, no more high speed 3mbps, only basic 64kbps.
https://www.winrayland.com/2019/11/u-mobile-gx50.html

I just got off the phone with U Mobile Customer Service. After checking, the CS girl confirmed to me that there has been no change in the FUP, ie the existing threshold for throttling is still at 100GB of data per month and not 50GB per month. So, most likely Fake News from U Mobile's business enemies, who should be sued.

Anyone exceeded 50GB per month on GX30/50 phone plan and got throttled to 0.5Mbps at 8pm - 1am.?
SUSlurkingaround
post Nov 3 2019, 12:04 PM

Rule of Law
7,066 posts

QUOTE(ciwi1166 @ Nov 3 2019, 10:38 AM)
this. although i do not support the telcos practice of abusing the word ‘unlimited’, i think most users arejust lazy to do their due diligence in checking. simple action could avoid you the trouble.

i also dun know where the assumption of unlimited quota will also means unlimited high speed comes from. not even the biggest of telcos in the world can offer both.
What is GX50?

GX50 is a postpaid plan which is bundled with UNLIMITED data for ANYTHING, UNLIMITED calls and free 5GB hotspot. You can use your UNLIMITED data (5mbps) add this for ALL usage on your smartphone (example: Web browsing, Social, Video streaming like Twitch and Music streaming like Joox, Spotify, Apple Music, Email and much more).

https://www.u.com.my/plans/gilerunlimited/p...ASAAEgLFtvD_BwE
The above seems like false advertising or bait-and-switch marketing tactic.

Unifi Fiber, Unifi Air, Unifi Mobile 99 and Unifi Mobile Bebas give true unlimited data consumption and cheaper Internet plans for Fiber Ethernet modems, 4G modems and phones because TM has a monopoly on the HSBB Fiber network in West Malaysia.
....... Other mobile telcos could not give the same because they have to pay TM Fiber for Internet data and bandwidth/speed. Hence, they use T&C and FUP to limit the amount of Internet data consumed by their data-"unlimited" subscribers, eg U Mobile GX50/30 phone plan is limited to SD/480p/0.8Mbps for video-streaming and to 60kbps/0.6Mbps when exceeded 100GB/50GB(.?) for the month.

0.0215sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:03 PM