Vaccines for 31yo Man

TSmilky12388
post Aug 15 2019, 12:36 PM, updated 7y ago

108 posts

I am planning to get medical checkup and vaccine. But there is plenty vaccine around. I am abit confused which vaccine important. Currently, i male, 31 yo, single and never took any vaccine in the past 10 years. Any suggestion?
Cheeky
post Aug 15 2019, 12:40 PM

168 posts

do a blood test and to check for antibodies. It will tell you what kind of vaccines you were given as a child.

Other vaccines that you can take example are Hep-C , chicken pox, bird flu...
TSmilky12388
post Aug 15 2019, 12:49 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(Cheeky @ Aug 15 2019, 12:40 PM)
do a blood test and to check for antibodies. It will tell you what kind of vaccines you were given as a child.

i scare the body checkup centre will recommend me to take all vaccine. I google these vaccine from the net and cant believe so many types blink.gif

Haemophilus influenzae type b (Hib)
Herpes zoster (shingles)
Hepatitis A & B
Human Papillomavirus (HPV) Cervarix & Gardasil
Measles-Mumps-Rubella (MMR)
Meningitis (Meningococcal)
Pneumococcal
Tetanus, Diphtheria and Acellular Pertussis (Tdap)
Flu
trencher10
post Aug 15 2019, 05:13 PM

Long-term AFK ...
665 posts

Unless you're going travelling in endemic infective regions, working in healthcare, TB-suspect patients, working with children, the elderly, planning to be sexually active with multiple partners (or a partner likely to have multiple partners), working with migrant/foreign workers on a regular basis, I see no real recommendation for a smorgasbord vaccination for a 31 year old urbanite.

Unless your close contacts, residence, work place has a vaccinable outbreak, it's not really an immediate concern.

This post has been edited by trencher10: Aug 15 2019, 05:17 PM
lowlowc
post Aug 23 2019, 01:19 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(Cheeky @ Aug 15 2019, 12:40 PM)

Hi, tumpang ask; which lab/hospital provide antibodies blood test? Last time I went to BP lab to see their list of service brochures, didn't see blood test specifically to check all antibodies (I think I saw Hep B only). I am asking because would like to know if I am immune to chicken pox, before I take chicken pox vaccine. Never got chicken pox even when I was around people with chicken pox and shingles, so my baby's doctor suggested I go to check if I am immune. But her hospital don't have such service, so I am looking around. And I might as well check for other antibodies at one go.

This post has been edited by lowlowc: Aug 23 2019, 01:20 PM
Blofeld
post Aug 25 2019, 09:59 PM

4,703 posts

At this age, probably Hep B vaccine would be suitable.

We visit dentist, barber, etc and it can potentially spread there.

But check first if you are already immuned.
Cheeky
post Aug 30 2019, 01:18 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(lowlowc @ Aug 23 2019, 01:19 PM)
Hi, tumpang ask; which lab/hospital provide antibodies blood test? Last time I went to BP lab to see their list of service brochures, didn't see blood test specifically to check all antibodies (I think I saw Hep B only). I am asking because would like to know if I am immune to chicken pox, before I take chicken pox vaccine. Never got chicken pox even when I was around people with chicken pox and shingles, so my baby's doctor suggested I go to check if I am immune. But her hospital don't have such service, so I am looking around. And I might as well check for other antibodies at one go.
Chicken pox antibodies can be checked using blood test (I have done it before). I am not sure where you can do it in malaysia though.
filage
post Aug 30 2019, 03:18 PM

1,205 posts

how can we verify the syringe used by the doctor is clean? once i was testing blood the syringe just got taken out from somewhere and I didn't see him unpack the syringe at all.
lowlowc
post Sep 4 2019, 09:40 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(Cheeky @ Aug 30 2019, 01:18 PM)
Chicken pox antibodies can be checked using blood test (I have done it before). I am not sure where you can do it in malaysia though.
Alright, thanks. I think I have to call up the hospitals and ask each one.
lowlowc
post Sep 4 2019, 09:42 AM

918 posts

QUOTE(filage @ Aug 30 2019, 03:18 PM)
how can we verify the syringe used by the doctor is clean? once i was testing blood the syringe just got taken out from somewhere and I didn't see him unpack the syringe at all.
Huh? So far they always open the packaging in front of me.
trencher10
post Sep 4 2019, 02:10 PM

Long-term AFK ...
665 posts

Sometimes some people unpack the stuff and put it in the tray before coming to see the patient. Also,while unpacking can be done early on, uncapping the sheath of the needle (be it syringe or vacuette) is usually done at the time for venepuncture. And only crazy/tak belajar/don't want to follow advice/regulations people re-sheath used needles (great way for personal needlestick injuries).
filage
post Sep 5 2019, 01:32 PM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(lowlowc @ Sep 4 2019, 09:42 AM)
Huh? So far they always open the packaging in front of me.
No idea maybe I didn't see it or what.
He seemed to take from somewhere in the drawer or something.

0.0151sec    0.35    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:27 AM