Feb 5 2021, 11:25 PM
50 posts Joined: Jan 2021 |
QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 5 2021, 07:12 PM) True....but I have been a member here for much longer time than some people here in other account. Forum Lowyat has been marvellous... doubleM2 liked this post
Feb 8 2021, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 7 2021, 08:15 PM) Just realized... Just wondering....we are looking at opening the Encryption to allow any Decoder box to receive all our channels for 2 months as Siaran Percubaan. Only need to repoint the Ku-Band dish towards SES-12 at 95 deg East. Those who pays RM 299 and the Trial Participant get to watch for free for 12 mths. Any other suggestion ?U also senior.... Got many stars.... Was thinking some newbie when reply the previous post... Didn't see it.... Sure u would know what's the "P" tag about... Members been talking / know like 1 year already.... And Nope. Not related with anyone/parties... Whatever you heard is fake news / out to spoil my name 😡😤 Anyway... Good to have some staff from Sirius TV. Can clear our doubt.... Direct information 👍 |
Feb 8 2021, 11:38 AM
QUOTE(joshhd @ Feb 6 2021, 05:05 PM) We would like to answer to Joshhd question on why we have not launch our services yet. Apart from the HPA problem at the Uplink , the main problem faced is on the Apparatus Assignment Fees. Under the CMA Act 1998 , all TVRO installed depending on the size of the antenna , will need to pay an AA Fees of average RM 60/120 per year. Measat got an exemption for those using their M-3 satellite and MyTV has got the exemption in 2019 for using Asiasat 9. The exemption are gazetted in the Class Assignment Regulation 2019 and 2020. If Sirius were to launch now without getting this exemption through the Class Assignment, Sirius will need to start paying the RM 60 per subscriber per year even though Sirius is not charging Subscription to the customer. We have made application for exemption since last year and has yet to get any decisions. This is the delima we are facing with the Regulator. We hope to get this approval by this month or next. God willing. Why would we want to delay after spending millions for this Pay TV platform. Thats why our second phase will start with our Android Box + S2 + OTT by June 2021. Hope that will answer the question. |
Mar 4 2021, 11:57 PM
QUOTE(Wobblyblob @ Mar 4 2021, 02:23 AM) Has Sirius TV already started their services yet, like started broadcasting to homes? Try checking out the website www.siriusmalaysia.tv I want to install Sirius TV on my second TV in my house. I already have a Pensonic MYTV Myfreeview decoder (comes with Teletext, VOD and OTT like RTM MyKlik and Media Prima Tonton and interactive functions through HbbTV) and another DVB-T2 decoder with OTT, VOD, video sharing platform, video library, video streaming and video database including Teletext and interactive functions on my second TV in my house. What is Sirius TV's telephone number to call for installer to come and install the decoder and dish? |
Mar 6 2021, 12:08 AM
QUOTE(joshhd @ Mar 5 2021, 09:50 PM) According to Sirius TV website, it uses 60cm size of satellite dish. Hi..with the 3.7m Ku-Band Earth Station in Cyberjaya and the 400w TWTA , the Link Budget Analysis requires 60/65cm dish for West Malaysia + Indonesia and 70/75 cm dish for East Malaysis/ Kalimantan. Our dish is elliptical in shape, thus the 60/65cm and the 70/75cm sizes.![]() Sirius TV I remember previously the website stated that you guys will be using 75cm. Now appears to be 60cm? Could you explain what is the reason behind that change? |
Mar 6 2021, 12:10 AM
QUOTE(Sirius TV @ Mar 6 2021, 12:08 AM) Hi..with the 3.7m Ku-Band Earth Station in Cyberjaya and the 400w TWTA , the Link Budget Analysis requires 60/65cm dish for West Malaysia + Indonesia and 70/75 cm dish for East Malaysis/ Kalimantan. Our dish is elliptical in shape, thus the 60/65cm and the 70/75cm sizes. We still have the Kementerian Dalam Negeri LPF guideline on the Censorship to adhere to before we can fully transmit our channels fir trials. |
Mar 6 2021, 12:14 AM
QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Mar 5 2021, 12:52 AM) The channel lineup looks promising, especially Da Vinci & TechStorm. Also, Outdoor Channel is back in Malaysia.. thanks, Sirius! Looking forward to subscribing to your service soon. For your information...there is no subscription...no contract. After the free 12 mth subscription...you pay on a prepaid/top up basis of RM 20 per mth whenever you want to watch. This will be a Pay-per- view concept.![]() doubleM2 liked this post
Mar 9 2021, 03:41 PM
QUOTE(joshhd @ Mar 6 2021, 12:43 AM) Hmm... What if standardise them to 75cm in both West and East Malaysia? This is the umpteenth time that question has been asked on the sustainability of the existing business model which we are not going to share. We have our TopUp/prepaid of RM 20 per mth or RM 200 per year after the12 mths FREE subscription. We are now trying out the broadcast this week.Or do you mean that even if 75cm dish is used for West Malaysia, there won't be any signal improvements at all, compared to 60/65cm dish? The LPF requires to delay the feed by few minutes too? But..... Is this business model sustainable though? I mean, how'd you guys ensure able to gain profit to offer more channels in the future? From consumer point of view, the concept of prepaid basis, start and stop anytime, and no contract, is indeed a plus point. But how about practicing the similar method as those OTT subscription? Example let's say Sirius TV from 13th month onwards, if customer is interested, an auto reoccurring option is offered, where RM20/month would deduct automatically through debit/credit card monthly on time. That way, viewers no need to headache about "forgot to pay", and ensure uninterrupted viewing, and only initiate to cancel the service as per request (whenever you want), similar like Netflix. Unless if customer prefers other manual payment methods, then can go ahead with topup basis through cash or PIN voucher (e.g. Buy at convenient store or online). |
