PC Audio Please Recommend... a 2.1 or 5.1 speaker set V2, Comparison and advice needed...
richard3200
Mar 28 2009, 01:25 AM

Hi, is it possible for u guys to recommend me a 5.1 or 2.1 speaker set?
I am fully ultilizing it for listening musics.
Budget would be not more than 2k. Would u guys recommend me buying Bose brand speakers? If yes, please do state models for them.
Thx in advance.
zs3889
Mar 28 2009, 01:58 AM
Highest end for 5.1 pc speaker in malaysia would be z5500, i mean more popular one, for 2.1 go for s730 or aego m..
Faint
Mar 28 2009, 06:18 PM
QUOTE(richard3200 @ Mar 28 2009, 01:25 AM) Hi, is it possible for u guys to recommend me a 5.1 or 2.1 speaker set? I am fully ultilizing it for listening musics. Budget would be not more than 2k. Would u guys recommend me buying Bose brand speakers? If yes, please do state models for them. Thx in advance. You can get Bose Companion 5 or Companion 3 series II, another choise is Aego M.
HeavenNirvana
Mar 28 2009, 06:57 PM
Guys,
I'm in dilemma over these two 2.1 speaker, AE aego M or Altec Lansing MX5051.
My budget is rm700.
Which sounds better? I know Altec Lansing model has THX certified.
But I heard alot of rave review about Aego M.
Or there's other brand 2.1 that can suggest to me....
I'm using the speaker for gaming, music and video....
Faint
Mar 28 2009, 07:08 PM
QUOTE(HeavenNirvana @ Mar 28 2009, 06:57 PM) Guys, I'm in dilemma over these two 2.1 speaker, AE aego M or Altec Lansing MX5051. My budget is rm700. Which sounds better? I know Altec Lansing model has THX certified. But I heard alot of rave review about Aego M. Or there's other brand 2.1 that can suggest to me.... I'm using the speaker for gaming, music and video.... thanks For music and normal TV shows, I suggest Aego M. If you want heavy bass, you can try MX5021 or GMX 2.1
chingwooi
Mar 28 2009, 07:30 PM
QUOTE(Faint @ Mar 28 2009, 07:08 PM) For music and normal TV shows, I suggest Aego M. If you want heavy bass, you can try MX5021 or GMX 2.1 Yea, if you like classical/jazz those type of soft musics, Aego m will be the first that you should consider, For movies like those type of action and war, Altec Lansing MX5021 would fit in, but for musics, the clarity is not gd enuf, the bass has covered everything so basically all you hear is boom boom boom, I don't really like it because I can't enjoy the musics at all, hearing it for long time also causing irritation/headache. As for Klipsch GMX 2.1. I heard that the latest version is not as gd as the previous version, cutting cost problem. Anyway, I would also want to introduce another brand of speaker which i found to be pretty gd, which is Edifier S530(D). this speaker is balance for everything, regardless of moveis/musics/gaming. You might want to look for this speaker as well as it's within ur budget. Hope it helps. Happy researching. P/S: Earth hour. Love earth and preserve it. Switch off all the lights and all unused electronic stuffs tonite at 8.30-9.30 P.M. thxs.
HeavenNirvana
Mar 28 2009, 07:44 PM
QUOTE(Faint @ Mar 28 2009, 07:08 PM) For music and normal TV shows, I suggest Aego M. If you want heavy bass, you can try MX5021 or GMX 2.1 Thanks for your advice QUOTE(chingwooi @ Mar 28 2009, 07:30 PM) Yea, if you like classical/jazz those type of soft musics, Aego m will be the first that you should consider, For movies like those type of action and war, Altec Lansing MX5021 would fit in, but for musics, the clarity is not gd enuf, the bass has covered everything so basically all you hear is boom boom boom, I don't really like it because I can't enjoy the musics at all, hearing it for long time also causing irritation/headache. As for Klipsch GMX 2.1. I heard that the latest version is not as gd as the previous version, cutting cost problem. Anyway, I would also want to introduce another brand of speaker which i found to be pretty gd, which is Edifier S530(D). this speaker is balance for everything, regardless of moveis/musics/gaming. You might want to look for this speaker as well as it's within ur budget. Hope it helps. Happy researching. P/S: Earth hour. Love earth and preserve it. Switch off all the lights and all unused electronic stuffs tonite at 8.30-9.30 P.M. thxs. Wow, thanks for the info. I'll check out edifier model. haha... My family and I already plan to switch the lights off for earth hour.
richard3200
Mar 28 2009, 11:45 PM

QUOTE(zs3889 @ Mar 28 2009, 01:58 AM) Highest end for 5.1 pc speaker in malaysia would be z5500, i mean more popular one, for 2.1 go for s730 or aego m.. Thx for ur help QUOTE(Faint @ Mar 28 2009, 06:18 PM) You can get Bose Companion 5 or Companion 3 series II, another choise is Aego M. Considering for bose or acoustic energy brand speakers right now. Can i use iPod to play with those speakers? Btw, may i know where can i find the Aego authorised retailer?
Faint
Mar 29 2009, 02:28 AM
Not sure about that, but I think you can get cheapest Aego M from a member of this forum. His name is Scotty.
