Cost/Price Delivering Baby in KL Hospital, How it cost to have a baby in KL?

TSLUSINGH
post Aug 9 2019, 04:55 AM, updated 7y ago

67 posts

Hi guys,

Anyone kind souls mind haring latest cost/price for delivering baby in KL Hospital?

Please be specific of days, care and cost. The most important Hospital name.

For Information:
- My wife is foreigner. So are there any cost difference for foreigner or Malaysian?

- My wife has married with me legally through JPN and she has spouse visa of Malaysia.

- Also, my wife is covered by AIA medical card and other health riders, however unfortunately no any rider/insurance covers fully delivery cost in Malaysia.

Please do let me the total days and cost for NORMAL DELIVERY in KL Hospital.

Planning ahead for delivery cost of my son/daughter. smile.gif smile.gif
ryukeong
post Aug 9 2019, 12:52 PM

220 posts

Remember last 2weeks ago I was in ampang hospital and a local guy with his viet wife.

Nurse there mention to them that if they have local marriage cert as proof, then only pay follow malaysia citizen price
TSLUSINGH
post Aug 9 2019, 09:12 PM

67 posts

Thank you so much for reply.

It did MADE me felt relieved by now. At least the price would be same as Malaysia standard. (NOT CEKIK DARAH one)

However, roughly/estimate how much would it cost overall for normal delivery in any KL/Selangor private hospitals?

Please anyone reading this thread, share the experience and the cost if it's normal delivery.

WAITING FOR REPLY sweat.gif

God bless you guys..
SUSBillCollector
post Aug 13 2019, 12:36 AM

818 posts

QUOTE(LUSINGH @ Aug 9 2019, 09:12 PM)
Thank you so much for reply.

It did MADE me felt relieved by now. At least the price would be same as Malaysia standard. (NOT CEKIK DARAH one)

However, roughly/estimate how much would it cost overall for normal delivery in any KL/Selangor private hospitals?

Please anyone reading this thread, share the experience and the cost if it's normal delivery.
WAITING FOR REPLY  sweat.gif

God bless you guys..
Private hospitals cheapest would be RM6-9,000 assuming no complications and normal birth. Add RM5-6,000 if it is a cesarean.
adrian87
post Aug 13 2019, 12:27 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(BillCollector @ Aug 13 2019, 12:36 AM)
Private hospitals cheapest would be RM6-9,000 assuming no complications and normal birth. Add RM5-6,000 if it is a cesarean.
rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
TSLUSINGH
post Aug 13 2019, 06:45 PM

67 posts

Private Hospital cheapest: RM6-9K?
Our budget is only RM5K. Any suggestion?

How about semi government hospital pricing for delivering baby for normal birth?

What about Tung Shin hospital? Is it within the range of 5k? In addition, how about doctors there?

Sifu2, or those husband to foreigner wife in Malaysia please join in the thread to guide me or others that are blur like me.

TSLUSINGH
post Aug 16 2019, 08:12 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(LUSINGH @ Aug 13 2019, 06:45 PM)

How about semi government hospital pricing for delivering baby for normal birth?

What about Tung Shin hospital? Is it within the range of 5k? In addition, how about doctors there?

Sifu2, or those husband to foreigner wife in Malaysia please join in the thread to guide me or others that are blur like me.
Kind souls, any recommendations? Please guide me.
ryukeong
post Aug 16 2019, 11:10 PM

220 posts

My friend last 2months ago went to tung shin for natural delivery 3d stay, damage is 7k

You can consider fpp at government or ukm

This post has been edited by ryukeong: Aug 16 2019, 11:10 PM
TSLUSINGH
post Aug 17 2019, 11:43 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(ryukeong @ Aug 16 2019, 11:10 PM)
My friend last 2months ago went to tung shin for natural delivery 3d stay, damage is 7k

You can consider fpp at government or ukm
May I know what is FPP at government or UKM?

Your wife is foreigner also?

Tung Shin Hospital I heard is good.
kurique
post Aug 17 2019, 11:48 PM

145 posts

Just for ur benchmark. Columbia Asia charge 4k for normal, 9kk for plan Caesar, emergency caesar around 12k. Roughly.
ryukeong
post Aug 18 2019, 09:14 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(LUSINGH @ Aug 17 2019, 11:43 PM)
May I know what is FPP at government or UKM?

Your wife is foreigner also?

