Please Recommend... an MP3 player, version 2

wongpeter
post Nov 13 2010, 08:28 AM

973 posts

QUOTE(aztoiozalan @ Oct 29 2010, 01:37 PM)
hehehee...gumstick vs sansa...thats d only two thing shud compare but gumstick more WORTH EVERY penny..kekekeke class A people smile.gif racun..racun..kekekek
nope! now got new contenders already......

Cube C30 with BBE sound enhancement

Nationite S:Flo2

wongpeter
post Nov 20 2010, 08:11 AM

973 posts

QUOTE(ys2719 @ Nov 15 2010, 05:12 PM)
FYI, tat is not ipod. tat is "Nationite s:flo2". ipod is nowher near to s:flo2 in term of sound quality. ipod is over-hype!
+1
rclxms.gif
wongpeter
post Jan 7 2011, 05:53 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(Username is username @ Jan 6 2011, 12:31 PM)
please recommend me a good mp3 player with budget belo 100. 2gb is enough. as long as the SQ really great.
Philips GoGear 2GB - RM95

wongpeter
post Jan 27 2011, 10:46 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(Lsaizanm @ Jan 27 2011, 12:13 AM)
hello there..can anyone tell me which one is better between sony nw-s705f and hippo gumstick??
i dont know what to choose .. rclxub.gif

Added on January 27, 2011, 12:00 pmhurm ..anyone?? where r u guys ..i'm needing help here -____________-
Cube C30 is the best!
wongpeter
post Jan 31 2011, 09:33 AM

973 posts

QUOTE(Lsaizanm @ Jan 28 2011, 07:46 PM)
is it true ...why ?? blink.gif
Here's the reason why:

>>> Cube C30 Review <<<

Very few people on LYN talks about the Cube C30 and even less people talk about this head 2 head of Hippo Gumstick vs Cube C30. I wonder why? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by wongpeter: Jan 31 2011, 09:45 AM
wongpeter
post Feb 7 2011, 10:07 PM

973 posts

Seriously, you chaps should give this a try.....

not just gumstick..... s:flo2 ...... cube c30 .... cowon .... sony .... all the time

you may be surprised how good it sounds! after all it's only RM98 or is that the reason you peeps are not interested in it .... cos its too cheap? drool.gif

you can always pass it on to your kid brother or sister if you don't like it! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wongpeter: Feb 7 2011, 10:10 PM
wongpeter
post Feb 13 2011, 01:15 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Feb 5 2011, 11:46 AM)
Well, Jaben bundles them up with a few earphone choices FYI.
But at an increased cost.

But the spec says up to 130mW of output...woah. But from the impressions though, it sounds softer.  hmm.gif
Shows you how output doesn't matter. Maybe it's maximum...maybe for some kind of reserve maybe.
The Cube F1 earphones that comes for free with the C30 are so good that I don't mind paying RM100 for them. The clarity & detail is quite breathtaking, but only if you like bright sound, definitely not for bassheads. The BBE on the C30 makes the music comes alive! Once the BBE eq kicks in the volume goes up by a few notches, you can feel the ambience and the music literally sparkle. Prolly when the reviewer said its 'softer' compared to the gumstick is the C30 in Normal mode w/o BBE. Unless one is deaf I would say the Cube C30 has ample volume to satisfy anyone. I'd still take the C30 over the gumstick even if its RM50 more cos now that I've heard what the BBE can do .......I want it! thumbup.gif

Sometimes I feel that ppl miss the forest for the trees. The forest is the music and the trees is the sound. Life is too short to be anal about the sound when you can be enjoying the music! rclxms.gif

Added on February 13, 2011, 1:30 pm
QUOTE(beederbest @ Feb 8 2011, 09:04 AM)
Good SQ
long battery life, don like to charge frequently( more than 20 hours)
size not bigger than Ipod nano
reliable and long lasting I would like to keep it as long as I can without breaking down.
budget: RM300 plus minus, dun mind if it's cheap as long as it meets the requirement. use to listen to music with IEM.