Argiope
Mar 29 2009, 12:22 PM
My ATP3 rosak already, now looking for similar range speakers. After going through some posts, find that Edifier is getting good feedbacks, so i intend to get an Edifier. I need it for movie, music and gaming (those online mmorpg). The types of music i normally listen to are soft rock, R&B, pop etc. Price range RM100 ~ 200. How do you guys find the following models? M1335/M1335F - RM109/RM129 (what's the difference with/without F?) M2300 - RM189 M3200 - RM169 M3100SF - RM159 (what is this SF?) MP210/MP230 - RM169/RM129 http://imgserv.lowyat.net/pricelist/allit.gifThanks so much.
nismo91
Mar 29 2009, 02:40 PM
get an Edifier E3100.
zs3889
Mar 29 2009, 03:22 PM
QUOTE(Argiope @ Mar 29 2009, 12:22 PM) My ATP3 rosak already, now looking for similar range speakers. After going through some posts, find that Edifier is getting good feedbacks, so i intend to get an Edifier. I need it for movie, music and gaming (those online mmorpg). The types of music i normally listen to are soft rock, R&B, pop etc. Price range RM100 ~ 200. How do you guys find the following models? M1335/M1335F - RM109/RM129 (what's the difference with/without F?) M2300 - RM189 M3200 - RM169 M3100SF - RM159 (what is this SF?) MP210/MP230 - RM169/RM129 http://imgserv.lowyat.net/pricelist/allit.gifThanks so much. Better audition the Edifier before you buy, since you were AL ATP3 user before, Edifier's bass may not suit your demand..
nismo91
Mar 29 2009, 04:37 PM
QUOTE(zs3889 @ Mar 29 2009, 03:22 PM) Better audition the Edifier before you buy, since you were AL ATP3 user before, Edifier's bass may not suit your demand.. thats y i suggest him a E3100. personally, i'd say, edifier only offer great bass with its speaker that has treble controller. i.e. R401, C3, S530D, S730D, E3100.  i dunno why, but seriously, those speakers with treble controller are good for me. dont u agree? i shouldnt have bought myself a M3300 that time, no treble controller!
zs3889
Mar 29 2009, 06:39 PM
QUOTE(nismo91 @ Mar 29 2009, 04:37 PM) thats y i suggest him a E3100. personally, i'd say, edifier only offer great bass with its speaker that has treble controller. i.e. R401, C3, S530D, S730D, E3100.  i dunno why, but seriously, those speakers with treble controller are good for me. dont u agree? i shouldnt have bought myself a M3300 that time, no treble controller!   FYI i'm not kinda basshead, too much bass for music makes me headache, haha, different ppl has different taste, i just don't like too much bass, when i'm listening to music, i just turn my bass to half  that's enough for me..
andrew9292
Mar 29 2009, 11:01 PM
hi all...why does my m3400 subwoofer feel like it wana explode when i turn up the volume on tight bass songs? like the woofer produce some crunchy sound
...and the blue colour light on the remote control and front of woofer become dimmer when the bass hits lik boom boom boom then the light will (dim dim dim). Is it underpower?
Cos even when i play mariah carey songs slightly loud the woofer seems like it cannot take it, dont say other genre like hip hop, the woofer wana explode lik that!
any way to improve or solve this problem?
my woofer knob is about 65% full
This post has been edited by andrew9292: Mar 29 2009, 11:02 PM
nismo91
Mar 29 2009, 11:28 PM
means your M3400 cannot take it already la.. try edifier S730D.
u put your windows volume 100%? and then your main speaker knob how many %?
andrew9292
Mar 30 2009, 12:06 AM
QUOTE(nismo91 @ Mar 29 2009, 11:28 PM) means your M3400 cannot take it already la.. try edifier S730D. u put your windows volume 100%? and then your main speaker knob how many %? but its still so soft >< windows is at 60% according to creative surround mixer, one bar above the middle on windows volume control. main speaker know about 75%. this speaker still quite soft due to its low-sensitivity input... will changing capacitor and opamp make a difference? what is it that cause the woofer to crunch wor? cos i wana mod this speaker for louder and cleaner sound, preserving the same tone...but i need to know where to start
zeustronic
Mar 30 2009, 12:23 AM
QUOTE(nismo91 @ Mar 29 2009, 05:37 PM) thats y i suggest him a E3100. personally, i'd say, edifier only offer great bass with its speaker that has treble controller. i.e. R401, C3, S530D, S730D, E3100.  i dunno why, but seriously, those speakers with treble controller are good for me. dont u agree? i shouldnt have bought myself a M3300 that time, no treble controller!  lol... treble or bass can easily tweak using EQ.
Proclaimer
Mar 30 2009, 01:37 AM
QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Mar 29 2009, 11:01 PM) hi all...why does my m3400 subwoofer feel like it wana explode when i turn up the volume on tight bass songs? like the woofer produce some crunchy sound ...and the blue colour light on the remote control and front of woofer become dimmer when the bass hits lik boom boom boom then the light will (dim dim dim). Is it underpower? Cos even when i play mariah carey songs slightly loud the woofer seems like it cannot take it, dont say other genre like hip hop, the woofer wana explode lik that! any way to improve or solve this problem? my woofer knob is about 65% full m3400 is not meant to blast songs anyways.. Guess its time to upgrade.. Haha.. Bout the controller gets dimmer when there's heavy bass, i also experienced it with my previous S2.1M..
xk2
Mar 30 2009, 02:05 AM
QUOTE(Proclaimer @ Mar 30 2009, 01:37 AM) m3400 is not meant to blast songs anyways.. Guess its time to upgrade.. Haha.. Bout the controller gets dimmer when there's heavy bass, i also experienced it with my previous S2.1M.. Luckily my S2.1m dun have that problem , anyway, going upgrade to S530D soon