Car Loan: 6 years or 9 years?, Which will you pick?

kbhai
post Aug 9 2019, 03:09 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(nuvi @ Aug 9 2019, 12:19 PM)
Following the link for the car price, DP, interest rate, I make a comparison between 9 years vs 5 years loan. The difference of money will be put into FD. Click the picture to see it more clearly

After 9 years the difference is you will have less six thousand ringgit if you were to take 9 years loan. Spread out by 9 years that is RM671 per year. If you put it to other type of fund/investment that give higher rate then the difference will be smaller. Usually for shorter term the interest rate is higher than longer term.

The pros that I can think of for 5 years loan is you have extra 6k, if you were to trade in your car at 6th year, you will have the car value at that time as your DP + 5k cash whereas if 9 years loan after deduct all your saving you might need to top up 3k to 4k to clear your loan.

The pros for 9 years loan is like you mentioned, inflation. Also as the link mention if you want to buy property. Additionally during the first 5 years you will have more extra money in your saving for emergency or opportunity use. You will less likely want to change car because still serving the loan.
Wow rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

0.0118sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:15 AM