Anyone can recommend me one?

Added on February 8, 2011, 9:32 am

may I know how is the SQ compared to gumstick? I previously tried sony I found it dull compared to Gumstick, musicality is what the gumstick offers i guess.
If musicality is what you are after, I'd say the Cube C30 has the edge over the gumstick. Throw in the excellent Cube F1 IEM for free and its a no brainer!.

Added on February 13, 2011, 1:33 pm
QUOTE(GenericMav @ Feb 9 2011, 11:57 AM)
this phillips? as far as i can tell, quite worth for a RM98 player, you get for what you pay  laugh.gif
but still, it got a LONG way to compare with gumstick  whistling.gif
yes it's excellent value for money @RM98.

compare with the gumstick? try the Cube C30 then. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by wongpeter: Feb 13 2011, 01:33 PM
wongpeter
post Feb 13 2011, 10:03 PM

973 posts

For the Cube C30 you can enquire with the TS of this thread:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1273986&hl=
wongpeter
post Feb 26 2011, 11:17 AM

973 posts

QUOTE(Vcys86 @ Feb 26 2011, 11:03 AM)
may i know where can i get gumstick at KL? Lowyat plaza? or any sifus here sellng at better price??

how about comparing gumstick to Sandisk Sansa Clip Plus? SQ wise?
notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
SQ wise Sansa Clip+ lose to Gumstick lose to Cube C30. thumbup.gif

Faster go here for ---> Cube C30 Bulk
wongpeter
post Feb 26 2011, 06:23 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(Vcys86 @ Feb 26 2011, 05:12 PM)
TQ for the reply..
any other choices out there besides C30?
i just want to have a choices  tongue.gif
Yes, HifiMAN HM-801 ....approx RM3000 (US$850) - most expensive bang for the buck!

or go pasar malam and ask for the Rose brand FM radio from China, cannot play mp3 only got radio, comes with free no-name earbuds for RM12 ..... cheapest bang for the buck!
wongpeter
post Feb 27 2011, 04:03 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Feb 27 2011, 12:52 PM)
Oh okay. Good to hear.
I wanna see and hear for myself its difference with the Gumstick.
As I don't own a gumstick what i am going to say could be mere conjecture. But if you tell me that the gumstick doesn't have BBE then I have to say that the difference is like day and night with and without BBE. It just makes the music sound so much more vibrant and alive. The settings I like are BBE, Viva, MP and Headphone 2 and I haven't even tried tweaking the User 1, 2, and 3 settings. thumbup.gif
wongpeter
post Feb 27 2011, 07:43 PM

973 posts

On the C30 there are the Preset EQ's:

1. Normal
2. Rock
3. Jazz
4. Classical
5. Pop
6. Bass
7. User

and the BBE settings:

1. BBE
2. BBE Viva
3. BBE Viva2
4. BBE MP
5. BBE Headphone1
6. BBE Headphone2
7. BBE Headphone3
8. User1
9. User2
10. User3

I haven't tried the User EQ in the Presets section but can tell you that other than the Normal setting the rest i.e. Rock, Jazz, Classical, Pop and Bass are absolutely CRAP! Maybe the developer purposely put in the useless Preset EQ's just to show how excellent the BBE settings really are! laugh.gif

wongpeter
post Mar 1 2011, 12:37 PM

973 posts

The Cube C30 is a tiny MP3 player, as you can see from these photos, which is primarily dedicated to audio with a compatibility with MP3, WMA, APE and Flac, BBE effects and a capacity of 32GB expandable via a microSD slot. Expect to pay a price around $100.

source <--- That's what this site claims anyway. I'd stay safe and limit it a 16gb microSD. For myself, I use my C30 4gb with a 8gb microSD and I find 12gb is plenty enough even for flacs. Since it can't support 96khz/24bit files I would say you can easily fit in 12 flac albums estimating each flac album at 1gb. Of course there are lots of flac albums that goes for far less than 1gb.

