QUOTE(moosset @ Nov 29 2019, 06:35 PM)
limited trading hours for today.Hong Kong Exchange & HK Stocks, Per title post-Extradition Bill W/drawal
Hong Kong Exchange & HK Stocks, Per title post-Extradition Bill W/drawal
Nov 29 2019, 06:35 PM
1,917 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
Dec 13 2019, 08:23 PM
wah .... HKD suddenly strengthened against USD.
how come? |
Dec 13 2019, 08:37 PM
Dec 27 2019, 09:27 AM
Is any of the Fortune REIT properties affected by the HK protest?
Jan 15 2020, 04:41 PM
thinking of buying Tencent but at 400HKD per unit and min 100 unit, then min purchase is RM40,000??
so expensive! |
Jan 16 2020, 05:03 PM
Jan 16 2020, 05:16 PM
QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Jan 15 2020, 09:05 PM) QUOTE(GenY @ Jan 16 2020, 05:04 PM) It's cheaper when u buy when ppl are fearful and blood is on the streets. True but still very pricey. I (and I believe foofoosasa too) bought Tencent at around HKD325. Alibaba and JD also made me very happy. so when sell also min 100 units? |
Jan 17 2020, 05:27 AM
QUOTE(TOS @ Jan 16 2020, 09:36 PM) Their portfolio tends to be more resilient during though times as they mainly service public housing community. And they show good move in diversifying their portfolio into developed markets like Australia (with the purchase of 100 Market Street) recently. yes, I agree. Link is better for long term, especially when you consider the price appreciation about 15% CAGR over the past 9 years vs Fortune, only about 9%. I am aware of Fortune REIT but didn't have much holdings in it. Link is more established than Fortune and has been a favourite stock for dividend-hungry investors for years. I love its low gearing in particular, probably the lowest among all high quality REITs in SG and HK. That said, Link has a very bad reputation in treating the underprivileged tenants in the past. A very immoral company. Too bad I have too little shares to voice out for them... So, you prefer Fortune over Link? Why? I hold Fortune simply because I had HKD which I got it ready to buy AliBaba but in the end, I bought the one in NYSE. Since I already got HKD, I thought of buying a stock which I can hold for short to medium term instead of converting my HKD back to another currency. This is only temporary as I try to figure out which other US/EU stocks to invest. I chose Fortune over LINK in the end due to the higher dividend yield. Both are great with increasing DPU. If I were to hold long term, LINK would definitely be better. It's not bad to buy now (since I try not to time the market), but around 80HKD would be optimal. |
Jan 22 2020, 09:18 PM
Jan 23 2020, 05:00 PM
QUOTE(markedestiny @ Jan 23 2020, 03:10 PM) HSI is very red not just due to the usual pre-CNY sell off (most dont like to keep stocks for the long holidays ahead) but also the mounting spread of coronavirus which China thinks it could put it under control but is struggling to contain. Wuhan is now under lockdown, no entry and exit Will TopGlov listed in SGX also benefit?Glove manufacturers especially Topglove which was mentioned in bloomberg news as the largest manufacturer stands to gain as the virus has begins to spread beyond China. Guess some funds will flow back to KLSE for these counters.. |
Jan 29 2020, 10:31 AM
Jan 29 2020, 05:10 PM
QUOTE(TOS @ Jan 29 2020, 02:38 PM) Who knows if it can dip below 75 HKD? I thought you wanted to buy earlier? now you want to wait? Everyone is afraid of virus. Nonsense. Viruses are everywhere. It's not like people don't need to eat or drink when SARS hit in 2003. Markets are too efficient at digesting information! It seems. |
Jan 30 2020, 10:09 PM
Feb 3 2020, 10:29 AM
by the way, what's the reason LINK and Fortune keep going down since July 2019? Is it just the protest?
QUOTE(TOS @ Feb 3 2020, 10:13 AM) Thanks for the info. But I am not based in Singapore, can open an account there? I asked about opening a bank account in Singapore when I was an intern back there in the open SG bank account thread and was already recommended by members there not to open an account. can definitely open lah .... MY & SG are like brothers! If opening a bank account as an intern is already so hard, I can't imagine how it is possible to open a stock trade account as a foreigner. Maybe have to wait till I work there? try to read the other thread about opening a bank account in SG. This post has been edited by moosset: Feb 3 2020, 10:34 AM |
Feb 5 2020, 10:59 AM
Feb 8 2020, 01:01 PM
TOS I usually refrain from convincing ppl to invest but since you contributed quite a lot to this forum, I thought I should also give you my 2¢.
I agree with what apathen said. If I were you, I'd open a trading acc in HK and keep at least one bank acc in HK. Once you leave, it's almost impossible to open. I still have my bank accounts in 2 european countries and my trading acc there is still active, even though I try not to use them nowadays. I'll never know maybe in the future, I might use them again. I can't remember if it was Warren or Charlie, but it was said that time in the market is more important than timing the market. So, you should stay invested as early as possible. I wish I knew stock markets and investment when I was 18yo. |
Feb 8 2020, 01:02 PM
cubalagi
Sorry; I can't remember what you said, can you please remind me again? What's the difference between HSCEI and HSI ETF fund? I think it's 2828 and 2800? Which is better? edit for more info: I was actually more interested in HK REITs. Since I'm focusing more on growth stocks in the US & Europe, I thought I should balance my portfolio with dividend stocks in HK & SG. But @Markdestiny said, HK Reit is not worth it...., so time to choose HSI/HSCEI? This post has been edited by moosset: Feb 8 2020, 01:07 PM |
Feb 8 2020, 01:59 PM
QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Feb 8 2020, 01:32 PM) HSI is 50 largest companies listed in HK. This includes HK companies like HSBC, HKEX and Chinese companies like Tencent, China Mobile. ah, thanks! I thought I read somewhere before that there were overlapped. I must have confused with something else. They are both very different and makes me feel like an idiot now. HSCEI is 50 largest Chinese companies listed in HKEX. No HK companies like HSBC there. All just Chinese companies Since I am bearish HK long term and bullish China long term, I prefer HSCEI over HSI. anyway, HSCEI is mostly reliant on CCP, no? it's mostly government controlled? |
Feb 16 2020, 01:22 AM
will this affect HK REITs?
HONG KONG, Feb 12 - Some shopping mall landlords in Hong Kong, including Sun Hung Kai Properties, the city's largest property developer by value, are offering relief measures such as rental concession to their tenants during the coronavirus outbreak. Sun Hung Kai Properties, who owns major malls in some of the local districts that host international fashion brands ranging from Coach to Zara, said on Wednesday it would reduce February rent by 30-50% for most of its tenants, in an effort to stabilize economy and protect employment. https://www.todayonline.com/world/hks-sun-h...-retail-tenants |
Mar 9 2020, 11:23 AM
so time for tracker fund and 10¢?
| Change to: | 0.0565sec