PC Audio Please Recommend... a 2.1 or 5.1 speaker set V2, Comparison and advice needed...
Dinghydoggy
Dec 19 2008, 05:31 PM

Hiya I'm planning on getting a 5.1 speaker set to plug into a BenQ E2400 HD monitor... sound coming mainly from PS3 HDMI. I already have a set of Audio Technica headphones but I want a good set of speakers for when friends come over or when my head gets tired of wearing headphones, etc.
Budget around RM500. What would you guys recommend? Also, would a 2.1 setup sound a lot better at that price? I've never had a 5.1 setup before so I dunno if my PS3 experience would greatly improve because of surround.
Thanks in advance.
Dinghydoggy
Dec 20 2008, 12:27 AM

What about Edifiers? Been hearing a lot about 'em.
Dinghydoggy
Dec 21 2008, 01:08 AM

QUOTE If u wan Edifier at around RM500 budget,there is a 5.1 model called R501mkII at jus RM399,sound is quite good,many ppl choose this model when finding for low cost 5.1 speaker,it doesnot disapointed too. Good 2.1 speaker u can get at this price included Edifier S330 Klipsch promedia GMA 2.1 Altec lansing FX4021 Of course there are still many model u can choose,for ur usage in PS3,i think the Klipsch will more suitable for u,becoz it is cheaper than FX4021 and perform very good bass. Edifier are more suitable for music. ** all is personal opinion,jus for reference only  Thanks for the reply... Okay I think I'm down to between the R501mkII and the MX5021 'cause I do wanna try a surround sound experience. Only one I've tried was in the cinema.  (Although if the sound quality between a 2.1 and a 5.1 is really THAT huge, I may reconsider). Between the Edifier and the Altec Lansing models stated above, is there a big difference in quality? Do note that I may probably use it for music and movies too since my PS3 is a media hub (320 gb, baby!  ). The only pair of speakers I've ever bought in my entire life are the Altec Lansing 45.1's, which have served me faithfully for probably about 8 years now. Super boomy bass with not much definition on anything else though. And let's say I decide to buy one of these speakers. Where can I find 'em at a decent price? All IT Hypermarket in Low Yat or something? This post has been edited by Dinghydoggy: Dec 21 2008, 01:17 AM
Dinghydoggy
Dec 21 2008, 02:04 AM

QUOTE(xk2 @ Dec 21 2008, 01:33 AM) u can find them inside all major shop in Low Yat.One thing i gonna ask u,do u like the sound of ur previous Altec Lansing 45.1 ? if ya,then u may dun like the Edifier S330,becoz it wont give u the feeling as ur previous speaker.It is more on clarity and tight bass.Very suitable for classic music and song from singer such as Celine Dion.Clarity is the main point here(**no trance & techno).If u wan the 5.1,R501mkII will be the choice with cheap price at RM399 and decent performance.MX5021 is above RM500 but less than RM600,quite good for games and movie.Music lack a bit depend on wat kind of music u listen.If u often listen to western POP song such as those from britney spears as example,Mx5021 will be best choice. All can be found in Low yat plaza,test them to see which one u like most b4 buy  I actually don't really like the sound of my Altecs... I find the bass too boomy without any clear definition on the highs or mids. I prefer clarity and tight, punchy bass. I don't listen to trance or techno either. I listen mainly to pop, funk, and a little bit of everything else (except rap, hip hop, and classical). But most of all I wanna be able to hear the oomph in explosions, bullets ricocheting off metal and zinging around, the crunch of footsteps on gravel, the rich sound of voices, etc. to give the best gaming experience possible within my budget of RM600. But I also play a lot of Rock Band, so music is still important.  But is there a big difference in quality between the R501mkII and the MX5021 to warrant the RM 100 over price difference? Thanks so much for the advice so far ya.
Dinghydoggy
Dec 21 2008, 10:18 AM

