Keyboards/Piano Keyboard for Beginner, Budget <RM500

TSpawpaws
post Aug 19 2019, 07:34 PM, updated 7y ago

91 posts

Hi sifus, I am looking for a beginner-friendly piano keyboard but I have zero clue on what brand/model is good.

Was reading around the internet and some recommended Yamaha PSR F-51? Is there any other brands/models that I should be considering too?

Budget: +-RM500

Thanks sifus! rclxm9.gif
jaydengabriel P
post Aug 20 2019, 06:50 PM

Probation

I have same question and also want to know which guitar is best and from where to get it?
Halcyonu
post Aug 21 2019, 04:42 PM

18 posts

Here there is few local producers and most are imported; brands are also mainly "big" ones like Yamaha that why in general it is hard to find cheaper ones.

I am also a beginner and recently have begun to doubt the plausibility of using keyboard. After I played on piano in a musical school with hourly price, I realised several fundamental difference that are key to beginners, such like the differentiation of force, pedal that are lacking in most keyborad but fundamental in piano.

Basically I guess keyboard is not the best choice guiding to music.
TSpawpaws
post Aug 21 2019, 11:33 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(Halcyonu @ Aug 21 2019, 04:42 PM)
Here there is few local producers and most are imported; brands are also mainly "big" ones like Yamaha that why in general it is hard to find cheaper ones.

I am also a beginner and recently have begun to doubt the plausibility of using keyboard. After I played on piano in a musical school with hourly price, I realised several fundamental difference that are key to beginners, such like the differentiation of force, pedal that are lacking in most keyborad but fundamental in piano.

Basically I guess keyboard is not the best choice guiding to music.
Hey there, thanks for the advice! Piano might be too much of an over budget for me here and I thought keyboard should be sufficient for me to ding ding dong some notes into songs at this stage haha. tongue.gif

Do you have any good local producers brands of keyboards to introduce? Or the "big" ones are still more worth the price? hmm.gif
Halcyonu
post Aug 22 2019, 03:16 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(pawpaws @ Aug 21 2019, 11:33 PM)
Hey there, thanks for the advice! Piano might be too much of an over budget for me here and I thought keyboard should be sufficient for me to ding ding dong some notes into songs at this stage haha.  tongue.gif
Do you have any good local producers brands of keyboards to introduce? Or the "big" ones are still more worth the price?  hmm.gif
OK, then you would better try to find some second hand. Or shop online, there are some relative cheap (<500rm) options from non-famous producers in China among Shopee etc.

I did not mean buying a piano which is expensive to the majority as there are other ways of using piano like renting it with hourly rate in music schools.
TSpawpaws
post Aug 23 2019, 12:20 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(Halcyonu @ Aug 22 2019, 03:16 PM)
OK, then you would better try to find some second hand. Or shop online, there are some relative cheap (<500rm) options from non-famous producers in China among Shopee etc.

I did not mean buying a piano which is expensive to the majority as there are other ways of using piano like renting it with hourly rate in music schools.
Ah I see, so is there any specific things that I need to take note on when buying a keyboard, say from a non-famous China producer? Am really a beginner here so thanks a lot for your guidance notworthy.gif

I didn’t know they offer hourly rental in music schools, interesting! blink.gif
TSpawpaws
post Aug 25 2019, 01:34 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(markgrynko1472 @ Aug 24 2019, 11:43 PM)
Nothing wrong with going second hand, in case you want an "established" brand for your first keyboard. Not an expert by any means but I've also found PSR-E263, PSR-E363, PSR-EW300 and EZ-220 from Yamaha on this article (http://pickmypiano.com/best-yamaha-digital-pianos/) as recommendations. The first is supposedly the cheapest model by the brand that is portable as well, and has all the basics a beginner such as yourself would need.
True but as this is meant to be a gift for somebody else, I thought it would be more decent if it's a brand new one. smile.gif

Thanks for the article tho, will read through it! rclxms.gif

0.0165sec    0.37    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:41 AM