TSaaronpang
post Jul 3 2007, 02:14 AM, updated 19y ago

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

Fuming over renovations

sauce

What really got my attention was this part...

Lim said some of the renovations were inappropriate and did not fit the concept of the neighbourhood.

and also this

"Now, the house is completed and the owner has moved in," he said, expressing fears that allowing such renovations would lead others in the neighbourhood to follow suit.

Should house owners be allowed to renovate their homes as they like?

Let's assume the neighbour has got approvals (means its permissible).

yewkhuay
post Jul 3 2007, 02:34 AM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

it's always nice to talk /inform ur neighbours...after all, it's the same neighbourhood tht u r staying, never know when u r gonna need each other's help in future....smile.gif
TSaaronpang
post Jul 3 2007, 02:41 AM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Jul 3 2007, 02:34 AM)
it's always nice to talk /inform ur neighbours...after all, it's the same neighbourhood tht u r staying, never know when u r gonna need each other's help in future....smile.gif
Dude you're up late... working night shift??

Yalor should inform neighbour at least let them know if they got leaks or cracks from the renovation to contact you or your contractor to resolve it.

Just don't tell me I cannot use terracota tiles coz it clash with their white walls cool.gif I'm not listening nod.gif
yewkhuay
post Jul 3 2007, 11:01 AM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

scorgio
post Jul 4 2007, 06:19 PM

4,694 posts

Refering to this:
"One of the reasons we bought this property was because we know that the owners could not simply renovate their units and change the outlook of the whole neighbourhood."

Did the purchaser signed a "Deed of Mutual Covenant" or some sort of agreement?

If not, how can this "couldn't simply renovate" logic stand?

Btw, I voted 'No'.

Can't understand such people. Buy a new house for a few hundred thousand then spend another few hundred thousand on renovation. Might as well buy a bungalow lot & build a mansion to your own liking.

TSaaronpang
post Jul 6 2007, 11:17 AM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Jul 4 2007, 06:19 PM)
Refering to this:
"One of the reasons we bought this property was because we know that the owners could not simply renovate their units and change the outlook of the whole neighbourhood."

Btw, I voted 'No'.

Can't understand such people. Buy a new house for a few hundred thousand then spend another few hundred thousand on renovation. Might as well buy a bungalow lot & build a mansion to your own liking.
Typical lah Malaysian journalism standards... don't cover their news from all angles... whistling.gif

I'm speculating but I don't think there is a DMC in place coz several other neighbours are already going ahead to renovate... typically a DMC will put a stop to rampant renovations since it will be clearly spelled out and is legal binding.

I also think it's more common for people to buy mid-priced houses and renovate for a few thousand Ringgit and still offend the neighbours.

There is no denying some renovations are tasteful and elegant, will help enhance the neighbourhoods appearance. Others however are far from tasteful and residents have to put up with their style challenged neighbours cool2.gif doh.gif

To me it's just a question of aesthetics and it should be superficial, although on occasions a really ugly house could affect property prices. Anyone wanna stay next to Dracula's Castle tongue.gif or Caesars Palace thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by aaronpang: Jul 6 2007, 11:33 AM
vreis
post Jul 12 2007, 05:31 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Jul 4 2007, 06:19 PM)
Refering to this:

Btw, I voted 'No'.

1. Thats because the design are standard. Need some upgrading unless you are building your own house.
2. Inadequate provision. Eg. Tiles only 1.5 m ht as oppose to full height, unsatisfactory material used?
3. Face lift to the house. Maximised space.

BTW even you buy bungalow, there will be renovation unless you yourself design it. whistling.gif
chloelew
post Jul 13 2007, 11:17 AM

Mr.Dependable
677 posts

heck care the neighbours.... u are damn freaking loaded, who needs neighbours? ur loaded enuff to own a bangalow where the toilet itself is as big as a normal single storey living room.... i can do wut i was with it..... tear it down and rebuild if i wan.... just to make them more aggrivated LOL....IF i am loaded sad.gif sad to say, im not.... sad.gif
scorgio
post Jul 14 2007, 11:46 PM

4,694 posts

QUOTE(chloelew @ Jul 13 2007, 11:17 AM)
heck care the neighbours.... u are damn freaking loaded, who needs neighbours? ur loaded enuff to own a bangalow where the toilet itself is as big as a normal single storey living room.... i can do wut i was with it..... tear it down and rebuild if i wan.... just to make them more aggrivated LOL....IF i am loaded sad.gif sad to say, im not.... sad.gif
Move out from the city.
At the suburb, RM100k can get bungalow already. smile.gif

0.0441sec    0.92    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:55 AM