Lenovo ThinkPad & IdeaPad Reviews thread, You guys can shares your stuffs here ๐Ÿ˜

volrath
post Jan 7 2021, 09:02 AM

440 posts

Hi guys,

After a lengthy search of reviews, I've finally decided to go for a ThinkPad. The only thing that's left now is, which one. DELL XPS 13 comes close to a contender but I don't know if I want another XPS.

Current laptop:
DELL XPS 15 9570 (Aug 2018)

i7 8th Gen
8GB RAM
256GB SSD
1050ti
FHD
1.8kg (2.2kg with charger)

Usage Summary: Full Google Suite, Full MS Office, light apps like Telegram/Whatsapp/Discord/Zoom/Teams

Pros
- Pretty
- Gaming is okay - can play at low settings or med (games I played)
- Work stuff so far a breeze, never had a problem

Cons
- It's underutilized, I don't do video/image processing, no heavy software
- Bought it because thought I'd work + game on it (I no longer play games anymore)
- It's heavy sad.gif I travel with it every day and I think it's time to bring down the weight more
- Battery only lasts 4 hours+
- Freaking chin cam >:(

What I needed my ThinkPad to be (by priority):
1) Form factor - Tiny, thin, GREAT keyboard, super light, even with the charger (even better when it can be charged via USB-C so I don't even need to carry the charger around)
2) All-day battery, this is very important
3) I want it to look nice and sleek also la
4) Gonna last me very long, is 5 years a stretch too long?
5) I don't mind the price tag as long as the price justifies my needs, but I don't want to be an idiot who'd simply buy

ThinkPad has so many variants until I don't even know which series I should take. I have eyes on X1 Carbon, also thought if I should wait for X1 Nano...but it seems like other series are formidable too.

Sorry for the long post and thank you in advance.

volrath
post Jan 7 2021, 11:01 AM

440 posts

QUOTE(ryansxs @ Jan 7 2021, 10:51 AM)
X1 carbon for sure. (or just any X1 series)
Thank you. In terms of its CPU, what's offered now is the 10th Gen. Is it worth waiting for 11th or the improvement is marginal?
volrath
post Jan 10 2021, 01:48 AM

440 posts

X1 Nano is on MY site liao...but more than 2 months waiting period lol.

What are your thoughts on this model?

0.0135sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:19 PM