Lenovo AMD Laptops worth to buy?, Huge Sales at 11.11 (Citi45 end of Nov)
msacras
Oct 10 2019, 02:02 PM
QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Oct 10 2019, 01:50 PM) unless lei lou mo did something funny, it should be standard 6 screens on the bottom style ranging from T450 era until now. just unscrew 6 screws, then use credit card to peel the case open. install ram, then clip it back on. As for warranty, just keep ram when sending warranty no issues. i upgraded by T430 with mSATA SSD, added ram, and dropped it at least 5 times, destroyed the keyboard with water etc. lei lou mou onsite service change everything without any questions  Notebookcheck specifically mentioned that T490&T590 have back case that’s harder to open than normal.
msacras
Oct 10 2019, 06:27 PM
BTW, to those T590 owners, if one day you are to change your screen, do consider sourcing this replacement panel instead for a huge upgrade in display. It’s a whitelisted panel for T590. NE156QUM-N66 https://www.notebookcheck.net/Lenovo-ThinkP...y.435628.0.html
msacras
Oct 10 2019, 06:35 PM
QUOTE(Benefon @ Oct 10 2019, 06:32 PM) Don’t think that you can get 4K display, even tho that P53s also very limited units in US I mean source it from 3rd party. It’s pretty cheap from sources like taobao and so.
msacras
Oct 10 2019, 06:42 PM
QUOTE(Benefon @ Oct 10 2019, 06:38 PM) Links please, can’t get leh, even in AliExpress Taobao got https://c.tb.cn/h.eoo3bjr?sm=a8fcc3 You can grab a base specs T590 at about RM3k and softmod it to have 4k 500nits HDR display for another RM300+, poor men’s X1 Extreme, hnnnnggghhh. This post has been edited by msacras: Oct 10 2019, 06:45 PM
msacras
Oct 10 2019, 07:02 PM
QUOTE(Benefon @ Oct 10 2019, 06:46 PM) Thanks but u try first lol. Btw you be the first You donate a T590 to me then I go try. LEL
msacras
Oct 10 2019, 07:04 PM
QUOTE(Error0x4x00 @ Oct 10 2019, 06:46 PM) Just saw this after I make my order on ThinkPad E495 ~ 1st time buying ThinkPad, was this build ok?  [attachmentid=10330825] Good, looks balanced. Though, do add on another stick of RAM to it as AMD’a APU is highly affected by the dual channel RAM benefit. Also good thing you gotten the E495. It’s refresh (for intel first) just launched few days ago and it is losing one more RAM slot. This post has been edited by msacras: Oct 10 2019, 07:06 PM
msacras
Oct 10 2019, 08:27 PM
QUOTE(G_KeN @ Oct 10 2019, 08:09 PM) for dual channel thingy, dont have to get same capacity right? just that if the other ram is slower, both ram will be clocked to the lower speed. is that correct? Don’t need same brand. But preferably same specs - speed and latency. Capacity also preferably the same size. But many PC nowadays have soldered onboard RAM of 4GB and bigger, can’t help much but to run 2 different size RAM in such case.
msacras
Oct 10 2019, 09:30 PM
QUOTE(Coldf3ar @ Oct 10 2019, 08:40 PM) again.. what spec should i look at if want use autocad? for my sister. budget 2~2.2k Ryzen 3500u + 16GB of RAM. Will cost around RM2.3k something for E495.
msacras
Oct 10 2019, 09:31 PM
QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Oct 10 2019, 08:46 PM) that think pad 13s RM1010 suitable. got vega dedicated gpu RM1010 one is without GPU.
msacras
Oct 10 2019, 09:33 PM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Oct 10 2019, 09:18 PM) Shipping 6-8 weeks. Its going to be a long long wait.  QUOTE(Benefon @ Oct 10 2019, 09:22 PM) Ya wait till my neck become longer Later week number 7th, they cancel the orders like they did with the Thinkpads last month, KEK.
msacras
Oct 10 2019, 09:44 PM
QUOTE(Benefon @ Oct 10 2019, 09:36 PM) I heard u placed 10 units 😏 Manada.jpg That one in cart sahaja. Actual payment 1 bijik only.
msacras
Oct 11 2019, 04:05 AM
QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Oct 11 2019, 04:02 AM) the charger cable is usb-c to usb-c? Which model? Thinkpad E and T series, yes. Thinkbook 13s that just got borong yesterday, nope, run on Lenovo famous square head. But there’s tricks and cables that can change your USB-C power delivery charger into the square head for the laptop. This post has been edited by msacras: Oct 11 2019, 04:06 AM
msacras
Oct 11 2019, 04:12 AM
QUOTE(iwubpreve @ Oct 11 2019, 04:08 AM) x? i mean the cable at the charger and side, also usb-c? X-series like X390 or X395 have USB PD, thus they get charged through the type-C port. Big power X-series like X1 extreme run on slim tip (square head) instead as USB PD max up at 100W, typically OEMs only use it for laptop up to 65W. If you mean the stock charger with the laptop, it’s like typical power brick out there, attached wire with the charging tip of USB-C, and the power brick connect through a 3 pins UK plug head cable.
