These so called 'cyclist' phenomena
ahchat
Sep 3 2019, 03:30 PM
QUOTE(Stigonboard @ Sep 3 2019, 01:31 PM) Seems all the rage now - last time everyone want a dslr cam and show off - then everyone want to show off completing marathon - now everyone want to show off riding bicycles all over malaysia and then brag about their expensive bike in instagram/fb I wonder how long it last Im also a cyclist - i bought my frame 10 years ago and for few years just do several few km every day but cannot tahan this new wave of 'cyclist' But these social media cyclist love to put down ppl that cycle as a hobby like myself - bragging of their 'healthy lifestyle' but it look stupid when they still chug diabetes inducing sugary water, eat late night at mamak and then smoke ciggys I think this usually happens in road cycling groups....ive seen it with my own eyes already... want to ride together? they see u up n down, wat u wearing, your bike, your car etc...if u not on their level, they ignore u maybe not all, but some of them are like dat that's why us in mountainbiking scene, whenever got newcomers, most of them are ex roadbike rider who kenot tahan those RB assholes perangai
ahchat
Sep 3 2019, 04:08 PM
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Sep 3 2019, 03:44 PM) 15 yrs been road cycling with various groups, tak pernah lagi jumpa this kinda of attitude. good for you...me on the other hand, sudah kena ini macam
ahchat
Sep 3 2019, 04:12 PM
QUOTE(cheongster86 @ Sep 3 2019, 04:04 PM) its useless to friend with roadies. they are more obsessed with the bike instead of the sport itself. thats why i prefer mtb. the people are not as snobbish as roadies. put slick tyres on my mtb, i bet i can outrun those fat roadies. it gives you more satisfaction knowing a 5k bike can outrun a 30k bike. somehow true lol...but then again, there some RB riders that rides mtb as well, n they admit, mtb community much nicer lol RB is like golf la, some people do it for the sake of getting close with client/customers etc for business stuff
ahchat
Sep 3 2019, 04:46 PM
QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Sep 3 2019, 04:19 PM) maybe your face problem lei I ride cheapo CAMP 9 speed roadbike they ride spez venge axs groupset
ahchat
Sep 3 2019, 04:51 PM
QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Sep 3 2019, 04:27 PM) no la, not pointing at you but a lot of butt hurt people here i like that they buy high end stuff so their stuffs can go into used market, bike parts depreciate more than 50% wei maybe deswai a lot of MTBers also switch to RB, because more used things to buy so maybe RB make them look like rich people this also I agree lol...got few friends switch to RB coz got more awek ride RBs... n yeah, both RB n MTB got high end spenders, but later sell cheap2 when upgrade, I like these kind of people lol
ahchat
Sep 3 2019, 04:54 PM
QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Sep 3 2019, 04:47 PM) and they unfriended you on fb is it naahh...didn't bother to get to know them better
ahchat
Sep 3 2019, 04:58 PM
QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Sep 3 2019, 04:52 PM) okei, i take back whatever I said because we like to scavenge hehehe, that's why I said earlier, most of them ride RBs mainly got business related stuff... like MLM, need to flaunt their wealth to attract potential clients etc...after success, all stuff sell cheap2 while in MTB, mostly upgrade coz ikut kawan wanna try new things..after bosan, switch to other hobby, n sell their bikes cheap2
ahchat
Sep 3 2019, 05:15 PM
QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Sep 3 2019, 05:03 PM) although there are some, I have not really met that MANY people who flaunt their bikes in the road cycling fraternity I've met some with stitched gloves and torn jerseys or bibs, I mean, it is a much more humble fraternity than most put it out to be If you see one person showing off, innocuously it might tick some insecure minds but that alone should not be categorised as ALL road cyclists no? I have friends who do both too so what are they? Snobs too or for business related reasons? GH used to do a lot of MTBing marketing too so should that not be categorised as business related stuff? I didn't say all, some only... for those who did both, I think they are the best one, coz they will be more a more understanding n tolerant person as for bikeshops,yup bisnes related stuff...they will ride the new bike whenever got new models, then u wont see them anymore in the trails lol
ahchat
Sep 3 2019, 05:21 PM
