andrewhtf
post Aug 15 2019, 10:35 AM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Aug 15 2019, 10:28 AM)
For info aside from your own:

1. Endorsement 101 from your MY vehicle insurance
2. Your own Travel Insurance coverage

The insurance that available for purchase at those border seller, is only to cover the 3rd party Thai people bodily injury in case of an accident happen and involving Thai citizen the coverage up to 50,000 THB or around 4 to 5k MYR

Their properties (if any) is not covered by the insurance sold on the border (before entering Thailand).

You need to purchase the Por lor Bor (compulsory insurance for vehicle in the Land of Smile)

For motorcar (car/sedan/minivan/4wd) the validity is 2 weeks minimum and for motorcycle  minimum should be 3 month.

The one that they sell on border for 2 weeks or even daily rate, the validity is questionable if you purchase it for your motorbike.

Then you (HIGHLY RECOMMENDED) to purchase the 3rd Party voluntary insurance from the Thai insurance agent or company they called it 3+ voluntary vehicle insurance.

This 3rd party voluntary insurance to cover the damage caused for the Thai Citizen properties (Car/Motorcycle/Lembu and so forth), bailed you out of jail  (bail bond) and death compensation up to 1 Million Bhat per soul of Thai people that involved in the accident regardless on who is at fault.  and you can only purchased in minimum 3 Months or one year validity.
Example

They will give you a print out that need to stick into your windshields and clearly mention the car registration number validity of the insurance (one year) and the issuing agent.  (Some Thai police roadblock will ask for this especially in northern Thailand after BKK)

Expensive just for insurance in Thai? better pay than sorry.. if can not afford, then you cant afford to drive in for a holiday in Siam..
so in summary, for FULL coverage, on top of what you purchase before cross border, you need:
1. Por Lor Bor; and
2. 3+
am i right?

do you purchase the above 2 together before cross border, or you purchase in thai as soon as you crossed?

This post has been edited by andrewhtf: Aug 15 2019, 10:35 AM
andrewhtf
post Aug 15 2019, 10:46 AM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Aug 15 2019, 10:41 AM)
In a Nutshell, you will need the following insurances for proper coverage whilst riding / driving in Thailand.

1. The Compulsory Motor Insurance (CMI / Por Ror Bor)

2. Thai Class Three Voluntary Insurance

3. Endorsement 101 extension (Malaysian Vehicle)

4. Personal Travel Insurance
3 & 4 is understandable, as it deals with our Msian side

what i mean is what is needed to deal with/fully comply with the Thai side.

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Aug 15 2019, 10:45 AM)
Purchase 2 of them together before crossing border at Changloon.

https://goo.gl/maps/5qczMkk7iry2Zpb1A

Here is the agent
any agent recommend for Pgkln Hulu/Betong side?

This post has been edited by andrewhtf: Aug 15 2019, 10:48 AM
andrewhtf
post Aug 15 2019, 12:06 PM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(btmkl @ Aug 15 2019, 08:48 AM)
Hahaha..to funy statement...u ingat ni malaysia banyak power ka bulih cover sampai tu negara...event singapore insurance not valid in malaysia...

This women dint have international licence..pls remember thai is not malaysia maa..you want drive outside malaysia must have international licence..ge beli la makcik..rm20 je...

This kerajaan thai is very good...kalau ni makcik buat kat singapore..gerenti hukuman mati mendatori...
QUOTE(yhtan @ Aug 15 2019, 11:45 AM)

last time i went phuket and show them malaysia driving license also can accept
Kawan, our Msia driving license is valid for use in Thailand. This is part of ASEAN agreement between governments. Just like how our Msian driving license is also valid in other Commonwealth countries.

however, government to government is one thing, the pulis down at the local region akar umbi is another thing.

just like msia, thai oso have little napoleons who exercise their own authority macam dia punya. so it is just an extra effort to get an IDP or at least a certified translation of our lesen, for the convenience of the local authorities should the need arise, and to minimise chances of these little napoleons trying to extort you up. Not a must, but good to have.

0.0155sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 08:40 AM