Movies The best cliffhanger in a movie, practically makes u beg for a sequel

TSPhoenixByte
post Jul 4 2007, 01:08 PM, updated 19y ago

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

Which movie cliffhanger do u think is the best? You know the one that practically keeps u guessing in the end or speculate on what is going to happen in the sequel...

For me, I'll start with the first Back to the future. It ended at the part when Doc Brown returned and asked Marty to come back with him to the future.

The second is Star Wars Episode V. When Luke was rescued by Leia and after Han Solo was captured by Jabba.

This post has been edited by PhoenixByte: Jul 4 2007, 01:09 PM
kcng
post Jul 4 2007, 01:11 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

transformers where starscream cabut-ed to space...
ali_boulala
post Jul 4 2007, 01:14 PM

Lets put a smile on that face
764 posts

p ramlee - DO RE MI
+3kk!
post Jul 4 2007, 01:41 PM

8,275 posts

LOTR............................
mukhlisz
post Jul 4 2007, 02:14 PM

373 posts

FF2. When the Surfer's board returned to him. Err.. this is after the credits. Does it count? unsure.gif

Conan The Barbarian. When he sat at the throne. And the narrator said "And this story shall also be told" (when he becomes King). Conan the Destroyer was a joke.. doh.gif

i want Milius's King Conan!

ConquerorX
post Jul 4 2007, 02:34 PM

GeN™
2,655 posts

Transformers - when Optimus Prime summoned the rest of the Autobots to earth tongue.gif
firedauz
post Jul 4 2007, 03:54 PM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

Guys, lets not be confused between cliffhangers and best parts of the movie - two different things k? biggrin.gif

Wiki--
A cliffhanger or cliffhanger ending is a plot device in which a movie or novel contains an abrupt ending, often leaving the main characters in a precarious or difficult situation (for instance, hanging from the edge of a cliff).

Cheesenium
post Jul 4 2007, 04:12 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

I think one of them was Underworld 1 but Underworld 2 was kinda crap.
BurgaFlippinMan
post Jul 4 2007, 04:23 PM

Wachaaa!
6,486 posts

The Empire Strikes Back, by far.
sanjikun
post Jul 4 2007, 06:53 PM

S.O.S Brigade Subordinate No. n
1,386 posts

Alien 3, right after Mr. Weyland picked up Ripley's strand of hair, after her suicide with the newborn Alien Queen.
kobe8byrant
post Jul 4 2007, 06:55 PM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

Godfather- Michael becoming the new don
QuickFire
post Jul 4 2007, 08:16 PM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

I dont think the ending of the godfather counts as a cliffhanger... anyway the most recent one I really liked was Dead Man's Chest.
defaultname365
post Jul 4 2007, 09:48 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

dead man's chest for sure...
"What would you do. What you any of you do blah blah to rescue witty Jack Sparrow?"
And then....The end
Wah...did not expect that and I was like, (sigh) must wait for 2 years
Did not know at all there is a third and final film....
So yes, this is a cliff-hanger that had be begging for more
firedauz
post Jul 4 2007, 09:55 PM

876 posts

Matrix Reloaded biggrin.gif
I never expected that Smith would be out in the real world rclxm9.gif

Well maybe The Matrix can count too, seeing Neo fly & knowing there's gonna be a 2nd movie is just awesome happy.gif
defaultname365
post Jul 4 2007, 09:57 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

Oh yeah...and Matrix Reloaded...
I remember Bane on the table with Neo, both unconcious. Bane is Mr. Smith in disguise (Hugo Weaving's voice is incredible for Megatron BTW)
firedauz
post Jul 4 2007, 10:05 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Jul 4 2007, 09:57 PM)
Oh yeah...and Matrix Reloaded...
I remember Bane on the table with Neo, both unconcious. Bane is Mr. Smith in disguise (Hugo Weaving's voice is incredible for Megatron BTW)
Off-topic: Hugo Weaving is just simply marvelous in anything he does, whether acting or just giving his voice thumbup.gif
Xrossfire
post Jul 4 2007, 10:18 PM

Ten Hut!
1,161 posts

For me, the movie that kept my brain doing all the thinking and speculating at the end of the movie:
Planet Of The Apes (the new one, starring Mark Wahlberg)

It kept me working all my braincell, retrieving what's in my memory database, what I remember from the of the old Planet Of the Apes movies and find the answer to all the logic and whatnots sweat.gif

kobe8byrant
post Jul 4 2007, 10:30 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Jul 4 2007, 08:16 PM)
I dont think the ending of the godfather counts as a cliffhanger... anyway the most recent one I really liked was Dead Man's Chest.
Godfather ending = cliffhanger. I wanted to know what Part 2 was going to be like immediately XD
SpectacularButter
post Jul 4 2007, 11:03 PM

229 posts

LOTR 1 - fellowship of the Ring when all the people become separated
funnyTONE
post Jul 4 2007, 11:12 PM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

Oh man, all the good ones are already taken. tongue.gif

Well, my fave is still The Matrix, its a sure adrenaline seeing Neo flies off the ground. Other than this....hmm, none. ahahaha! biggrin.gif
NasiLemakMan
post Jul 4 2007, 11:54 PM

oh hai! wan naslemak?
962 posts

Identity,

The Descent (6 chicks lost in a cave),

Devdas (freakin hate the ending - can't remember whether its a cliffhanger or wat coz I would nvr want to watch it again)
firedauz
post Jul 5 2007, 12:30 AM