Tung Shin Hospital I heard is good.
For FPP refer to this (Full Paying Patient)

http://www.hpj.gov.my/portalv11/index.php/en/fpp-bi

You may google for more info

UKM is a semi government hospital and my wife is Malaysian, will be going to deliver next month at UKM

This post has been edited by ryukeong: Aug 18 2019, 09:14 AM
budang
post Aug 19 2019, 08:50 AM

975 posts

Semi gov - UMMC or University Malaya Medical Centre. Citizen pays about RM500 for normal delivery, foreigner they charge double, hence about RM1,000.
TSLUSINGH
post Aug 21 2019, 03:30 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(budang @ Aug 19 2019, 08:50 AM)
Semi gov - UMMC or University Malaya Medical Centre. Citizen pays about RM500 for normal delivery, foreigner they charge double, hence about RM1,000.
So. if Semi-government then need to book any earlier month for delivery?
Daddy2be
post Aug 22 2019, 12:43 AM

459 posts

QUOTE(LUSINGH @ Aug 13 2019, 06:45 PM)

If your budget is 5k, I seriously urge you to go Gov hospital where it will cost no more than a few hundred regardless of how the baby comes out. Child birth can be unpredictable. You do not want to be saddle with credit card debt that could run into tens of thousand at the important time.

I had my baby at KPJ Sentosa KL. We hoped for natural birth that would cost 5-6k but end up with C sec total damage 12k. Our cash on hand for this birth at this hospital was 40k.

I'm not trying to scare you. Its fact that things can get out of hand very fast and you DO NOT want to be deciding anything with money in your mind. I have a friend who paid exactly that, 40k for 1 baby. Normal pregnancy but complicated child birth. Complication for both mother and child.

GO GOV HOSPITAL BRO
TSLUSINGH
post Aug 22 2019, 01:45 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(Daddy2be @ Aug 22 2019, 12:43 AM)
If your budget is 5k, I seriously urge you to go Gov hospital where it will cost no more than a few hundred regardless of how the baby comes out. Child birth can be unpredictable. You do not want to be saddle with credit card debt that could run into tens of thousand at the important time.

I had my baby at KPJ Sentosa KL. We hoped for natural birth that would cost 5-6k but end up with C sec total damage 12k. Our cash on hand for this birth at this hospital was 40k.

I'm not trying to scare you. Its fact that things can get out of hand very fast and you DO NOT want to be deciding anything with money in your mind. I have a friend who paid exactly that, 40k for 1 baby. Normal pregnancy but complicated child birth. Complication for both mother and child.

GO GOV HOSPITAL BRO
Bro, thank you for your reply and explanation. God bless you and your family.

I heard government hospital are affordable but yes the service is not as standard to expect like those private hospital. At the end, the child and wife are safe that's more important.

What is the best or most "boleh tahan" government hospital in KL/Selangor?
Daddy2be
post Aug 22 2019, 08:42 AM

459 posts

QUOTE(LUSINGH @ Aug 22 2019, 01:45 AM)
Bro, thank you for your reply and explanation. God bless you and your family.

I heard government hospital are affordable but yes the service is not as standard to expect like those private hospital. At the end, the child and wife are safe that's more important.

What is the best or most "boleh tahan" government hospital in KL/Selangor?
Sungai buloh hospital is the 'go to' hospital for caesarean from what I heard. I won't rebuke the supposedly less than standard care in Gov hospital, but make no mistakes, they are the best equipped hospital in the country to deal with anything come what may. A few issue of not enough bed for new mothers, rude staff etc can be overlooked if you think about the money you're going to save. The turn off point for me is their forcible stance on giving birth naturally. They will not c sec unless either mother or baby is in immediate danger. So if the birth is hard your wife would be looking at a very long labor without the option to cut.
TSLUSINGH
post Aug 24 2019, 12:30 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(Daddy2be @ Aug 22 2019, 08:42 AM)
Sungai buloh hospital is the 'go to' hospital for caesarean from what I heard. I won't rebuke the supposedly less than standard care in Gov hospital, but make no mistakes, they are the best equipped hospital in the country to deal with anything come what may. A few issue of not enough bed for new mothers, rude staff etc can be overlooked if you think about the money you're going to save. The turn off point for me is their forcible stance on giving birth naturally. They will not c sec unless either mother or baby is in immediate danger. So if the birth is hard your wife would be looking at a very long labor without the option to cut.
"The turn off point for me is their forcible stance on giving birth naturally. They will not c sec unless either mother or baby is in immediate danger. So if the birth is hard your wife would be looking at a very long labor without the option to cut."

I don't get you brother. Could you please explain a bit by what you meant.
Daddy2be
post Aug 24 2019, 08:09 AM

459 posts

QUOTE(LUSINGH @ Aug 24 2019, 12:30 AM)
"The turn off point for me is their forcible stance on giving birth naturally. They will not c sec unless either mother or baby is in immediate danger. So if the birth is hard your wife would be looking at a very long labor without the option to cut."

I don't get you brother. Could you please explain a bit by what you meant.
Unless you are a FPP (Full Paying Patient), all births are by vaginal deliveries either with or without assistance from vacuum or forceps. You or your wife will be NO SAY if half way you decided for whatever reason you wanted to have caesarean. This option is reserved by doctors if vaginal birth would put either one or both baby and mother at risk.