QUOTE(RicoT @ Sep 3 2019, 05:18 PM) Different type of race/style to begin with. RB are those long distance endurance type of sports, and everyone have their own pace, like marathon, you don't see people waiting for each other, holding back is more tiring if you run with a slower person. No one is going to wait, either you keep up or get left behind. Also, usually they ride on pre-planned roads, if you got lost really need to fix a garmin map already. MTB is about navigating through rough terrain and come out in one piece, you ride finish one stretch and rest before continue type of sports, some trails have multiple paths and usually located in secluded areas, sometimes no phone signal. It is comparable to trail hiking/hashing. The sports have higher risk of injury and getting lost, so better stay together and watch out each other. MTB also got compare dick sizes one, like shocks, brakes, tyres, frame, etc. Just maybe MTB scene in Malaysia is not that hot yet, not many hardcore type, just chill riders getting from point A to B or searching for new trails/paths.RB is reducing unnecessary rolling/aero resistance so you can ride faster/longer, bearings, wheels, frame, etc. is important, every gram increase means you need to expend more energy to climb uphill. RB is easier to join into the fray, get a roadbike and start riding around housing area to train up. MTB need to haul bike to trails before start riding, and haul back home, every time.agreed on the bolded part
ahchat
Sep 3 2019, 05:45 PM
QUOTE(shikimori @ Sep 3 2019, 05:23 PM) Im cool with the show off roadies . New fad is the strava whore chasing after leaderboard for what ? Just to be beaten again by some farang with middle age crisis lol, this is currently happening in Kiara mtb trails...those ebikes been smashing KOM set by normal mtb QUOTE(cringe @ Sep 3 2019, 05:30 PM) Instead of spending thousands of buying the bike, I rather sign up for gym membership. each to their own brahh...I like gym session too, but its never as fun as riding n laughing with your friends in the trails
ahchat
Sep 4 2019, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Sep 4 2019, 09:02 AM) ahchat i tot mtb pipu all so nice never look down on others? dia ni jeles pipu got hilux
ahchat
Sep 4 2019, 10:35 AM
QUOTE(leinnz @ Sep 4 2019, 10:05 AM) errrmmmmm. fixie boleh join tak. but but naik bukit slow sikit. kena ada push up last time almost got a fixie bike coz of the movie premium rush...then, I almost endo trying to tiru the skidding technique no more fixie after that
ahchat
Sep 4 2019, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Sep 4 2019, 10:37 AM) here in ipoh, we all cycle no matter what bike ur riding. social cyclist? most of them were, but we never underestimate what bike ur riding. if u slow, then we wait together. their is no podium to chase. if u want podium, go enter a race! bydaway, this is me on smallwheel with all the roadies.  those folding bike can go really fast weyyy but yeah, nowadays folding bike also getting pricier due to it popularity among city commuter
ahchat
Sep 4 2019, 11:30 AM
TS Berjaya rosakkan muhibbah di kalangan cyclist lol
ahchat
Sep 4 2019, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(chilskater @ Sep 4 2019, 11:37 AM) Sy baru nak beli 2nd bike.. MtB ka RB? Cycle petang2 jer d taman perumahan.. Cyclocross..both road n offroad can ride
ahchat
Sep 4 2019, 12:39 PM
QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Sep 4 2019, 12:36 PM) respect bini, memang tabiat lycran Baggies pun ada...malam kata mau ride PCP, next morning FFK, teman bini pergi NSK lol
ahchat
Sep 4 2019, 12:53 PM
QUOTE(Boss262 @ Sep 4 2019, 12:46 PM) Tokok banyak la dalam tered ni. I started cycling back in 2016 with chepo MTB. now in 2019. I managed to lost 50% of my weight, from 143KG to 78KG. Currently I stop cycling focus on runnning because it burn more calorie and cycling activites has becoming plateau. below are my strava stat, can challenge or not? talk cog oni la you guys  wow, good for u can ride quite often...me on the other hand, weekend warrior je
ahchat
Sep 4 2019, 04:11 PM
QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Sep 4 2019, 03:57 PM) hahhaa.. true bro, cycling hobbies are totally wierd.its all depends on personal preference. if u got money and love it, then buy and dont care about what people may said. i had 1 friend who had swork venge, duraace groupset and some carbon wheels. but that friend only drive old proton saga. when he bring the bike on the car with roof rack, i do think that the bike are more expensive than his car. in bukit Kiara got 1 guy drives old saga as well, but on top is a santa cruz nomad v4cc fully decked with carbon parts n shiny groupset