Mar 9 2021, 10:07 PM
QUOTE(DaTaPcHousE @ Mar 9 2021, 06:17 PM) We will start with about 15 channels (1st Phase) on 15th March, 8 channels (2nd Phase) on 15th April and 8 channels (3rd Phase) on 15th May. Taking into consideration that the incumbent started with 5 channels when they first started.We will update the channel listing from this week onward. Do check out our website once in a while. www.siriusmalaysia.tv thanks. |
Mar 11 2021, 09:11 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(Qash-M @ Mar 11 2021, 06:41 PM) We start with SD quality and along the way decides which channels are suitable for HD conversion...anyway ..hopefully the subscriber wont mind as there is no subscription cost to pay for the whole year unlike the incumbent or the FTA channel with adverts... |
Mar 15 2021, 11:57 AM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(JuneResources @ Mar 14 2021, 12:59 PM) I just wondering how the Sirius work after 1 year? Sirius TV is a Satellite Pay TV station using Prepaid as payment mode and without any contract. The satellite used is SES-12 and we incurred cost for all the channel we broadcast. As such , we have to charge if Subcriber want to watch our channel which is nominal in fees. If you want to watch the FTA channels , you can hook up to the local terrestrial channel.Assuming after 1 year, then I dun wan go for subscriptions RM20/mth.. So is it I cannot watch any single TV channel at all? Coz I dun find which channels under category free channels and which channels are under pay per month channels? |
Mar 16 2021, 02:36 AM
QUOTE(JuneResources @ Mar 15 2021, 11:35 PM) Thanks for your explanation.. Thats true...we do away with plans..contract and packages...You like it..you watch. You dont want...dont watch...That means it is like pre-post paid plan. After top up, scramble channels unlocked. Once the timing is over, again scramble channels. Sound like telco yoodo plan pre-post paid plan.. |
Mar 17 2021, 08:39 AM
Mar 17 2021, 08:44 AM
Mar 19 2021, 12:55 AM
doubleM2 liked this post
Mar 19 2021, 02:55 PM
QUOTE(joshhd @ Mar 19 2021, 12:58 PM) Technical Suggestions/Opinions A big T H A N K Y O U to Joshhd. All of us at Sirius TV is digesting Joshhd's review and will take heed in some of his suggestions and observations.Video It is pretty obvious to me that Tech Storm has better HD picture quality compared to others, as it uses constant bitrate of 5Mbps. The video compression artifacts for Outdoor Channel and especially GEM, is more apparent... Sirius TV shall consider standardise the bitrate for HD channels too, at least 5Mbps (H.264 video codec) on all HD channels? I hope the broadcast tech team in Sirius TV would explore further ways to improve picture quality while maintain same 5Mbps HD bitrate, by making some technical adjustments on the video encoder settings, such as larger GOP size (Group of Picture). These 3 channels (Tech Storm, GEM, Outdoor Channel) are considered to be "premium channels" to some extent/people, hence I believe that Sirius TV should have just make all 3 in HD quality instead... 😅 Or better still, use HEVC video codec Also, I notice that Sirius TV offers Outdoor Channel in original video frame of 29.97fps (NTSC) instead of converting it to 25fps (PAL). Maintain original video frame rate. Nice Audio On the first impression, the TV channel's audio quality seems okay to me, not until I tune to GEM channel, where I start to notice the bad audio quality artifacts only on GEM. And I check, hmm, it uses MP2 audio codec, and the bitrate choice of 192kbps seems okay to me, but why is it only 96kbps for GEM channel? :confused: The audio quality of 96kbps for a MP2 audio codec, are very bad actually. Unless if Sirius TV proceed with HE-AAC audio codec (patent-required) of 96kbps, then it is a different story. But if it's MP2, nah... I would suggest that if Sirius TV will be using the royalty-free MP2 audio codec in the long run, consider standardise the audio track bitrate on all channels as 192kbps Stereo... Conclusion Anyway, it is still testing phase, and some things may change from time to time... I wish all the best for Sirius TV And yes, I will continue to monitor from time to time 😁 Well said Joshhd... |
Mar 20 2021, 02:06 AM
QUOTE(joshhd @ Mar 19 2021, 10:14 PM) It's my pleasure... At the moment , we are using existing Measat 3 satellite receiving channels which covers the 3 channels everyone is receiving now. We are waiting for the Zixi Servers to be installed which had just arrived today. The Zixi Server is use for receiving channels on IP delivery modes. Hopefully by early next week we will be receiving the balance of the channels.on our TVBtw why is it only 3-4 channels on air right now? I thought there would be up to 15 channels to be included in the test broadcast begins on 15 March? Perhaps could you share on what are the technical challenges faced right now to uplink/provide the temporary FTA broadcasts to the viewers? Because I do encounter occasional picture freeze, pixelation and blackouts on all channels as well, yet I see my satellite signal readings remain pretty constant... So it seems that some issue coming from your side? Oh yes, I'd love to... HAHAHAHA We would like to send @Joshhd a set of our Decoder and antenna if @Joshhd can tell us where to send or alternatively he can come over in Cyberjaya to pick up the set himself... izwanikhsan and doubleM2 liked this post
Mar 22 2021, 11:53 AM
Mar 22 2021, 11:57 AM
We will definitely use our box with the encryption system from ABV after the two months free test transmission duration. Customers has start ordering and we are now arranging with installers for the installation. This is Pay TV with 12 mth free subscription...and subsequently on prepaid of RM 20 per mth...pay when you want to watch at no contract basis.
| Change to: | 0.0358sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:53 AM |