876 posts

Alien vs Predator is pretty cool too, wonder if that baby alien go infest the whole Predator spaceship tongue.gif
travis_ckf
post Jul 5 2007, 03:38 PM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

The matrix's ending dont really consider a cliffhanger. Personally i hate cliffhanger ending but my vote will go to planet of the apes (the remake from tim burton, staring mark walberg). Too bad tim burton decided not to make any sequel of it. doh.gif
oucheev
post Jul 5 2007, 11:02 PM

433 posts

Empire Strikes Back. No movie have come close to that cliffhanger. Vader is Luke' father, Luke badly injured and Solo carbonized. I'll always remember the last scene of Empire Strikes Back, where Luke and Leia looking out the window and promising themselves that they will save Solo. This is a classic. Probably most of you guys are too young to remember or were not even born when this movie came out so you do not know the impact of the ending of Empire Strikes Back. EVERY blockbuster movies made after Empire tried to copy the cliffhanger ending of this movie.

sanjikun
post Jul 5 2007, 11:08 PM

S.O.S Brigade Subordinate No. n
1,386 posts

QUOTE(oucheev @ Jul 5 2007, 11:02 PM)
Empire Strikes Back. No movie have come close to that cliffhanger. Vader is Luke' father, Luke badly injured and Solo carbonized. I'll always remember the last scene of Empire Strikes Back, where Luke and Leia looking out the window and promising themselves that they will save Solo. This is a classic. Probably most of you guys are too young to remember or were not even born when this movie came out so you do not know the impact of the ending of Empire Strikes Back. EVERY blockbuster movies made after Empire tried to copy the cliffhanger ending of this movie.
it's prolly just you - lucas did it with ep2 as well...

yen223
post Jul 6 2007, 01:14 AM

777 posts

the Battlestar Galactica season finale was apparently cliff-hanging...
kupang
post Jul 6 2007, 03:12 PM

160 posts

V3i HoN6
post Jul 6 2007, 04:45 PM

ǝlıɥdouɥɔɐɹɐ
1,617 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Jul 4 2007, 09:48 PM)
dead man's chest for sure...
"What would you do. What you any of you do blah blah to rescue witty Jack Sparrow?"
And then....The end
Wah...did not expect that and I was like, (sigh) must wait for 2 years
Did not know at all there is a third and final film....
So yes, this is a cliff-hanger that had be begging for more
You missed the most important part.
Barbossa walking down the stairs with an apple and they gonna sail with him to safe jack.
SUSchewxy
post Jul 6 2007, 05:45 PM

Flying Side By Side with my beloved Pretty Swallow
11,234 posts

navilink
post Jul 6 2007, 06:53 PM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

mosai
post Jul 11 2007, 09:22 AM

144 posts

the prestige.
untill now don't know aht really happen.
yen223
post Jul 11 2007, 01:14 PM

777 posts

QUOTE(mosai @ Jul 11 2007, 09:22 AM)
the prestige.
untill now don't know aht really happen.
Was there a cliffhanger there? I thought the storyline was more or less complete...
mosai
post Jul 11 2007, 01:48 PM

144 posts

yeah but it raise a lot of question whther hugh jackman character is still alive or already dead.
QuickFire
post Jul 11 2007, 01:50 PM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

QUOTE(mosai @ Jul 11 2007, 01:48 PM)
yeah but it raise a lot of question whther hugh jackman character is still alive or already dead.

And no The Prestige ending is not a cliffhanger. smile.gif
WebWalker
post Jul 11 2007, 04:18 PM

Computer Geek
12,851 posts

Death Note 1 & 2 (movie)

LOTR, have to wait for one whole year for every installments mad.gif

This post has been edited by WebWalker: Jul 11 2007, 04:25 PM
mosai
post Jul 11 2007, 04:54 PM

144 posts

it is because you could see a buble coming out in the glass that hold one of hugh jackman body.Right before the movie ends
SowYau
post Oct 26 2007, 01:08 AM

I try to be a movie reviewer
604 posts

For me, it's the original Italian Job, absolutely a cop out ending.
d(@@)b
post Oct 26 2007, 01:19 AM

724 posts

QUOTE(mosai @ Jul 11 2007, 04:54 PM)
it is because you could see a buble coming out in the glass that hold one of hugh jackman body.Right before the movie ends
he was drowned in it rite?
kobe8byrant
post Oct 26 2007, 01:20 AM

12,275 posts

Man, I'd love to be friends with you in real life. Where you get your movies? I'd love to have them as well biggrin.gif
cikun
post Oct 26 2007, 10:43 AM

チクォン
571 posts

The Forsaken
anyone seen this movie? the ending looked very promising for a sequel. sex, parties and vampires... give us more, man!
maximus85
post Oct 26 2007, 12:32 PM

O.M.F.G~!!!
605 posts

Deadman's Chest cliffhanger ending really cool......

and not to forget Godzilla ending too......will there be a sequel to it? it's been years since the first.... laugh.gif

ohh and The Reaper.... haha...

too many......that's all i can remember for now....
carlsuen
post Oct 26 2007, 12:50 PM

838 posts

las vegas.. when's 5th season gonna come out?!
hydrogen
post Oct 26 2007, 03:09 PM

au contraire
1,516 posts

Empire Strikes Back!

i also like X-Men 3's gripping ending, where Magneto has a bit of power left, and Xavier is now in someone elses body...

i was so shocked.
why they say not making somemore..?

0.0252sec    0.77    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:03 PM