msacras
Oct 11 2019, 02:05 PM
QUOTE(kuci_mayong @ Oct 11 2019, 01:54 PM) Actually I notice this laptop few month ago but when saw the price I just close the tab. But MADNESS sale make it affordable. Haha. Seems like Lenovo wants to make their own brand name instead of relying on the “thinkpad” name with this “thinkbook” series, since ideapad never gain traction. Here’s the PSREF for it https://psref.lenovo.com/syspool/Sys/PDF/Th...cifications.pdf
msacras
Oct 11 2019, 03:13 PM
QUOTE(Benefon @ Oct 11 2019, 02:52 PM) What about 11.11 offering 😌 I wish u buy more 🤣🤣🤣 Only if they offer something at RM1111, KEK
msacras
Oct 11 2019, 03:17 PM
QUOTE(kuci_mayong @ Oct 11 2019, 03:02 PM) Another Pros for the thinkbook 13s, upgradable to 32GB ram! CODE “The device comes with a single DDR4-2400 SO-DIMM slot, with 16 GB being the maximum volume of RAM that Lenovo offers. The device should be compatible with a 32 GB SO-DIMM module though.” It’s unofficial though, so until someone tried with a 32GB stick and working, presuming it’s topped at 16GB. QUOTE(kuci_mayong @ Oct 11 2019, 03:00 PM) Was wondering what the IWL stands for in “ThinkBook 13s-IWL”. Finally got the answer. CODE The name IWL hints at what components Lenovo has included in the ThinkBook 13s. In this instance, IWL stands for Intel Whiskey Lake, with Lenovo offering the device with either a Core i5-8265U or Core i7-8565U processor. For AMD’s laptop, Lenovo named the SKUs with “API”, that’s how you differentiate if it’s Intel or AMD for Lenovo.
msacras
Oct 11 2019, 03:22 PM
QUOTE(Benefon @ Oct 11 2019, 03:14 PM) First hour post on this thread man. Don’t go Pasar Selling Fish 😬😬 Hey, just remembered that there’s AirAsia BigPoint redemption ongoing for Thinkbook 13s, quickly go claim it so even if the orders got nuked, at least we get some BigPoints, haha. 10k bigpoints worth at least RM100. This post has been edited by msacras: Oct 11 2019, 03:28 PM
msacras
Oct 11 2019, 03:27 PM
QUOTE(kuci_mayong @ Oct 11 2019, 03:24 PM) You are right, and to add, someone mentioned this in the comments of that article CODE Could you elaborate on upgrading the ram to 32 GB with only one DIMM slot on the motherboard? From searching online it seems that DDR4-2400 PC4-19200 modules only go up to 16 GB.
I recently bought a Thinkbook 14s and would like to upgrade the memory beyond 16 GB if that's possible. Also, good to know Lenovo’s naming convention, didn’t know all that before this. I only deduced the I stand for Intel and A stand for AMD. Didn’t aware the WL is for the whiskeylake. So I assume the PI of API is for Picasso.
msacras
Oct 11 2019, 03:53 PM
QUOTE(kuci_mayong @ Oct 11 2019, 03:47 PM) Which model did you see API on? So far I only see the AMD models ending with the suffix “5” like X395. L340-15API
msacras
Oct 12 2019, 12:17 AM
QUOTE(ry8128 @ Oct 11 2019, 07:53 PM) Same here too. Lenovo did really honor the deal. Well done to lenovo, really bravo, will support their products whenever possible now. Laptop is 2 weeks, but I add mouse which cause it to be 4 weeks total leadtime. End up, my mouse already been shipped today WITH tracking number, lulz. So i guess the laptop gonna be shipped in 2 weeks time i suppose. Well, before the chicken is hatched and land on my hand, I still count them as egg, LOL. Just last month that they nuked a lot of genuine Thinkpad orders even after weeks due for delivery, hopefully they don’t pull the same tricks this time round. They’re still guilty for the unscrupulous markup and price changes from day to day though. But if I gotten the cheapo Thinkbook in my hand, may be I can act dumb and assume I didn’t know dont talk about it everywhere anymore, LOLOL. This post has been edited by msacras: Oct 12 2019, 12:32 AM