Self assemble PC parts can claim income tax?

TSCurrent Events guy
post Aug 25 2019, 10:45 PM, updated 6y ago

966 posts

I put together a PC for my parents recently and now my brother in law also wants the same setup at his place.
He asked the question above, I'm not sure how to answer.

I thought it was only applicable for prebuilt PC and laptops, not the self assembled ones.

DarkNite
post Aug 25 2019, 10:46 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

Can with official receipt.
Emily Ratajkowski
post Aug 25 2019, 10:47 PM

444 posts

Can. But need recipet
Phoenix_KL
post Aug 25 2019, 10:47 PM

156 posts

still have pc promo?
saigetsu
post Aug 25 2019, 10:50 PM

707 posts

Yes
TSCurrent Events guy
post Aug 25 2019, 10:50 PM

966 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Aug 25 2019, 10:46 PM)
QUOTE(Emily Ratajkowski @ Aug 25 2019, 10:47 PM)
Can. But need recipet
This I dont quite get.

All purchases come with receipt right.

How about if I buy parts from multiple vendors and have separate receipt from all of them, then cant claim tax?

This post has been edited by Current Events guy: Aug 25 2019, 10:50 PM
Emily Ratajkowski
post Aug 25 2019, 10:53 PM

444 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Aug 25 2019, 10:50 PM)
This I dont quite get.

How about if I buy parts from multiple vendors and have separate receipt from all of them, then cant claim tax?
Can claim. As long as got reciept.

You can even take your friend's reciept and claim.

Lhdn don't care as long as you got reciept.
hizperion
post Aug 25 2019, 10:54 PM

Average Bitch
913 posts

can just keep the receipt
TSCurrent Events guy
post Aug 25 2019, 11:02 PM

966 posts

Thanks guys.

Also, does it have to be a complete PC (including monitor and kb+m)?

I was just thinking of putting together a computer and reuse current monitor, kb+m.
Emily Ratajkowski
post Aug 25 2019, 11:03 PM

444 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Aug 25 2019, 11:02 PM)
Thanks guys.

Also, does it have to be a complete PC (including monitor and kb+m)?

I was just thinking of putting together a computer and reuse current monitor, kb+m.
No need.
siaoand1
post Aug 26 2019, 12:54 PM

210 posts

as long as u got pay income tax can claim
laihuhng
post Aug 26 2019, 12:58 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Aug 25 2019, 10:45 PM)
I put together a PC for my parents recently and now my brother in law also wants the same setup at his place.

I thought it was only applicable for prebuilt PC and laptops, not the self assembled ones.
CANNOT ... Trust or don't trust me depends on you. I was audited once using multiple receipts from my custom build PC. Rejected even though I can prove to them those are parts to build a complete PC. I've to pay for the tax. Can't remember if I were fine.

This post has been edited by laihuhng: Aug 26 2019, 01:00 PM
permintcuzzi
post Aug 26 2019, 01:02 PM

48 posts

Is digitalizing the receipt and throw away original copy good enough?
laihuhng
post Aug 26 2019, 01:12 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(permintcuzzi @ Aug 26 2019, 01:02 PM)
Is digitalizing the receipt and throw away original copy good enough?
There are 2 important things that you need to do when they "invited" you to Yam Cha. (1) Original Receipt (2) scanned copy / photocopy. You need to show them the original copy while the scanned / photocopy, need to submit to them after Yam Cha session.

So, to answer you, is 50-50. Since these days, receipt can be digitizing copy too, eg. from Lazada. For hardcopy, you need to keep for at least 7yrs.

This post has been edited by laihuhng: Aug 26 2019, 01:12 PM
TSCurrent Events guy
post Aug 26 2019, 03:31 PM

966 posts

QUOTE(laihuhng @ Aug 26 2019, 12:58 PM)
CANNOT ... Trust or don't trust me depends on you. I was audited once using multiple receipts from my custom build PC. Rejected even though I can prove to them those are parts to build a complete PC. I've to pay for the tax. Can't remember if I were fine.
So was the problem because you used multiple vendors

Or was it because you self assembled a PC
laihuhng
post Aug 26 2019, 04:02 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Aug 26 2019, 03:31 PM)
So was the problem because you used multiple vendors