Question.... why do you need a 32gb TF for use with the C30? Or maybe you wanna watch some movies on it's 3 line screen? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by wongpeter: Mar 1 2011, 01:14 PM
wongpeter
post Mar 1 2011, 07:05 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(MrJinggles @ Mar 1 2011, 03:09 PM)
Wasn't aware the C30 has video playback. Personally, 32GB is not enough storage for my selection of MP3 songs.
Here's an insightful discussion of the Cowon X7 vs Cowon J3 - http://www.head-fi.org/forum/thread/537623...-cowon-j3-or-x7
Of course it doesn't have video playback. tongue.gif

Just curious, how long will it take approx to get through your entire selection of mp3 song, more than 24hours non-stop? Taking 1gb for an average album I think it's not feasible to listen to 32gb(albums) of songs at any one sitting.

This post has been edited by wongpeter: Mar 1 2011, 07:12 PM
wongpeter
post Mar 5 2011, 01:53 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(001hp @ Mar 5 2011, 12:40 PM)
Guys, can give some comment on which is better?
Sony NW-S746 / Hippo Gumstick
**For listening vocal and instrument
Philips GoGear Ariaz 8GB is better.....

wongpeter
post Mar 6 2011, 11:58 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(001hp @ Mar 5 2011, 12:40 PM)
Guys, can give some comment on which is better?
Sony NW-S746 / Hippo Gumstick

I saw a forumer selling sony S746 for RM300 which about the same with gumstick. So which will be suiting me or pair with my AKG K77?

**For listening vocal and instrument
For RM300 you should take the Cowon iAudio E2 4GB @ RM275. When it comes to SQ the BBE will blow away the competition in that price range.

Get it at here: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1757530 thumbup.gif
wongpeter
post Mar 8 2011, 09:48 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(beederbest @ Mar 8 2011, 12:47 PM)
cube c30. also with BBE like Cowon. internal memory 4 GB, can also expand memory up to 32GB with micro sd. only Rm170 if join bulk.
yes yes, the C30 is of course excellent value as well as superb SQ. thumbup.gif
Since he mentioned RM300(budget?) I thought maybe the Cowon would also work for him.
wongpeter
post Mar 8 2011, 10:44 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(beederbest @ Mar 8 2011, 10:34 PM)
with budget of RM300 doesn't neccessary need to get Rm300 music player right? sometimes a cheaper priced player can does greater job.
bulk for batch 1 for cube c30 just arrived. without BBE the sound is similar to hippo gumstick (based on my memory of having owned a gumstick last time). once the bbe is turned on, fuhhh... it kills  drool.gif
I told you so! tongue.gif No BBE is like half boiled eggs without kicap and lada, langsung tadak kick. The BBE is the kicap and lada! laugh.gif
wongpeter
post Mar 9 2011, 11:12 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(001hp @ Mar 9 2011, 10:37 PM)
hmm.gif Than how about sandisk fuze+, have been asking a forumer for it.
Fuze+ navigation got problem? why i see so many review say it very bad rclxub.gif

Haha i cannot wait when i want to buy things so if possible i looking for COD in KL.
I have both Sansa Fuze+ and Cube C30. I find that I am spending more and more time with the C30. I would say SQ-wise, the Fuze+ is good but the C30 still has the edge. If I take into consideration the pricing of RM300+ for the Fuze+ and RM170 for the C30 I have to say the C30 wins by a mile! And the C30 comes with the excellent F1 earphone FOC which I find quite amazing esp since I like bright sound.

This post has been edited by wongpeter: Mar 9 2011, 11:56 PM
wongpeter
post Mar 10 2011, 05:12 PM

973 posts

fwiw I am thinking of getting the C700 cos it's supposed to have the clearest and brightest screen. excellent for move viewing.

0.0270sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:49 AM