Unlike in privates, at any moment if you wish to change to caesarean, your wife will be wheeled into operating room as you swipe your credit card.

Also gov hospital does not induce birth unless there's risk to baby or mother or overdue.
TSLUSINGH
post Aug 24 2019, 09:17 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(Daddy2be @ Aug 24 2019, 08:09 AM)
Unless you are a FPP (Full Paying Patient), all births are by vaginal deliveries either with or without assistance from vacuum or forceps. You or your wife will be NO SAY if half way you decided for whatever reason you wanted to have caesarean. This option is reserved by doctors if vaginal birth would put either one or both baby and mother at risk.

Unlike in privates, at any moment if you wish to change to caesarean, your wife will be wheeled into operating room as you swipe your credit card.

Also gov hospital does not induce birth unless there's risk to baby or mother or overdue.
Thank you for your time and kind explanation. It helps a lot to me who doesn't know anything about delivering charges and procedures.

However, I have checked Hospital Sungai Buloh delivery package. The prices indeed different for Citizens and also Foreigner.

I m not sure whether the price for my Spouse to Malaysian is the Citizen one or the foreigner package? Need to find out about it.

P.S: I have attached a screenshot of Sungai Buloh Hospital delivery charges information for you and everyone that consider government hospital in Selangor if the budget is tight.

And, how about Putrajaya Hospital? I heard it's affordable? Any info from you?

Thank you brother

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Daddy2be
post Aug 25 2019, 12:24 PM

459 posts

QUOTE(LUSINGH @ Aug 24 2019, 09:17 PM)
Thank you for your time and kind explanation. It helps a lot to me who doesn't know anything about delivering charges and procedures.

However, I have checked Hospital Sungai Buloh delivery package. The prices indeed different for Citizens and also Foreigner.

I m not sure whether the price for my Spouse to Malaysian is the Citizen one or the foreigner package? Need to find out about it.

P.S: I have attached a screenshot of Sungai Buloh Hospital delivery charges information for you and everyone that consider government hospital in Selangor if the budget is tight.

And, how about Putrajaya Hospital? I heard it's affordable? Any info from you?

Thank you brother
It's best if you can call and confirm if your legally married wife is under which package cause all I could offer is best guess which is citizen.

Package 1 is ALMOST ALWAYS FULL so either find out if you can book ahead or lucky draw on the day your wife goes into labor.

Putrajaya and Sg buloh hospital has the same designation as the 'go to' hospital for 'complicated' pregnancy/birth due to the staff/dr and equipment. I guess which ever that's closest to you
TSLUSINGH
post Aug 25 2019, 08:04 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(Daddy2be @ Aug 25 2019, 12:24 PM)
It's best if you can call and confirm if your legally married wife is under which package cause all I could offer is best guess which is citizen.

Package 1 is ALMOST ALWAYS FULL so either find out if you can book ahead or lucky draw on the day your wife goes into labor.

Putrajaya and Sg buloh hospital has the same designation as the 'go to' hospital for 'complicated' pregnancy/birth due to the staff/dr and equipment. I guess which ever  that's closest to you
Yes, I will call once I'm back in Malaysia as I'm in overseas now.

May I know which is Package 1? I'm asking a dumb question. I'm sorry as I don't know.
Daddy2be
post Aug 25 2019, 11:24 PM

459 posts

QUOTE(LUSINGH @ Aug 25 2019, 08:04 PM)
Yes, I will call once I'm back in Malaysia as I'm in overseas now.

May I know which is Package 1? I'm asking a dumb question. I'm sorry as I don't know.
Class 1 in the picture
TSLUSINGH
post Aug 29 2019, 09:59 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(Daddy2be @ Aug 25 2019, 11:24 PM)
Class 1 in the picture
Thank you so much.

You have been very helpful.

May I know how many kids you have now?
TSLUSINGH
post Aug 29 2019, 10:00 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(Daddy2be @ Aug 25 2019, 11:24 PM)
Class 1 in the picture
Thank you so much.

You have been very helpful.

May I know how many kids you have now?
TSLUSINGH
post Sep 1 2019, 01:29 PM

67 posts

Indeed, private hospitals are expensive. The cheapest from the list is UMMC.

Pregnancy COST IN MALAYSIA IS NOT THAT CHEAP.

P.S: Check the screenshots that been attached.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
FitnessAddict
post Jan 5 2020, 10:47 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(LUSINGH @ Sep 1 2019, 01:29 PM)
Indeed, private hospitals are expensive. The cheapest from the list is UMMC.

Pregnancy COST IN MALAYSIA IS NOT THAT CHEAP.

P.S: Check the screenshots that been attached.
Hi. Thank you for sharing your experience and good information in this thread.

May I know if you had found out whether your legally married foreign wife is able to enjoy the same rates as a Malaysian citizen at government hospitals?

Thanking you in advance. 🙏🏻

0.0169sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:28 AM