Or was it because you self assembled a PC
I bought parts from various pc shops to assemble my pc When I submitted all those receipts for tax rebate claim, they rejected me during audit. They don't care even those are parts to assemble a pc.
TSCurrent Events guy
post Aug 26 2019, 04:31 PM

966 posts

QUOTE(laihuhng @ Aug 26 2019, 04:02 PM)
I bought parts from various pc shops to assemble my pc When I submitted all those receipts for tax rebate claim, they rejected me during audit. They don't care even those are parts to assemble a pc.
That means if you buy all parts from 1 vendor, it's still unacceptable
LimauKering
post Aug 26 2019, 04:34 PM

177 posts

can if got receipt
bukechi
post Aug 26 2019, 04:43 PM

409 posts

dont be stingy.. pay your tax promptly

WaCKy-Angel
post Aug 26 2019, 04:48 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

afaik u cannot claim if u buy separate parts from multiple vendor..
if same shop they still can generate receipt as a whole computer.

however i would say its mostly safe even if u "cheat", they would probably not audit u based on u claim computer relief as per schedule.
idoblu
post Aug 26 2019, 04:54 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

This I dont quite get.

can but only if from one vendor and one receipt
laihuhng
post Aug 26 2019, 05:07 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Aug 26 2019, 04:31 PM)
That means if you buy all parts from 1 vendor, it's still unacceptable
Ask the seller to issue receipt as a PC, else still cannot. That's what they told me.
SUSwongth7
post Aug 26 2019, 05:14 PM

440 posts

Wadafak..last time someone said before as long as all the parts together can build up a pc regardless of differrent vendor or different receipt..

Now cannot???...LHDN got anywhere saying only 1 receipt 1 pc?
laihuhng
post Aug 26 2019, 05:15 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Aug 26 2019, 04:48 PM)
afaik u cannot claim if u buy separate parts from multiple vendor..
if same shop they still can generate receipt as a whole computer.

however i would say its mostly safe even if u "cheat", they would probably not audit u based on u claim computer relief as per schedule.
Don't play2. You don't know when you'll out of luck. I've been called for audit for at least 3 times in 23yrs working. The penalty is getting higher. Not worth the risk.
laihuhng
post Aug 26 2019, 05:17 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(wongth7 @ Aug 26 2019, 05:14 PM)
Wadafak..last time someone said before as long as all the parts together can build up a pc regardless of differrent vendor or different receipt..

LHDN is the one that make the call, not "someone". Good luck tongue.gif
bumpo
post Aug 26 2019, 05:24 PM

632 posts

could have sworn that the relief was for an out of the box pc. the whole biji and not the cumulative sum of its parts
khelben
post Aug 26 2019, 05:27 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

I purposely wait till my whole system was old enough to warrant a full upgrade. Got all parts from 1 shop.
zeese
post Aug 26 2019, 05:27 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

can.. but it must be a complete pc including monitor, keyboard, mouse, and complete cpu parts..

even if without mouse, it's no longer eligible for tax rebate because it is not a complete pc anymore.
bergstein
post Aug 26 2019, 05:31 PM

352 posts

IIRC only single receipt that has 1 item (1 Complete PC set) is eligible, multiple receipt/receipt that has multiple item with prices you need to argue.
I personally think it's not worth to risk it, better be safe to claim single receipt PC/laptop.

Always remember e-filling pass DOESN'T mean it is fine. The haunting part is when they visit.
xSean
post Aug 26 2019, 05:40 PM

2,769 posts

QUOTE(zeese @ Aug 26 2019, 05:27 PM)
can.. but it must be a complete pc including monitor, keyboard, mouse, and complete cpu parts..

even if without mouse, it's no longer eligible for tax rebate because it is not a complete pc anymore.
speaker?
SUSwongth7
post Aug 26 2019, 05:42 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(laihuhng @ Aug 26 2019, 05:17 PM)
LHDN is the one that make the call, not "someone". Good luck tongue.gif
They got black n white statement saying only 1 receipt 1 pc?
laihuhng
post Aug 26 2019, 05:42 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(bergstein @ Aug 26 2019, 05:31 PM)
IIRC only single receipt that has 1 item (1 Complete PC set) is eligible, multiple receipt/receipt that has multiple item with prices you need to argue.
I personally think it's not worth to risk it, better be safe to claim single receipt PC/laptop.

