Diets & Supplements HELP! I am addicted to..., Teh Ais/Teh Tarik/Coffee

TSiluvfood
post Aug 14 2019, 01:55 PM, updated 7y ago

40 posts

Hey,

I'm having difficulties to suppress my addiction towards our sweet beverages. Everyday I will crave to drink teh tarik/teh ais.

My routine: every morning drink nescafe susu. make it myself. Nescafe+uht milk and no sugar.

Then, usually after lunch I will start thinking about having teh tarik or teh ais. sometimes i drink teh tarik/teh ais in the morning, still in the afternoon will crave for it.

I desperately need help and advice on how to resolve this. sad.gif sad.gif

p/s: I drink plain water at least 3 litres per day and I do taekwondo 2 times a week. I don't do any other form of exercises.
JunSTWW P
post Aug 14 2019, 02:27 PM

Probation

What exactly your main purpose from avoiding sweet drinks?

And you did some exercise isnt?
TSiluvfood
post Aug 14 2019, 02:43 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(JunSTWW @ Aug 14 2019, 02:27 PM)
What exactly your main purpose from avoiding sweet drinks?

And you did some exercise isnt?
both my parents have diabetes. so I thought I have to be careful from now.

I do taekwondo twice a week. I think that can be considered as exercise?
ExCrIpT
post Aug 14 2019, 04:04 PM

1,672 posts

slowly cut down on sugar intake as in use less sugar for ur drinks, gradual decrease otherwise ur cravings will still remain

kuntilanak
post Aug 14 2019, 04:29 PM

976 posts

QUOTE(iluvfood @ Aug 14 2019, 02:43 PM)
both my parents have diabetes. so I thought I have to be careful from now.

I do taekwondo twice a week. I think that can be considered as exercise?
no harm watching daily sugar intake closely, whether got family history of diabetes or not.

but twice a week of taekwando... depending on the intensity of each session, it may not be enough. IMHO usually the best is regular (3/week or more) exercise + dietary control + healthy lifestyle.

all in all, self-discipline is the key smile.gif
Pikichu
post Aug 14 2019, 07:19 PM

2,278 posts

Ignore the suggestion to cut down sugar.
If it had worked, you would not be posting here.
(Thought I saw a similar post in kopitiam)

What you require is to eat more complex carbohydrate;
such as whole grains; brown rice, wheat, real whole food
and not processed food.

You can still take sugar but you would have less craving
since most cravings is for the body lack of required nutrients.

Bring fruits with you, that you like. They can be sweet.
Once you get comfortable eating more whole grains,
real whole food, fruits, cut out processed food, fast food,
you will have improved.

When you get that working, then you are one step closer
away from diabetes, you will still be at risk. But this is the
first step you need to take.

Buge
post Aug 15 2019, 01:18 AM

62 posts

Why do you think you need to get rid of addiction?
Scientists have proved that coffee does not harm the body, you just need to run to the toilet more often.

If you have a strong desire to refuse these drinks, then stop buying them.
buy only water and you will be happy smile.gif
TSiluvfood
post Aug 15 2019, 07:24 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(Pikichu @ Aug 14 2019, 07:19 PM)
Ignore the suggestion to cut down sugar.
If it had worked, you would not be posting here.
(Thought I saw a similar post in kopitiam)

What you require is to eat more complex carbohydrate;
such as whole grains; brown rice, wheat, real whole food
and not processed food.

You can still take sugar but you would have less craving
since most cravings is for the body lack of required nutrients.

Bring fruits with you, that you like. They can be sweet.
Once you get comfortable eating more whole grains,
real whole food, fruits, cut out processed food, fast food,
you will have improved.

When you get that working, then you are one step closer
away from diabetes, you will still be at risk. But this is the
first step you need to take.
That requires a lot of effort. Nonetheless, I will try to do as your suggestion on my food intake.

Thank you!
TSiluvfood
post Aug 15 2019, 07:25 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(Buge @ Aug 15 2019, 01:18 AM)
Why do you think you need to get rid of addiction?
Scientists have proved that coffee does not harm the body, you just need to run to the toilet more often.

If you have a strong desire to refuse these drinks, then stop buying them.
buy only water and you will be happy smile.gif
It's not coffee. It's the addiction towards teh tarik/teh ais.

I also have strong desire to buy them. doh.gif

TSiluvfood
post Aug 15 2019, 07:26 AM

40 posts

Anyway,

Thanks guys for all the suggestion. I will try my best to suppress it
SUSFenix98
post Aug 15 2019, 11:00 PM

Happy Meal upsized Sir?
377 posts

QUOTE(iluvfood @ Aug 15 2019, 07:26 AM)
Anyway,

Thanks guys for all the suggestion. I will try my best to suppress it
Quit cold turkey.. Harder u push on the workouts body craves for sugar after though. Especially those intense endurance days...
JunSTWW P
post Aug 16 2019, 01:19 PM

Probation

QUOTE(iluvfood @ Aug 15 2019, 07:24 AM)
That requires a lot of effort. Nonetheless, I will try to do as your suggestion on my food intake.

Thank you!
Remember not yellow color type of fruits.. such as bananas, mango, DURIAN!

MrGoodB
post Aug 16 2019, 01:36 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(JunSTWW @ Aug 16 2019, 01:19 PM)
Starfruit is yellow need to avoid too hmm.gif
JunSTWW P
post Aug 16 2019, 08:30 PM

Probation

QUOTE(MrGoodB @ Aug 16 2019, 01:36 PM)
Starfruit is yellow need to avoid too hmm.gif
Starfruit still ok la.. hahaa ( eat green one)
strawsticks
post Aug 17 2019, 03:13 PM

106 posts

Sugar is addictive. Slowly cut down, you may feel withdrawal symptoms for the first few days but just maintain your willpower and you can pull through eventually!

I was addicted to coffee (2-3 cups everyday) and decided to quit cold turkey for 10 days. Was very very depressed the first 3 days but slowly started getting better and now I have kicked the addiction nod.gif I still drink 2-3 days a week just for the flavour
ryudox
post Aug 17 2019, 05:02 PM

~~ ConVict ~~
732 posts

Watch out your blood sugar level..
Pikichu
post Aug 17 2019, 05:41 PM

2,278 posts

QUOTE(JunSTWW @ Aug 16 2019, 01:19 PM)
Can you share the reason?
If you have links to the source?
RoastedChicken
post Aug 17 2019, 07:46 PM

味噌チキン
1,277 posts

I have the same addiction like you do. Always cravings for coffee and tehtarik. Last I got symptoms at my toe feeling numbness. Went for sugar test after fasting. 5.5mmol. damn close to diabetes but I still consume those beverage till now.

I don't dare go for sugar test nw haha
TSiluvfood
post Aug 19 2019, 07:26 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(Pikichu @ Aug 17 2019, 05:41 PM)
Can you share the reason?
If you have links to the source?
Maybe because of its sugar level content?

Last month I went crazy with mangoes. Everyday eat mango. doh.gif doh.gif

TSiluvfood
post Aug 19 2019, 07:45 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(RoastedChicken @ Aug 17 2019, 07:46 PM)
I have the same addiction like you do. Always cravings for coffee and tehtarik. Last I got symptoms at my toe feeling numbness. Went for sugar test after fasting. 5.5mmol. damn close to diabetes but I still consume those beverage till now.

I don't dare go for sugar test nw haha
How many times do you drink them in a day?

0.0273sec    0.13    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:42 AM