QUOTE(xk2 @ Dec 21 2008, 02:33 AM) i think u take MX5021 la,it will more give u more 'ohmmmm'' than R501  Mmm... Now I have another problem. I need Dolby Digital/DTS/Pro Logic II decoding. Is there a good set of speakers that does this as well (like the Logitech Z-680)? Or do I buy a separate decoder on top of the speakers to make full use of the 5.1? If so, what decoder would you recommend? Thanks. Or HDMI into monitor and monitor out to 5.1 speakers = automatic Dolby Digital/DTS/Pro Logic II decoding and what I hear is what I would hear with a full home home theatre system in terms of sound placement and signals and stuff? I don't really understand the function of all the Dolby stuff too well. This post has been edited by Dinghydoggy: Dec 21 2008, 10:58 AM
Dinghydoggy
Dec 22 2008, 12:48 AM

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Dec 21 2008, 12:28 PM) What you want to know?  from your case, if you want speaker to decode the DTS/DD stuff (at least your speaker must have build in decoder), you need a digital output(Coaxial/optical) from you PC sound card (onboard/descrete)...or if you want to full use the 5.1 speaker(no build in decoder), you can use analog connection, just use your sound card to decode the sound and sent those signal separately to your speaker. See, here's the hypothetical scenario: I want to connect my PS3 to a BenQ E2200HD monitor via HDMI, and output the sound from the monitor's mini-jack to a 5.1 speaker set (probably the Altec Lansing MX5021). Would the mere fact that it's connected via HDMI to mini-jack to speaker gimme full surround sound? Or do I still have to buy some sort of decoder/receiver to act as a go-between or do I actually have to buy 5.1 speakers with a digital optical input? Wouldn't my PS3 be doing all the sound processing already? Do I still have to use its digital optical out in order to get full surround? I'm trying to work on a 1.2k budget here and yet get the best video/sound, that's why I'm planning on getting a full-HD monitor and 5.1 speaker set. Would I be able to get full surround sound from that simple setup? Or would it end up mere stereo divided into 5.1 speakers? Hope all my questions can be answered, thanks so much.
Dinghydoggy
Dec 22 2008, 12:18 PM

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Dec 22 2008, 01:32 AM) First of all, your monitor's mini jack is stereo analogue output, not digital output(SPDIF) that support multichannel sound, connect through this output to get surround is absolutely impossible.(from the spec, i didn't see any SPDIF terminal from your monitor, so i assume it is just analogue output, please read the manual carefully) You got two options 1.Get the PC speaker that support digital optical connection. 2. forget about PC speaker, buy AV receiver and home theater system speaker. Okay. Let's say I go for option 1. Any good recommendations for a PC speaker with digital optical input? And if I went for option 2, what's the minimum price I'll have to fork out for a decent set of receiver, sub, and 5 satellites (something that'll sound just as good as option 1, at least)?
Dinghydoggy
Dec 23 2008, 01:01 AM

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Dec 22 2008, 06:26 PM) for PC speaker, so far i only know Logitech Z-5500 got optical input, about option B, you need to ask in Home theater thread. I still think it's probably cheaper to just get a PC speaker set. I read up on the Logitech Z-5500... It sounds promising... Lowest price I've seen online is about $235 USD. That comes up to about RM 820. Ouch. Have you seen it in Low Yat? I wonder what the price is like. Probably jacked up even more.  Seems to be the most affordable option for full surround sound + decent quality though.
Dinghydoggy
Dec 23 2008, 01:09 AM

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Dec 23 2008, 01:03 AM) No, Z-5500 in Malaysia is RM1499. ZOMG! Uh. As long as the input to the speakers is via analogue stereo mini-jack, there's no surround sound, correct? So it doesn't matter if I get some Dolby decoder thingy or whatever right? Looks like it's not possible to get surround sound under RM 1k.
Dinghydoggy
Dec 23 2008, 01:44 AM

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Dec 23 2008, 01:21 AM) Oh well. Thanks so much for the help ya.