PC Audio Please Recommend... a 2.1 or 5.1 speaker set V2, Comparison and advice needed...

ashburn98
post Jul 5 2008, 11:25 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

Sifus around.

I just bought Creative SB X-Fi sound card and using a Labtec brand 2.1 speaker. All along, I am only using mobo integrated sound card and that 2.1 speaker.

My friend (audio fan) asked me to put away the speakers and get a good 5.1 speaker. What are the better models?

Also, is HiFi speakers better than PC speakers?
ashburn98
post Feb 4 2009, 02:34 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

Pricing aside, do you guys think Aego M is miles ahead of Edifier S330?
ashburn98
post Feb 5 2009, 09:14 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

Razzd, are you looking to let go of your Aego M? Do let me know if you are considering.

I haven't went for demo testings yet but I know I'm a slow music listener.
ashburn98
post Feb 7 2009, 07:19 AM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

Guys, be sure to let me know when T3 is available for demo in KL.
ashburn98
post Feb 8 2009, 09:09 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

Did a round of speaker demo in Lowyat today. First off, AegoM in Tong Lee audio shop at ground floor. Disappointed with the shop (and sound) because one of the satelitte was dead and the speaker was right outside of the shop surrounded by all the noise. I actually went to HiWay Laser @ Pudu earlier to try AegoM but it is closed.

Went to Edifier top level for S330 demo. The shopkeeper there was very friendly. C3 was clearer than S330 to me, so out goes S330.

Went Hyper IT, Viewnet, Thundermatch, Sri Computers to try other models. The only that stood out was Creative Gigaworks t40. Looks are deceiving, like AE satellites. Big in size doesn't mean big in quality.

None of those shops knows if Creative Gigaworks T3 is coming or not. Just answered "Dunno supplier got bring in or not", which ticks me off a bit. How is the supplier going to justify bringing in a product if the shops don't bother to feedback to the supplier of that product's demand?

Anyways, brought my car audiophile pal along for his opinion comparing different speakers. Still haven't bought anything yet.
ashburn98
post Feb 8 2009, 09:36 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Feb 8 2009, 09:15 PM)
did u try out the r1900t3? what's ur opinion?
Sorry, I didn't specifically try 2.0 speakers this round (I am trying to look for a 2.1). Nearing the end where I was looking/asking for Creative Gigaworks T3, the Creative speaker section have Gigawork T40 and T20 which I tested out of curiousity.
ashburn98
post Feb 9 2009, 10:36 AM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

QUOTE(insane.gamer @ Feb 9 2009, 07:35 AM)
whats the cheapest 5.1 speakers  i can get now ah?
I know Sonic Gear these days are pushing out lots of speakers. They have like 6-7 speaker series in the market right now. Anyhow, I would also say that sound quality is more important than cheap pricing when it comes to audio.
ashburn98
post Feb 9 2009, 09:49 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

QUOTE(EQs @ Feb 9 2009, 08:45 PM)
what is the best 2.1 audio system i can get with budget RM400 and below...
YTou have to tell us what kind of music you listen to.
ashburn98
post Feb 13 2009, 11:13 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

QUOTE(kayone @ Feb 13 2009, 09:37 PM)
please rekomen me 5.1 speaker budget under rm400.. ty..
mainly anime and songs..
Under RM400, maybe Edifier R501MK2?
ashburn98
post Feb 14 2009, 02:12 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

QUOTE(fieznur81 @ Feb 14 2009, 01:51 PM)
how bout this one? rolleyes.gif shud be around 24k Yen right now.  whistling.gif Yamaha TSS-20 5.1 channel with Dolby Pro-Logic II, Dolby Digital, DTS , Yamaha Cinema DSP mode. i dont even know wht i am saying now sweat.gif
Anywhere in KL to demo? laugh.gif
ashburn98
post Feb 14 2009, 02:44 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Feb 14 2009, 09:51 AM)
Guys need recommendation on a good 2.1 speaker for my room connected to LCD to play PS3...current built in LCD speakers not that good for me.