Always remember e-filling pass DOESN'T mean it is fine.  The haunting part is when they visit.
Those have been gone through the Yam Cha will definitely know how "stressful" it's when you were called in to attend that session. I've never ever did evade tax, still when receive that, “Urusan Seri Paduka Baginda” envelope with LHDN logo, your didi will shrink. tongue.gif
laihuhng
post Aug 26 2019, 05:46 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(wongth7 @ Aug 26 2019, 05:42 PM)
They got black n white statement saying only 1 receipt 1 pc?
They have a more detail so called “internal” copy. I'd the same problem when I urgued house interest tax rebate with them. Not going into detail for this one.
OngMK P
post Aug 26 2019, 05:54 PM

Probation
13 posts

QUOTE(wongth7 @ Aug 26 2019, 05:14 PM)

Only can claim for whole PC in single receipts, parts cannot claim as its not whole set of PC. Not limited to number of receipt or pc, but limited amount can claim.
xSean
post Aug 26 2019, 05:56 PM

2,769 posts

QUOTE(OngMK @ Aug 26 2019, 05:54 PM)
Only can claim for whole PC in single receipts, parts cannot claim as its not whole set of PC. Not limited to number of receipt or pc, but limited amount can claim.
how about speaker? I bought whole computer..got mouse, keyboard, monitor, rig with single receipt but no speaker and no windows

This post has been edited by xSean: Aug 26 2019, 05:56 PM
xSean
post Aug 26 2019, 05:58 PM

2,769 posts

QUOTE(bergstein @ Aug 26 2019, 05:31 PM)

Always remember e-filling pass DOESN'T mean it is fine.  The haunting part is when they visit.
how about speaker? I bought whole computer..got mouse, keyboard, monitor, rig with single receipt but no speaker and no windows
seatux
post Aug 26 2019, 06:02 PM

233 posts

Those OEM desktop PC, but not sold with monitor also cannot claim?
zeese
post Aug 26 2019, 06:05 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

I think, speaker is not part of pc.. The pc can operate without speaker, but if either mouse, keyboard, monitor etc is missing, no one can operate the pc.
xSean
post Aug 26 2019, 06:14 PM

2,769 posts

QUOTE(zeese @ Aug 26 2019, 06:05 PM)
I think,  speaker is not part of pc..  The pc can operate without speaker,  but if either mouse, keyboard, monitor etc is missing, no one can operate the pc.
I see...luckily brought all in one shop coz lazy assemble except speaker because I forgot the speaker.... tongue.gif

anyway will claim it....

last year forgot to claim internet, rm600 gone...give to govt....
TSCurrent Events guy
post Aug 26 2019, 06:32 PM

966 posts

QUOTE(laihuhng @ Aug 26 2019, 05:07 PM)
Ask the seller to issue receipt as a PC, else still cannot. That's what they told me.
Ah okay, well that kind of sucks for those buying online.

Seems like need to go to shop to buy in person and during payment need to ask for complete PC

I saw that you've been audited 3 times over 23 years, when was the last time you were audited on the PC?

What was the penalty like, pay how much you've claimed and then pay some additional penalty?
kcchong2000
post Aug 26 2019, 06:39 PM

189 posts

This I dont quite get.

You need to buy from same vendor. And part separately tak boleh.
laihuhng
post Aug 26 2019, 06:40 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Aug 26 2019, 06:32 PM)
Ah okay, well that kind of sucks for those buying online.

Seems like need to go to shop to buy in person and during payment need to ask for complete PC

I saw that you've been audited 3 times over 23 years, when was the last time you were audited on the PC?

What was the penalty like, pay how much you've claimed and then pay some additional penalty?
Audited on PC was like more than a decade, I guess. I can't remember if they slapped me with penalty. I do remember that I need to fill up a form and submitted to HR / Finance. They will deduct from your salary, monthly. Last time PC rebate was RM3000 every 3 years, a bit different from now.
SUSwongth7
post Aug 26 2019, 07:10 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(laihuhng @ Aug 26 2019, 05:46 PM)
They have a more detail so called “internal” copy. I'd the same problem when I urgued house interest tax rebate with them. Not going into detail for this one.
QUOTE(OngMK @ Aug 26 2019, 05:54 PM)
Ooo..thx for info
TSCurrent Events guy
post Aug 26 2019, 07:13 PM

966 posts

QUOTE(laihuhng @ Aug 26 2019, 06:40 PM)
Audited on PC was like more than a decade, I guess. I can't remember if they slapped me with penalty. I do remember that I need to fill up a form and submitted to HR / Finance. They will deduct from your salary, monthly. Last time PC rebate was RM3000 every 3 years, a bit different from now.
I had to pay them back on several occasions after filing my taxes because company didnt give enough to them, so I'm familiar with HR cutting salary to pay off tax balance.

