Worth considering?

TSDanialTan1990
post Sep 4 2019, 08:34 PM, updated 7y ago

223 posts

I got offer from bank for a protege(?) role?

What type of job description is this?
Cant find any information
Currently working permanently for 8 months ritr now at haulage company salary rm2400 plus rm250 ot. 28days working with 2days off.

Is this worth considering to choose for protege role?
SUS2feidei
post Sep 4 2019, 08:49 PM

Ayam tatau, ayam virgin (c)
3,158 posts

when you apply, you never see the job description?
TSDanialTan1990
post Sep 4 2019, 08:57 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(2feidei @ Sep 4 2019, 08:49 PM)
when you apply, you never see the job description?
Nope. I just send a resume to their website.
As always, official website never post any vacancy. I just randomly post to try my luck
SUS2feidei
post Sep 4 2019, 09:13 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(DanialTan1990 @ Sep 4 2019, 08:57 PM)
Nope. I just send a resume to their website.
As always, official website never post any vacancy. I just randomly post to try my luck
Interview never asked?
TSDanialTan1990
post Sep 4 2019, 09:14 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(2feidei @ Sep 4 2019, 09:13 PM)
Interview never asked?
The hr called me for an interview for the role.
I just accept and they will email me the invitation.
SUS2feidei
post Sep 4 2019, 10:29 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(DanialTan1990 @ Sep 4 2019, 09:14 PM)
The hr called me for an interview for the role.
I just accept and they will email me the invitation.
Then, go interview and find out lor biggrin.gif
SUSkolokua
post Sep 5 2019, 12:12 AM

56 posts

CIMB?
MikeWJ
post Sep 5 2019, 12:59 AM

80 posts

offered? or just interview?

protege means mentor mentee. basically like management trainee. aim to train and develop talents.

its normally very difficult to get. if you do get it they do focus on u and try to develop you.

its good for career development imo.

lancer193
post Sep 5 2019, 05:23 AM

207 posts

Protege is basically SL1M rebranded.

For my company, we hire protege to do some basic office work for 8 months. If good we absorb them into admin, or else they will have to look for other jobs in between.

Good thing is their notice period is one week so they have no commitment and can go anytime.

If you don't have any full time job now maybe can try.
TSDanialTan1990
post Sep 5 2019, 07:38 AM

223 posts

QUOTE(kolokua @ Sep 5 2019, 12:12 AM)
CIMB?
Yop
TSDanialTan1990
post Sep 5 2019, 07:39 AM

223 posts

QUOTE(MikeWJ @ Sep 5 2019, 12:59 AM)
offered? or just interview?

protege means mentor mentee. basically like management trainee. aim to train and develop talents.

its normally very difficult to get. if you do get it they do focus on u and try to develop you.

its good for career development imo.
I see. Btw it is just an interview. Not offer yet
TSDanialTan1990
post Sep 5 2019, 07:44 AM

223 posts

QUOTE(lancer193 @ Sep 5 2019, 05:23 AM)
Protege is basically SL1M rebranded.

For my company, we hire protege to do some basic office work for 8 months. If good we absorb them into admin, or else they will have to look for other jobs in between.

Good thing is their notice period is one week so they have no commitment and can go anytime.

If you don't have any full time job now maybe can try.
Is it only 8 months contract?
Currently im on full time job but the working hour and benefit is really killing me.

My current work:
2 days off in 4 weeks. 1 day on Sunday will be 24h. Salary rm27xx plus ot.

Should I consider this interview? I already had management trainee previously
lancer193
post Sep 5 2019, 03:12 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(DanialTan1990 @ Sep 5 2019, 07:44 AM)
Is it only 8 months contract?
Currently im on full time job but the working hour and benefit is really killing me.

My current work:
2 days off in 4 weeks. 1 day on Sunday will be 24h. Salary rm27xx plus ot.

Should I consider this interview?  I already had management trainee previously
Depends if you are confident enough that this company will absorb you after 8 months. I have seen some really good protege that didn't get absorb into permanent because the department got no allocation.

And the basic is only 2k, maybe yours will be higher but unlikely. Working hours depends on your department.
nexona88
post Sep 5 2019, 06:10 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,521 posts

just attend the interview first...

and since it's SL1M... well u know it's not permanent.. so if u were to accept the offer given, still search for jobs around. and since it's just 1 week notice period. u can out anytime...

0.0148sec    0.80    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:02 PM