Advice appreciated...budget umm below 500 lor
Games, probably those with heavier bass. Maybe Edifier S530 (forgot price) or Klipsch GMX 2.1?
ashburn98
post Feb 16 2009, 09:45 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

QUOTE(Edifier @ Feb 16 2009, 09:36 PM)
S330 still available and not EOL so fast smile.gif
If they bring in S330D, then maybe S330 be EOL.
ashburn98
post Feb 17 2009, 07:58 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

QUOTE(Neiji @ Feb 17 2009, 06:50 PM)
Any1 can recommend a multimedia speaker budget btw RM150-250?? Can't afford too much cuz just buy a LCD monitor~~ And which 1 is better 2:1 or 5:1??
Bro, not likely you can get anything extremely good with RM250 for a 5.1 speakers. Either you wait and save more for 5.1 or go for a 2.1
ashburn98
post Feb 18 2009, 07:09 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

QUOTE(Neiji @ Feb 18 2009, 05:00 PM)
Thx for the info,last time never considered Edifier,now got some options dy~~~ biggrin.gif
How bout Sonic Gear EGO8 and Enzo600?? Compare to M3300 which 1 nicer??? I see the spec between them and I found out EGO8 and Enzo 600 got higher watt then M3300.
Is it higher watt means better quality in sound?? unsure.gif
Few things to answer yourself first, before jumbling yourself with products choices
1. Will you mainly be using it for music, games, or movies?
(2.1 or 5.1)

2. What kind of music you listen to most of the time?
(Will nail down your preference for more emphasis on bass, midrange or treble reproduction). Opera lovers will buy very different models than rock music lovers.

3. Budget?
(which products realistically that is in your price range)

4. Test those 4 - 5 products with your own ears. Buy the one you like most.

Personally, I don't think much of Sonic Gear products, for now. But you don't get much quality choices in RM150 bracket...

ashburn98
post Feb 22 2009, 07:03 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

My perception is 5.1 speakers (RM250-400) ones are meant for movie watching, not specially for instrumental music.

Since it's for laptop, I'll suggest Creative T40. You can demo it in All IT Hypermart in LYP.
ashburn98
post Feb 22 2009, 09:45 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

I think for RM400 in the market, there's no 5.1 speakers which owns in midrange & treble. Even S330 (2.1 speaker) is already priced at RM409.

I fear, RM 250-400 range for 5.1 speakers would likely land you on some brands which is just loud but sacrifices on sound quality. If that's all right with you, then by all means.

RM400 can get you a new 2.1 speakers that will produce good instrumental music. If you want 5.1, you'll need to put in more.
ashburn98
post Feb 23 2009, 06:16 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

QUOTE(jianwei87 @ Feb 23 2009, 01:54 PM)
Any speaker recommend for movie and music?
Budget? And what music you listen to?
ashburn98
post Feb 23 2009, 08:53 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

QUOTE(wingster @ Feb 23 2009, 06:20 PM)
hmm if like then how about the Creative T-Series speaker?

is that nice even the speaker comes with small size and also durable? because it looks like cannot tahan more than 1-2 years X_X

also a slightly off-topic, because I want to uses the speaker with the Creative 5.1 Xifi Surround USB Sound Card so does the quality drops while using a 2.1 speakers?
Creative T-Series has T20 (2.0), T40 (2.0) and T3 (2.1). I would go for T3 if I can wait and afford it (or go down to S'pore and get it). Because T20 and T40 are both 2.0; their advantage is space saving, but do you need that? How much space do you have on your table and how much space your speakers sound have to cover/how big is your room?

Does big size equates to durability? I believe quality components, regardless of size, equates to durability.

On external sound cards, sorry, can't help you there.

ashburn98
post Feb 23 2009, 09:12 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

QUOTE(jianwei87 @ Feb 23 2009, 07:06 PM)
My budget RM400-600. Any music
Easy. Your budget gives you a variety of good choices. Bring along your mp3 player and go test those RM400 above and let your own ears decide. At RM400 baseline, you have Klipsch Promedia 2.1 for bass & S330 for balanced sound. Those two should provide you with the sound stardard to compare your other choices.

ashburn98
post Mar 2 2009, 09:32 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

Well, I hope the Edifier shop at Lowyat Plaza Level 3 has both M3300 and M3400 for you to test. I'm pretty sure they have both. I know I saw both M3300 and M3400 in Sri Computers but it is probably not easy to test the sound, given the amount of speakers being on at the same time.

0.3520sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:00 AM