Thanks for sharing your experience, at least now I get some validation that you've got to get it all in one receipt.

This post has been edited by Current Events guy: Aug 26 2019, 07:14 PM
Jedi
post Jul 31 2020, 10:13 PM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

QUOTE(bukechi @ Aug 26 2019, 04:43 PM)
dont be stingy.. pay your tax promptly

wow, siapa kate........

on a side ques, only PC got tax relief or say I buy a monitor (only), entitled tax relief?
TSCurrent Events guy
post Aug 2 2020, 08:39 AM

966 posts

QUOTE(Jedi @ Jul 31 2020, 10:13 PM)
wow, siapa kate........

on a side ques, only PC got tax relief or say I buy a monitor (only), entitled tax relief?
I'm gonna say no and I wouldnt chance it either.

If you do get audited, you'll have to return the money.
Best save your time.
kkk8787
post Aug 2 2020, 08:48 AM

Julyd8th
2,529 posts

QUOTE(Emily Ratajkowski @ Aug 25 2019, 10:53 PM)

Cannot if issued under someone else name
shingz96
post Dec 4 2020, 11:58 AM

44 posts

oops no wonder buying online is cheaper a bit as cannot claim tax relief
pobox
post Dec 16 2020, 10:15 AM

551 posts

Sorry for necromancing old thread.

May I know if receipt issued as "PC Package" from deal like below (without monitor & KB). Can claim tax relief or not?

pobox
post Dec 16 2020, 10:27 AM

551 posts

QUOTE(Ching Do @ Dec 16 2020, 10:23 AM)
Based on what others said, I would say no

No keyboard and monitor means not complete
That's depressing
LowKeras
post Dec 16 2020, 10:27 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Aug 25 2019, 04:46 AM)
This
JimbeamofNRT
post Dec 16 2020, 10:29 AM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(Emily Ratajkowski @ Aug 25 2019, 10:53 PM)

[WTS 3090 receipt cool2.gif ]

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Dec 16 2020, 10:30 AM
dregatar
post Dec 16 2020, 03:07 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ Aug 25 2019, 10:45 PM)

QUOTE(laihuhng @ Aug 26 2019, 12:58 PM)
This

I also kena once.
Basically from what I gather when I was audited. They need 1 receipt that's states what pc u bought and price.

Multiple receipts for multiple parts = reject
Single receipt for multiple parts = reject
Single receipt for complete pc = pass

Complete pc means can include monitor and peripherals.

This post has been edited by dregatar: Dec 16 2020, 03:08 PM
smokey
post Jan 25 2021, 11:10 AM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

Hi..
If i buy portable monitor for wfh purpose, can i claim tax relieve under permai?
ticke
post Jan 25 2021, 12:13 PM

****E***y*u***i***@**
1,682 posts

bye.gif

This post has been edited by ticke: Jan 25 2021, 12:14 PM
vankodoq
post Mar 17 2021, 08:46 AM

377 posts

QUOTE(dregatar @ Dec 16 2020, 03:07 PM)
This

I also kena once.
Basically from what I gather when I was audited. They need 1 receipt that's states what pc u bought and price.

Multiple receipts for multiple parts = reject
Single receipt for multiple parts = reject
Single receipt for complete pc = pass

Complete pc means can include monitor and peripherals.
Thanks for the explanation. The breakdown clears it down. Tho now I'm a bit sad I can't claim my SSD and RAM upgrade to my laptop. sweat.gif
nelson969
post Apr 9 2023, 09:51 PM

321 posts

still relevant in 2023, thanks guy
SUSEurochem
post Apr 9 2023, 10:11 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(laihuhng @ Aug 26 2019, 04:02 PM)
I thought shit needs to be kept for 5 years, not 7.....
but ya, i do recall, LHDN folks only accept prebuilt PC or complete PC in a single receipt at most.
if put together from multiple receipts, they will reject

0.1931sec    1.01    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:40 PM